DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 22 January 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that Kim and Shin, alone or in combination, fail to teach the processes of that in claims 1, 8, 15, 22, as well as their dependents.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 22 to further recite, “a plurality of sensors communicatively coupled to the antenna and the power amplifier and configured to obtain at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points.” The examiner maintains the rejection. Kim discloses a Doherty power amplifier including a main power amplifier (211) and a peak power amplifier (212) coupled by a transmission line (220) (Kim, [0052]-[0066]). Kim further discloses a first connection portion (231) between the transmission line 220 and the main power amplifier (211) and a second connection portion (232) between the transmission line and either the peak power amplifier or the antenna (Kim, [0052]-[0066]). The transmission line is a circuit component disposed between these connection portions (Kim, [0056]). Therefore, the first and second connection portions are distinct points separated by at least one circuit component. Kim also discloses that a sensor (250) may be electronically coupled to the first connection portion and to the second connection portion and may measure voltage at each of these portions (Kim, [0058]-[0060]). Kim further teaches measuring a plurality of voltage values at these connection portions and calculating representative value therefrom (Kim, [0060]-[0063]).
Applicant has amended this element in claim 1 and 22 to further recite, “a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors and configured to provide at least one control signal based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier.” The examiner maintains the rejection. As discussed above, Kim discloses that sensor (250) measures voltage values at connection portions along the transmission path between the power amplifier and the antenna (Kim, [0058]-[0060]). Kim further discloses that the measure voltage values are transmitted to ADC and Modem (260) (Kim, [0063]). ADC and Modem (260) processes the measured voltage values and calculates signal power based on multiple measure voltages (Kim, [0063]). Accordingly, ADC and Modem functions as a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor and configured to generate output information based on the measured voltage values. Kim also discloses a Doherty power amplifier including main and peak amplifiers coupled by transmission line having a length associated with the wavelength of the output signal (Kim, fig. 3A, [0055]-[0056]). The transmission line functions as an impedance transforming element between the amplifier stages and the antenna may be expressed in the form of a phasor.
Applicant has amended independent claims 8 and 15 to further recite, “Obtaining at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points.” The examiner maintains the rejection. As discussed above, Kim discloses measuring voltage values at a first connection portion and at a second connection portion disposed along the transmission path between the power amplifier and the antenna (Kim, [0055]-[0060]). Transmission line is disposed between these connection portions and constitutes a circuit component separating the measurement locations (Kim, [0055]-[0056]). Kim further teaches that a plurality of voltage values may be measured at these connection portions (Kim, [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, Kim teaches obtaining multiple voltage measurements from distinct locations along the transmission path between the power amplifier and the antenna, with a transmission line disposed between the locations.
Applicant has amended this element in claim 8 and 15 to further recite, “Providing at least one control signal, within the full duplex transceiver, based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier.” The examiner maintains the rejection. Kim discloses that measure voltage values obtained by sensor are transmitted to ADC and modem , which process the measure voltages and calculates signal power based on multiple voltage values (Kim, [0063]). Thus, Kim teaches generating a signal based on measured voltages. Kim further discloses a Doherty power amplifier including main and peak amplifiers coupled by a transmission line having a length associated with the wavelength of the output signal (Kim, [0055]-[0056]). Transmission line functions as an impedance transforming element between the amplifier stages and the antenna. Accordingly, Kim teaches an impedance transformation structure at the output of the power amplifier. Because Kim generates an output signal based on measured voltage values in a Doherty amplifier architecture that inherently controls impedance at the output of the power amplifier through its impedance transformation structure (Kim, fig. 3A, [0067]-[0083]), Kim teaches providing at least one control signal based on the measured voltages to control impedance presented at the output of the power amplifier.
Thus, the examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of 1, 8, 15, 22, as well as their dependents based on Askar et al. (US 20200244301 A1) (hereinafter Ask) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230299480 A1) (hereinafter Kim) and further in view of Hrivnak et al. (US 20200343873 A1) (hereinafter Hri).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, 18, 22, 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askar et al. (US 20200244301 A1) (hereinafter Ask) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230299480 A1) (hereinafter Kim):
Regarding Claim 1, Ask-Kim teaches a mobile wireless communication device:
Comprising:
an antenna (Ask, Fig. 4, [0076]-[0093]);
a duplexer communicatively coupled to the antenna (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]);
transmit circuitry, communicatively coupled to the antenna via the duplexer, including a power amplifier and configured to provide a transmit signal for transmission by the antenna (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]: [0094] FIG. 5 illustrates a SISO transceiver configuration in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention using the lossless self-interference cancellation network. The full-duplex transceiver apparatus 300 includes a dedicated transmit antenna 302a, a dedicated receive antenna 302b, a transmit front-end 304 for feeding the transmit antenna 302a, and a receive front-end 306. To address the self-interference phenomenon, the matching network 308 is coupled between the antennas 302a, 302b and the transmit and receive front-ends 304, 306. The lossless reciprocal network 308 is a 4-port network having a first or transmit antenna port 308a connected to the transmit antenna 302a, a second or receive antenna port 308b connected to the receive antenna 302b, a first or transmit front-end port 308c connected to the transmit front-end 304, and a second or receive front-end port 308d connected the receive front-end 308d so that the lossless network 308 interconnects the transceiver's front-ends 304, 306 to the antennas 302a, 302b. The SISO configuration may be referred to as a basic setup in which two antennas, one to transmit and the other one to receive, are connected to the transmit and receive front-ends, respectively, via the network 308.);
receive circuitry, communicatively coupled to the antenna via the duplexer, configured to process a receive signal received by the antenna (Ask, Fig. 2, [0007]-[0008]: [0007] A variety of self-interference cancellation techniques are known in the art to achieve a physically secured wireless link between two nodes or entities of the wireless communication network. FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the general categorization of self-interference cancellation (SIC) techniques according to where the cancellation of the self-interference signal takes place. Alongside the diagram, a receiving chain 200 is shown to illustrate at which location the self-interference is cancelled by the respective cancellation category. The receiving chain 200 includes in the RF domain 202 a receive antenna 204 and a low noise amplifier 206 to which the receive antenna 202 is coupled. A signal received at the receive antenna 204 and amplified by the low noise amplifier 206 is further processed in the analog domain 210. The analog domain 210 includes the local oscillator 212, the mixer 214, the low pass filter 216 and the analog-digital transducer 218. The signal received from the RF domain 202 is down-mixed, low pass filtered and converted into the digital domain 220 for further processing.);
Thus, Ask do not explicitly teach a plurality of sensors communicatively coupled to the antenna and the power amplifier and configured to obtain at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points; and a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors and configured to provide at least one control signal based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier.
Similar to the system of Ask, Kim teaches a plurality of voltage values at a first connection to be transmitted, along with a second connection. While also mentioning that there are a plurality of points (e.g., three points), which can be seen as, a plurality of sensors communicatively coupled to the antenna and the power amplifier and configured to obtain at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points (Kim, fig. 3A and 3C, [0036]-[0051], [0067]-[0083]: [0072] Referring to FIG. 3B, a first point 342 on the illustrated smith chart indicates antenna impedance, expressed by r and θ.sub.0. A second point 351 indicates a point at which a VSWR is 1 and a characteristic impedance is normalized to a reference resistance R.sub.0 (50Ω). A first circle 353 indicates a set of points at which a VSWR is 1.5. A second circle 355 indicates a set of points at which a VSWR is 2. According to an embodiment, the first point 342 may change to a point in the range of R.sub.max and R.sub.min, with a change in the impedance of the antenna 340. R.sub.max may be determined as VSWR*R.sub.0, and R.sub.min may be determined as VSWR/R.sub.0. For example, R.sub.0 may indicate a reference resistance, and may be 50Ω. As such, R.sub.max may have a magnitude of about 10052, and R.sub.min may have a magnitude of about 25Ω. As illustrated in FIG. 3B, the impedance of the antenna 340 may change, and the first voltage of the first connection portion 331 and the second voltage of the second connection portion 332 of FIG. 3A may change depending on the change in the impedance of the antenna 340. Hereinafter, the change in the first voltage and second voltage depending on the change in the impedance will be described with reference to FIG. 3C.); and
and a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors and configured to provide at least one control signal based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier (Kim, fig. 3A and 3C, Fig. 8, [0036]-[0051], [0067]-[0083], [0132]-[0143]: [0073] FIG. 3C is a graph illustrating an example of a voltage peak depending on an impedance change of an antenna according to an embodiment of the disclosure. A horizontal axis of a graph 360 of FIG. 3C indicates a phase (which may be measured in degrees: °) of the impedance of the antenna, and a vertical axis of the graph 360 indicates a voltage peak value (which may be measured in volts: V) of a signal obtained at a first connection portion and a second connection portion when a signal of 0 dBm is output from the power amplifier of FIG. 3A. In addition, for convenience of description, a self-loss of the transmission line 320 of FIG. 3A is excluded in the illustration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Kim so that the power distribution may be achieved efficiently (Kim, [0111]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ask teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 1:
Further comprising a tuner circuit communicatively coupled to the antenna and to the controller and having a variable tuner impedance, and wherein to provide the at least one control signal the controller is configured to provide a tuner control signal to the tuner circuit to set a value of the variable tuner impedance to attempt to cause an output impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna and the tuner circuit, to match a power amplifier impedance of the power amplifier (Ask, Fig. Fig. 8, [0056], [0101]-[0102]: [0096] In accordance with embodiments, the lossless network may include one or more tunable elements, as is indicated in FIG. 6 by elements 308.sub.1 and 308.sub.10. Some or all of the elements 308.sub.1 to 308.sub.10, which construct the lossless network, may by tunable. For example, reactive components may be the construction blocks of the lossless network. These reactive elements may be realized by means of capacitors, coils or striplines, like microstrip lines. The tunability provides the wireless transceiver with the functionality of cancelling or reducing the self-interference over a wide range of frequencies or frequency bands. In other words, assuming that the wireless transceiver supports a range or a set of frequencies or frequency bands for operation—such as in SDR (Software Defined Radio) platforms, the lossless network components may be adjusted to match the selected frequency band for self-interference cancellation. The reactive elements may be tuned via an interface controlled by a DSP core or a micro-controller. The values of the reactive components may be estimated by a baseband processor to be used then for tuning the elements accordingly. Besides tuning the transceiver to a desired frequency, the tunability may provide the wireless transceiver with the functionality of compensating tolerances of the reactive components.).
Regarding Claim 8, Ask-Kim teaches a method:
Of controlling a full duplex transceiver of a mobile wireless communication device, the method comprising (Ask, Fig.1, [0041], [0003]-[0006]: See paragraph [0041]):
transmitting a transmit signal from a power amplifier of transmit circuitry of the full duplex transceiver, via a duplexer of the full duplex transceiver, to an antenna of the full duplex transceiver (Ask, Fig. 10, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 11, [0107]-[0111]: [0108] The transmitter TX includes a full-duplex transceiver apparatus 300 in accordance with the present invention. The full-duplex transceiver apparatus 300 includes the plurality of antennas ANT.sub.TX or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements. The plurality of antennas ANT.sub.TX include a first antenna and a second antenna. A transceiver circuit 322 includes the first transmit front-end 304 for feeding the first antenna, the first receive front-end 306 for receiving a remotely-generated signal via the second antenna, and the matching network 308, which is coupled between the plurality of antennas ANT.sub.TX and the transmit and receive front-ends 304/306 for feeding the first antenna from the first transmit front-end and for delivering the remotely-generated or received signal from the second antenna to the first receive front-end.);
receiving, via the antenna and the duplexer, a receive signal by receive circuitry of the full duplex transceiver (Ask, Fig. 10, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 11, [0107]-[0111]: [0109] The receiver RX includes at least one antenna ANT.sub.RX. In other embodiments, the receiver RX may include more than one antenna. The receiver RX further includes a transceiver circuit 330 and a signal processing unit 332 for processing data received/to be transmitted.);
Thus, Ask do not explicitly teach , obtaining at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points; and providing at least one control signal, within the full duplex transceiver, based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier.
Similar to the system of Ask, Kim teaches a plurality of voltage values at a first connection to be transmitted, along with a second connection. While also mentioning that there is a plurality of points (e.g., three points), which can be seen as, obtaining at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna, wherein at least one circuit component is disposed between each pair of the respective points (Kim, fig. 3A and 3C, [0036]-[0051], [0067]-[0083]: [0072] Referring to FIG. 3B, a first point 342 on the illustrated smith chart indicates antenna impedance, expressed by r and θ.sub.0. A second point 351 indicates a point at which a VSWR is 1 and a characteristic impedance is normalized to a reference resistance R.sub.0 (50Ω). A first circle 353 indicates a set of points at which a VSWR is 1.5. A second circle 355 indicates a set of points at which a VSWR is 2. According to an embodiment, the first point 342 may change to a point in the range of R.sub.max and R.sub.min, with a change in the impedance of the antenna 340. R.sub.max may be determined as VSWR*R.sub.0, and R.sub.min may be determined as VSWR/R.sub.0. For example, R.sub.0 may indicate a reference resistance, and may be 50Ω. As such, R.sub.max may have a magnitude of about 10052, and R.sub.min may have a magnitude of about 25Ω. As illustrated in FIG. 3B, the impedance of the antenna 340 may change, and the first voltage of the first connection portion 331 and the second voltage of the second connection portion 332 of FIG. 3A may change depending on the change in the impedance of the antenna 340. Hereinafter, the change in the first voltage and second voltage depending on the change in the impedance will be described with reference to FIG. 3C.); and
providing at least one control signal, within the full duplex transceiver, based on the at least three voltage measurements to control an impedance presented to an output of the power amplifier (Kim, fig. 3A and 3C, Fig. 8, [0036]-[0051], [0067]-[0083], [0132]-[0143]: [0073] FIG. 3C is a graph illustrating an example of a voltage peak depending on an impedance change of an antenna according to an embodiment of the disclosure. A horizontal axis of a graph 360 of FIG. 3C indicates a phase (which may be measured in degrees: °) of the impedance of the antenna, and a vertical axis of the graph 360 indicates a voltage peak value (which may be measured in volts: V) of a signal obtained at a first connection portion and a second connection portion when a signal of 0 dBm is output from the power amplifier of FIG. 3A. In addition, for convenience of description, a self-loss of the transmission line 320 of FIG. 3A is excluded in the illustration.).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term full duplex it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Kim so that the power distribution may be achieved efficiently within the system of Ask, in regards to the full duplex transceiver (Kim, [0111]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ask teaches a method of claim 8:
Wherein providing the at least one control signal comprises providing a tuner control signal to a tuner circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable tuner impedance, to set a value of the variable tuner impedance to attempt to cause an output impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna and the tuner circuit, to match a power amplifier impedance of the power amplifier (Ask, Fig. Fig. 8, [0056], [0101]-[0102]: See above for paragraph [0096].).
Regarding Claim 15, Ask-Kim teaches a full duplex transceiver:
Comprising:
Means for transmitting a transmit signal via a power amplifier and a duplexer to an antenna of the full duplex transceiver (Ask, Fig.1, [0041], [0003]-[0006]: See paragraph [0041]);
Means for receiving, via the antenna and the duplexer, a receive signal (Ask, Fig. 10, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 11, [0107]-[0111]: See above for paragraph [0108].);
Similar to the system of Ask, Kim teaches a plurality of voltage values at a first connection to be transmitted, along with a second connection. While also mentioning that there is a plurality of points (e.g., three points), which can be seen as, means for obtaining at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: See above for [0046].); and
Means for providing at least one control signal, within the full duplex transceiver, based on the at least three voltage measurements (Kim, Fig. 8, [0132]-[0143]: See above for [0140].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term full duplex it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Kim so that the power distribution may be achieved efficiently within the system of Ask, in regards to the full duplex transceiver. (Kim, [0111]).
Regarding Claim 18, Ask teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 15:
Wherein the means for providing the at least one control signal comprise means for providing a tuner control signal to a tuner circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable tuner impedance, to set a value of the variable tuner impedance to attempt to cause an output impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna and the tuner circuit, to match a power amplifier impedance of the power amplifier (Ask, Fig. Fig. 8, [0056], [0101]-[0102]: See above for paragraph [0096].).
Regarding Claim 22, Ask- Kim teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium:
Comprising processor-readable instructions to cause at least one processor, of a full duplex transceiver, to (Ask, Fig. 10, [0105]-[0111], [0115]-[0119]: See paragraph [0114].):
transmit a transmit signal via a power amplifier and a duplexer to an antenna of the full duplex transceiver (Ask, Fig.1, [0041], [0003]-[0006]: See paragraph [0041]);
receive, via the antenna and the duplexer, a receive signal (Ask, Fig. 10, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 11, [0107]-[0111]: See above for paragraph [0108].);
Similar to the system of Ask, Kim teaches a plurality of voltage values at a first connection to be transmitted, along with a second connection. While also mentioning that there is a plurality of points (e.g., three points), which can be seen as, obtain at least three voltage measurements from respective points between the power amplifier and the antenna (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: See above for [0046].); and
provide at least one control signal, within the full duplex transceiver, based on the at least three voltage measurements (Kim, Fig. 8, [0132]-[0143]: See above for [0140].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term full duplex it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Kim so that the power distribution may be achieved efficiently within the system of Ask, in regards to the full duplex transceiver. (Kim, [0111]).
Regarding Claim 25, Ask teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 22:
Wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide the at least one control signal comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide a tuner control signal to a tuner circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable tuner impedance, to set a value of the variable tuner impedance to attempt to cause an output impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna and the tuner circuit, to match a power amplifier impedance of the power amplifier (Ask, Fig. Fig. 8, [0056], [0101]-[0102], [0114]-[0119]: See above for paragraph [0096].).
Claims 2-3,5-6, 9-10, 12-13, 16-17, 19-20, 23-24, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the system of Ask and Kim as applied to claims 1/8/15/22, and further in view of Hrivnak et al. (US 20200343873 A1) (hereinafter Hri):
Regarding Claim 2, Hri teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 1:
Thus, Ask do not explicitly teach further comprising a balance circuit communicatively coupled to the duplexer and the controller, the balance circuit being configured to provide a variable balance circuit impedance, and wherein to provide the at least one control signal the controller is configured to provide a balance circuit impedance control signal to the balance circuit to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, further comprising a balance circuit communicatively coupled to the duplexer and the controller, the balance circuit being configured to provide a variable balance circuit impedance, and wherein to provide the at least one control signal the controller is configured to provide a balance circuit impedance control signal to the balance circuit to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance (Hri, Fig.5, [0047]-[0052]: [0047] FIG. 5 illustrates a schematic diagram of an antenna coupler for use with a balanced antenna, according to specific example embodiments of this disclosure. The impedance matching circuit shown in FIG. 5 operates in substantially the same way as the matching circuit of FIG. 4 with the difference that an unbalanced-to-balanced step-up transformer (unbalanced-to-balanced—Balun) may be used to “float” the node of the capacitor 406 not coupled to the inductor 408 and then the other half of the balanced antenna 410b may be coupled thereto. The circuit shown in FIG. 4 may also be used for a balanced load by placing a Balun (not shown) between the unbalanced output of the (load side of inductor 408) and the balanced load (antenna) 410a, 410b; however, with the Balun placed at the input of the matching network, the Balun is in a controlled impedance node as opposed to the widely variable impedances of the output load.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 3, Hri teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 2:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna (Hri, Fig. 4A, Fig.6D, [0046], [0047]-[0056], [0060]-[0063]: [0063] Only after the selection of the inductance and capacitance values have been made will the switches 624 and 626 close, and then are subject to only about one-half RF power since the 50 ohm attenuator 628 is still coupled between the RF power source 402 and the (RF load) antenna 410 and in parallel with the matching network 634. An advantage of the aforementioned method of operation is that the RF power source 402 will not see a VSWR of greater than about 2:1 (50-ohm attenuator load in parallel with the now 50-ohm impedance configured L-C network 634 coupled between the transmitter 402 and antenna 410). Once the switches 624 and 626 have closed, switches 620 and 622 can open and the RF power source 402 then sees the RF load 410 as substantially 50 ohms.) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ask-Kim-Hri teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 1:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach coupled to the antenna and the duplexer between the antenna and the duplexer, wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to obtain a first voltage measurement, of the at least three voltage measurements, from a first point between the power amplifier and the balun.
However, Kim teaches coupled to the antenna and the duplexer between the antenna and the duplexer, wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to obtain a first voltage measurement, of the at least three voltage measurements, from a first point between the power amplifier and the balun (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: [0046] According to another embodiment, a plurality of voltage values at the first connection portion 131 of the signal to be transmitted and a plurality of voltage values at the second connection portion 132 may be measured. For example, the first voltage may be a representative voltage value (e.g., an average value, a maximum value, etc.) obtained by measuring voltages at a plurality of points (e.g., three points) adjacent to the first connection portion 131. As another example, the first voltage may be a representative voltage value obtained by measuring a voltage at the first connection portion 131 during each of a plurality of specific periods.).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun and duplexer, that is mentioned in claim 5.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Ask teaches full-duplex transceiver apparatus to address the self-interference phenomenon, which can be seen as, duplexer (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]: See above for [0094].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri and Ask to double the spectral utilization efficiency and ease the radio resource allocation to allow the network entities or nodes to communicate over the same frequency band and without discontinuity in time. (Ask, [0004]). Additionally, to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim-Hri teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 5:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein a second sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to obtain a second voltage measurement, of the at least three voltage measurements, from a second point between the balun and the antenna.
However, Kim teaches wherein a second sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to obtain a second voltage measurement, of the at least three voltage measurements, from a second point between the balun and the antenna (Kim, Fig. 7, [0102]-[0108], [0106]-[0131], [0143]:[0143] In addition, the disclosure is not limited to the structure illustrated in FIG. 1 to FIG. 7. For example, although power is calculated by using a representative value calculated based on the first voltage and the second voltage in FIG. 1 to FIG. 7 in the disclosure, the power may also be calculated based on a representative value of voltages measured in another portion (e.g., a third connection portion, a fourth connection portion, etc.). Accordingly, the electronic device may include a plurality of power amplifiers, a plurality of specific-length transmission lines, or a plurality of sensors.).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun, that is mentioned in claim 6.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 9, Hri teaches a method of claim 8:
Although, Ask does teach a full duplex transceiver (Ask, [0041]); Ask does not explicitly teach wherein providing the at least one control signal comprises providing a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein providing the at least one control signal comprises providing a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance (Hri, Fig.5, [0047]-[0052]: See paragraph [0047] above.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, Hri teaches a method of claim 9:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna (Hri, Fig. 4A, Fig.6D, [0046], [0047]-[0056], [0060]-[0063]: See above for paragraph [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 12, Ask-Kim-Hri teaches a method of claim 8:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprises obtaining a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver.
However, Kim teaches wherein obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprises obtaining a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: [0046] According to another embodiment, a plurality of voltage values at the first connection portion 131 of the signal to be transmitted and a plurality of voltage values at the second connection portion 132 may be measured. For example, the first voltage may be a representative voltage value (e.g., an average value, a maximum value, etc.) obtained by measuring voltages at a plurality of points (e.g., three points) adjacent to the first connection portion 131. As another example, the first voltage may be a representative voltage value obtained by measuring a voltage at the first connection portion 131 during each of a plurality of specific periods.).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun and full-duplex, that is mentioned in claim 12.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Ask teaches full-duplex transceiver apparatus to address the self-interference phenomenon, which can be seen as, full-duplex (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]: See above for [0094].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri and Ask to double the spectral utilization efficiency and ease the radio resource allocation to allow the network entities or nodes to communicate over the same frequency band and without discontinuity in time. (Ask, [0004]). Additionally, to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim-Hri teaches a method of claim 12:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprises obtaining a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna.
However, Kim teaches wherein obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprises obtaining a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna (Kim, Fig. 7, [0102]-[0108], [0106]-[0131], [0143]:[0143] In addition, the disclosure is not limited to the structure illustrated in FIG. 1 to FIG. 7. For example, although power is calculated by using a representative value calculated based on the first voltage and the second voltage in FIG. 1 to FIG. 7 in the disclosure, the power may also be calculated based on a representative value of voltages measured in another portion (e.g., a third connection portion, a fourth connection portion, etc.). Accordingly, the electronic device may include a plurality of power amplifiers, a plurality of specific-length transmission lines, or a plurality of sensors.).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun, that is mentioned in claim 13.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 16, Hri teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 15:
Although, Ask does teach a full duplex transceiver (Ask, [0041]); Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the means for providing the at least one control signal comprise means for providing a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein the means for providing the at least one control signal comprise means for providing a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance (Hri, Fig.5, [0047]-[0052]: See paragraph [0047] above.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 17, Hri teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 16:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna (Hri, Fig. 4A, Fig.6D, [0046], [0047]-[0056], [0060]-[0063]: See above for paragraph [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 15:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the means for obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprise means for obtaining a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver.
However, Kim teaches wherein the means for obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprise means for obtaining a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: See paragraph above [0046].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun and full-duplex, that is mentioned in claim 19.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Ask teaches full-duplex transceiver apparatus to address the self-interference phenomenon, which can be seen as, full-duplex (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]: See above for [0094].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri and Ask to double the spectral utilization efficiency and ease the radio resource allocation to allow the network entities or nodes to communicate over the same frequency band and without discontinuity in time. (Ask, [0004]). Additionally, to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim-Hri teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 19:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the means for obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprise means for obtaining a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna.
However, Kim teaches wherein the means for obtaining the at least three voltage measurements comprise means for obtaining a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna (Kim, Fig. 7, [0102]-[0108], [0106]-[0131], [0143]: See above for paragraph [0143].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun, that is mentioned in claim 19.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 23, Hri teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 22:
Although, Ask does teach a full duplex transceiver (Ask, [0041]); Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide the at least one control signal comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide the at least one control signal comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to provide a balance circuit impedance control signal to a balance circuit, of the full duplex transceiver and having a variable balance circuit impedance, to control a value of the variable balance circuit impedance (Hri, Fig.5, Fig. 12, [0047]-[0052], [0070]-[0071]: See paragraph [0047] above.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 24, Hri teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 23:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Hri teaches controlling a set of switches in response to selection of balance circuit components, which can be seen as, wherein the balance circuit impedance control signal is configured to control the value of the variable balance circuit impedance to attempt to match a second impedance, presented to the power amplifier by at least the balance circuit, to a first impedance presented to the power amplifier by at least the antenna (Hri, Fig. 4A, Fig.6D, [0046], [0047]-[0056], [0060]-[0063]: See above for paragraph [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 22:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain the at least three voltage measurements comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver.
However, Kim teaches wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain the at least three voltage measurements comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain a first voltage measurement from a first point between the power amplifier and a balun of the full duplex transceiver (Kim, Fig.1, [0036]-[0051]: See paragraph above [0046].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun and full-duplex, that is mentioned in claim 26.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Ask teaches full-duplex transceiver apparatus to address the self-interference phenomenon, which can be seen as, full-duplex (Ask, Fig. 5, [0094]-[0098]: See above for [0094].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri and Ask to double the spectral utilization efficiency and ease the radio resource allocation to allow the network entities or nodes to communicate over the same frequency band and without discontinuity in time. (Ask, [0004]). Additionally, to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 27, Kim teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 26:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain the at least three voltage measurements comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna.
However, Kim teaches wherein the processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain the at least three voltage measurements comprise processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to obtain a second voltage measurement from a second point between the balun and the antenna (Kim, Fig. 7, [0102]-[0108], [0106]-[0131], [0145]-[0143]: See above for paragraph [0143].).
Although, Kim does not explicitly teach the term balun, that is mentioned in claim 19.
Similar to the system of Kim, Hri teaches an antenna coupler to use with a balanced antenna. Then balance circuit may be used to float the node of the capacitor, which can be seen as, balun (Hri, Fig. 4 and 5, [0047]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Hri to provide faster tuning speed for matching operation and may lower component losses and provide better efficiency (Hri, [0043]).
Claims 7,14, 21, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the system of Ask and Kim as applied to claims 1/8/15/22, and further in view of Seger et al. (US 20230041204 A1) (hereinafter Seg):
Regarding Claim 7, Seg teaches a mobile wireless communication device of claim 1:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to implement a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Seg teaches artificial intelligence (AI) models such machine learning functions trained on sets of training data, which can be seen as, wherein the controller is configured to implement a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna (Seg, Fig. 2, [0269]-[0276], Fig. 62AY, [1010]-[1011]. Fig. 64U, [1263]-[1266]: [1010] FIG. 62AY is a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of an example of a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 11460 and a signal source 11102, and an illustration of the output of the signal source 11102 (e.g., analog reference signal 11101). The RF transceiver 11460 includes a digital baseband or low IF processing module 11461, an analog to digital converter (ADC) 11450, a receive (RX) low pass (LP) filter circuit 11462, down conversion mixer 11463, a low noise amplifier 11464, a receive (RX) bandpass (BP) filter circuit 11465, a transmit (TX)/receive (RX) splitter 11466 coupled to an antenna, a transmit (TX) bandpass (BP) filter circuit 11467, a power amplifier 11468, an up conversion mixer 11469, a transmit low pass (LP) filter circuit 11470, a digital to analog converter (DAC) 11452 and a local oscillation generator (LOGEN) 11473. The signal source 11102 includes a direct current (DC) reference voltage circuit 11471, a phase locked loop (PLL) 11472, and a combining circuit 11474. [1264] Examples of such inference functions can include signal analysis, statistical noise analysis, statistical pattern recognition functions, other pattern recognition functions, texture recognition functions, artificial intelligence (AI) models such as convolutional neural networks, deep-learning functions, clustering algorithms, machine learning functions trained on sets of training data with capacitance image data corresponding to known conditions of various kinds, and/or other image processing techniques.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Seg to use multiple communication types, where data is communicated between the devices more efficiently and securely (Seg, [0932]). Additionally, so the data can be transmitted more seamlessly than other communication types (Seg, [0906]).
Regarding Claim 14, Seg teaches a method of claim 8:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach further comprising using a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Seg teaches artificial intelligence (AI) models such machine learning functions trained on sets of training data, which can be seen as, further comprising using a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna (Seg, Fig. 2, [0269]-[0276], Fig. 62AY, [1010]-[1011], Fig. 64U, [1263]-[1266]: See above for paragraph[1010].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Seg to use multiple communication types, where data is communicated between the devices more efficiently and securely (Seg, [0932]). Additionally, so the data can be transmitted more seamlessly than other communication types (Seg, [0906]).
Regarding Claim 21, Seg teaches a full duplex transceiver of claim 15:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach further comprising means for using a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Seg teaches artificial intelligence (AI) models such machine learning functions trained on sets of training data, which can be seen as, further comprising means for using a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna (Seg, Fig. 2, [0269]-[0276], Fig. 62AY, [1010]-[1011], Fig. 64U, [1263]-[1266]: See above for paragraph[1010].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Seg to use multiple communication types, where data is communicated between the devices more efficiently and securely (Seg, [0932]). Additionally, so the data can be transmitted more seamlessly than other communication types (Seg, [0906]).
Regarding Claim 28, Seg teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium of claim 22:
Thus, Ask does not explicitly teach further comprising processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to use a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna.
Similar to the system of Ask, Seg teaches artificial intelligence (AI) models such machine learning functions trained on sets of training data, which can be seen as, further comprising processor-readable instructions to cause the at least one processor to use a machine learning model to determine an output impedance presented to the power amplifier by circuitry between an output of the power amplifier to, and including, the antenna (Seg, Fig. 2, [0269]-[0276], Fig. 62AY, [1010]-[1011], Fig. 64U, [1263]-[1266], [1489]: See above for paragraph [1010].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ask with Seg to use multiple communication types, where data is communicated between the devices more efficiently and securely (Seg, [0932]). Additionally, so the data can be transmitted more seamlessly than other communication types (Seg, [0906]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468