DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 4-8, in the reply filed on 11/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kashimura et al. (US 2021/0079258; “Kashimura”).
Regarding independent claim 4, Kashimura teaches a laminate structure comprising (para [0048]-[0056], the laminated tube, Fig. 1):
- a first layer (layer 13) comprising silicone rubber as a base material (Fig. 1, para [0054], the suitable material for layer 13 includes silicone rubber); and
- a second layer (layer 14) laminated to the first layer (layer 13, see Fig. 1, layer 14 is laminated to layer 13), the second layer (layer 14) comprising
- silicone rubber as a base material (para [0056], [0068]-0069]),
- silicone resin fine particles (para [0072], Kashimura teaches its layer 14 is formed from a rubber composition includes a silicone rubber as base material with fine particles finely dispersed, of which Kashimura teaches the fine particles include silicone rubber fine particles, see para [0072]),
- metal oxide fine particles (para [0087], [0088], includes suitable metal oxide fine particles such as TiO2), and
- nanosilica fine particles (para [0072] [0081], further includes suitable silica fine/ultrafine particles including those silica having particles size of nano scale, of not smaller than 10 nm and no larger than 30 nm, i.e., nanosilica fine particles, meeting the claimed limitations).
Regarding claim 7, Kashimura teaches a cable comprising an insulator comprising the laminate structure (para [0048] [0050], Fig. 1, cable 10 comprising a sheath of insulting material/insulator), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Kashimura teaches a tube comprising an insulator comprising the laminate structure (para [0048] [0050], Fig. 1, tube 10 comprising a sheath of insulting material/insulator), meeting the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashimura as applied to claim 4 above.
The limitations of claim 4 are taught by Kashimura as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, Kashimura teaches the second layer of its laminate structure includes suitable metal oxide fine particles such as titanium dioxide (TiO2, para [0087], [0088]), meeting the claimed material limitations.
It is noted that Kashimura teaches the suitable amount of nanosilica fine particles in the second layer is about 0.1% by mass to 0.5 % by mass (para [0082]), and Kashimura teaches the suitable amount of titanium dioxide in the second layer is about 0.1% by mass to 10% by mass (para [0089]). As such, the calculated mass% concentration of the nanosilica fine particles in the second layer over the mass% concentration of Ti is about 0.01 to 5 times (i.e., 0.1%/0.1% = 1, 0.5% to 0.1%=5), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of claim 5, i.e., mass% concentration of the nanosilica fine particles in the second layer is 1.14 times or more than mass% concentration of Ti and 11.5 mass% or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Kashimura teaches the suitable amount of titanium dioxide in the second layer is about 0.1% by mass to 10% by mass (para [0089]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1.0 mass% or more and 4.4 mass% or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782