Claim Objection
Claim 7 is objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
For claim 7, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the limitation of “the first viewing angle control portion is provided in plurality, and the first color filter portion is disposed between adjacent first viewing angle control portions”. The limitations above are drawn to Applicant’s Fig.4 as shown below, wherein the first viewing angle control portion indicated by arrow below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (JP 2006058710 A)
Regarding claim 1, Oyama teaches a display device comprising: a color filter, wherein the color filter is configured to transmit a light incident from a front of the color filter and blocks other light (see in Oyama:
Further, Patent Document 1 describes a color filter substrate (optical element) in which a microlens made of a convex lens has a color filter function. This color filter substrate is used as a color filter substrate which is a component of a liquid crystal display device.
However, when the color filter substrate described in Patent Document 1 is used as a color filter substrate of a liquid crystal display device, each filter portion has a function of a convex lens, so that the viewing angle becomes narrow).
Therefore, a convex lens in Patent Document 1 is considered to achieve narrow viewing angle, wherein a light incident from a front of the color filter is transmitted and it blocks other light.
Although Oyama does not explicitly teach for its admitted prior art Patent Document 1, that a first substrate comprising a display area comprising a plurality of pixels and a non-display area surrounding the display area; and a color filter arranged on the first substrate. However, Oyama has disclosed Patent Document 1 as relevant art of Oyama’s disclosure, where Oyama used a display device 30, with substrate 12, with left and right side without an pixel electrode 36, which is considered as a non-display area, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the display device in Oyama, in the device of Patent Document 1 in order to achieve a functional display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekine (US 20250008762 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Sekine teaches a display device (at least Fig.17,21,22,23) comprising: a first substrate 20 ([0072]) comprising a display area comprising a plurality of pixels and a non-display area (extreme left and right side of anodes 31 in Fig.22) surrounding the display area; and a color filter (70R and [0074], [0075]) arranged on the first substrate, wherein the color filter is configured to transmit a light incident from a front of the color filter and blocks other light (see in [0082]:
For example, when light generated by the light emitting unit ELP associated with the blue color filter 70B is incident on the protrusion part 71 of the blue color filter 70B, only light having a blue wavelength passes through this protrusion part 71, yet does not pass through the respective color filters 70R and 70G adjacent to the blue color filter 70B. In this way, the protrusion parts 71 improve the light shielding property, so that it is possible to prevent color mixing).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine teaches a display device wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a first pixel emitting a first light, a second pixel emitting a second light, and a third pixel emitting a third light (from plural pixels PX in Figures of Sekine).
Regarding claim 3, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the color filter comprises a first color filter arranged in the first pixel, a second color filter arranged in the second pixel, and a third color filter arranged in the third pixel (70R,70B and 70G).
Regarding claim 4, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the first color filter comprises a first viewing angle control portion and a first color filter portion surrounding the first viewing angle control portion (1. the elements 71 and 2. the rest of the pixel, for each of the pixels PX in the Figures).
Regarding claim 5, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the first viewing angle control portion comprises a first lower viewing angle control portion and a first upper viewing angle control portion on top of the first lower viewing angle control portion (top portion of entire 71 and bottom portion of section 71).
Regarding claim 6, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the first lower viewing angle control portion is disposed on a same layer as the first color filter portion and includes a same material as the first color filter portion (the elements 71 are made of the same material as the rest of the 70R, 70B, or 70G respectively)
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
.
Regarding claim 8, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the first color filter portion is configured to transmit the first light and block the second light and the third light ([0082] in Sekine).
Regarding claim 9, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the second color filter comprises a second viewing angle control portion and a second color filter portion surrounding the second viewing angle control portion, the second viewing angle control portion comprises a second lower viewing angle control portion and a second upper viewing angle control portion on top of the second lower viewing angle control portion, and the second color filter portion transmits the second light and blocks the first light and the third light (other color filters such as 70B and 70G).
Regarding claim 10, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the third color filter comprises a third viewing angle control portion and a third color filter portion surrounding the third viewing angle control portion, the third viewing angle control portion comprising a third lower viewing angle control portion and a third upper viewing angle control portion on top of the third lower viewing angle control portion, the third color filter portion transmitting the third light and blocking the first light and the second light (other color filter from 70B and 70G). .
Regarding claim 11, Sekine teaches a display device, wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter are each provided with a white light ([0069] in Sekine).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine in view of Kim (EP 3716336 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Sekine teaches the invention set forth in claim 10 above, but is silent regarding the plurality of pixels comprises a fourth pixel emitting a fourth light, the fourth light being a white light.
Kim teaches a display wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a fourth pixel emitting a fourth light, the fourth light being a white light (see in Kim: and the fourth pixel region may be a white pixel region Pxa-W) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the fourth pixel from the teachings of Kim, in the device of Sekine in order to improve the light efficiency (in the section Field of Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Sekine in view of Kim teaches the display device, wherein the color filter further comprises a fourth color filter arranged in the fourth pixel, the fourth color filter comprising a fourth viewing angel control portion and a fourth color filter portion surrounding the fourth viewing angle control portion (see in Kim: and the color filter layer CFL-1 may include first to fourth color filter parts B-CFP, G-CFP, R-CFP and W-CFP, and the same reason to combine art applies).
Regarding claim 14, Sekine in view of Kim teaches the display device, wherein the fourth viewing angle control portion comprises a fourth lower viewing angle control portion and a fourth upper viewing angle control portion on top of the fourth lower viewing angle control portion (from the teachings of Kim wherein the light control layer CCL2 pertains to the fourth pixel as well, therefore from the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the control portion for the fourth pixel, in the device of Sekine in view of Kim in order to improve the light efficiency (in the section Field of Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Sekine in view of Kim teaches the display device, wherein the first color filter is provided with the first light, the second color filter is provided with the second light, and the third color filter is provided with the third light (red, green and blue pixels throughout Sekine).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (EP 3923343 A1) in view of Hai (US 20200124921 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Ryu teaches a display device (at least Fig.2 and 4) comprising: a first substrate comprising a display area comprising a plurality of pixels and a non-display area (DA and NDA in Fig.2) surrounding the display area; a thin film transistor layer (CL) on the first substrate BS1; a color filter (CF and TFE) on the thin film transistor layer; a liquid crystal layer (a display panel DP may be any one of a liquid crystal display panel AND The gray scale display layer may include a liquid crystal layer, an organic emission layer or an electrophoretic layer according to a type of the display panel DP ) beneath the color filter; and a second substrate (BFL) on the liquid crystal layer, wherein the color filter is structured to transmit a light incident with a first range of angles and blocks other light
(see in Ryu: The first to third color filters CF-R, CF-G and CF-B each transmit light in a wavelength range and block light which is outside the wavelength range).
Ryu does not teach explicitly teach the liquid crystal layer on the color filter.
However, Ryu teaches: A gray scale display layer for generating an image may be disposed between the first substrate 100 and the second substrate 200. The gray scale display layer may include a liquid crystal layer, an organic emission layer or an electrophoretic layer according to a type of the display panel DP.
Furthermore, Hai teaches the technique of LC layer below or above the color filters (see Fig.110a and Fig.110b;[0008]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the color filter so it is under the liquid crystal layer, since rearrangement of layers that are already disclosed in the prior art involves routine skill in the art in order to improve the pixel aperture ratio ([0008] in Hai).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu in view of Hai teaches the display panel wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, the color filter comprises a first color filter arranged in the first pixel, a second color filter arranged in the second pixel, and a third color filter arranged in the third pixel, and the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the color filter and the second substrate (CF-R,G and B in Fig.8, also see rejection in claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 18, Ryu in view of Hai teaches the display panel wherein, wherein the color filter is disposed between the liquid crystal layer and the second substrate (from the teachings of Ryu in view of Hai, see rejection in claim 16 above).
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230255093 A1)
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a display device (at least Fig.1A, 2B,2C) comprising: a first substrate BS ([0050]) comprising a display area comprising a plurality of pixels (PX, [0047]) and a non-display area (DA and NDA in Fig.1A) surrounding the display area; a thin film transistor layer (CL and TFE; [0121]) on the first substrate BS;
a light emitting layer on the thin film transistor layer (LED; [0050]);
a thin film encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer (TFE, OL, [0075]);
and a color filter (CFL, [009] on the thin film encapsulation layer,
wherein the color filter is structured to transmit a light incident with a first range of angles and blocks other light
(see in Kim: [0109] The color filter layer CFL is disposed on the light control layer CCL. The color filter layer CFL includes at least one-color filter CF1. The color filter CF1 transmits light in a specific wavelength range and blocks light outside the corresponding wavelength range. The color filter CF1 of the first pixel area PXA-R may transmit red light and may block or reduce green light and blue light).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a display device; wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, the color filter comprises a first color filter arranged in the first pixel, a second color filter arranged in the second pixel, and a third color filter arranged in the third filter (see Fig.2c and CF1, CF2 and CF3 and PXA-R, PXA-G, PXA-B).
Other art
JP 2005024919 A, US 20080137168 A1; US 20180149936 A1, US 10310343 B2
CN 108121117 A, US 20200273918 A1, US 20180149936 A1
CA 2534392 A1 discloses: filter changes color with change in viewing angle or angle of incident light.
CN 1755491 B discloses such that the colour filter by the light modulation element modulating the light. the material layer when under white light irradiation can be selectively transmitting certain visible wavelengths and substantially filtering other visible wavelength to reduce the colour of the coloured light of the output along with the change of the viewing angle, the color filter has a spectral peak associated with the selective transmission wavelength of the optical resonance peak overlap wherein the spectrum peak and the at least one optical modulating element.
US 20050035353 A1 discloses [0390] In other words, the light emitting display of this embodiment can control color changes resulting from viewing angle changes by virtue of the color filter, in spite of the optical compensation layer 800 positioned between the quarter-wave plate 700 and circularly polarized light reflective layer 500, and the principal reflection wavelength range of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 500 corresponding to the wavelength range in which spectral luminous efficiency is high, e.g., the range of a green or red color other than blue.
US 20090284696 A1 discloses [0010] In addition, a color change problem in which the color of reflected (or transmitted) light is changed when the incident angle of light incident to a color filter is changed or a viewing angle of a person who views light is changed, occurs. For example, when a color filter is manufactured to be viewed as red is viewed from the front side of the color filter, the color filter seems to be red and when the color filter is viewed at a different angle, the color filter may be viewed as green or blue.
JP 2007065046 A discloses color dot filter for narrowing viewing angle/and wide
KR 20140050329 A discloses specific viewing angles
JP 2017073208 A discloses two filters stacked btu same colors-good (optical filter used)
US 20200172806 A1/CN 112778999 A
US 20210399057 A1 discloses color filter along with a quantum dot conversion layer
US 20200075693 A1 discloses viewing angle performance
US 6219113 B1
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875