DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
No claim of foreign priority or domestic benefit have been made.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, Kim is teaches two or more CSI configurations, where each UE is provided one of the CSI configurations by the eNB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bhamri (US 20240146384) in view of Kim (US 20190229780).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Bhamri teaches an apparatus and method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Bhamri, figure 7) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first UE to:
receive a multi-device aggregation (MDA) indication from a network entity (Bhamri, figure 4 – step 405), wherein the MDA indication indicates an inclusion of the first UE in an aggregation of multiple UEs associated with an object (Bhamri, ¶104 – UE 205 receives the association of a beam failure detection reference signal [BFD RS] set and a beam failure instance [BFI] counter for a beam group; Bhamri, ¶¶99-101, 213 – UEs are grouped based on their geographical region, position relative to a RAN node, TRP [e.g. an object] association, or absolute position of UE, and share a common counter for BFI); and
perform, based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs, an MDA operation via physical (PHY) or medium access control (MAC) layer procedures shared among the multiple UEs (Bhamri, ¶¶38, 100 (a single counter for BFI is used across all UEs within the group; Bhamri, ¶¶118-119, 127-128 - BFI counter for the group is associated with either PHY or MAC),
wherein the first UE is configured to perform the MDA operation on behalf of at least a second UE of the multiple UEs based on shared PHY layer information or MAC layer information without sharing higher-layer data between the first UE and the second UE. Bharmi, ¶¶38, 113 (a primary UE [i.e. claimed “first UE”] is designated to handle all BFD procedures for a group of UEs); Bhamri, ¶¶118-119, 127-128 (BFI counter for the group of UEs is associated with either a PHY or MAC layer [i.e. no signaling shared with a layer above the RRC layer is mentioned in a BFD situation]).
Bhamri does not explicitly teach “receiving, from the network entity, a first channel state information (CSI) configuration comprising a first report offset for reporting first CSI, wherein the first report offset is different from a second report offset for a second UE . . . for reporting second CSI.” However, Kim teaches each UE receiving an RRC message from an eNB, that includes the period, offset, etc. for CSI transmission by the UE. Kim, ¶86. Kim also teaches at least two different CSI configurations that may be used by a given UE. Kim, ¶¶225- 227 (e.g. a 1-bit flag used to indicate either a first or second CSI reporting method). At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable each UE to using a different configuration or mechanism to report CSI, as taught by Kim, within the group of UEs, taught by Bhamri, in order to minimize resource waste by enable multiple UEs to share a resource for measurement. Id. at ¶132 (IMR is a measurement resource).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bhamri and Kim also teaches the first UE to receive (and the network entity to transmit) the MDA indication via the transceiver (Bhamri, figure 7’s element 725 and figure 8’s element 825), and wherein the MDA operation includes one or more of: beam management based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, channel state information (CSI) measurement or reporting based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, radio resource management (RRM) based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, cell selection or reselection based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, or a positioning operation based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object. Bhamri, ¶232-233 (when a beam failure based on a BFI counter, shared amongst a group of UE, is declared constitutes beam management).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bhamri and Kim also teaches wherein the MDA indication further indicates the first UE as a primary UE of the aggregation of the multiple UEs (Bhamri, ¶113 – one or more UEs in the group may be explicitly configured to be primary UEs; Bhamri, figure 4 – RAN node provides configuration to UE), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to: receive, from the first UE, channel state information (CSI) for a channel between the first UE and the network entity. Bhamri, figure 5 and ¶110 (in step 405, the RAN node transmits a BFD configuration, which includes csi-RS-index, to the UE); Bhamri, ¶93 (UE then measures the configured CSI-RSs); Bhamri, figure 4 (in step 430, the UE transmits a beam failure MAC CE, which indicates the state of the channel between the UE and RAN node).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bhamri and Kim also teaches the the CSI configuration comprises a first report periodicity for reporting first CSI; and transmit, to the network entity, the first CSI for a channel between the first UE and the network entity based on the first report offset and the first report periodicity. In particular, Kim teaches each UE receiving an RRC message from an eNB, that includes the period, offset, etc. for CSI transmission by the UE. Kim, ¶86. Kim also teaches at least two different CSI configurations that may be used by a given UE. Kim, ¶¶225- 227 (e.g. a 1-bit flag used to indicate either a first or second CSI reporting method).
Claims 3-8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri in view of Kim (both of record) in view of Alawieh (US 20250056488).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bhamri and Kim teaches the apparatuses of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network entity, an MDA inquiry inquiring UE information of the first UE; and transmit, to the network entity in response to the MDA inquiry, the UE information of the first UE, wherein the UE information of the first UE includes one or more of: a device identifier (ID) of the first UE, position information of the first UE, a sidelink (SL) capability of the first UE, a battery status of the first UE, or a hardware type of the first UE.”1
However, Alawieh teaches a network entity transmitting a request for information to a UE. Alawieh, ¶¶119, 370. And in response, the UE provides its position and/or capabilities. Ibid. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the RAN node, taught by the combination of Bhamri and Kim, to inquire about the UE’s position, as taught by Alawieh, in order to train, at the network side, one or more models for estimating positions of UEs in a network. Id. at ¶¶351, 359.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, a sensing reference signal (RS) for the first UE to evaluate a validity of the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, figure 4 (in steps 405, 410, and 430, the UE receives RS from the RAN node and based on the measurements of RS set, may declare a beam failure); Bhamri, ¶114 (the primary UE 205 may be configured with UE-specific BFD RS, it which its failure is not applied to the entire group, but just to the primary UE of the group [i.e. the primary UE is no longer receiving the beam(s) for the group of UEs, which is exclusion of the primary UE]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches wherein, to manage the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first UE to: indicate, in response to the measurement result being lower than a link quality threshold, a failure report indicating an invalidity of the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, ¶¶106, 118 (if signal strength is below the configured threshold, the BFI counter is incremented and beam failure may be reported); Bhamri, ¶114 (the primary UE 205 may be configured with UE-specific BFD RS, it which its failure is not applied to the entire group, but just to the primary UE of the group [i.e. the primary UE is no longer receiving the beam(s) for the group of UEs, which is exclusion of the primary UE]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the first UE to: receive, from the network entity, a fallback configuration (Bhamri, figure 10 and ¶193 – if beam failure is declared, the RAN node configures new beams for the group of UEs, where the new configuration will be transmitted to the UE), and wherein to manage the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first UE to: perform, based on the fallback configuration in response to the measurement result being lower than the link quality threshold, a fallback operation not involving the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, ¶114, last sentence (if beam failure was declared based on RSRP being below a threshold [see claim 5 for citations] and UE-specific RS is configured for the primary UE, then beam failure procedure for the updated new beams is not shared with the other UEs).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches wherein the link quality threshold is a reference signal received power (RSRP) at the first UE or a relative RSRP back off at the first UE. Bhamri, ¶¶91, 93 (RSRP of layer 1 reference signals are used).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches wherein the failure report further includes one or more of: a first request to trigger a fallback beam management (BM), or a second request to reconstruct the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, ¶135 (when beam failure is determined, the UE can request new candidate beams for the group of UEs); Bhamri, figure 4 (beam failure reported in step 430).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bhamri and Kim teaches the apparatuses of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from the network entity, a positioning configuration indicating an MDA positioning mode (Bhamri, figure 4 – in step 405, the UE receives a beam failure detection configuration),
wherein the positioning configuration includes one or more of: sidelink information, a measuring periodicity, positioning request information for a positioning operation, or a positioning accuracy for the positioning operation (Bhamri, ¶91 – as part of detecting a beam failure, the UE assesses [i.e. measures] link quality according to a periodic CSI-RS configuration [i.e. measuring periodicity]), and
. . . wherein the position information is based on a position of the object. Bhamri, ¶¶132, 213 (UE position is based on its relation to the position of the RAN node).
Bhamri does not explicitly teach “wherein to perform the MDA operation, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first UE to: perform, in response to the positioning configuration, the positioning operation to obtain position information.” However, Alawieh teaches a network entity transmitting a request for information to a UE. Alawieh, ¶ 370. And in response, the UE provides its position. Ibid. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the RAN node, taught by Bhamri, to learn the UE’s position, as taught by Alawieh, in order to train, at the network side, one or more models for estimating positions of UEs in a network. Id. at ¶¶351, 359.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bhamri, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the first UE to: transmit, to the network entity in response to the positioning accuracy lower than an accuracy threshold, a low-accuracy indication indicating an inadequacy to perform the positioning operation. Alawieh, ¶¶130-131 (accuracy is used by a user equipment when determining whether to act as a temporal anchor UE); Alawieh, ¶146 (the user equipment will report that it will not act as a temporal anchor UE to a network entity).
Claims 14, 15, 23-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri (US 20240146384) in view of Sha (US 20240214869) and Kim (of record).
Regarding claim 14 and 30, Bhamri teaches an apparatus and a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Bhamri, figure 8) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a first user equipment (UE), a multi-device aggregation (MDA) indication (Bhamri, figure 4 – step 405), wherein the MDA indication indicates an inclusion of the first UE in an aggregation of multiple UEs associated with an object (Bhamri, ¶104 – UE 205 receives the association of a beam failure detection reference signal [BFD RS] set and a beam failure instance [BFI] counter for a beam group; Bhamri, ¶¶99-101 – UEs are grouped based on their geographical region, including a TRP [e.g. an object], and share a common counter for BFI); and
communicate with the multiple UEs via a physical (PHY) or medium access control (MAC) layer procedures shared among the multiple UEs based on an MDA operation . . . the association of the multiple UEs with the object. Bhamri, ¶51 and figure 2 (base station communicates with remote units, where both types of devices utilize a PHY 211 and MAC 213); Bhamri, ¶¶136, 193 (if BFD is declared based on the BFI counter for the group for a particular TRP, the RAN node can still communicate with the group of UEs using another TRP); see also id. at ¶122 (using RAN-based UL/DL signaling to share information with all UEs within the group).
Bhamri does not explicitly teach (1) “wherein the MDA operation is based on a combination of first information from the first UE and second information from a second UE in the multiple UEs based on the association” or (2) “transmit, to the first UE, a first channel state information (CSI) configuration comprising a first report offset for reporting first CSI, wherein the first report is different from a second report offset for a second UE . . . for reporting second CSI.” However, Sha teaches (1) each UE reporting its aggregation capability to a NodeB, where the aggregation capability indicates that the primary UE of a group can perform UE aggregation. Sha, ¶57. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider a UE’s aggregation capability, as taught by Sha, when defining a group of UEs for beam failure detection, as taught by Bhamri, in order to prevent grouping dissimilar UEs together. Id. at ¶69 (feasibility of UE aggregation or grouping).
Regarding (2), Kim teaches each UE receiving an RRC message from an eNB, that includes the period, offset, etc. for CSI transmission by the UE. Kim, ¶86. Kim also teaches at least two different CSI configurations that may be used by a given UE. Kim, ¶¶225- 227 (e.g. a 1-bit flag used to indicate either a first or second CSI reporting method). At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable each UE to using a different configuration or mechanism to report CSI, as taught by Kim, within the group of UEs, taught by Bhamri, in order to minimize resource waste by enable multiple UEs to share a resource for measurement. Id. at ¶132 (IMR is a measurement resource).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim also teaches the first UE to receive (and the network entity to transmit) the MDA indication via the transceiver (Bhamri, figure 7’s element 725 and figure 8’s element 825), and wherein the MDA operation includes one or more of: beam management based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, channel state information (CSI) measurement or reporting based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, radio resource management (RRM) based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, cell selection or reselection based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object, or a positioning operation based on the aggregation of the multiple UEs with the object. Bhamri, ¶232-233 (when a beam failure based on a BFI counter, shared amongst a group of UE, is declared constitutes beam management).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim also teaches wherein the MDA indication further indicates the first UE as a primary UE of the aggregation of the multiple UEs (Bhamri, ¶113 – one or more UEs in the group may be explicitly configured to be primary UEs; Bhamri, figure 4 – RAN node provides configuration to UE), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to: receive, from the first UE, channel state information (CSI) for a channel between the first UE and the network entity. Bhamri, figure 5 and ¶110 (in step 405, the RAN node transmits a BFD configuration, which includes csi-RS-index, to the UE); Bhamri, ¶93 (UE then measures the configured CSI-RSs); Bhamri, figure 4 (in step 430, the UE transmits a beam failure MAC CE, which indicates the state of the channel between the UE and RAN node).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim teaches the first CSI configuration comprises a first report periodicity for reporting first CSI; and receive, from the first UE, first CSI for a first channel between the first UE and the network entity based on the first report offset and the first report periodicity.” In particular, Kim teaches each UE receiving an RRC message from an eNB, that includes the period, offset, etc. for CSI transmission by the UE. Kim, ¶86. Kim also teaches at least two different CSI configurations that may be used by a given UE. Kim, ¶¶225- 227 (e.g. a 1-bit flag used to indicate either a first or second CSI reporting method). At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable each UE to using a different configuration or mechanism to report CSI, as taught by Kim, within the group of UEs, taught by Bhamri, in order to minimize resource waste by enable multiple UEs to share a resource for measurement. Id. at ¶132 (IMR is a measurement resource).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim teaches
transmitting, to the second UE in the multiple UEs, a second CSI configuration comprising the second report offset and a second report periodicity for reporting the second CSI (Kim, ¶86 – each UE receives a CSI configuration; Kim, ¶¶225- 227 – 1-bit flag indicates which configuration a UE should use, which allows a second UE to have a different CSI configuration from a first UE); and
receive, from the second UE, the second CSI for a second channel between the second UE and the network entity based on the second report offset and the second report periodicity. Kim, ¶71 (CSI is provided to the eNB via the PUCCH or PUSCH allocated by the eNB); Kim, ¶120 (CSI is reported based on period and offset for a reporting type/mechanism).
Claims 16, 17, 19-22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, Sha, and Kim (all of record), further in view of Alawieh (US 20250056488).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network entity, an MDA inquiry inquiring UE information of the first UE; and transmit, to the network entity in response to the MDA inquiry, the UE information of the first UE, wherein the UE information of the first UE includes one or more of: a device identifier (ID) of the first UE, position information of the first UE, a sidelink (SL) capability of the first UE, a battery status of the first UE, or a hardware type of the first UE.”2
However, Alawieh teaches a network entity transmitting a request for information to a UE. Alawieh, ¶¶119, 370. And in response, the UE provides its position and/or capabilities. Ibid. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the RAN node, taught by the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim, to inquire about the UE’s position, as taught by Alawieh, in order to train, at the network side, one or more models for estimating positions of UEs in a network. Id. at ¶¶351, 359.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, a sensing reference signal (RS) for the first UE to evaluate a validity of the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, figure 4 (in steps 405, 410, and 430, the UE receives RS from the RAN node and based on the measurements of RS set, may declare a beam failure); Bhamri, ¶114 (the primary UE 205 may be configured with UE-specific BFD RS, it which its failure is not applied to the entire group, but just to the primary UE of the group [i.e. the primary UE is no longer receiving the beam(s) for the group of UEs, which is exclusion of the primary UE]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from the network entity, a positioning configuration indicating an MDA positioning mode (Bhamri, figure 4 – in step 405, the UE receives a beam failure detection configuration),
wherein the positioning configuration includes one or more of: sidelink information, a measuring periodicity, positioning request information for a positioning operation, or a positioning accuracy for the positioning operation (Bhamri, ¶91 – as part of detecting a beam failure, the UE assesses [i.e. measures] link quality according to a periodic CSI-RS configuration [i.e. measuring periodicity]), and
. . . wherein the position information is based on a position of the object. Bhamri, ¶¶132, 213 (UE position is based on its relation to the position of the RAN node).
The combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein to perform the MDA operation, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first UE to: perform, in response to the positioning configuration, the positioning operation to obtain position information.” However, Alawieh teaches a network entity transmitting a request for information to a UE. Alawieh, ¶ 370. And in response, the UE provides its position. Ibid. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the RAN node, taught by the combination of Bhamri, Sha, and Kim, to learn the UE’s position, as taught by Alawieh, in order to train, at the network side, one or more models for estimating positions of UEs in a network. Id. at ¶¶351, 359.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to: indicate, based on the UE information, a primary UE for the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Alawieh, ¶¶151-153 (network entity request a UE to be an anchor UE for sidelink measurements of nearby UEs).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the network entity to: receive, from the first UE, a failure report based on a measurement result on the sensing RS (Bhamri, figure 4 and ¶109 – RAN node receives beam failure MAC CE), wherein the failure report indicates an invalidity of the inclusion of the first UE in the aggregation of the multiple UEs. Bhamri, ¶64 and figure 4 (beam failure is based on signal measurements of BFD RSs).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches wherein the measurement result is based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the sensing RS at the first UE or a relative RSRP back off of the sensing RS at the first UE. Bhamri, ¶¶91, 93 (RSRP of layer 1 reference signals are used).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Bhamri, Sha, Kim, and Alawieh also teaches the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, a link quality threshold related to the measurement result on the sensing RS, wherein the invalidity of the inclusion of the first UE is based on a comparison of the measurement result with the link quality threshold. Bhamri, ¶¶179, 180, 183 (RAN node configures a UE for a set of BFD RSs, and the configuration may include a threshold value for determining beam failure); Bhamri, ¶¶91, 93 (threshold may be for RSRP).
Conclusion
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461
1 Claim 16 is the same claim concept as claim 3 but from the perspective of a network entity instead of a user equipment. Claim 16 is rendered obvious for the same reasons provided for claim 3, despite differences in how the claimed invention are phrased. Other rejections in this Office action group other similarly situated claims together for the same reasons.
2 Claim 16 is the same claim concept as claim 3 but from the perspective of a network entity instead of a user equipment. Claim 16 is rendered obvious for the same reasons provided for claim 3, despite differences in how the claimed invention are phrased. Other rejections in this Office action group other similarly situated claims together for the same reasons.