DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to amendment filed on 12/31/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Guo discloses a user equipment (UE) (figure 3 element 104) a method, comprising:
a transceiver (figure 3 element 354a) configured to:
receive a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration for a serving cell (figure 15 step 1505; paragraph 151 in view of paragraphs 105, 112, 113 and figure 9: UE receives a set of PRACH configurations for serving cell and non-serving/neighboring cell(s));
receive a PRACH configuration for N additional cell (figure 15 step 1505; paragraph 151 in view of paragraphs 105, 112, 113 and figure 9: UE receives a set of PRACH configurations for non-serving/neighboring cell(s); and
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (figure 15 step 1510; paragraphs 110 and 152) triggering a random access procedure (paragraphs 5, 32, 110, 115: PDCCH triggers PRACH transmission), wherein the PDCCH order includes a first field for indicating a cell associated with a PRACH transmission (paragraphs 5, 32, 110, 115: PDCCH triggers PRACH transmission for physical cell ID (PCI)) and a second field for a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block index (see figure 9 ssb-perRACH-Occasion and PCI (physical cell identifier); paragraphs 120, 121, 160, and 161: the PDCCH order indicates SSB index and PCI), and
a processor (figure 3 processor 380) operably coupled to the transceiver and configured to:
determine a transmission power for a PRACH (paragraphs 5, 6, 110, 114, 147, 152, especially paragraph 123: UE transmits a PRACH; thus it determines a transmission power for the transmission);
wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
transmit, on the cell, the PRACH in a PRACH occasion (RO) associated with the SS/PBCH block index based on the transmission power (figure 15 step 1515; paragraphs 112-114, 120, 123, 153, 156: UE transmits a PRACH based on the PDCCH order of additional PCI. The PDCCH order contains parameters for PRACH transmission including SSB index [0120]. The PRACH configuration includes PRACH occasion (RO) [0114]. Thus, UE transmits the PRACH in a PRACH occasion associated with the SSB index based on PDCCH order/PRACH configuration).
Guo further teaches using PRACH configuration for PRACH transmission by PRACH transmission power and associated SS/PBCH block index when a value of a cell ID field is non-zero in paragraphs 114, 123 and 163.
Guo does not teach if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index (paragraphs 59-61; claims 1, 2, 8, and 9: UE determines transmission power for uplink transmission including PRACH. The uplink transmission power is based on at least a measured pathloss based on a reference signal including SSB of non-serving cell PCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index.
The motivation would have been to improve UE mobility (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 8, Guo discloses a base station (BS) (figure 3 element 102), comprising: a processor (figure 3 processor 340);
a transceiver (figure 3 element 332a) operably coupled to the processor configured to:
transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration for a serving cell (figure 16 step 1605; paragraph 174 in view of paragraphs 105, 112, 113 and figure 9: UE receives a set of PRACH configurations for serving cell and non-serving/neighboring cell(s));
transmit a PRACH configuration for N additional cell (figure 16 step 1605; paragraph 174 in view of paragraphs 105, 112, 113 and figure 9: UE receives a set of PRACH configurations for non-serving/neighboring cell(s); and
transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (figure 15 step 1510; paragraphs 110 and 152) triggering a random access procedure (paragraphs 5, 32, 110, 115: PDCCH triggers PRACH transmission), wherein the PDCCH order includes a first field for indicating a cell associated with a PRACH transmission (paragraphs 5, 32, 110, 115: PDCCH triggers PRACH transmission for physical cell ID (PCI)) and a second field for a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block index (see figure 9 ssb-perRACH-Occasion and PCI (physical cell identifier); paragraphs 114, 120, 121, 160, and 161: the PDCCH order indicates SSB index and PCI), and
receive, on the cell, the PRACH in a PRACH occasion (RO) associated with the SS/PBCH block index (figure 15 step 1515; paragraphs 112-114, 120, 123, 153, 156: UE transmits a PRACH based on the PDCCH order of additional PCI. The PDCCH order contains parameters for PRACH transmission including SSB index [0120]. The PRACH configuration includes PRACH occasion (RO) [0114]. Thus, UE transmits the PRACH in a PRACH occasion associated with the SSB index based on PDCCH order/PRACH configuration).
Guo further teaches PRACH configuration including PRACH transmission power in paragraphs 114, 123 and 163 when a value of a cell ID field is non-zero.
Guo does not teach if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index (paragraphs 59-61; claims 1, 2, 8, and 9: UE determines transmission power for uplink transmission including PRACH. The uplink transmission power is based on at least a measured pathloss based on a reference signal including SSB of non-serving cell PCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo if a value of the cell ID field is non-zero, transmission power for the PRACH is determined based on a SS/PBCH block associated with the SS/PBCH block index.
The motivation would have been to improve UE mobility (paragraph 58).
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Ahn et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0301483).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, all limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are disclosed above. Guo and Zhou do not teach wherein a size of first field is given by [log₂ (N + 1)] bits, where N is a number of additional cells.
However, Ahn discloses wherein a size of first field is given by [log₂ (N + 1)] bits, where N is a number of additional cells (paragraph 171: a bit size of a field is determined by a log base 2 of a N natural number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in implement in Guo and Zhou wherein a size of first field is given by [log₂ (N + 1)] bits, where N is a number of additional cells.
The motivation would have been for field size determination.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Dinan (US Pub. No. 2016/0308653).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, all limitations of claims 1 and 8 are disclosed above. Guo and Zhou do not teach wherein a size of the cell field is 3 bits. However, Dinan discloses a cell identifier field with less than 32 which covers the maximum number (8) of 3 bits (paragraph 167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in implement in Guo and Zhou a size of the cell ID field is 3 bits for the purpose of limiting the total number of cells to 8.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Matsumura et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0133598).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, all limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are disclosed above. Guo and Zhou does not teach but Matsumura discloses based the PDCCH order being associated with a serving cell (paragraphs 111 and 168), the transceiver is further configured to: receive a PDCCH of a random access response (RAR) using quasi-colocation (QCL) properties of the PDCCH order, and receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the RAR using the QCL properties of the PDCCH of the RAR (paragraph 165: in Rel. 16, PDCCH order, RAR, and PDSCH are quasi-collocated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo and Zhou if the PDCCH order is associated with a serving cell, the transceiver is further configured to: receive a PDCCH of a random access response (RAR) using quasi-colocation (QCL) properties of the PDCCH order, and receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the RAR using the QCL properties of the PDCCH of the RAR for a purpose of following Rel. 16 standard.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Matsumura et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0133598) in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #110, “Supporting two Tas for multi-DCI based mTRP”, R1-2207216, hereinafter R1-2207216.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, all limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are disclosed above. Guo further teaches quasi-colocation (QCL) properties of a CORESET (paragraphs 97 and 98).
Guo and Zhou do not teach but R1-2207216 discloses receive a PDCCH of a random access response (RAR) in a Type1-PDCCH control search space (CSS) set associated with the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (last line of section 3, Proposal 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo and Zhou receive a PDCCH of a random access response (RAR) in a Type1-PDCCH control search space (CSS) set associated with the Type1-PDCCH CSS set for an inter-cell multi-DCI based mTRP solution.
Guo, Zhou, and R1-2207216 do not teach but Matsumura discloses based the PDCCH order being associated with a cell having a physical cell identity (PCI) different from a PCI of the serving cell (paragraph 112), the transceiver is further configured to:
receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the RAR using the QCL properties of the PDCCH of the RAR (paragraph 165: in Rel. 16, PDCCH order, RAR, and PDSCH are quasi-collocated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in implement in Guo and Zhou and R1-2207216 if the PDCCH order is associated with a cell having a physical cell identity (PCI) different from a PCI of the serving cell (paragraph 112), the transceiver is further configured to: receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the RAR using the QCL properties of the PDCCH of the RAR for a purpose of following Rel. 16 standard.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Matsumura et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0133598) in view of Yuan et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0184927).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, all limitations of claims 4, 11, and 17 are disclosed above. Guo, Zhou, and Matsumura does not teach but Yuan discloses a medium access control channel element (MAC CE) of the RAR comprises a 1-bit flag associated with a timing advance group (TAG) ID, a value zero of the 1-bit flag indicates a first TAG ID, and a value of one of the 1-big flag indicates a second TAG ID (paragraph 95 in view of abstract: TAG ID field with at least one bit with SpCell has TAG identity of 0. Thus, the value of 1 is a second TAG ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo, Zhou, and Matsumura a medium access control channel element (MAC CE) of the RAR comprises a 1-bit flag associated with a timing advance group (TAG) ID, a value zero of the 1-bit flag indicates a first TAG ID, and a value of one of the 1-big flag indicates a second TAG ID to accommodate multiple TAG IDs of a same cell.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0142633) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180141) in view of Zhang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0048340).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, all limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 are disclosed above. Guo further teaches a value 1 of the first field indicates a PCI of a cell activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (paragraphs 97 and 103). Guo, Zhou, and Matsumura does not teach but Zhang discloses a value 0 of the first field indicates a PCI of the serving cell (paragraphs 87, 105, 120, 131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Guo, Zhou, and Matsumura a value 0 of the first field indicates a PCI of the serving cell.
The motivation would have been a chosen indicator for PCI of serving cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In pages 11-13 of Remark, regarding independent claims, the Applicant argues that Guo does not teach PRACH is transmitted in a RO associated with an SS/PBCCH block index, based on a transmission power. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Guo teaches an UE receives PDCCH order contains parameters for PRACH transmission including SSB index [0120]. The UE also receives a PRACH configuration includes PRACH occasion (RO) and PRACH transmission power [0114]. Figure 15 step 1515 and paragraph 153 and 156 discloses UE transmits a PRACH based on the PDCCH order/PRACH configuration. Guo is determined to teach the claimed limitation.
In pages 12-13 of Remark, the Applicant argues that Zhou does not discloses the transmission power for the uplink transmission power is calculated based on a SS/PBCH block associated with an SS/.PBCH block index. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Guo discloses when a value of the first field is non-zero (value indicates a PCI/cell) a PRACH transmission power is determined in association with the received SSB/PBCH block index in paragraphs 114, 120, 123 and 163. Thus, Guo teaches receiving at least one SS/PBCH block of a SS/PBCH block index. Guo does not teach determining transmission power based on a SS/PBCH block. Zhou discloses determining transmission power based on a SS/PBCH block. Thus, it would have been obvious to combine Guo and Zhou’s teaching for the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466