DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14 (14A, 14B, 14C)” has been used to designate both cathode and top welding section in Figures 2 & 3.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom welding section” “made of metal and infiltrated with nanoparticles anode” as recited in Claim 19 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: “bottom welding section 24” in [0013] of instant specification is not shown in Figure 1, “seal gap 34” in [0033] of instant application is not indicated in Figure 1 and “Cathode 114” is not indicated in Figure 4 as described in [0044] of instant specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0014] of Instant specification, “a second (bottom) current collector layer 24” should read “a second (bottom) current collector layer 26”.
In [0021] of Instant specification, “the first top welding section 16, a second top welding section 16, a third top welding section 16” should read “the first top welding section 16A, a second top welding section 16B, a third top welding section 16C”.
In [0045], instant specification makes reference to “cathode 113” in Figure 4 whereas [0044] discloses “cathode 114”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 & 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1: “the first welding section extends around” should be replaced with “the first welding section extending around”.
In Claim 9, the recitation “the first current collector” in line 7 should read “the first current collector layer”.
In Claim 11, the recitation “the top welding section” in lines 6 & 9 should read “the first top welding section”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 9-10, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 & 15 recites the limitation “a second welding section arranged radially between the first and second cathodes” in line 4 of claim 3 and lines 5-6 of Claim 15. It is unclear whether the second welding section is arranged between the first and second cathode or between the second and third cathode as described in [0022] of instant specification. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to read “a second welding section arranged radially between the second and third cathodes”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first cathode" in lines 5-6 of said claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation has been interpreted to read “the cathode”.
Further, claim 9 recites the limitation “the current collector layer” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation has been interpreted to read “the first current collector layer”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a second current collector layer arranged opposite with respect to the first current collector layer in the stacking direction”. The claim is indefinite because while it recites that the first and second current collector are arranged opposite to each other in the stacking direction, it does not specify any point of reference. Suggested correction is “a second current collector layer arranged on the opposite side of the solid oxide electrochemical device from the first current collector layer in the stacking direction”
Claims 13 & 15 recites the limitation “the unit cell” in line 5 of claim 13 and line 6 of claim 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation has been interpreted to read “the solid oxide electrochemical device unit cell”.
Claim 17 is indefinite because of the limitation “the electrolyte layer” and its dependence on claim 11. Said electrolyte layer is not mentioned on claim 11 but in claim 12. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to depend on claim 12.
Claim 19 is indefinite because of the limitation “the bottom welding section is … infiltrated with nanoparticles anode” in lines 3-4 of said claim. As claim 17-18 recite anode layer separate from the bottom welding section and neither claim 17 not 18 recites that said anode layer comprises nanoparticles therefore recitation of “nanoparticles anode” infiltrating the bottom welding section is indefinite. Further, it is unclear whether nanoparticles anode mean anode material having the size of nanoparticles or nanoparticles of a different type than the anode. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation has been interpreted to read “the bottom welding section is made of metal and infiltrated with nanoparticles”.
Additionally, dependent claims 4-5 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 3, dependent claim 10 is rejected as a result of its dependence on indefinite claim 9, dependent claims 14-16 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 13, dependent claim 16 is rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 15, dependent claims 18-20 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 17. Said dependent claims include all the limitations of rejected indefinite parent claim and do not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 & 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshikata teaches a cathode structure (thin film cathode 42, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7) for use in a solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7), the cathode structure (thin film cathode 42, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7) comprising: a first cathode having a center point (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, note that as Figure 7 shows that anode 42 and cathode 43 have the same structure thus the cross section of cathode-weld structure has to be the same as the one shown for anode in Figure 2a-c) of the solid oxide fuel cell (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7) as viewed in a stacking direction of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7); a second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) concentrically arranged with respect to the first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) as viewed in the stacking direction (see Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above); and a first welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) arranged radially between the first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) and the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) with respect to the center point of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7), the first welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above), the first welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) being configured to be welded to a current collector (collector 5 which is disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7 and see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2) of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the first welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein first weld surrounds the first cathode radially).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a third cathode (see third cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) concentrically arranged with respect to the second and third cathodes as viewed in the stacking direction (see Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, which shows third cathode extending from the first and second cathodes in a concentric manner), and a second welding section (see second weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) arranged radially between the second and third cathodes (see Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein second weld shares a center point with the second and third cathodes) with respect to the center point of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second welding section (see second weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein second weld sits between the second and third cathode thus surrounding the perimeter of the second cathode) and is configured to be welded to the current collector (collector 5 which is disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7 and see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2) of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the third cathode (see third cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the second welding section (see second weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein the third cathode is located between the second and third weld and thus surrounds the perimeter of the second weld).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the first and second cathodes (see first and second cathodes in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) and the first welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) are arranged as concentric squares with respect to each other (see [0061] of Yoshikata which teaches that the single cell 4 is plate like and rectangular from a plan view see Figures 2a-c, as set forth above).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshikata teaches a solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7), comprising a first current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42); a cathode (cathode 42, [0061] & Figure 7) that is layered with respect to the first current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42) in a stacking direction of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7); a top welding section (welding layer 3, [0061] & Figure 7) extending around an outer circumferential perimeter of the cathode (cathode 42, [0061] & Figure 7), the top welding section (welding layer 3, [0061] & Figure 7) having at least one welding point that is welded to the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42 and further see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2); an electrolyte layer (electrolyte 41, [0061] & Figure 7) layered with respect to the cathode (cathode 42, [0061] & Figure 7) in the stacking direction; and a seal gap located adjacent to and coplanar with the first current collector layer in the stacking direction (see [0106] & Figure 13 which describes seal material 100 “surrounds the electrodes in order to prevent hydrogen and air from mixing”, while Fig. 13 does not explicitly show a seal gap, seal members inherently need to occupy an empty space therefore where there is a seal member it inherently occupies a seal gap; additionally, while Fig. 13 does not explicitly show the substrate 2 above the cathode 42, as air is supplied to the cathode via passages through the substrate 2, as shown in Fig. 7, said substrate has to be above cathode 42 shown in Fig. 13 and thus adjacent to and coplanar with the seal gap, note that the support substrate 2 reads on the first current collector as it contains collector 5 as shown in Figure 7), the seal gap being layered with respect to the electrolyte layer (electrolyte 41, [0061] & Figure 7 wherein seal member is situated above the electrolyte layer 41).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a second current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits below welding layer 3 below the anode 43) arranged opposite with respect to the first current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42) in the stacking direction, and a bottom welding section (welding layer 3, , see Figure 7 of Yoshikata which shows welding layer below the anode 43) layered with respect to the second current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits below welding layer 3 below the anode 43) in the stacking direction towards the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42), the bottom welding section (welding layer 3, , see Figure 7 of Yoshikata which shows welding layer below the anode 43) having at least one welding point that is welded to the second current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2 which sits below welding layer 3 below the anode 43, see [0085] & Figure 7 and see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoshikata teaches a solid oxide electrochemical device unit cell (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7) comprising: a first current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42); a first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c note that as Figure 7 shows that anode 42 and cathode 43 have the same structure thus the cross section of cathode-weld structure has to be the same as the one shown for anode in Figure 2a-c) layered with respect to the first current collector layer (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42);) in a stacking direction of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7); a first top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extending around an outer circumferential perimeter of the first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein first weld surrounds the first cathode), the top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) having at least one welding point that is welded to the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42) and further see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2); and a second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) that is coplanar with the first cathode in the stacking direction (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, which shows the first cathode and second cathode concentrically arranged on the same plane), the top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) located between the first and second cathodes (see Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, which shows first weld situated between first cathode and second cathode).
Regarding Claim 12, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches an electrolyte layer (electrolyte 41, [0061] & Figures 1-2, 6-7 &13) layered with respect to the first and second cathodes (see first and second cathodes in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above), and a seal (seal material 100, [0106] & Figure 13) that is coplanar with respect to the first current collector layer (see [0106] & Figure 13 which describes seal material 100 “surrounds the electrodes in order to prevent hydrogen and air from mixing”, while Fig. 13 does not explicitly show the substrate 2 above the cathode 42, as air is supplied to the cathode via passages through the substrate 2, as shown in Fig. 7, said substrate has to be above cathode 42 shown in Fig. 13 and thus adjacent to and coplanar with the seal gap, note that the substrate 2 reads on the first current collector as it contains collector 5 as shown in Figure 7) and being layered with respect to the electrolyte layer (electrolyte 41, [0062] & Figures 1-2, 6-7 &13).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) is concentrically arranged with respect to the first cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein second cathode is layered on the same place as the first cathode), and the first top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) is arranged radially between the first cathode (see first cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) and the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) with respect to a center point of the solid oxide electrochemical device unit cell (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7 wherein the first weld, first cathode and second cathode share a common center point and extend radially outward), the first top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the first cathode (see Figure 2b and first cathode in annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, wherein the first weld is located between the first and second cathode thus surrounding the first cathode).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the first top welding section (see first weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, which is surrounded by the second cathode).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a third cathode (see third cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) concentrically arranged with respect to the first and second cathodes (see first and second cathodes in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, arranged sharing the same center point with the third cathode and extending outward from the center) and coplanar with the first and second cathodes in the stacking direction (third cathode shares the same plane with first and second cathode, see Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above), and a second top welding section (see second weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) arranged radially between the second and third cathodes with respect to the center point (see second and third cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above, sharing a common center point with the second weld) of the solid oxide electrochemical device unit cell (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7).
Regarding Claim 16, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second top welding section (see second weld in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) extends around an outer circumferential perimeter of the second cathode (see second cathode in Figure 2b and annotated Figure 2c, as set forth above) and is configured to be welded to the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42) and see [0064] which describes that welding layer 3 can be welded to the support substrate 2) of the solid oxide electrochemical device (solid oxide fuel cell 1, [0061] & Figures 1, 6-7)
Regarding Claim 17, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches an anode layer (anode 43, [0061] & Figure 7) that is layered with respect to the electrolyte layer (electrolyte 41, [0061] & Figures 1-2, 6-7 &13) in the stacking direction away from the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42), and a second current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits below welding layer 3 below the anode 43) layered with respect to the anode layer (anode 43, [0061] & Figure 7) in the direction away from the first current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits above welding layer 3 above the cathode 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above as evidenced by Steele (US 2002/0048699 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above but is silent on wherein the first and second cathodes and the first welding section are arranged as concentric circles with respect to each other.
It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) and MPEP 2144.01(IV)(B), as it is known that both square and circular shapes of fuel cells were known and can be used interchangeably (see Steele [0077]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Steele (US 2002/0048699 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that the welding layer is porous and can be made from metal (see [0064] which recites some, non-limiting, examples of acceptable metals), but it is silent on wherein the first welding section is a porous stainless steel section.
Steel discloses a solid oxide fuel cell comprising of a first electrode layer, an electrolyte layer and a second electrode layer (see abstract) and further teaches a welding section (foil substrate 3, [0065] & Figure 3). Steele further teaches that the welding section (foil substrate 3, [0065] & Figure 1) is made of a porous section 7 and made from ferritic stainless steel (see [0065]) and further teaches that the porous substrate 3 is welded to a bi-polar plate (see [0069]). Additionally, Steele teaches that the ferritic stainless steel has a thermal expansion value which allows the fuel cell to withstand rapid temperature cycling (see [0067]).
Steele and Yoshikata are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of solid oxide fuel cell. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ferritic stainless steel of Steele for welding layer of Yoshikata, for the purpose of providing welding layer that allows fuel cells to withstand temperature cycling.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1) as applied to Claims 17 above in view of Hoshino (US 2007/0015015 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoshikata teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a bottom welding section (welding layer 3, , see Figure 7 of Yoshikata which shows welding layer below the anode 43).
Additionally, Yoshikata teaches a solid oxide fuel cell which uses a hydrocarbon as a fuel gas (see [0076]), it does not explicitly teach a reforming catalyst section layered between the anode layer (anode 43, [0061] & Figure 7) and the second current collector (collector 5 disposed in the support substrate 2, see [0085] & Figure 7; which sits below welding layer 3 below the anode 43) in the stacking direction.
Hoshino teaches a solid oxide fuel cell comprising a fuel electrode layer 3, an air electrode layer 4, a solid electrolyte layer 2 and a fuel-electrode-side porous metal 6 (see [0060]-[0061]. Further Hoshino teaches reforming catalyst particles 10 sprinkled onto the fuel-electrode side porous metal 6 (see [0075] & Figure 3). Accordingly, the structure of Figure 3 of Hoshino shows layers of the fuel-electrode side porous metal 6 not filled with the reforming catalyst particles located beneath layers of the fuel-electrode side porous metal filled with the reforming catalyst particles 10 and further teaches that this configuration makes the gas flow into the porous metal uniform thereby allowing efficient power generation (see [0075] – [0076]). Further, Hoshino teaches that the fuel-electrode side porous metal 6 functions as a current collector [0031]. Additionally, Hoshino teaches that including internal reforming in fuel cells increases efficiency as part of the heat generated in the power generating reaction of the fuel cell is utilized for the endothermic reaction of reforming (see [0015], [0022] & [0045]).
Hoshino and Yoshikata are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the field of solid oxide fuel cells. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a fuel-electrode porous metal containing the reforming catalyst section, as taught by Hoshino to the anode layer of the solid oxide fuel cell of Yoshikata such that the catalyst is located above the current collector to allow for uniform gas flow and efficient power generation that comes with an internal reforming structure for the purpose of improving fuel cell efficiency.
Further, modified Yoshikata teaches a bottom welding section (welding layer 3, see Figure 7 of Yoshikata which shows welding layer below the anode 43) extending around an outer circumferential perimeter of the reforming catalyst section (wherein anode is modified with the fuel electrode porous metal containing the reformed catalyst particles of Hoshino and wherein welding layer 3 surrounds the anode layer as presented in Figure 7 of Yoshikata), the bottom welding section having at least one welding point that is welded to the second current collector (see [0064] of Yoshikata wherein welding layer can be welded to the support substrate 2 containing collector 5 disposed below the anode 43).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as being unpatentable over Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1) in view of Hoshino (US 2007/0015015 A1) as applied to claim 18 and as evidenced by Gocha (Ceramic nanoparticles infiltrate metal to create lighter, stronger material, 2016).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses that the bottom welding section is made of metal (see [0064] of Yoshikata which teaches that the welding layer 3 can be made from materials containing metals), but it is silent on wherein the bottom welding section is made of metal and infiltrated with nanoparticles. Infiltrating metals with nanoparticles is not novel as evidenced by Gocha which shows that adding ceramic nanoparticles enhances the strength of the metal (see pages 2-3).
Gocha and Yoshikata are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of nanoparticle additives for metals. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have infiltrate ceramic nanoparticles, as taught by Gocha into the metal of the bottom welding section of Yoshikata which would enhance the strength of the bottom welding section as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikata (US 2009/0092877 A1) in view of Hoshino (US 2007/0015015 A1) as applied to claim 18 and further in view of Steele (US 2002/0048699 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Yoshikata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that the welding layer is porous and can be made from metal (see [0064]), but it is silent on wherein the first top welding section is a porous stainless steel section.
Steel discloses a solid oxide fuel cell comprising of a first electrode layer, an electrolyte layer and a second electrode layer (see abstract) and further teaches a welding section (foil substrate 3, [0065] & Figure 3). Steele further teaches that the welding section (foil substrate 3, [0065] & Figure 1) is made of a porous section 7 and made from ferritic stainless steel (see [0065]) and further teaches that the porous substrate 3 is welded to a bi-polar plate (see [0069]). Additionally, Steele teaches that the ferritic stainless steel has a thermal expansion value which allows the fuel cell to withstand rapid temperature cycling (see [0067]).
Steele and Yoshikata are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of solid oxide fuel cell. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ferritic stainless steel of Steele for welding layer of Yoshikata, for the purpose of providing welding layer that allows fuel cells to withstand temperature cycling.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725