DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to RCE/Amendment filed 06/04/2026.
Claims 2-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued Jacques does not teach a system performing a presigned upload of its own data structure to a filestore and then the same system retrieving that same data structure using the presigned link for internal form processing operations.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The form processing operations as well as other limitations are taught by Ranganathan (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 47-49, 69, prefill data fields in service provider 150/152 with information obtained from initial service provider 130). Jacques is combined with Ranganathan to teach the generation of presigned links (Jacques, col.11, line 46-col.12, line 2; col.18, lines 6-43, generates a pre-signed URL for third-party to access stored data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranganathan et al. (“Ranganathan”, US 2021/0027291) in view of Jacques de Kadt et al. (“Jacques”, US 11,860,855) and further in view of Gordon et al. (“Gordon”, US 2015/0379469).
As per claim 2, Ranganathan teaches a system comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions (Ranganathan, Fig.6, memory 610; para.74); and
one or more hardware processors coupled to the non-transitory memory and configured to read the instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the system to perform operations (Ranganathan, Fig.6, processor 614; para.74) comprising:
receiving, via a first application programming interface (API) call to an API of the system (Ranganathan, para.17, 28, 54, API call to access user account), a request for a digital form that is, at least in part, prefilled with company data for a company in a plurality of data fields of the digital form (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 47-49, 69, onboarding request i.e. initiating registration of new user account with service provider prefilled with user information from another service provider; para.24, user 140 may be business entity);
accessing a data structure for the company data from a partner service provider that is stored in association with the company (Ranganathan, para.36, account data stored in account database 136), wherein the data structure comprises the company data from the partner service provider that was converted to a data format usable for automated data entry in the plurality of data fields of the digital form (Ranganathan, para.18, 60, data formatted to same format of user account);
loading the company data to the plurality of data fields for the digital form using the data structure for the company data (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 47-49, 69, prefill data fields in service provider 150/152 with information obtained from initial service provider 130);
creating a form data structure for the digital form having the company data prefilled in the plurality of data fields (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 45, 47-49, 69, create user account by storing data with prefilled/user-provided data); and
transmitting, via the API responsive to the first API call corresponding to the request, creation of a new user account to a client device associated with the company (Ranganathan, para.50, 52, 54, 58-59, transmit state parameter and authorization code that indicates creation of new account).
However, Ranganathan does not teach performing a presigned upload of the data structure to a filestore; generating a presigned link for the data structure in the filestore, wherein the presigned link provides access to the data structure via a weblink; and retrieving, using the presigned link, the data structure from the filestore. Jacques teaches a storage service system that includes performing a presigned upload of the data structure to a filestore; generating a presigned link for the data structure in the filestore, wherein the presigned link provides access to the data structure via a weblink; and retrieving, using the presigned link, the data structure from the filestore (Jacques, col.11, line 46-col.12, line 2; col.18, lines 6-43, generates a pre-signed URL for third-party to access stored data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Jacques’ teaching with Ranganathan’s system in order to share only certain data to outside users.
Furthermore, the system of Ranganathan and Jacques does not teach transmitting the form data structure. Gordon teaches an onboarding system wherein completed forms are transmitted back to the sender (Gordon, para.6, 34, external form-handling app 226 transmits forms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Gordon’s teaching with the system of Ranganathan and Jacques in order to verify information inputted for creation of the account.
As per claim 3, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 2, wherein, prior to the receiving the request, the operations further comprise:
receiving, via a second API call to the API of the system, the company data for the company from the partner service provider (Ranganathan, para.45, creation of first user account that includes data via registration interface/onboarding process is received; Gordon, para.37, external form app 226 receives company data from document interface module 206);
generating the data structure comprising the company data in the data format for an onboarding of the company with the system (Ranganathan, para.18, 45, 60, creation of first user account via registration interface/onboarding process); and
storing the data structure with an identifier associated with the company (Ranganathan, para.37, user identity attributes stored; para.40, 45, account database 136 stores data).
As per claim 4, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the company data includes at least one of a company organizational document, a company financial document, or a company tax document processed by the partner service provider during a provision of a service to the company (Ranganathan, para.36, account info includes financial info), and wherein, prior to the accessing, the operations further comprise:
parsing, using an image processing operation, the company data for form data corresponding to the plurality of data fields of the digital form (Gordon, para.32, parsing module/data recognition module 204); and
extracting the form data based on the parsing (Gordon, para.33, 36, parsing module/data recognition module 204; parsed/extracted from input data stream 220).
As per claim 5, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the request is from a representative associated with the company and is for an onboarding of the company with the system based on a referral for the onboarding provided to the company via an account of the company with the partner service provider (Gordon, para.17, financial advisor onboards new clients).
As per claim 6, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving an indication that the digital form has been completed from the client device (Ranganathan, para.50, 52, 54, 58-59, transmit state parameter and authorization code that indicates completion of the creation of new account); and
processing the form data structure for the digital form based on the company data and any additional input for the digital form provided with the indication (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 45, 47-49, 69, create user account by storing data with prefilled/user-provided data; Gordon, para.6, 34).
As per claim 7, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the transmitting comprises one of:
loading the digital form in an interface displayed by the client device with the company data prefilled using the form data structure (Ranganathan, para.13-14, 42-43, 45, 47-49, 69, create user account by storing data with prefilled/user-provided data; Gordon, para.6, 34); or
communicating a digital token associated with the form data structure to an email address associated with the company (Ranganathan, para.17, 53, access token).
As per claim 8, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a status of an onboarding of the company based on processing the digital form with the company after the transmitting (Ranganathan, para.50, 52, state parameter indicates state of onboarding process; Gordon, para.34, 44, status of forms); and
updating the partner service provider with the status (Ranganathan, para.50, 52, state parameter indicates state of onboarding process; Gordon, para.34, 44, status of forms).
As per claim 9, the system of Ranganathan, Jacques and Gordon teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the updating is performed through a bidirectional link that is maintained with a server of the partner service provider via the API (Ranganathan, para.18, access token; para.41, 44, 64, two-way onboarding and linking of accounts; Gordon, para.34).
Claims 10 and 18 are similar in scope to claim 2, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 11 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 3, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 12 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 4, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 13 and 21 are similar in scope to claim 5, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 14-17 are similar in scope to claims 6-9 respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paulus et al. (US 10,997,243) teaches a method of obtaining presigned URL for file in internal and external stages.
Dormer et al. (US 2021/0391040) teaches a method of storing medical study data in a presigned URL for later retrieval.
Mandadi et al. (US 10,901,768) teaches a method of storing data in a presigned URL.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174