DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 01/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been entered. The claims have been amended, original as follows:
Claims are amended: 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pages 9-10, filed on 01/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under MolavianJazi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MolavianJazi in view of Li.Applicant arguing that the combination of MolavianJazi and Lin fails to teach a codebook size for HARQ-ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs.Examiner agrees that MolavianJazi and Lin may not explicitly teaches the specific limitation of adjusting the HARQ-ACK codebook size based on the DTX/DRX active or inactive states of the multiple CCs. However, the examiner maintains the rejection of amended Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al (US 20230129120 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20260081725 A1, hereinafter Li) into the prior art combination to cure this specific deficiency. The rejection is now maintained over MolavianJazi in view of Li.MolavianJazi teaches the multi-CC framework, the reception of HARQ-ACK codebook configurations, and identification of operating states for each CC (via SCell active/inactive states and dormant BWPs, which correspond to DTX/DRX active/inactive states), Li teaches where a terminal determines a HARQ-ACK feedback codebook based on an inactive period of DTX/DRX in target cell (which corresponds to a CC). and the mechanism for adjust(reduces) the codebook size. ¶[0058], [0142] that if PDSCHs are canceled due to the inactive periods, the codebook includes fewer bits. And determining the candidates slots or PDSCH occasions in the HARQ feedback codebook based on the inactive period of the target cell DTX can reduce the number of bits of the HARQ feedback codebook.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and 12 U.S.C. 103 over MolavianJazi et al (US 20230129120 A1) in view of Li (US 20260081725 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.9. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al (US 20230129120 A1) in view of Li (US 20260081725 A1).
With regarding Claim 1 MolavianJazi disclose an apparatus of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory(See FIG. 3 and ¶[0048], [0052]); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to (See FIG. 3, ¶[0048], [0052]): receive, from a network entity, a set of configuration parameters related to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) codebook (See FIG. 4-6, ¶[0068]-[0096], [0321], [0132].[0321] The following embodiments of the present disclosure, describe Enhancements to Type-1 (semi-static) HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell scheduling. This is described in the following examples and embodiments.
[0322] When a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), also known as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.[0068] Design of HARQ-ACK codebooks in Rel-15/16 5G NR systems is based on consideration that a PDSCH reception on a serving cell is individually scheduled by a corresponding DCI format, herein referred to as DCI formats for single-cell scheduling (or SC-DCI format). For example, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to each DCI (in case of TB-based PDSCH reception) is 1 or 2 bits, depending on whether a corresponding PDSCH includes 1 or 2 transport blocks (TBs). For a Type-1 or “semi-static” HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the UE considers a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, a single set of PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing (K1) values, and a single sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration, for each serving cell.
[0069] When the UE receives a DCI format for joint scheduling of multiple PDSCHs on a set of co-scheduled cells, the DCI format triggers multiple HARQ-ACK information bits, no less than a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs/cells (and with a factor of 2 or based on a number of configured TBs, if any of the co-scheduled cells is configured with 2-TB per PDSCH). In addition, the UE may have separate TDRA table or K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling compared to single-cell scheduling.); identify, based on the set of configuration parameters, an operating state for each component carrier (CC) of multiple CCs associated with the UE (See FIG. 7, ¶[0005], [0111], [0112], [0140], [0105], [0319], [0323], [0376].[0140] For downlink, Asynchronous Incremental Redundancy Hybrid ARQ is supported. The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group. The UE may be configured to receive code block group-based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.[0111] In CA, two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. For example, a UE with single timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells sharing the same timing advance (multiple serving cells grouped in one TAG). For another example, a UE with multiple timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells with different timing advances (multiple serving cells grouped in multiple TAGs). NG-RAN ensures that each TAG contains at least one serving cell. For yet another example, a non-CA capable UE can receive on a single CC and transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG).
[0112] CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated, or an offset in multiples of slots between the PCell/PSCell and an SCell is configured to the UE. The maximum number of configured CCs for a UE is 16 for DL and 16 for UL.); allocate, based on the operating state for each CC of the multiple CCs, one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook (See FIG. 8, ¶[0369], [0037], [00382], [0087], [0111], [0115], [0129].[0369] When a UE generates a same/common Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, (wherein the multi-cell scheduling configuration is such that: (i) all serving cells in a set of co-scheduled cells have a same SCS, and (ii) the serving cells in the set of co-scheduled cells can have different configurations for at least one of TDRA/K0/K1 parameters associated with multi-cell scheduling) the UE can determine candidate PDSCH occasions for a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook based on both TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for single-cell scheduling and TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling, including relative K0/scheduling timeline (denoted by ΔK0) for the set of K0 values associated with multi-cell scheduling, along with an interaction among K1 configuration for different co-scheduled cells. It is also possible that, any serving cell with multi-cell scheduling configuration belongs to only one set of co-scheduled cells or belongs to multiple sets of co-scheduled cells.[0087] For another example, an embodiment, described in greater detail below, describes, generating separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. For example, for a UE configured with multi-cell scheduling, when the UE generates separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, the UE generates a first Type-1 CB for single-cell scheduling and a second Type-1 CB for multi-cell scheduling, wherein each Type-1 CB is based on corresponding configuration(s) for TDRA/K0/K1.); and wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state (See ¶[0111], [0115], [0129], [0180]. Disclosed carrier aggregation environment where a UE is configured with multiple component carrier (referred to as serving cells or SCells. CA with multiple CCs and an activated or deactivation mechanism of cells is supported.)[0115] To enable reasonable UE battery consumption when CA is configured, an activation/deactivation mechanism of Cells is supported. When an SCell is deactivated, ), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs; transmit, to the network entity, HARQ ACK feedback associated with the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook (See FIG. 7, ¶[0140]-[0145], [0174], [0157], [0291].[0140] The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group. The UE may be configured to receive code block group-based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.[0142] Up to two HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to a priority (high/low) can be constructed simultaneously. For each HARQ-ACK codebook, more than one PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission within a slot is supported. Each PUCCH is limited within one sub-slot, and the sub-slot pattern is configured per HARQ-ACK codebook.
[0143] PUCCH carries the Uplink Control Information (UCI) from the UE to the gNB. UCI includes at least HARQ-ACK information, scheduling request (SR), and CSI.)[0291] based on a HARQ-ACK codebook configuration, and transmits a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUCCH resource, or multiplexes the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUSCH transmission.). MolavianJazi may not explicitly disclose wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs
However, in analogous art, Li disclose wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state (See ¶[0007], [0043], [0051]-[0055], [0120]-[0123]. Disclosed an operating state of a cell based on its DTX/DRX configuration ), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs (See ¶[0054]-[0058], [0085], [0042]-[0043], [0120]-[0121], [0142], [0119]-[0123]. Disclosed mechanism to adjust (reduce) the codebook size (number of bits) by candidate occasions for cells that are in a DTX/DRX inactive state.[0142] In this implementation, in a case that the target cell DTX is activated or deactivated by using RRC signaling or L2 signaling with high reliability, based on high reliability of RRC signaling or L2 signaling, accuracy of determining the inactive period of the target cell DTX is high. Therefore, determining the candidate slots or PDSCH occasions in the HARQ feedback codebook based on the inactive period of the target cell DTX can reduce the number of bits of the HARQ feedback codebook, and further reduce resource consumption in transmitting the HARQ feedback codebook.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches a multiple-CC (Carrier Aggregation) UE that receives RRC configurations for HARQ-ACK codebooks, identifiers the active/deceived (inactive) operating states of each Component carriers across the multiple CCs, and transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback via PUCCH also maintains a codebook size based on configured cells. Li teaches adjusting the size of a HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e., the number of bits/entries) by excluding candidate PDSCH occasions that overlap with a target cell’s DTX/DRX inactive period, thereby preventing the waste of uplink feedback resources it. The combination ensure that the UE does not waste uplink resources transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback for CCs where the network is not transmitting PDSCHs due to energy saving DTX/DRX modes.
With regarding claim 2, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to receive the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to receive the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook via the transceiver (See FIG. 4-6, ¶[0068], [0072], [0096], [0321], [0132], [0046]-[0047].[0072] Embodiments of the present disclosure also take into consideration that there is a need to enhance Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook to accommodate co-scheduled PDSCHs, including various K0/K1 timing relationships, different TDRA table configurations, and different SCS configurations.), wherein the HARQ ACK codebook is a semi-static HARQ ACK codebook (See ¶[0085], [0068].[0085] For another example, an embodiment, described in greater detail below, describe, enhancements to Type-1 (semi-static) HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell scheduling. For example, when a UE is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK CB, also referred to as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches a multiple-CC (Carrier Aggregation) UE that receives RRC configurations for HARQ-ACK codebooks, identifiers the active/deceived (inactive) operating states of each Component carriers across the multiple CCs, and transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback via PUCCH also maintains a codebook size based on configured cells. Li teaches adjusting the size of a HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e., the number of bits/entries) by excluding candidate PDSCH occasions that overlap with a target cell’s DTX/DRX inactive period, thereby preventing the waste of uplink feedback resources it. The combination ensure that the UE does not waste uplink resources transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback for CCs where the network is not transmitting PDSCHs due to energy saving DTX/DRX modes. With regarding Claim 4. MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, MolavianJazi disclose wherein to receive the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: receive, via a radio resource configuration (RRC) message, the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook (See ¶[0113], [0137], [0140], [0291]-[0292], [0085], [0327], [0440], [0068].[0113] When CA is configured, the UE only has one RRC connection with the network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the security input. This cell is referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). Depending on UE capabilities, Secondary Cells (SCells) can be configured to form together with the PCell a set of serving cells. The configured set of serving cells for a UE therefore always consists of one PCell and one or more SCells.[0137] In addition, with Configured Grants, the gNB can allocate uplink resources for the initial HARQ transmissions and HARQ retransmissions to UEs. Two types of configured uplink grants are defined. A first type, denoted as Type 1, RRC directly provides the configured uplink grant (including the periodicity). A second type, denoted as Type 2, RRC defines the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it; i.e., a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated.[0291] A UE (such as the UE 116) configured with multi-cell scheduling expects to be configured a HARQ-ACK codebook, for example using a parameter ‘pdsch-HARQ-ACK-Codebook’. The HARQ-ACK CB can be, for example, one of Type-1 CB, also referred to as semi-static CB, or Type-2 CB, also referred to as dynamic CB, or enhanced Type-2 CB, also referred to as enhanced dynamic CB, or a Type-3 CB, and so on, as described in TS 38.213 v16.5.0. Accordingly, the UE does not expect to provide/report separate HARQ-ACK feedback for each PDSCH from a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs on a set/subset of co-scheduled cells. The UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to the number of co-scheduled PDSCH receptions on a set/subset of co-scheduled cells, based on a HARQ-ACK codebook configuration, and transmits a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUCCH resource, or multiplexes the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUSCH transmission.[0068] Design of HARQ-ACK codebooks in Rel-15/16 5G NR systems is based on consideration that a PDSCH reception on a serving cell is individually scheduled by a corresponding DCI format, herein referred to as DCI formats for single-cell scheduling (or SC-DCI format). For example, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to each DCI (in case of TB-based PDSCH reception) is 1 or 2 bits, depending on whether a corresponding PDSCH includes 1 or 2 transport blocks (TBs). For a Type-1 or “semi-static” HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the UE considers a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, a single set of PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing (K1) values, and a single sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration, for each serving cell.[0140] For downlink, Asynchronous Incremental Redundancy Hybrid ARQ is supported. The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group.)Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is configured by higher layers; the UE generates or updates the semi-static codebook per higher-layer configuration. This combination yields the UE receiving, via RRC message, the configuration parameters related to the HARQ-ACK codebook.
With regarding claim 5, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, MolavianJazi disclose wherein to receive the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: receive, via a medium access control (MAC) – control element (MAC-CE), the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook (See ¶[0262], [0263], [0322], [0170]-[0172], [0324]-[0326], [0289], [0094], [0022], [0081], [0127]. Disclosed RRC protocol, parameters governing HARQ-ACK codebook generation(pdsch-HARQ-ACK-Codebook) are inherently configured and transmitted via RRC Message.[0263] For example, a MAC CE activates a first subset of a set of co-scheduled cells and subsequent DCI format(s) for multi-cell scheduling apply to the first subset of cells activated by the MAC CE. The UE can receive another MAC CE command that deactivates the first subset of co-scheduled cells, or activates a second subset of co-scheduled cells,[0322] When a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), also known as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.[0172] This clause applies if the UE is configured with pdsch-HARQ-ACK-Codebook=semi-static.[0324] In a first approach, the UE generates a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The CB generation follows procedures explained herein.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi and Li. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is configured by higher layers; the UE generates or updates the semi-static codebook per higher-layer configuration. Lin teaches establishes per CC DRX operating states and shows that the network dynamically drives per cell state using control plane signaling Li teaches configuration parameters for cell operations and feedback mechanisms are received via RRC messages¶[0029], [0065]. This combination deliver the codebook related parameters via MAC-CE so the UE receives, Via MAC-CE, the configuration that aligns the codebook with the current per cc state. With regarding claim 6, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, MolavianJazi disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: adjust, based on a change in the operating state for one CC of the multiple CCs, the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook(9120: See ¶[0140], [0111]-[0112]. [0111] In CA, two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. For example, a UE with single timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells sharing the same timing advance (multiple serving cells grouped in one TAG). For another example, a UE with multiple timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells with different timing advances (multiple serving cells grouped in multiple TAGs). NG-RAN ensures that each TAG contains at least one serving cell. For yet another example, a non-CA capable UE can receive on a single CC and transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG).
[0112] CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated, or an offset in multiples of slots between the PCell/PSCell and an SCell is configured to the UE. The maximum number of configured CCs for a UE is 16 for DL and 16 for UL.
[0140] For downlink, Asynchronous Incremental Redundancy Hybrid ARQ is supported. The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group. The UE may be configured to receive code block group-based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is configured by higher layers; the UE generates or updates the semi-static codebook per higher-layer configured and constructed over the set of serving cell considered for feedback. Li teaches that when a target cell(CC) changes its operating state to a DTX/DRX inactive state and that adjusts the HARQ-ACK codebook by excluding or cancelling entries corresponding to that cell¶[0054]-[0058], [0119]-[0123], [0142]. This combination integrates the explicit state-change trigger with the per-cell dynamically assembled codebook.
With regarding Claim 14 MolavianJazi disclose an apparatus of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory(See FIG. 3 and ¶[0048], [0052]); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to (See FIG. 3, ¶[0048], [0052]): receive, from a network entity, a set of configuration parameters related to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) codebook (See FIG. 4-6, ¶[0068]-[0096], [0321], [0132].[0321] The following embodiments of the present disclosure, describe Enhancements to Type-1 (semi-static) HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell scheduling. This is described in the following examples and embodiments.
[0322] When a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), also known as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.[0068] Design of HARQ-ACK codebooks in Rel-15/16 5G NR systems is based on consideration that a PDSCH reception on a serving cell is individually scheduled by a corresponding DCI format, herein referred to as DCI formats for single-cell scheduling (or SC-DCI format). For example, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to each DCI (in case of TB-based PDSCH reception) is 1 or 2 bits, depending on whether a corresponding PDSCH includes 1 or 2 transport blocks (TBs). For a Type-1 or “semi-static” HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the UE considers a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, a single set of PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing (K1) values, and a single sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration, for each serving cell.
[0069] When the UE receives a DCI format for joint scheduling of multiple PDSCHs on a set of co-scheduled cells, the DCI format triggers multiple HARQ-ACK information bits, no less than a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs/cells (and with a factor of 2 or based on a number of configured TBs, if any of the co-scheduled cells is configured with 2-TB per PDSCH). In addition, the UE may have separate TDRA table or K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling compared to single-cell scheduling.); identify, based on the set of configuration parameters, an operating state for each component carrier (CC) of multiple CCs associated with the UE (See FIG. 7, ¶[0005], [0111], [0112], [0140], [0105], [0319], [0323], [0376].[0140] For downlink, Asynchronous Incremental Redundancy Hybrid ARQ is supported. The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group. The UE may be configured to receive code block group-based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.[0111] In CA, two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. For example, a UE with single timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells sharing the same timing advance (multiple serving cells grouped in one TAG). For another example, a UE with multiple timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells with different timing advances (multiple serving cells grouped in multiple TAGs). NG-RAN ensures that each TAG contains at least one serving cell. For yet another example, a non-CA capable UE can receive on a single CC and transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG).
[0112] CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated, or an offset in multiples of slots between the PCell/PSCell and an SCell is configured to the UE. The maximum number of configured CCs for a UE is 16 for DL and 16 for UL.); allocate, based on the operating state for each CC of the multiple CCs, one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook (See FIG. 8, ¶[0369], [0037], [00382], [0087], [0111], [0115], [0129].[0369] When a UE generates a same/common Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, (wherein the multi-cell scheduling configuration is such that: (i) all serving cells in a set of co-scheduled cells have a same SCS, and (ii) the serving cells in the set of co-scheduled cells can have different configurations for at least one of TDRA/K0/K1 parameters associated with multi-cell scheduling) the UE can determine candidate PDSCH occasions for a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook based on both TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for single-cell scheduling and TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling, including relative K0/scheduling timeline (denoted by ΔK0) for the set of K0 values associated with multi-cell scheduling, along with an interaction among K1 configuration for different co-scheduled cells. It is also possible that, any serving cell with multi-cell scheduling configuration belongs to only one set of co-scheduled cells or belongs to multiple sets of co-scheduled cells.[0087] For another example, an embodiment, described in greater detail below, describes, generating separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. For example, for a UE configured with multi-cell scheduling, when the UE generates separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, the UE generates a first Type-1 CB for single-cell scheduling and a second Type-1 CB for multi-cell scheduling, wherein each Type-1 CB is based on corresponding configuration(s) for TDRA/K0/K1.); and wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state (See ¶[0111], [0115], [0129], [0180]. Disclosed carrier aggregation environment where a UE is configured with multiple component carrier (referred to as serving cells or SCells. CA with multiple CCs and an activated or deactivation mechanism of cells is supported.)[0115] To enable reasonable UE battery consumption when CA is configured, an activation/deactivation mechanism of Cells is supported. When an SCell is deactivated, ), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs; transmit, to the network entity, HARQ ACK feedback associated with the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook (See FIG. 7, ¶[0140]-[0145], [0174], [0157], [0291].[0140] The gNB provides the UE with the HARQ-ACK feedback timing either dynamically in the DCI or semi-statically in an RRC configuration. Retransmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is supported for operation with shared spectrum channel access by using enhanced dynamic codebook and/or one-shot triggering of HARQ-ACK transmission for all configured CCs and HARQ processes in the PUCCH group. The UE may be configured to receive code block group-based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.[0142] Up to two HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to a priority (high/low) can be constructed simultaneously. For each HARQ-ACK codebook, more than one PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission within a slot is supported. Each PUCCH is limited within one sub-slot, and the sub-slot pattern is configured per HARQ-ACK codebook.
[0143] PUCCH carries the Uplink Control Information (UCI) from the UE to the gNB. UCI includes at least HARQ-ACK information, scheduling request (SR), and CSI.)[0291] based on a HARQ-ACK codebook configuration, and transmits a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUCCH resource, or multiplexes the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUSCH transmission.). MolavianJazi may not explicitly disclose wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs
However, in analogous art, Li disclose wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) /discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state (See ¶[0007], [0043], [0051]-[0055], [0120]-[0123]. Disclosed an operating state of a cell based on its DTX/DRX configuration ), and wherein a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook is adjusted based on the DTX/DRX active state or the DTX/DRX inactive state for each CC of the multiple CCs (See ¶[0054]-[0058], [0085], [0042]-[0043], [0120]-[0121], [0142], [0119]-[0123]. Disclosed mechanism to adjust (reduce) the codebook size (number of bits) by candidate occasions for cells that are in a DTX/DRX inactive state.[0142] In this implementation, in a case that the target cell DTX is activated or deactivated by using RRC signaling or L2 signaling with high reliability, based on high reliability of RRC signaling or L2 signaling, accuracy of determining the inactive period of the target cell DTX is high. Therefore, determining the candidate slots or PDSCH occasions in the HARQ feedback codebook based on the inactive period of the target cell DTX can reduce the number of bits of the HARQ feedback codebook, and further reduce resource consumption in transmitting the HARQ feedback codebook.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches a multiple-CC (Carrier Aggregation) UE that receives RRC configurations for HARQ-ACK codebooks, identifiers the active/deceived (inactive) operating states of each Component carriers across the multiple CCs, and transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback via PUCCH also maintains a codebook size based on configured cells. Li teaches adjusting the size of a HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e., the number of bits/entries) by excluding candidate PDSCH occasions that overlap with a target cell’s DTX/DRX inactive period, thereby preventing the waste of uplink feedback resources it. The combination ensure that the UE does not waste uplink resources transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback for CCs where the network is not transmitting PDSCHs due to energy saving DTX/DRX modes. With regarding Claim 20, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 20 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1/14, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 3, 7-8, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi and Li in view of Lin (US 20220394734 A1).
With regarding Claim 3 MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose allocate, in response to the operating state of one CC of the multiple CCs being the DTX/DRX active state, an entry of the HARQ ACK codebook corresponding to the one CC However, in analogous art, Lin disclose (See FIG. 6 and ¶[0197], [0385]-[0386], [0268]-[0270].[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble.[0385] 1> if a first DRX group is in Active Time: [0386] 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3 [6];[0268] 2> in current symbol n, if a DRX group would not be in Active Time considering grants/assignments scheduled on Serving Cell(s) in this DRX group and DRX Command MAC CE/Long DRX Command MAC CE received and Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all DRX Active Time conditions as specified in this clause: [0269] 3> not transmit periodic SRS and semi-persistent SRS in this DRX group; [0270] 3> not report CSI on PUCCH and semi-persistent CSI configured on PUSCH in this DRX group.); or release, in response to the operating state of the one CC of the multiple CCs being the DTX/DRX inactive state, the entry of the HARQ ACK codebook corresponding to the one CC (See FIG. 6 and ¶[0197], [0352]-[0356], [0265]-[0270].[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble[0352] 1> if a first DRX group is in Active Time: [0353] 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3 [6]; [0354] 2> if the PDCCH on a scheduling cell in this DRX group indicates a DL transmission on a corresponding scheduled cell in a second DRX group: [0355] 3> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL on the first DRX group for the corresponding HARQ process of the scheduled cell in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback; [0356] NOTE 3: When HARQ feedback is postponed by PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicating a non-numerical k1 value, as specified in REF3 [6], the corresponding transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback is indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the HARQ-ACK feedback.[0265] 3> if ps-TransmitOtherPeriodicCSI is not configured with value true: [0266] 4> not report periodic CSI that is not L1-RSRP on PUCCH. [0267] 1> else: [0268] 2> in current symbol n, if a DRX group would not be in Active Time considering grants/assignments scheduled on Serving Cell(s) in this DRX group and DRX Command MAC CE/Long DRX Command MAC CE received and Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all DRX Active Time conditions as specified in this clause: [0269] 3> not transmit periodic SRS and semi-persistent SRS in this DRX group; [0270] 3> not report CSI on PUCCH and semi-persistent CSI configured on PUSCH in this DRX group.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches UE receives higher-Layer configuration for the HARQ-ACK codebook and constructs entries per saving cell in the currently considered active set. Thus, adding or removing a cell from the considered set adds or removes the corresponding HARQ-ACK entry. Lin teaches per cell DRX operating states active vs inactive controlled by DCI wake-up or bitmap and DRX timers Li teaches a UE to allocate HARQ-ACK codebook entries only for a cell that is in a DTX/DRX inactive state causes a waste of feedback resources. This combination yields if a CC is DRX active it is included in the considered set, if a CC is DRX inactive it is excluded from the considered set. With regarding claim 7, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 6, MolavianJazi disclose wherein to adjust the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: or, remove, in response to a second change in the operating state for the one CC from (See ¶[0104], [0115]-[0119], [0124].[0124] In addition to scheduling, PDCCH can be used to for: (i) activation and deactivation of configured PUSCH transmission with configured grant; (ii) activation and deactivation of PDSCH semi-persistent transmission; (iii) notifying one or more UEs of the slot format; (iv) notifying one or more UEs of the PRB(s) and OFDM symbol(s) where the UE may assume no transmission is intended for the UE; (v) transmission of TPC commands for PUCCH and PUSCH; (vi) transmission of one or more TPC commands for SRS transmissions by one or more UEs; (vii) switching a UE's active bandwidth part; (viii) initiating a random access procedure; (ix) indicating the UE(s) to monitor the PDCCH during the next occurrence of the discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration; (x) in IAB context, indicating the availability for soft symbols of an IAB-DU; and (xi) triggering one shot HARQ-ACK codebook feedback.) MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose the DTX/DRX inactive state to the DTX/DRX active state, an entry corresponding to the one CC to the HARQ ACK codebook However, in analogous art, Lin disclose the DTX/DRX inactive state to the DTX/DRX active state, an entry corresponding to the one CC to the HARQ ACK codebook( See ¶[0167], [0129]-[0131], [0138], [0304], [0197].[0129] In CA, two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. For example, a UE with single timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells sharing the same timing advance (multiple serving cells grouped in one TAG). A UE with multiple timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells with different timing advances (multiple serving cells grouped in multiple TAGs). NG-RAN ensures that each TAG contains at least one serving cell. A non-CA capable UE can receive on a single CC and transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG).[0138] In another variation, configuration and/or ‘activation’ of multiple scheduling cells can apply not only to the PCell, but also to other SCell(s).[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is constructed per serving cell membership: entries are included for cell in the considered set and omitted when a cell is not in that set. Lin teaches explicit per cell DRX operating states and state transitions a CC is in active tome when DRX timer/indicators apply and becomes inactive otherwise and Li teaches that a UE to maintain HARQ-ACK codebook entries for a cell that is in a DTX/DRX inactive state causes a waste of feedback resources¶[0005], [0119]-[0123], [0197], [.0206]-[0209], [0147], [0183]. This combination yields the adding the entry upon the first change inactive to active and removing it upon the second change active to inactive. With regarding claim 8, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein to adjust the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: assign, in response to a second change in the operating state for the one CC from the DTX/DRX active state to the DTX/DRX inactive state, the entry corresponding to the one CC to a second CC different from the one CC (See ¶[0085]-[0087], [0369]-[0371], [0347], [0350], [0353].[0087] For another example, an embodiment, described in greater detail below, describes, generating separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. For example, for a UE configured with multi-cell scheduling, when the UE generates separate Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebooks for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, the UE generates a first Type-1 CB for single-cell scheduling and a second Type-1 CB for multi-cell scheduling, wherein each Type-1 CB is based on corresponding configuration(s) for TDRA/K0/K1. The UE can transmit the first and second CBs in separate PUCCH resources or can append the first and second CBs (in which case, can be also referred to as, first and second sub-CBs) and transmit in a single/same PUCCH resource. Alternatively, the UE can transmit the first and/or the second Type-1 CB on a PUSCH, based on an UL DAI field (with 2 bits, instead of 1 bit in TS 38.213 v.16.5.0) in a DCI format that schedules the PUSCH.[0369] When a UE generates a same/common Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, (wherein the multi-cell scheduling configuration is such that: (i) all serving cells in a set of co-scheduled cells have a same SCS, and (ii) the serving cells in the set of co-scheduled cells can have different configurations for at least one of TDRA/K0/K1 parameters associated with multi-cell scheduling) the UE can determine candidate PDSCH occasions for a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook based on both TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for single-cell scheduling and TDRA/K0/K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling, including relative K0/scheduling timeline (denoted by ΔK0) for the set of K0 values associated with multi-cell scheduling, along with an interaction among K1 configuration for different co-scheduled cells. It is also possible that, any serving cell with multi-cell scheduling configuration belongs to only one set of co-scheduled cells or belongs to multiple sets of co-scheduled cells.).MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose the DTX/DRX active state to the DTX/DRX inactive state, the entry corresponding to the one CC to a second CC different from the one However, in analogous art, Lin disclose the DTX/DRX active state to the DTX/DRX inactive state, the entry corresponding to the one CC to a second CC different from the one ( See ¶[0167], [0129]-[0131], [0138], [0304], [0197].[0129] In CA, two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. For example, a UE with single timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells sharing the same timing advance (multiple serving cells grouped in one TAG). A UE with multiple timing advance capability for CA can simultaneously receive and/or transmit on multiple CCs corresponding to multiple serving cells with different timing advances (multiple serving cells grouped in multiple TAGs). NG-RAN ensures that each TAG contains at least one serving cell. A non-CA capable UE can receive on a single CC and transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG).[0138] In another variation, configuration and/or ‘activation’ of multiple scheduling cells can apply not only to the PCell, but also to other SCell(s).[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is built over the currently considered serving cell set and ordered by serving sell index/CIF and subset changes update the mapping, so codebook positions correspond to whichever cells are in the set at that time, not to permanently fixed cc and Lin teaches per CC DRX operating states and state transitions signaled by the network. When a cc become inactive, it is no longer considered for scheduling or feedback. The combination yields the CC becoming DRX inactive, the entry corresponding to that CC is assigned to a second, different CC. With regarding claim 15, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook via the transceiver(See FIG. 4-6, ¶[0068], [0072], [0096], [0321], [0132].[0072] Embodiments of the present disclosure also take into consideration that there is a need to enhance Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook to accommodate co-scheduled PDSCHs, including various K0/K1 timing relationships, different TDRA table configurations, and different SCS configurations.), wherein the HARQ ACK codebook is a semi-static HARQ ACK codebook (See ¶[0085].[0085] For another example, an embodiment, described in greater detail below, describe, enhancements to Type-1 (semi-static) HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell scheduling. For example, when a UE is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK CB, also referred to as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.), MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the HARQ ACK codebook is a semi-static HARQ ACK codebook, and wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) / discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state. However, in analogous art, Lin disclose wherein the HARQ ACK codebook is a semi-static HARQ ACK codebook, and wherein the operating state for each CC is one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) / discontinuous reception (DRX) active state or a DTX/DRX inactive state(See FIG. 7-9 and ¶[0197], [0334], [0398], [0076], [0302], [0385]-[0388], [0268]-[0270].[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble.[0334] In step 750, the scheduled cell is inside DRX Active Time while TransmissionTimer is running on the scheduled cell. In step 760, the UE stops drx-TransmissionTimer on the scheduled cell m2 symbols after a last symbol of the DL/UL transmission; then the scheduled cell is outside DRX Active Time.[0398] In step 950, the UE triggers drx-InactivityTimer only for the first DRX group, and not for the second DRX group. Herein, triggering drx-InactivityTimer refers to starting/restarting/stopping of the said timer in a slot/symbol that the UE determines based on specifications for system operation and/or a configuration of a respective DRX group.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi and Li teachings. MolavianJazi teaches a system configuration parameters for a HARQ ACK codebook for multiple CCs, identifies the operating state of each CC, and allocated codebook entries accordingly and Lin teaches that the network can provide a signaling extension indicator to the UE to increase or modify the active time of a CC and that, in response to receiving such an indicator, the UE will update the codebook in response. This combination would use Lin’s Per cc DRX active/inactive state as the operating state referenced MolavianJazi’s codebook logic, so semi-static (Type-1) HARQ-ACK codebook is allocated per CC based on whether that CC is DRX-active or inactive.
With regarding claim 16, MolavianJazi, Li and Lin disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook is a number of CCs in the multiple CCs that are in the DTX/DRX active state (4734: See FIG. 6 and ¶[0197], [0385]-[0386], [0268]-[0270], [0129]-[0130].[0197] When DRX is configured, the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: (i) drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running; or (ii) drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running on any Serving Cell in the DRX group; or (iii) ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or msgB-ResponseWindow is running; or (iv) a Scheduling Request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; or (v) a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble.[0385] 1> if a first DRX group is in Active Time: [0386] 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3 [6];[0268] 2> in current symbol n, if a DRX group would not be in Active Time considering grants/assignments scheduled on Serving Cell(s) in this DRX group and DRX Command MAC CE/Long DRX Command MAC CE received and Scheduling Request sent until 4 ms prior to symbol n when evaluating all DRX Active Time conditions as specified in this clause: [0269] 3> not transmit periodic SRS and semi-persistent SRS in this DRX group; [0270] 3> not report CSI on PUCCH and semi-persistent CSI configured on PUSCH in this DRX group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi teachings. MolavianJazi teaches a system configuration parameters for a HARQ ACK codebook for Lin teachings multiple CCs currently in DRX active time wake-up or dormancy and active time as the N cells DL that drives the HARQ-ACK codebook size or entries, so that network codebook configuration reflects the active set only. This combination yielding a standards consistent bit-count and avoiding payload for inactive CCs.
With regarding claim 17, MolavianJazi, Li and Lin disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to transmit the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: transmit, via a radio resource configuration (RRC) message, the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook (See ¶[0117], [0131], [0140], [0291]-[0292], [0085], [0327], [0440], [0068].[0291] A UE (such as the UE 116) configured with multi-cell scheduling expects to be configured a HARQ-ACK codebook, for example using a parameter ‘pdsch-HARQ-ACK-Codebook’. The HARQ-ACK CB can be, for example, one of Type-1 CB, also referred to as semi-static CB, or Type-2 CB, also referred to as dynamic CB, or enhanced Type-2 CB, also referred to as enhanced dynamic CB, or a Type-3 CB, and so on, as described in TS 38.213 v16.5.0. Accordingly, the UE does not expect to provide/report separate HARQ-ACK feedback for each PDSCH from a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs on a set/subset of co-scheduled cells. The UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to the number of co-scheduled PDSCH receptions on a set/subset of co-scheduled cells, based on a HARQ-ACK codebook configuration, and transmits a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUCCH resource, or multiplexes the HARQ-ACK CB in a same PUSCH transmission.[0068] Design of HARQ-ACK codebooks in Rel-15/16 5G NR systems is based on consideration that a PDSCH reception on a serving cell is individually scheduled by a corresponding DCI format, herein referred to as DCI formats for single-cell scheduling (or SC-DCI format). For example, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to each DCI (in case of TB-based PDSCH reception) is 1 or 2 bits, depending on whether a corresponding PDSCH includes 1 or 2 transport blocks (TBs). For a Type-1 or “semi-static” HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), the UE considers a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, a single set of PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing (K1) values, and a single sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration, for each serving cell.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is configured by higher layers; the UE generates or updates the semi-static codebook per higher-layer configuration. Lin teaches in NR higher-layer configuration is carried via RRC for Configuration from DCI for moment -to-moment triggers reinforcing RRC as the medium for persistent UE configuration. This combination yields the UE receiving, via RRC message, the configuration parameters related to the HARQ-ACK codebook. With regarding claim 18, MolavianJazi, Li and Lin disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to transmit the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: transmit, via a medium access control (MAC) – control element (MAC-CE), the set of configuration parameters related to the HARQ ACK codebook(9120: See ¶[0263], [0322], [0172], [0324].[0263] For example, a MAC CE activates a first subset of a set of co-scheduled cells and subsequent DCI format(s) for multi-cell scheduling apply to the first subset of cells activated by the MAC CE. The UE can receive another MAC CE command that deactivates the first subset of co-scheduled cells, or activates a second subset of co-scheduled cells,[0322] When a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured to generate a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook (CB), also known as a semi-static CB, and the UE is also configured with multi-cell scheduling, the UE can generate a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, or the UE can generate two separate Type-1 CBs for single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The specifications for system operation can support only one of the two options, or the UE can determine same or separate CB(s) per higher layer configuration or per indication by a DCI format.[0172] This clause applies if the UE is configured with pdsch-HARQ-ACK-Codebook=semi-static.[0324] In a first approach, the UE generates a same Type-1 CB for both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling. The CB generation follows procedures explained herein.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin to modify MolavianJazi and Li. MolavianJazi teaches the UE’s HARQ-ACK codebook is configured by higher layers; the UE generates or updates the semi-static codebook per higher-layer configuration. Lin teaches establishes per CC DRX operating states and shows that the network dynamically drives per cell state using control plane signaling and Li teaches adjusting the HARQ-ACK codebook size by excluding or cancelling the entries Li . This combination deliver the codebook related parameters via MAC-CE so the UE receives, Via MAC-CE, the configuration that aligns the codebook with the current per cc state.
11. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi and Li et al. as applied to claims 2 above, and further in view of Papasakellariou et al (US 20240348380 A1). With regarding claim 9, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, MolavianJazi disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive, from the network entity, an extension indicator indicating additional active time for one CC of the multiple CCs, and wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to(See ¶[0159], [0174]-[0176], [0196].[0159] If a UE is provided pdsch-HARQ-ACK-OneShotFeedback and the UE detects a DCI format in any PDCCH monitoring occasion that includes a One-shot HARQ-ACK request field with value 1 then (i) the UE includes the HARQ-ACK information in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, and (ii) the UE does not expect that the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field of the DCI format provides an inapplicable value from dl-DataToUL-ACK-r16.[0196] If a UE would multiplex HARQ-ACK information in a PUSCH transmission that is not scheduled by a DCI format or is scheduled by a DCI format that does not include a DAI field, then (i) if the UE has not received any PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release that the UE transmits corresponding HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH, based on a value of a respective PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception or the SPS PDSCH release or on the value of dl-DataToUL-ACK if the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is not present in DCI format 1_1 or on the value of dl-DataToUL-ACK-ForDCI-Format1-2 if the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is not present in DCI format 1_2, in any of the Me occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions by a DCI format or SPS PDSCH on any serving cell c, the UE does not multiplex HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH transmission; (ii) else the UE generates the HARQ-ACK codebook as described for a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook in physical uplink control channel, except that harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is replaced by harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUSCH, unless the UE receives only a SPS PDSCH release, or only SPS PDSCH reception, or only a PDSCH that is scheduled by DCI format 1_0 with a counter DAI field value of 1 on the PCell in the Me occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions in which case the UE generates HARQ-ACK information only for the SPS PDSCH release or only for the PDSCH reception.): MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose add the entry corresponding the one CC to the HARQ ACK codebook in response to the extension indicator.However, in analogous art, Papasakellariou disclose add the entry corresponding the one CC to the HARQ ACK codebook in response to the extension indicator.(See ¶[0209]-[0210], [0235], [0625]-[0626], [0740]-[0741].[0209] If a UE detects a DCI format 1_1 indicating [0210] SCell dormancy without scheduling a PDSCH reception, as described in clause 10.3,[0235] If a UE receives a first DCI format that the UE detects in a first PDCCH monitoring occasion and includes a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field providing an inapplicable value from dl-DataToUL-ACK-r16,). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Papasakellariou and Li to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches supplies the overall UE HARQ-ACK codebook construction for multi-CC and Li teaches adjusting the size of the HARQ feedback codebook by excluding or cancelling entries when a cell transitions to a DTX/DRX inactive state. Papasakellariou teaches HARQ-ACK codebook generation for multi-cell scheduling and handling deactivated/dormant cells by inserting predetermined NACK/ACK values. This combination yields the adding the HARQ-ACK entry for the one CC in response to the extension indicator with no change in principle.
12. Claims 10, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi, Li and Papasakellariou as applied to claims 9 above, and further in view of Lin et al. With regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi, Li, and Papasakellariou disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein to receive the extension indicator, the at least one processor, is configured to: MolavianJazi, Li and Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose receive the extension indicator via downlink control information (DCI) However, in analogous art, Lin disclose receive the extension indicator via downlink control information (DCI) (See ¶[0277]-[0281], [0284]-[0285].[0284] if the UE detects a DCI format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1 that does not include a carrier indicator field, or detects a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1 that includes a carrier indicator field with value equal to 0, a ‘0’ value for a bit of the bitmap indicates an active DL BWP, provided by dormantBWP-Id,[0285] If a UE is provided search space sets to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 1_1, and if the CRC of DCI format 1_1 is scrambled by a C-RNTI or a MCS-C-RNTI, and if a one-shot HARQ-ACK request field is not present or has a ‘0’ value, and if the UE detects a DCI format 1_1 on the primary cell that does not include a carrier indicator field, or detects a DCI format 1_1 on the primary cell that includes a carrier indicator field with value equal to 0, and if resourceAllocation=resourceAllocationType0 and all bits of the frequency domain resource assignment field in DCI format 1_1 are equal to 0, or resourceAllocation=resourceAllocationType1 and all bits of the frequency domain resource assignment field in DCI format 1_1 are equal to 1, or resourceAllocation=dynamicSwitch and all bits of the frequency domain resource assignment field in DCI format 1_1 are equal to 0 or 1, then the UE considers the DCI format 1_1 as indicating SCell dormancy, not scheduling a PDSCH reception or indicating a SPS PDSCH release, and for transport block 1 interprets the sequence of fields of (i) modulation and coding scheme, (ii) new data indicator, (iii) redundancy version, and of (i) HARQ process number, (ii) antenna port(s), (iii) DM-RS sequence initialization, as providing a bitmap to each configured SCell, in an ascending order of the SCell index. Here, a ‘0’ value for a bit of the bitmap indicates an active DL BWP, provided by dorrnantBWP-Id,),. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Papasakellariou and Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches UE HARQ-ACK codebook construction and maintenance in CA and use of DCI/MAC-CE/RRC for per cell scheduling feedback timing. Lin teaches extension indicator from the network that extends active time/on-duration of a particular CC; disclosure includes conveying such indicators by DCI /MAC-CE/RRC to promptly update UE behavior, and Papasakellariou teaches multi-Cell codebook management and adding HARQ-ACK entries when additional cell activity /receptions are to be covered. This combination confirming routine codebook expansion when cell activity is extended, receiving the extension indicator via DCI is a design that improves reaction time and aligns with existing PHY/MAC procedures. With regarding claim 13, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose allocate, based on a first CC in the multiple CCS being in a discontinuous transmission (DTX) / discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state However, in analogous art, Lin disclose allocate, based on a first CC in the multiple CCS being in a discontinuous transmission (DTX) / discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state (See ¶[0304], [0334], [0340]-[0341], [0343][0304] For example, when a UE monitors a PDCCH on a scheduling cell from a first DRX group that schedules a new PDSCH/PUSCH on a scheduled cell from a second DRX group, the UE starts or restarts drx-InactivityTimer on both DRX groups. However, the UE applies a first duration for drx-InactivityTimer on the first DRX group, and a second duration for drx-InactivityTimer on the second DRX group, based on the respective configurations for the two DRX groups. In one example, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time of the second DRX group.), MolavianJazi, Li and Lin may not explicitly disclose the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment (DAI) associated with the HARQ ACK codebook.However, in analogous art, Papasakellariou disclose the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment (DAI) associated with the HARQ ACK codebook(See ¶[0253]-[0255], [0260][0253] The value of the total DAI, when present [TS 38.212], in a DCI format denotes the total number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s), SPS PDSCH release or SCell dormancy indication associated with DCI formats is present, up to the current PDCCH monitoring occasion m and is updated from PDCCH monitoring occasion to PDCCH monitoring occasion. If, for an active DL BWP of a serving cell, the UE is not provided coresetPoolIndex or is provided coresetPoolIndex with value 0 for one or more first CORESETs and is provided coresetPoolIndex with value 1 for one or more second CORESETs, and is provided ackNackFeedbackMode=joint, the total DAI value counts the {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) for both the first CORESETs and the second CORESETs.
[0254] Denote by N.sub.c-DAI.sup.DL the number of bits for the counter DAI and set T.sub.D=2.sup.N.sup.c-DAI.sup.DL. Denote by V.sub.c-DAI,c,m.sup.DL the value of the counter DAI in a DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception, SPS PDSCH release or SCell dormancy indication on serving cell c in PDCCH monitoring occasion m according to Table 2 or Table 2A. Denote by V.sub.T-DAI,m.sup.DL the value of the total DAI in a DCI format in PDCCH monitoring occasion m according to Table 3. The UE assumes a same value of total DAI in all DCI formats that include a total DAI field in PDCCH monitoring occasion m. A UE does not expect to multiplex, in a same Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook, HARQ-ACK information that is in response to detection of DCI formats with different number of bits for the counter DAI field.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Papasakellariou to modify Lin and MolavianJazi teachings. MolavianJazi teaches UE construction and transmission of HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell /CA operation, with DAI-based interpretations that drive where ACK bits are placed in the codebook ¶[0196], [0398], [0400-[0401]. Lin teaches concrete per cell/DRX group behavior defining when a cell/cc is outside DRX active time and how UE behavior is gated under that condition. And Papasakellariou teaches detailed DAI handling and pseudo-code for codebook population that use DAI values observed from DCI/PDCCH monitoring occasion to index ACK bits in the codebook. This combination result that avoids mis-placement of ACK bits and maintains feedback integrity for CA. yielding no change in principles.
With regarding claim 19, MolavianJazi, Li and Lin disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to:
and wherein the HARQ ACK codebook includes an entry corresponding to the one CC for the additional active time. MolavianJazi disclose and wherein the HARQ ACK codebook includes an entry corresponding to the one CC for the additional active time [0196] If a UE would multiplex HARQ-ACK information in a PUSCH transmission that is not scheduled by a DCI format or is scheduled by a DCI format that does not include a DAI field, then (i) if the UE has not received any PDSCH or SPS PDSCH release that the UE transmits corresponding HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH, based on a value of a respective PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field in a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception or the SPS PDSCH release or on the value of dl-DataToUL-ACK if the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is not present in DCI format 1_1 or on the value of dl-DataToUL-ACK-ForDCI-Format1-2 if the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is not present in DCI format 1_2, in any of the Me occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions by a DCI format or SPS PDSCH on any serving cell c, the UE does not multiplex HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH transmission; (ii) else the UE generates the HARQ-ACK codebook as described for a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook in physical uplink control channel, except that harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is replaced by harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUSCH, unless the UE receives only a SPS PDSCH release, or only SPS PDSCH reception, or only a PDSCH that is scheduled by DCI format 1_0 with a counter DAI field value of 1 on the PCell in the Me occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions in which case the UE generates HARQ-ACK information only for the SPS PDSCH release or only for the PDSCH reception.) MolavianJazi, Li and Lin may not explicitly disclose transmit, for the UE, an extension indicator indicating additional active time for one CC of the multiple CCs. However, in analogous art, Papasakellariou disclose transmit, for the UE, an extension indicator indicating additional active time for one CC of the multiple CCs (8380: See ¶[0209]-[0210], [0235], [0625]-[0626].[0209] If a UE detects a DCI format 1_1 indicating [0210] SCell dormancy without scheduling a PDSCH reception, as described in clause 10.3,[0235] If a UE receives a first DCI format that the UE detects in a first PDCCH monitoring occasion and includes a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field providing an inapplicable value from dl-DataToUL-ACK-r16,). . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Papasakellariou and Lin to modify MolavianJazi. MolavianJazi teaches supplies the overall UE HARQ-ACK codebook construction for multi-CC and Lin teaches supplies the network extension indicator for additional active time of specific CC and Yi teaches to add codebook entries as the cell set coverage expands. This combination yields the adding the HARQ-ACK entry for the one CC in response to the extension indicator with no change in principle.13. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi, and Li et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yi et al (US 20240032031 A1). With regarding claim 11, MolavianJazi and Li disclose the apparatus of claim 2, MolavianJazi disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive, from the network entity, a codebook configuration indicating a codebook size for the HARQ ACK codebook(See ¶[0409]-[00414], [0423], [0427]-[0428][0409] For a UE that is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells, when a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling includes a flag, such as a One-shot HARQ-ACK request field, that triggers generation of a Type-3 HARQ codebook (also referred to as, a “One-shot” CB), the UE can consider the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling as an implicit triggering state for the Type-3 HARQ codebook.[0414] In one example, the multi-cell scheduling DCI format can indicate a set of serving cells for Type-3 HARQ codebook generation, wherein the set of serving cells can be different from a corresponding set of co-scheduled cells, including partial or no overlap. For example, the UE can be provided by pdsch-HARQ-ACK-enhType3List (or a multi-cell variant thereof) a list of serving cells and/or corresponding HARQ processes for which the UE can be requested to generate a Type-3 HARQ codebook. For example, a multi-cell scheduling DCI format can include an Enhanced Type 3 codebook indicator field that indicates a row/entry from the configured list. For example, the bit-width of the Enhanced Type 3 codebook indicator field can be 0 bit if pdsch-HARQ-ACK-enhType3DCIfield (or multi-cell variant thereof) is not configured, and can be ┌log.sub.2(n.sub.CB)┐ bits such as 1 or 2 or 3 bits otherwise, where n.sub.CB is the number of entries in the higher layer parameter pdsch-HARQ-ACK-enhType3List (or multi-cell variant thereof). The Enhanced Type 3 codebook indicator field is a cell-common DCI field that is provided only once in a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling.)., and wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: MolavianJazi and Li may not explicitly disclose wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook based on the codebook size. However, in analogous art, Yi disclose wherein to allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook, the at least one processor, is configured to: allocate the one or more entries of the HARQ ACK codebook based on the codebook size. (See FIG. 33-34 ¶[0247]-[0253], [0458]-[0262].[0458] When the fixed number of HARQ-ACK bits is large (e.g., a maximum number of CBGs M), the wireless device may need to generate a large size of ACK-NACK bits regardless of actual number of PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI. This may increase a HARQ-ACK codebook size and may reduce performance of a HARQ-ACK feedback. Handling various number of PDSCHs scheduled by each multi-PDSCH DCI may require an enhancement in a HARQ-ACK codebook generation/determination.
[0459] In an example, a wireless device may determine/generate a HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks. Each HARQ-ACK sub-codebook may comprise one or more HARQ-ACK entries (e.g., a HARQ-ACK entry may comprise one or more HARQ-ACK bits).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi to modify Lin and MolavianJazi teachings. MolavianJazi teaches UE construction and transmission of HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell /CA operation, with DAI-based interpretations that drive where ACK bits are placed in the codebook ¶[0196], [0398], [0400-[0401]. And Yi teaches size parameters in the configuration message so the receiver allocates its data structure based on that size. This combination teaches receiving a codebook configuration indicating a codebook size and allocating based on the size. With regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi, Li, and Yi disclose the apparatus of claim 11, MolavianJazi disclose wherein the at least one processor, is configured to: receive, from the network entity, multi-cell scheduling downlink control information (MC-DCI) scheduling the multiple CCs, and wherein the codebook size corresponds to the multiple CCs (¶[0069]-[0074], [0423], [0428], [0400]-[0401][0069] When the UE receives a DCI format for joint scheduling of multiple PDSCHs on a set of co-scheduled cells, the DCI format triggers multiple HARQ-ACK information bits, no less than a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs/cells (and with a factor of 2 or based on a number of configured TBs, if any of the co-scheduled cells is configured with 2-TB per PDSCH). In addition, the UE may have separate TDRA table or K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling compared to single-cell scheduling[0071] Therefore, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need for multi-cell scheduling, wherein multiple cells can be jointly scheduled using reduced signaling overhead, such as by using only a single DCI format.. [0400] The method 1100, as illustrated in FIG. 11, describes an example procedure for separate Type-1 CBs corresponding to single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling, which are multiplexed on a PUSCH based on an UL DAI field of an UL DCI format that schedules the PUSCH.[0401] In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells. In step 1120, the UE is provided first TDRA/K0/K1 configuration(s) for single-cell scheduling on cells from the set of co-scheduled cells. In step 1130, the UE is provided second TDRA/K0/K1 configuration(s) for multi-cell scheduling on the set of co-scheduled cells. In step 1140, the UE receives an UL DCI format with a (2-bit) UL DAI field that schedules a PUSCH. In step 1150, the UE determines, based on a value of the UL DAI field, to generate a first Type-1 CB based on the first TDRA/K0/K1 configuration(s) and/or a second Type-1 CB based on the second TDRA/K0/K1 configuration(s). In step 1160, the UE multiplexes the first Type-1 CB and/or the second Type-1 codebook on the PUSCH based on the value of the UL DAI field.[0069] When the UE receives a DCI format for joint scheduling of multiple PDSCHs on a set of co-scheduled cells, the DCI format triggers multiple HARQ-ACK information bits, no less than a number of co-scheduled PDSCHs/cells (and with a factor of 2 or based on a number of configured TBs, if any of the co-scheduled cells is configured with 2-TB per PDSCH). In addition, the UE may have separate TDRA table or K1 configuration for multi-cell scheduling compared to single-cell scheduling.0072] Embodiments of the present disclosure also take into consideration that there is a need to enhance Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook to accommodate co-scheduled PDSCHs, including various K0/K1 timing relationships, different TDRA table configurations, and different SCS configurations.). MolavianJazi, and Li may not disclosed wherein the codebook size corresponds to the multiple CCs. However, in analogous art, Yi disclose wherein the codebook size corresponds to the multiple CCs. (See FIG. 33-34 ¶[0247]-[0253], [0458]-[0262].[0458] When the fixed number of HARQ-ACK bits is large (e.g., a maximum number of CBGs M), the wireless device may need to generate a large size of ACK-NACK bits regardless of actual number of PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI. This may increase a HARQ-ACK codebook size and may reduce performance of a HARQ-ACK feedback. Handling various number of PDSCHs scheduled by each multi-PDSCH DCI may require an enhancement in a HARQ-ACK codebook generation/determination.
[0459] In an example, a wireless device may determine/generate a HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks. Each HARQ-ACK sub-codebook may comprise one or more HARQ-ACK entries (e.g., a HARQ-ACK entry may comprise one or more HARQ-ACK bits).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi to modify Lin and MolavianJazi teachings. MolavianJazi teaches UE construction and transmission of HARQ-ACK codebook for multi-cell /CA operation, with DAI-based interpretations that drive where ACK bits are placed in the codebook ¶[0400-[0401], [0423], [0428], to make HARQ-ACK codebook size correspond to those multi-CCs and Lin teaches cross-carrier DRX -group scheduling on PDCCH/DCI provides the operational setting in which multi cell DCI is routinely used across cell. Yi teaches explicit size in configuration message so the UE can dimension its codebook accordingly. This combination yields explicit size in configuration so the receiver can dimension data structures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Zhang et al. US 20230031360 A1, and Baldemair et al. US 20200322947 A1.Zhang teaches determining the size of the HARQ codebook for each slot based on the number of active or inactive SPS PDSCH configurations in the slot for all component carriers ¶[0122]-[0123], [0142]-[0143].
Baldemair teaches a UE configured with a HARQ codebook of a first size for multiple CCs. If the UE receives downlink scheduling for only a few CCs (meaning the other CCs are in an inactive/unscheduled state), the UE determines a HARQ codebook of a second (smaller) size transmits the HARQ feedback using this smaller codebook. ¶[0022], [0046], [0107]-[0108] and [0144]-[0149].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468