DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the power transmission mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyakawa (GB 2163980) in view of Yuguchi et al. (WO 2017203824, hereinafter ‘Yuguchi’).
Regarding claim 1, Miyakawa discloses a machine tool comprising a tool post 1 to which a rotary tool 16 that machines the workpiece is attached. A tool post base 1 supports the tool post. The tool post includes a power transmission mechanism 6/11 that transmits a driving force for rotationally driving the rotary tool, a base table 3/4 and a tool mounting member 5 to which the rotary tool is attached. The power transmission mechanism is disposed between the base table and the tool mounting member. A back side of the base table faces the tool post base and the tool mounting member is disposed on a front side of the base table. The power transmission mechanism is disposed on the front side of the base table and is exposed to the front side of the base table by removing the tool mounting member. The base table comprises a table recessed portion (cavity 7) which stores the power transmission mechanism, and the tool mounting member comprises a mounting member recessed portion (the blind holes containing bearings which support the gear shafts on which gears 12 are mounted) for receiving a part of the power transmission mechanism (said shafts) projecting from the table recessed portion. Miyakawa does not explicitly disclose the details of the machine to which the tool post is attached in order to actually be used as a machining tool.
Yuguchi discloses a machine tool 1 which utilizes a multi-spindle tool post 12 to machine a workpiece W1 which is gripped in a spindle 30 and rotated about a spindle axis AX1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the tool post of Miyakawa in a machine tool such as the one taught by Yuguchi, in order to machine a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Miyakawa discloses the tool mounting member being attached to the base table with a fastening member 6, and the fastening member is removable from the front side of the base table, for example, an operator is capable of removing the fastening member from the front side of the base table by being located on the front side of the base table and reaching behind the base table to remove the fastening member(s).
Alternatively, it would have been an obvious modification one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have made to the tool post of Miyakawa, to reverse the fastening member(s) if desired, such that the head of the fastening member is located on the front side of the base table, to enable the user to remove the fasteners more easily and without less interference, depending on the machine tool to which the tool post is attached. See MPEP 2144.04, VI, A.
Regarding claims 3-4, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base having a guide (not labeled, but the rail system visible in Fig. 9) which guides movement of the tool post in an orthogonal axis direction Y2 that is orthogonal to the spindle axis, by being guided by the guide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5-6, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis).
Regarding claims 7-8, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Miyakawa is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis). As the guide extends along the back of the tool post base, the guide extends across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Miyakawa (as well as Yuguchi)1 does not disclose the claimed table recessed portion and mounting member recessed portion. This argument is respectfully traversed.
As outlined above, the base table (consisting of elements 3 and 4 together) comprises a table recessed portion 7, and the tool mounting member 5 comprises a mounting member recessed portion (the blind hole(s) containing the bearing(s) on which the shafts that gears 12 are disposed on are supported) which receives a part (the aforementioned shaft(s)) of the power transmission mechanism that projects from the table recessed portion.
Accordingly, the instant claims are still rejected under Miyakawa in view of Yuguchi.
Conclusion
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 Applicant also argues against the Braun reference relied upon earlier in prosecution, but not in the Final Rejection of 05/04/2026 or above. Any arguments against Braun are considered moot.