DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson et al (pub # 20230152594) in view of NG et al (pub # 20210402122).
Consider claim 1. Davidson et al teaches A head-mounted device, (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1643, a positioning and stabilising structure 1300 for a head-mounted display system 1000). comprising:
a head-mounted housing
having a left rigid portion; (Fig. 18C and paragraph 1644, a pair of side chassis portions 3806. Fig. 18C specifically shows a left side chassis 3806).
and a right rigid portion; (Fig. 18C and paragraph 1644, a pair of side chassis portions 3806. Fig. 18C specifically shows a right side chassis 3806).
displays in the head-mounted housing that are configured to display images; (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1644, FIGS. 18B-18C show head-mounted display systems 1000 (with most components of the head-mounted display unit 1200 not shown save for the interfacing structure 3800)).
and straps coupled to the rigid portion (Figs 18B-18C and paragraph 1643, a pair of strap portions 1332, 1334 connected to the posterior support portion 1350 and configured to connect to the interfacing structure 3800 of a head-mounted display unit. Figs. 18B-18C show the straps 1332 and 1334 are connected to chassis 3806).
that are configured to apply torque to the rigid portion when the head-mounted housing is being worn that helps lift the head-mounted housing upwardly, (Figs 18B-18C and paragraph 1650, the pair of lateral strap portions comprises a pair of upper lateral strap portions 1332 each configured to connect between the posterior support portion 1350 and the head-mounted display unit 1200 (only the interfacing structure 3800 thereof visible) on a respective side of the user's head in use and a pair of lower lateral strap portions 1334 each configured to connect between the posterior support portion 1350 and the head-mounted display unit 1200 (only the interfacing structure 3800 thereof visible) on a respective side of the user's head in use. In this example, the upper lateral strap portions 1332 are each configured to apply a force to the head-mounted display unit 1200 having both a superior and posterior component. In some examples, the lower lateral strap portions 1334 are each configured to be removably connected to a respective side chassis portion 3806 with a magnetic connection.).
wherein the straps include a first strap (Fig. 18B, upper strap 1332).
and a second strap (Fig. 18B, lower strap 1334).
and the second strap is coupled to the left rigid portion with a second releasable connection, (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1650, the lower lateral strap portions 1334 are each configured to be removably connected to a respective side chassis portion 3806 with a magnetic connection.).
and the second strap is coupled to the right rigid portion with a fourth releasable connection. , (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1650, the lower lateral strap portions 1334 are each configured to be removably connected to a respective side chassis portion 3806 with a magnetic connection.).
Davidson et al does not specifically disclose the first strap is coupled to the left rigid portion with a first releasable connection, the first strap is coupled to the right rigid portion with a third releasable connection. However NG et al in at least Figs. 1B and 9 and paragraph 0125 discloses a head mounted device 1090 comprising upper straps 1092 (first strap) and lower straps 1094 (second strap). The upper strap 1092 is removably attached to the upper connectors 1024 on each side of the headgear 1090, thus a first strap coupled to the left portion and the right portion with a first releasable connection.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first strap of Davidson et al to be removably coupled the left and right rigid portions by a releasable connection as disclosed by NG et al in order to allow the user to be able to remove the head mounted device in an easier manner.
Consider claim 2. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 1 wherein the straps include an upper strap (Fig. 18B, upper strap 1332).
and a lower strap. (Fig. 18B, lower strap 1334).
Consider claim 3. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 2 further comprising a rigid strap anchor that is rigidly coupled to the left rigid portion and wherein the upper strap and lower strap are connected to the strap anchor. (Figs. 18B and 18C the straps 1332 and 1334 are anchored to the chassis 3806).
Consider claim 4. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 3 wherein the left rigid portion comprises a rigid extension that extends rearwardly from the head-mounted housing. (Figs. 18B and 18C, chassis 3806 extends rearwardly on each side of the user’s head).
Consider claim 5. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 4 wherein the strap anchor is coupled to the rigid extension with a fifth releasable connection. (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1650, the lower lateral strap portions 1334 are each configured to be removably connected to a respective side chassis portion 3806 with a magnetic connection.).
Consider claim 9. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 2 wherein the left rigid portion comprises a rigid extension that extends rearwardly from the head-mounted housing (Figs. 18B and 18C, chassis 3806 extends rearwardly on each side of the user’s head).
and wherein the lower strap is releasably connected to the rigid extension. (Figs. 18B-18C and paragraph 1650, the lower lateral strap portions 1334 are each configured to be removably connected to a respective side chassis portion 3806 with a magnetic connection.).
Consider claim 10. Davidson et al does not specifically disclose The head-mounted device defined in claim 9 wherein the upper strap is releasably connected directly to the lower strap. However NG et al in at least Figs. 1B and 9 and paragraph 0125 discloses a head mounted device 1090 comprising upper straps 1092 (first strap) and lower straps 1094 (second strap). The upper strap 1092 is removably attached to the upper connectors 1024 on each side of the headgear 1090, thus a first strap coupled to the left portion and the right portion with a first releasable connection.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first strap of Davidson et al to be removably coupled the left and right rigid portions by a releasable connection as disclosed by NG et al in order to allow the user to be able to remove the head mounted device in an easier manner.
Consider claim 11. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 2 wherein the upper strap extends along a first axis that is oriented at an angle of 15-800 with respect to a horizontal axis and wherein the lower strap extends along a second axis that is oriented at an angle of 15-800 with respect to the horizontal axis. (Fig. 18B, both straps 1332 and 1334 are oriented at an angle of 15-80 degrees to a horizontal axis).
Consider claim 12. Davidson et al further teaches The head-mounted device defined in claim 11 further comprising a metal mass coupled to the lower strap that enhances lifting of the head-mounted device. (Fig. 64E and paragraph 1698 battery pack 1500a disposed on strap portion 1320. Paragraph 1367, The battery pack housing may contain a counterweight 1512… The counterweight 1512 may be a dead-weight formed from metal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 7. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The head-mounted device defined in claim 5 wherein the further comprising: a first rotatable connection interposed between the third releasable connection and the first additional releasable connection; and a second rotatable connection interposed between the third releasable connection and the second additional releasable connection.
Claim 8 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 7.
Claims 13-15 and 17- 20 are allowed.
Consider independent claim 13. Davidson et al teaches A head-mounted device, (Figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0970, head-mounted display system 1000). comprising:
a head-mounted housing (Figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0970, head-mounted display system 1000).
having a rigid extension; (Fig. 4C and paragraph 1067, temporal connectors 1250. Paragraph 1077, temporal connectors 1250 may be constructed from a rigid or semi-rigid material).
displays and lenses in the head-mounted housing; (Fig. 4B and paragraph 1030, at least one lens 1240 may be disposed between the user's eyes and the display screen 1220. The user may view an image provided by the display screen 1220 through the lens 1240. The at least one lens 1240 may assist in spacing the display screen 1220 away from the user's face to limit eye strain. The at least one lens 1240 may also assist in better observing the image being displayed by the display screen 1220).
and upper and lower straps coupled to the rigid extension (Fig. 4C and paragraph 1085, the posterior support portion 1350 may be coupled to the display unit housing 1205 via the temporal connectors 1250. Paragraph 1332, the posterior support portion 1350 in these examples comprising a parietal strap portion 1310 configured to overlie the parietal bones of the user's head in use and an occipital strap portion 1320 configured to overlie or lie below an occipital bone of the user's head in use).
that are configured to apply torque to the rigid extension when the head-mounted housing is being worn that helps lift the head-mounted housing upwardly. (paragraph 1089, The posterior support portion 1350 may provide a force directed in the superior direction (upward direction) and/or the anterior direction in order to maintain contact with the user's occiput).
However neither Davidson et al nor any of the other prior art of record teaches or renders obvious wherein the upper strap is rotatably coupled to the rigid member using a first rotatable connector, and the lower strap is rotatably coupled to the rigid member using a second rotatable connector.
Consider independent claim 18. The closest prior art Davidson et al (pub # 20230152594) teaches A head-mounted device, (Figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0970, head-mounted display system 1000). comprising:
a head-mounted housing; (Figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0970, head-mounted display system 1000).
displays and lenses in the head-mounted housing; (Fig. 4B and paragraph 1030, at least one lens 1240 may be disposed between the user's eyes and the display screen 1220. The user may view an image provided by the display screen 1220 through the lens 1240. The at least one lens 1240 may assist in spacing the display screen 1220 away from the user's face to limit eye strain. The at least one lens 1240 may also assist in better observing the image being displayed by the display screen 1220).
However neither Davidson et al nor any of the other prior art of record teaches or renders obvious a rigid bar having first and second ends, wherein the first end is coupled to the head-mounted housing; head straps, wherein the rigid bar is rotatably coupled to the head straps and a tensioner configured to pull downwardly on the second end of the rigid bar to rotate the rigid bar and help lift the head-mounted housing upwardly.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624