DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, there are multiple instances where steps are modified (e.g., “(c) comprises (c-1)”). However, it is unclear where in sequence this modification is performed. For example, within step (c) of claim 1, it is unclear whether the process of (c-1) occurs within or immediately after the process of (c). It is further unclear when (c-2) and (c-3) . Examiner interprets these limitations or modifications to steps as being sequential (i.e. (c)->(c-1)->(c-2)->(c-3)) but clearer language is recommended. For example, by reciting “further comprises” or explicitly stating where in sequence the modified step occurs.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1/12, the claim recites “, i-the MAC chaining value and “comparing the j-th MAC tag with the generated authentication code, ”, however, claim 1 already introduces “generating authentication chaining value”. It is therefore unclear whether this value is distinct from or the same as the tag of claim 1.
All dependent claims, inheriting the same deficiencies and are likewise similarly rejected.
As per claim 2, the claim 1 recited that the unique identification information is not obtained the before the step b. the claim recited that the claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: (d) obtaining the unique identification information of the vehicle prior to (b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720.
As per claim 1. Hirano discloses a method of communicating vehicle data for vehicle control, which is performed by an external device, the method comprising:
(a) generating a multicast key and transmitting the multicast key to the vehicle(interpreting as a wireless terminal ) in a multicast manner ( fig.6, 0036 wireless base stations 1-1 and 1-2 broadcasts a key,, i.e. a multicast key, and [0041] The controller 11 uses the generated one key chain to generate a head information frame, a data frame, and an additional information frame that are transmitted with broadcasting in the sequence S. 0043 The data frame includes a data portion to be distributed with broadcasting and a key of the one-way key chain used in the sequence S and see also 0043 and 0158 0158] The head information frame F108 includes the three keys K.sub.S, 0, K.sub.S, 1 and K.sub.S+1, 5. The key K.sub.S, 0 is a first key in the generation order in the one-way key chain usable in the previous sequence S. A possibility that data can be transferred correctly from the wireless base stations 1-1 and 1-2 to the wireless terminals 2-1 to 2-M can be increased the multicasting. );
(b) obtaining a hash key and an encryption key based on the multicast key and unique identification information of the vehicle ( fig.6, 0088 wireless terminal 2 can correctly acquire a data portion distributed in a data frame in the second period as long as the wireless terminal 2 receives the additional information frame. And 0147 wireless terminal 2 applies the hash function f2 to the key K.sub.S, 2, thereby calculating a hash value. The data frame include key and data portion); and
(c) obtaining data (Interpreting as a wireless data or frame) by performing signal processing on first partition data to n-th partition data consisting of the vehicle data transmitted from the vehicle (interpreting as a wireless terminal) and combining the first partition data to the n-th partition data, wherein “n” is an integer equal to or greater than 2 (0088 wireless terminal 2 can correctly acquire a data portion distributed in a data frame in the second period as long as the wireless terminal 2 receives the additional information frame. And [0051] The controller 21 processes the head information frame, i.e. first partition data, the data frame, and the additional information frame, which are received, in order to acquire a data portion distributed with broadcasting from the wireless base station 1.),
wherein i-th partition data among the first partition data to the n-th partition data of the vehicle data includes i-th serial number information, an i-th message authentication code (MAC) chaining value, i-th payload information, and an i-th MAC tag, wherein “i” is an integer from 1 to n, (interpreting the I as a partition data, a serial number, a MAC and a payload) ( [0147] If the authenticity-confirmed key K.sub.S, 2 is acquired, the wireless terminal 2 can verify the authenticity of each of the buffered data frames F102 and F103 including the corresponding authentication code A.sub.S, 2. i.e. authentication code (MAC) chaining value) and
wherein (c) comprises:
(c-1) receiving the i-th partition data (0035 each of the wireless terminals 2-4 and 2-5 must have a component to buffer all data portions received in the first period. And 0068 a data frame. The data frame includes a key K.sub.S, i+2, an authentication code A.sub.S, i, a key index i corresponding to the authentication code A.sub.S, i, a sequence number S, and a data portion, 0073] The data portion is data to be transferred to the wireless terminal 2 in the data frame),
(c-2) authenticating the i-th partition data by comparing the i-th MAC tag with an authentication value generated by computing at least the i-th MAC chaining value (0070] The authentication code A.sub.S, i is information to verify the authenticity of the data frame. The authentication code A.sub.S, i is generated using a key K.sub.S, i. Thus, the authentication code A.sub.S, i does not correspond to the key K.sub.S, i+2 transmitted in the data frame ) and
the i-th payload information by using the hash key and a predetermined MAC generation algorithm (0068 The data frame,, includes a key K.sub.S, i+2, an authentication code A.sub.S, i, i.e. a predetermined MAC, a key index i corresponding to the authentication code A.sub.S, i, a sequence number S, and a data portion, i.e. payload.), and
(c-3) decrypting the i-th payload information using the encryption key when the i-th partition data is authenticated ( 0034 wireless terminals 2-4 and 2-5 buffer data in the first period and decode the buffered data upon reception of the key in the second period and 0042 The head information flame further includes verification information that enables verification of authenticity of the head information frame. Upon reception of the head information frame, each of the wireless terminals 2-1 to 2-M can verify the authenticity using the verification information).
Hirano does not disclose vehicle data and encryption key; decrypting the data using the encryption key.
However, Yin vehicle data and encryption key (par 0228 the negotiated key is encrypting the first data by the first vehicle mounted device and wherein the first data is transmitted from the first vehicle to the second mounted device, thus the first data is the vehicle data based on the specification);
decrypting the data using the encryption key (par 0229 the second mounted receives the encrypted segment of the first segment and MAC of the first data segment and decrypt by the using the negotiated fist key).
Hirano and Yin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yin and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 2. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, Yin discloses further comprising: (d) obtaining the unique identification information of the vehicle prior to (b) (0229 MAC of the first data segment).
As per claim 12, claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Nagai et al US 2013/0195272.
As per claim 3. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, wherein if “i” is equal to 1, the combination fails to disclose the i-th MAC chaining value is a predetermined initial value, and if “i” is not equal to 1, the i-th MAC chaining value is generated based on an (i-1)-th MAC chaining value.
However, Nagai et al US 2013/0195272 discloses, wherein if “i” is equal to 1, the i-th MAC chaining value is a predetermined initial value, and if “i” is not equal to 1, the i-th MAC chaining value is generated based on an (i-1)-th MAC chaining value ( 0047 message authentication code (MAC) is attached to the message instead of the signature. A typical method used for MAC is CBC-MAC (Cipher Block Chaining MAC)).
Hirano and Yin and Nagai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Nagai and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 4. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, Yin discloses
wherein if “i” is equal to 1, the i-th MAC chaining value is generated by computing the unique identification information by using the hash key and
the predetermined MAC generation algorithm, and if “i” is not equal to 1, the i-th MAC chaining value is generated by computing an (i-1)-th MAC chaining value by using the hash key and the predetermined MAC generation algorithm (0230 the first algorithm is an HMAC algorithm, the first vehicle-mounted device obtains, through calculation according to the first algorithm, a MAC value corresponding to the first data segment data 1, where the MAC is that check 1=HMAC (data 1). Correspondingly, the second vehicle-mounted device calculates, according to the first algorithm, a MAC value corresponding to the first data segment data 1 obtained through decryption, where the MAC is that mac 1=HMAC (data 1), and then compares the check 1 with the mac 1. If the check 1 and the mac 1 are the same, the integrity verification succeeds. If the check 1 and the mac 1 are different, the integrity verification fails. ) (bolded limitations emphasis).
However, Hirano discloses MAC chaining value (0047 message authentication code (MAC) is attached to the message instead of the signature. A typical method used for MAC is CBC-MAC (Cipher Block Chaining MAC)).
Hirano and Yin and Nagai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Nagai and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 5. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, wherein if “i” is not equal to 1, the combination fails to disclose the i-th MAC chaining value is an (i-1)-th MAC tag.
However, Nagai discloses the i-th MAC chaining value is an (i-1)-th MAC tag ( 0047 message authentication code (MAC) is attached to the message instead of the signature. A typical method used for MAC is CBC-MAC (Cipher Block Chaining MAC))).
Hirano and Yin and Nagai are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Nagai and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claims 14-15, claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 4-5.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Ye US 2022/0247567.
As per claim 6. Hirano and Yin disclose The method of claim 1,the combination fails to disclose wherein, in (c-3), the i-th payload information is decrypted using a stream cipher method.
However, Ye discloses wherein, in (c-3), the i-th payload information is decrypted using a stream cipher method ( [0001] Symmetric-key algorithms are cryptographic algorithms using a same cryptographic key for encrypting unencrypted data and for decrypting encrypted data. Symmetric-key algorithms can use stream ciphers or block ciphers. Stream ciphers encrypt characters of a message one by one. Block ciphers encrypt a block of bits while padding the plaintext. An example of block ciphering is the Advanced Encryption Standard algorithm promulgated by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Vehicles can use symmetric keys for communicating between control modules on board the vehicle. The initial set of symmetric keys can be distributed to the control modules during assembly of the vehicle at end-of-line).
Hirano and Yin and Ye are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Ye and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 16, claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of EIRIKSSON et al US 2018/0091483.
As per claim 7. Hirano and Yin discloses the method of claim 1, the combination fails to discloses highlighted limitations.
wherein the i-th payload information includes an i-th payload and an i-th padding that are being encrypted, the i-th partition data further includes i-th length information that includes a length of the i-th payload and a length of the i-th padding, and
the authentication value is generated by computing the i-th MAC chaining value, the i-th length information, and the i-th payload information by using the hash key and the predetermined MAC generation algorithm.
However, Eiriksson discloses wherein the i-th payload information includes an i-th payload and an i-th padding that are being encrypted, the i-th partition data further includes i-th length information that includes a length of the i-th payload and a length of the i-th padding, ( 0017] Referring now to FIG. 2, the TLS/SSL protocol is implemented using Protocol Data Units (PDU) that are embedded in the payload of a lower layer protocol. For example, the TLS/SSL protocol may be implemented on top of the TCP protocol, which is a byte stream protocol at the transport layer. The application payload, which is the clear text, is encrypted into cipher text 220, and a TLS header 210 is added in front of the payload, and a pad 230 and message authentication code (MAC) 240 are added to the end of the clear text to form a TLS/SSL protocol data unit (PDU). We refer here to the pad and MAC collectively as the tail. We refer to clear text length which is the same as the cipher text length as seq_len, and the TLS/SSL PDU length is here referred to as tls_seq_len. Referring now back to FIG. 1, we note that when the TLS/SSL processing is performed in-line that, in addition to the crypto operation, there is more data sent from that the NIC 14, the TLS/SSL PDU, than is input to the NIC from the host system. and 0025 the crypto engine, but there is space reserved in the byte stream and the size of the byte stream seen by the host TCP/IP stack is the same as the size of the stream after it has been encrypted and the MAC computed when it is sent by the NIC.) and
the authentication value is generated by computing the i-th MAC chaining value, the i-th length information, and the i-th payload information by using the hash key and the predetermined MAC generation algorithm(0005 A NIC is equipped with TLS/SSL cryptographic capability and the ability to encrypt and/or compute message authentication codes (MAC) in-line with sending the payload ).
Hirano and Yin and Eiriksson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Eiriksson and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Hasegawa US 2017/0352261.
As per claim 8. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle data is data having a format according to a controller area network (CAN) protocol.
Hasegawa US 2017/0352261 discloses wherein the vehicle data is data having a format according to a controller area network (CAN) protocol ( 0015, In the above described remote vehicle data collection system, the subject vehicle preferably includes a plurality of vehicle mounted control devices, which are connected to a controller area network, and the vehicle mounted control devices are preferably configured to collect the vehicle data through communication specified by the CAN protocol.).
Hirano and Yin and Hasegawa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Hasegawa and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 8.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Yagi US 2020/0047659.
As per claim 9. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, the combination does not disclose the highlighted limitations, wherein, in (b), the hash key is generated by computing the multicast key and the unique identification information of the vehicle by using a predetermined key generation algorithm.
However, Yagi discloses wherein, in (b), the hash key is generated by computing the multicast key and the unique identification information of the vehicle by using a predetermined key generation algorithm ([0109] The roadside unit 5 and the vehicle 6 may set an encryption key to be used between them when the roadside unit 5 and the vehicle 6 start communication. FIG. 9 schematically illustrates one example communication between the roadside unit 5 and the vehicle 6. When the vehicle 6 reaches a position at which communication with the roadside unit 5 is possible, the controller 60 of the vehicle 6 transmits the second distinguishing information and a request signal requesting an encryption key, for example, in multicast. Upon receipt of these, the controller 50 of the roadside unit 5 generates the encryption key for the vehicle 6, and transmits this encryption key, for example, in multicast, which the encryption key is the multicast key, Upon receipt of this, the vehicle 6 to which the encryption key has not been set yet sets this encryption key, and transmits, for example in multicast, a completion signal indicating completion of the setting. Upon receipt of the completion signal, the roadside unit 5 sets the encryption key and the second distinguishing information in association with each other. This association between the encryption key and the second distinguishing information is used to associate the encryption key and the vehicle information from the sensor 52 with each other and 0082 the controller 50 may receive the identification information of the vehicle 6 from the vehicle 6, and set this identification information as the address information for communication. Information on, for example, the vehicle model (including the shape and the color), the vehicle registration plate (i.e., the license plate), or the serial number can be adopted as the identification information for identifying the vehicle 6. For example, FIG. 1 illustrates vehicles 6a to 6f as the plurality of vehicles 6 passing through the road 7a toward the intersection 2. The controller 50 of the roadside unit 5 sets pieces of the identification information received from the vehicles 6a to 6f as pieces of the address information Da to Df of the vehicles 6a to 6f, respectively).
Hirano and Yin and Yagi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Yagi and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Naegle US 2018/0302381.
As per claim 10. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the hash key is the same as the encryption key.
Howerver, Naegle discloses wherein the hash key is the same as the encryption key(0052] Next, the process 600 transmits the hash of the encryption key, via the communication device (step 604). The process 600 transmits the hash of the encryption key from the sensor to the vehicle-based computer system, for confirmation that the encryption key saved in memory of the sensor is accurate and can be used by the sensor to encrypt future communications prior to transmission to the vehicle-based computer system. Here, the process 600 transmits the hash of the encryption key using a standard wireless communication protocol, as described previously with regard to the data communication network 108 of FIG. 1. The process 600 then receives confirmation that the hash of the encryption key matches a master encryption key stored by a vehicle-based computer system (step 606). The confirmation is also a wireless data transmission that is received via the wireless communication device).
Hirano and Yin and Naegle are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Naegle and provide encryption of the data.
Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely
, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 19, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 10.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al US 2021/0360396 in view of Yin et al US 2021/0311720 in view of Medvinsky US 2004/0114762.
As per claim 11. Hirano and Yin disclose the method of claim 1, the combination does not disclose wherein (a) is performed at a predetermined interval or in response to a predetermined event.
However, Medvinsky discloses wherein (a) is performed at a predetermined interval or in response to a predetermined event(0033 The KDC database is responsible for maintaining and handing out multicast group keys at a periodic interval).
Hirano and Yin and Medvinsky are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data checking system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano to incorporate the teachings of Yi, including the teaching of Medvinsky and provide encryption of the data. Doing so would exchange the data between two wireless devices safely, thereby increasing the security of the data exchange (par 0004).
As per claim 20, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 11.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496