DETAILED ACTION
Amendments Entered
The preliminary amendment filed on September 19, 2023 is entered. Claims 2-26 are canceled and claim 1 is pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
First Action Final
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application Nos. 14/995652 and 15/786746. All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the earlier application and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,291,159 to Schmelzeisen-Redeker et al (hereinafter “SR”; cited by Applicant). SR discloses a lancet device comprising: (a) a base (20) that includes a support surface (Fig. 1A, 1B); (b) a lancet (60) supported by the base and extending away from the support surface at an angle of approximately 90 (Fig. 5); (c) a cover that includes (i) a peripheral edge along which the cover is connected to the base (Figs. 1A,.1B, 5), (ii) a cover region configured to cover the lancet when the cover is in an un-depressed position (Figs. 1A, 1B), the cover region having a cover region geometry, (iii) a lancet aperture (12, Fig. 1A) through which the lancet is configured to protrude when the cover is in a depressed position, and (iv) a peripheral hinge near the peripheral edge (thinnest portion of 14 shown in Figs. 2B, 5), the peripheral hinge having a peripheral hinge geometry that differs from the cover region geometry to facilitate controlled movement of the cover from the un-depressed position to the depressed position upon application of a predetermined depression force (col 6, In 33-41).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0184189 to Olson et al (hereinafter “Olson”; cited by Applicant). Olson discloses a lancet device comprising: (a) a base (106, 107, 108) that includes a support surface; (b) a lancet supported by the base and extending away from the support surface at an angle of approximately 90 (fig. 9a); (c) a cover (114) that includes (i) a peripheral edge (117) along which the cover is connected to the base (para [0073]), (ii) a cover region configured to cover the lancet when the cover is in an un-depressed position, the cover region having a cover region geometry (para [0070]), (iii) a lancet aperture (112a, b) through which the lancet is configured to protrude when the cover is in a depressed position, and (iv) a peripheral hinge near the peripheral edge, the peripheral hinge having a peripheral hinge geometry that differs from the cover region geometry to facilitate controlled movement of the cover from the un-depressed position to the depressed position upon application of a predetermined depression force (thinner portion shown bending in Fig. 9B; para [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0203083 to Christensen et al (hereinafter “Christensen”; cited by Applicant) in view of SR. Christensen teaches a lancet device comprising:
(a) a base that includes a support surface (17, Fig. 6);
(b) a lancet (3) supported by the base and extending away from the support surface at an angle of approximately 90 (para [0031], Fig. 6);
(c) a cover (7) that includes (i) a peripheral edge along which the cover is connected to the base, (ii) a cover region configured to cover the lancet when the cover is in an un-depressed position, the cover region having a cover region geometry, (iii) a lancet aperture (“hole” para [0028]) through which the lancet is configured to protrude when the cover is in a depressed position (para [0024], [0028]).
Christensen does not teach a peripheral hinge near the peripheral edge, the peripheral hinge having a peripheral hinge geometry that differs from the cover region geometry to facilitate controlled movement of the cover from the un-depressed position to the depressed position upon application of a predetermined depression force. SR teaches a peripheral hinge near the peripheral edge (thinnest portion of 14 shown in Figs. 2B, 5), the peripheral hinge having a peripheral hinge geometry that differs from the cover region geometry to facilitate controlled movement of the cover from the un-depressed position to the depressed position upon application of a predetermined depression force (col 6, In 33-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the peripheral hinge of SR with the cover of Christensen to enable "the partial collapse of the compression unit which occurs when pressure is applied to the compression unit, to be clearly felt by the user.” SR, col 6, In 33-36.
The Federal Circuit has held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. citing Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc. 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the claimed dimension to ensure the collapse of the cover when the pressure is applied and allow the user to feel the collapse.
One skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combinations would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that with routine experimentation, the geometry of the wall would be optimized to facilitate movement from first and second positions. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.; In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 9,380,970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,237,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,647,357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 16/998,157. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791