DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the power transmission mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun (US 4123191) in view of Yuguchi et al. (WO 2017203824, hereinafter ‘Yuguchi’).
Regarding claim 1, Braun discloses a tool post (e.g. Fig. 1) to which a rotary tool that machines a workpiece is attached (the actual tool(s) is not illustrated, but each spindle houses a tool). A tool post base 1 supports the tool post. The tool post includes a power transmission mechanism 5/6 that transmits a driving force for rotationally driving the rotary tool, a base table (unlabeled piece between elements 1 and 3 in Fig. 1) and a tool mounting member 3 to which the rotary tool is attached. The power transmission mechanism is disposed between the base table and the tool mounting member. The back side of the base table faces the tool post base 1 and the tool mounting member 3 is disposed on a front side of the base table. The tool mounting member is detachably attached to the base table. Braun does not explicitly disclose the details of the machine to which the tool post is attached in order to actually be used as a machining tool.
Yuguchi discloses a machine tool 1 which utilizes a multi-spindle tool post 12 to machine a workpiece W1 which is gripped in a spindle 30 and rotated about a spindle axis AX1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the tool post of Braun in a machine tool such as the one taught by Yuguchi, in order to machine a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Braun discloses the tool mounting member being attached to the base table with a fastening member 8, and the fastening member is removable from the front side of the base table.
Regarding claims 3-4, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Braun is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base having a guide (not labeled, but the rail system visible in Fig. 6) which guides movement of the tool post in an orthogonal axis direction Y2 that is orthogonal to the spindle axis, by being guided by the guide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5-6, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Braun is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis).
Regarding claims 7-8, the modified machine tool of claim 1, wherein the tool post of Braun is disposed on the machine of Yuguchi, discloses the tool post base extending across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction (see e.g. Fig. 1, wherein the spindle is shown in dashed line being arranged in a location aligned with the tool, such that the tool post base extends across the spindle axis). As the guide extends along the back of the tool post base, the guide extends across the spindle axis in the orthogonal direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lindstrom (US 20200030890), DE 202018100332 and Baumann (WO 2006094712) disclose elements of, or similar to the instant invention.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722