DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the power transmission mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyakawa (GB 2163980) in view of Yuguchi et al. (WO 2017203824, hereinafter ‘Yuguchi’).
Regarding claim 1, Miyakawa discloses a machine tool comprising a tool post 1 to which a rotary tool 16 that machines the workpiece is attached. A tool post base 1 supports the tool post. The tool post includes a power transmission mechanism 6/11 that transmits a driving force for rotationally driving the rotary tool, a base table 3 and a tool mounting member 5 to which the rotary tool is attached. The power transmission mechanism is disposed between the base table and the tool mounting member. A back side of the base table faces the tool post base and the tool mounting member is disposed on a front side of the base table. The power transmission mechanism is disposed on the front side of the base table and is exposed to the front side of the base table by removing the tool mounting member. Miyakawa does not explicitly disclose the details of the machine to which the tool post is attached in order to actually be used as a machining tool.
Yuguchi discloses a machine tool 1 which utilizes a multi-spindle tool post 12 to machine a workpiece W1 which is gripped in a spindle 30 and rotated about a spindle axis AX1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the tool post of Miyakawa in a machine tool such as the one taught by Yuguchi, in order to machine a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Miyakawa discloses the tool mounting member being attached to the base table with a fastening member 6, and the fastening member is removable from the front side of the base table, for example, an operator is capable of removing the fastening member from the front side of the base table by being located on the front side of the base table and reaching behind the base table to remove the fastening member(s).
Alternatively, it would have been an obvious modification one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have made to the tool post of Miyakawa, to reverse the fastening member(s) if desired, such that the head of the fastening member is located on the front side of the base table, to enable the user to remove the fasteners more easily and without less interference, depending on the machine tool to which the tool post is attached. See MPEP 2144.04, VI, A.
Regarding claims 3-4, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base having a guide (not labeled, but the rail system visible in Fig. 9) which guides movement of the tool post in an orthogonal axis direction Y2 that is orthogonal to the spindle axis, by being guided by the guide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5-6, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis).
Regarding claims 7-8, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis). As the guide extends along the back of the tool post base, the guide extends across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722