DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (Pub. No.: US 2016/0124495 A1) and further in view of Hwang (Pub. No.: US 2013/0110521 A1) and Medapalli (Pub. No.: US 2021/0083715 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 20:
KIM discloses a first wireless device comprising circuitry configured to perform operations comprising: receiving data from a second wireless equipment over a short-range connection (fig. 7, items 710 and 720 discloses two electronic devices communicating with each other via short range), wherein the data is received when an application processor of the first wireless device is in a lower power state (parag. 0091 discloses different power state of processor);
KIM does not explicitly disclose buffering the data in a buffer while the application processor of the first UE is in the lower power state; and transferring buffered data from the buffer to the application processor after the application processor exits the lower power state and enters an active state; generic attribute profile indication and a second power state wherein the first power state is lower power state than the second power state.
Hwang discloses buffering the data in a buffer while the application processor of the first UE is in the lower power state and transferring buffered data from the buffer to the application processor after the application processor exits the lower power state and enters an active state (parag. 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hwang into the teaching of KIM in order to thereby reducing power.
Medapalli discloses generic attribute profile indication and a second power state wherein the first power state is lower power state than the second power state (parag. 0020, 0066, 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Medapalli into the teaching of KIM in view of Hwang in order to save power.
With respect to claims 2, 12, 21:
Hwang discloses the first UE of claim 1, wherein the application processor is triggered to exit the lower power state to perform a background application refresh (parag. 0006 and 0009-0010 discloses transition out of low power mode to do other operation).
With respect to claims 7, 17, 22:
KIM discloses the first UE of claim 1, wherein the buffer is implemented in firmware (parag. 0080-0081).
With respect to claims 8, 18, 23:
KIM discloses the first UE of claim 1, wherein the application processor is triggered to exit the lower power state based on a trigger that is unrelated to the short-range connection (parag. 0044 and 0133).
With respect to claims 9, 19, 24:
KIM discloses the first UE of claim 1, wherein the application processor is triggered to exit the lower power state based on a type of data received from the second UE (parag. 0133-0137).
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (Pub. No.: US 2016/0124495 A1), Hwang (Pub. No.: US 2013/0110521 A1), Medapalli (Pub. No.: US 2021/0083715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Henderson (Pub. No.: US 2014/0304566 A1).
With respect to claim 25-29:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; KIM, Hwang and Medapallo do not explicitly disclose the processor configured to disconnect the short-range connection with the second wireless device after the application processor exits the second power state and enters the first power state.
Henderson discloses processor configured to disconnect the short-range connection with the second wireless device after the application processor exits the second power state and enters the first power state (parag. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Henderson into the teaching of KIM in view of Hwang and Medapallo in order to save power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649