DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/412,254, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
That is, looking, for example, to independent claims 1, 9 and 17, 254 fails to disclose identifying, based on the first information, whether the first indicated TCI state is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states; and identifying, based on the second information, whether the first CORESET is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states, wherein, when the first indicated TCI state and the first CORESET are associated with the same group of configured TCI states, the transceiver is further configured to receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates in the first CORESET according to the first indicated TCI state. That is, 254 fails to disclose the association of any TCI state with a group of TCI states, as no mention of TCI groups is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 202/00351841) in view of Kwak, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0216565 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising and A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising
A transceiver (paragraph 227) configured to receive/receiving first information for first and second groups of configured transmission configuration indication (TCI) states; (Cirik discloses that a base station uses RRC signaling to the UE to configure first information/TCI states, including TCI state groups (paragraph 0502).)
receive/receiving, in a downlink control information (DCI), a first indicated TCI state of a TCI codepoint; and (As discussed in further in (d), infra, the UE determines the DCI codepoints received on a downlink PDCCH for a group of TCI states based on MAC CE signaling [paragraphs 0501, 0506, 0546].)
determine second information for a first control resource set (CORESET); and (Cirik dislcoses that the UE determines the association of one or more CORESETS to the first and second groups of configured TCI states (Cirik discloses that the association of one or more TCI state groups with a CORESET, but it is unclear if this information could be explicitly signaled [paragraph 0504 – CORESET associated with TCI state group, mechanism of association is unclear; paragraph 0506 – TCI state group implicitly linked with CORESET based on TRS ID, although it is unclear if this is the same as the aforementioned association or is only for purposes of singling, not assigning the TCI state group.)
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to: identify/identifying, based on the first information, whether the first indicated TCI state is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states; and (as discussed in (a) and (c), supra, the RRC signaling/first information links specific TCI states with TCI groups [paragraph 0502] and the UE further determines second information that links specific TCI groups with specific CORESETs [paragraph 0501, 0506, 0546]. Based on these association when a MAC CE activates a particular TCI group of a CORESET, the TCI states of the group are mapped to the codepoints of the DCI field so the UE may identify the TCI state and group of an activated TCI from the DCI/TCI codepoint field based on the first information and may further identify the CORESET (for example the first CORESET if the TCI group in question is assigned to the first coreset) for the TCI based on the second information.)
based on the second information identify/identifying, based on the second information, whether the first CORESET is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states. (see (d), supra)
wherein, when the first indicated TCI state and the first CORESET are associated with the same group of configured TCI states, the transceiver is further configured to receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates in the first CORESET according to the first indicated TCI state. (Cirik discloses that each UE is configured with a search space set/PDCCH candidates for beam failure recovery [paragraph 0470] in relevant part the search space set/PDCCH candidates may be determined based on the TCI state group associated with the indicated TCI state and associated group [paragraphs 0511, 0517-0519].)
Cirik fails to explicitly disclose receiving/recieve second information. (i.e. Crik discloses the UE somehow determines the second information linking the TCI groups to particular CORESETS, but it is not clear if this information is transmitted to/received at the UE or determined based on preset rules). In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses receiving second information. (Kwak discloses the UE may be configured with a correspondence of a TCI state group and a CORESET ID using RRC or MAC-CE signaling (paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following:… a configuration of one or more TCI state IDs and/or CORESET IDs in a TCI state group (e.g., an indication of TCI state IDs and/or CORESET IDs may be based on at least one of a RRC message, a MAC-CE, or a DCI)…”)
Therefore, since Kwak discloses associating a TCI state group and CORESET ID [i.e. second information] via explicit RRC or MAC-CE signaling, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the second information of Kwak with the system of Cirik by associating the TCI state group and CORESET ID using second information transmitting in RRC or MAC-CE signaling in the system of Cirik instead of determining it implicitly or via undisclosed means. The motive to combine is to improve associating flexibility by allowing explicit assignment of the correspondence of TCI state group and CORESET ID.
Regarding claim 4 and 20, Cirik discloses a first and a second group of configured TCI states (Fig. 26 – showing two TCI state groups and associated CORESETS; see also 0504 – disclosing TCI state groups 0/first and 1/second)
Cirik fails to disclose the second information indicates an index of the first or second group of configured TCI states. In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses the second information indicates an index of the first or second group of configured TCI states (paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following: a configuration of a TCI state group ID…”).
Therefore, since Kwak discloses including in the second linking TCI states to groups the index/ID of a the groups of configured TCI states, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the group index/IDs of Kwak with the system of Cirik by indicating the first and second groups in the second information of Cirik using a group index/ID. The motive to combine is to allow explicit identification of the configured groups so that the TCI states can be assigned to the groups directly.
Regarding claim 5, Cirik fails to disclose the transceiver is further configured to receive the index in a ControlResourceSet that configures the first CORESET; when the index corresponds to the first group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the first group of configured TCI states; and when the index corresponds to the second group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the second group of configured TCI states. In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive the index in a ControlResourceSet that configures the first CORESET; when the index corresponds to the first group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the first group of configured TCI states; and when the index corresponds to the second group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the second group of configured TCI states. (Kwak discloses that the system may include two CORSETS, each with their own respective CORESET pool index [paragraph 0241]. Kwak further discloses that the group IDs may be directly linked to the CORESET pool indexes [paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following… a configuration of a CORESET pool ID (e.g., TCI states and TCI state group configured with (e.g., via configuration information) an identical CORESET pool ID (or no CORESET pool ID) may be associated)” ] and that the CORESET pool ID may be configured in the ControlResourceSet for configuring a CORESET [paragaprh 0241].)
Therefore, since Kwak discloses the ControlResourceSet specifies/indicates the group index via indicating an identical CORESET pool ID, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the ControlResourceSet of Kwak with the system of Cirik by indicating the COORESET Pool ID, which also indicates the index of the group of configured TCI states, for the first and second CORESET as a part of the ControlRtsourceSet configuration of the first and second CORESET Pool IDs also indicating the first and second TCI state groups, respectively. The motive to combine is to simplify state group configuration by linking it to the CORESET Pool ID.
Regarding claim 6, Cirik discloses that the transceiver is further configured to receive, in the DCI, a second indicated TCI state of the TCI codepoint; and when the first CORESET is associated with the first and second groups of configured TCI states, the processor is further configured to determine that a demodulation (DM) reference signal (RS) antenna port for PDCCH receptions in the first CORESET is quasi co-located with RSs provided by the first and second indicated TCI states. (Cirik discloses that more than one TCI state group [i.e. the claimed first and second groups] may be associated with and activated for a CORESET [0506 - In order to indicate one or more TCI state group for a CORESET.] The group(s) are assigned to TCI codepoints for the DCI of the CORESET [for example, the first CORESET] that may be activated and are then associated with a transmitted DMRS [paragraphs 0501, 0506, 0546 – QCL; 0261, 0495, 0542, 0525 – QCL type is spatial/antenna port]. The groups associated with and activated for the first CORESET, such as the first and second TCI states of the first and second groups, are have DMRS that are QCLed by antenna ports/spatially with the first CORESET [paragraphs 0495, 0546].)
Regarding claim 9, Cirik discloses A base station (BS), comprising:
A transceiver (paragraph 227) configured to transmit first information for first and second groups of configured transmission configuration indication (TCI) states; (Cirik discloses that a base station uses RRC signaling to the UE to configure first information/TCI states, including TCI state groups (paragraph 0502).)
transmit, in a downlink control information (DCI), a first indicated TCI state of a TCI codepoint; and (As discussed in further in (d), infra, the UE determines the DCI codepoints received from a base station transmission on a downlink PDCCH for a group of TCI states based on MAC CE signaling [paragraphs 0501, 0506, 0546].)
the UE determines second information for a first control resource set (CORESET); and (Cirik dislcoses that the UE determines the association of one or more CORESETS to the first and second groups of configured TCI states (Cirik discloses that the association of one or more TCI state groups with a CORESET, but it is unclear if this information could be explicitly signaled [paragraph 0504 – CORESET associated with TCI state group, mechanism of association is unclear; paragraph 0506 – TCI state group implicitly linked with CORESET based on TRS ID, although it is unclear if this is the same as the aforementioned association or is only for purposes of singling, not assigning the TCI state group.)
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to: identify, based on the first information, whether the first indicated TCI state is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states; and (as discussed in (a) and (c), supra, the RRC signaling/first information links specific TCI states with TCI groups [paragraph 0502] and the UE further determines second information that links specific TCI groups with specific CORESETs the base station must make a similar determination to identify the coreset associations [paragraph 0501, 0506, 0546]. Based on these association when a transmitted MAC CE activates a particular TCI group of a CORESET, the TCI states of the group are mapped to the codepoints of the DCI field so the UE may identify the TCI state and group of an activated TCI from the DCI/TCI codepoint field based on the first information and may further identify the CORESET (for example the first CORESET if the TCI group in question is assigned to the first coreset) for the TCI based on the second information.)
based on the second information identify, based on the second information, whether the first CORESET is associated with the first or second group of configured TCI states. (see (d), supra)
wherein, when the first indicated TCI state and the first CORESET are associated with the same group of configured TCI states, the transceiver is further configured to transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates in the first CORESET according to the first indicated TCI state. (Cirik discloses that each UE is configured with a search space set/PDCCH candidates for beam failure recovery [paragraph 0470] in relevant part the search space set/PDCCH candidates may be determined based on the TCI state group associated with the indicated TCI state and associated group and are transmitted to the UE from the base station [paragraphs 0511, 0517-0519].)
Cirik fails to explicitly disclose transmitting second information. (i.e. Crik discloses the UE somehow determines the second information linking the TCI groups to particular CORESETS, but it is not clear if this information is determined at the base station and transmitted to the UE or determined based on preset rules). In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses transmitting second information. (Kwak discloses the UE may be configured with a correspondence of a TCI state group and a CORESET ID using RRC or MAC-CE signaling (paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following:… a configuration of one or more TCI state IDs and/or CORESET IDs in a TCI state group (e.g., an indication of TCI state IDs and/or CORESET IDs may be based on at least one of a RRC message, a MAC-CE, or a DCI)…”)
Therefore, since Kwak discloses associating a TCI state group and CORESET ID [i.e. second information] via explicit RRC or MAC-CE signaling, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the second information of Kwak with the system of Cirik by associating the TCI state group and CORESET ID using second information transmitting in RRC or MAC-CE signaling in the base station of Cirik instead of determining it implicitly or via undisclosed means and to then transmit the RRC or MAC-CE signaling to the UE. The motive to combine is to improve associating flexibility by allowing explicit assignment of the correspondence of TCI state group and CORESET ID.
Regarding claim 12, Cirik discloses a first and a second group of configured TCI states (Fig. 26 – showing two TCI state groups and associated CORESETS; see also 0504 – disclosing TCI state groups 0/first and 1/second)
Cirik fails to disclose the second information indicates an index of the first or second group of configured TCI states. In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses the second information indicates an index of the first or second group of configured TCI states (paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following: a configuration of a TCI state group ID…”).
Therefore, since Kwak discloses including in the second linking TCI states to groups the index/ID of a the groups of configured TCI states, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the group index/IDs of Kwak with the system of Cirik by indicating the first and second groups in the second information of Cirik using a group index/ID. The motive to combine is to allow explicit identification of the configured groups so that the TCI states can be assigned to the groups directly.
Regarding claim 13, Cirik fails to disclose the transceiver is further configured to transmit the index in a ControlResourceSet that configures the first CORESET; when the index corresponds to the first group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the first group of configured TCI states; and when the index corresponds to the second group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the second group of configured TCI states. In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive the index in a ControlResourceSet that configures the first CORESET; when the index corresponds to the first group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the first group of configured TCI states; and when the index corresponds to the second group of configured TCI states, the first CORESET is associated with the second group of configured TCI states. (Kwak discloses that the system may include two CORSETS, each with their own respective CORESET pool index [paragraph 0241]. Kwak further discloses that the group IDs may be directly linked to the CORESET pool indexes [paragraph 0114 – “An association between TCI states, CORESETs and TCI state groups may be based on one or more of the following… a configuration of a CORESET pool ID (e.g., TCI states and TCI state group configured with (e.g., via configuration information) an identical CORESET pool ID (or no CORESET pool ID) may be associated)” ] and that the CORESET pool ID may be configured in the ControlResourceSet for configuring a CORESET [paragaprh 0241].)
Therefore, since Kwak discloses the ControlResourceSet specifies/indicates the group index via indicating an identical CORESET pool ID, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the ControlResourceSet of Kwak with the system of Cirik by indicating the COORESET Pool ID, which also indicates the index of the group of configured TCI states, for the first and second CORESET as a part of the ControlRtsourceSet configuration of the first and second CORESET Pool IDs also indicating the first and second TCI state groups, respectively. The motive to combine is to simplify state group configuration by linking it to the CORESET Pool ID.
Regarding claim 14, Cirik discloses that the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in the DCI, a second indicated TCI state of the TCI codepoint; and when the first CORESET is associated with the first and second groups of configured TCI states, the processor is further configured to determine that a demodulation (DM) reference signal (RS) antenna port for PDCCH receptions in the first CORESET is quasi co-located with RSs provided by the first and second indicated TCI states. (Cirik discloses that more than one TCI state group [i.e. the claimed first and second groups] may be associated with and activated for a CORESET [0506 - In order to indicate one or more TCI state group for a CORESET.] The group(s) are assigned to TCI codepoints for the DCI of the CORESET [for example, the first CORESET] that may be activated and are then associated with a transmitted DMRS [paragraphs 0501, 0506, 0546 – QCL; 0261, 0495, 0542, 0525 – QCL type is spatial/antenna port]. The groups associated with and activated for the first CORESET, such as the first and second TCI states of the first and second groups, are have DMRS that are QCLed by antenna ports/spatially with the first CORESET [paragraphs 0495, 0546].)
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 202/00351841) in view of Kwak, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0216565 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Kahn Beigi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0403058 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Cirik as modified by Kwak fails to disclose the first information indicates at least one of a bitwidth of an identity (ID) of a configured TCI state in the first or second group, determined according a total number of configured TCI states in the first or second group and an indicator associated with an activated TCI codepoint comprising at least one TCI state. In the same field of endeavor, Kahn Beigi discloses the first information indicates at least one of a bitwidth of an identity (ID) of a configured TCI state in the first or second group, determined according a total number of configured TCI states in the first or second group and an indicator associated with an activated TCI codepoint comprising at least one TCI state. (Kahn Beigi discloses that the bit width of a configured TCI state indication for a group is based on the total number of configured TCI states for the group [i.e. the first information of Cirik] [paragraph 0182 – bit width of bitmap indication of group in MAC-CE includes 1 bit for each group member; note also 0181 – although not needed, it is noted that 0181 shows that the size of the TCI indication field is variable and may be limited to only the necessary number of bits for the required information signaling, so even if it is argued that the bitmap of 0182 does not explicitly exclude unnecessary bits, it can be seen that it would have been obvious to limit the field length of the bitmap to only the required number of bits in view of this disclosure.]. Kahn Beigi further discloses an indicator associated with an activated TCI codepoint as the group indication in the MAC-CE indicates the TCI state group identity that is associated with the activated TCI codepoint [0181- TCI state group identity/indicator associated with an activated TCI codepoint; 0185 – the activated TCI is inserted into the DCI as a codepoint, not also further disclosures of activated TCI groups placed in the DCI bits/TCI codepoints in Cirik].)
Therefore, since Kahn Beigi discloses group size configured bit width, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the bit width of Kahn Beigi with the system of Cirik as modified by Kwak by assigning a bitmap equal to the number of configured TCI states in a group signaled in the first information of CIrik and to further also include a TCI state group identity with the bitmap to allow the UE to identify which TCI state group the activation command in the MAC-CE is associated, as taught by Kahn Beigi, so that it may activate an appropriate TCI codepoint to be placed in the DCI signaling bits for assigning the relevant TCI state, as taught by both Kahn Beigi and Cirik. The motive to combine is to allow the system to reduce overhead by only requiring singling of TCI states equal to the size of the configured group instead of all TCI states of the maximum number of TCI states per group.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Cirik as preciously modified by Kwak and Kahn Beigi fails to disclose when the indicator is set to ‘first’ or ‘0’, the at least one TCI state of the activated TCI codepoint is from the first group; and when the indicator is set to ‘second’ or ‘1’, the at least one TCI state of the activated TCI codepoint is from the second group. That is, Cirik as preciously modified by Kwak Kahn Beigi discloses the claimed indicator is a TCI state group identifier, but the prior combination in claim 3 does not cover the further detail of the indicator is 0 for a first group and 1 for a second group.
However, Kahn Beigi further discloses hen the indicator is set to ‘first’ or ‘0’, the at least one TCI state of the activated TCI codepoint is from the first group; and when the indicator is set to ‘second’ or ‘1’, the at least one TCI state of the activated TCI codepoint is from the second group.
That is, Cirik discloses that there may be a first and a second group, with group identifiers 0 and 1 (fig. 26, paragraph 0504). The system of Kahn Beigi discloses that a group ID indication of the group of TCI states could be included in the MAC-CE indicating TCI states for the group (paragraph 0182) and further discloses that minimal field length is determined based on Log base 2 of the number of states to be represented (paragraph 0181).
Therefore, since Cirik discloses a group ID with two states, a 0 and 1 group, and Kahn Beigi discloses an optimal field length for a two state system as 1 bit (i.e. log base 2 of 2) and the inclusion of group ID with the TCI state indications for a group, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the minimal field size of Kahn Beigi with the system of Cirik as preciously modified by Kwak and Kahn Beigi by making the minimal field size of the group ID 1 bit, with 0 for the 0th group and 1 for the first group. The motive to combine is to make efficient use of MAC-CE signaling by making the group ID field only as long as necessary to signal two groups.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 202/00351841) in view of Kwak, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0216565 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Wang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0364476 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Cirik discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive, in the DCI, a second indicated TCI state of the TCI codepoint and receive PDCCH candidates, different from those for the first CORESET, in a second CORESET according to the first or second indicated TCI state and when the first and second CORESETs overlap in one or more time or frequency domain resources, the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a CORESET with the lowest control channel element index. (Cirik discloses that transmissions related to two different CORESETS may overlap, which would only occur if TCI codepoints activating PDCCH candidates for search for each CORESET and associated TRP are activated [paragraph 0382, 0415]. Cirik further discloses that the first and second CORESETS may be associated with TCI codepoints of the DCI [0501, 504, 508, 511]. In the case of overlap the search space of the coreset with the lowest CSS/search space specific index is kept [paragraph 0387].)
Cirik fails to disclose the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a reference CORESET. In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a reference CORESET. (Wang discloses that when PDCCH monitoring occasions overlap, the PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the reference CORESET with the lowest CSS/search space specific index is selected [paragraph 0104].)
Therefore, since Wang disclose selecting the reference CORESET when overlap occurs, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the reference CORESET of Wang with the system of Cirik as modified by Kwak by keeping the search space PDCCH candidates associated with the reference CORESET when on overlap occurs. The motive to combine is to continue to receive the important reference coreset to improve system operation.
Regarding claim 8, Cirik discloses the reference CORESET corresponds to the first or second CORESET: with a lower or higher CORESET index. (That is, Cirik discloses the system may have only two CORESETS, each with a different index the first and second CORESET. Therefore, since one of the CORESETS is the reference CORESET in the combination with Wang the reference CORESET will either be of a lower or higher CORESET index than the other CORESET, as these are the only possibilities.)
Regarding claim 15, Cirik discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive, in the DCI, a second indicated TCI state of the TCI codepoint and receive PDCCH candidates, different from those for the first CORESET, in a second CORESET according to the first or second indicated TCI state and when the first and second CORESETs overlap in one or more time or frequency domain resources, the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a CORESET with the lowest control channel element index. (Cirik discloses that transmissions related to two different CORESETS may overlap, which would only occur if TCI codepoints activating PDCCH candidates for search for each CORESET and associated TRP are activated [paragraph 0382, 0415]. Cirik further discloses that the first and second CORESETS may be associated with TCI codepoints of the DCI [0501, 504, 508, 511]. In the case of overlap the search space of the coreset with the lowest CSS/search space specific index is kept [paragraph 0387].)
Cirik fails to disclose the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a reference CORESET. In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses the PDCCH candidates are received in the one or more overlapping time or frequency domain resources according to an indicated TCI state for a reference CORESET. (Wang discloses that when PDCCH monitoring occasions overlap, the PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the reference CORESET with the lowest CSS/search space specific index is selected [paragraph 0104].)
Therefore, since Wang disclose selecting the reference CORESET when overlap occurs, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the reference CORESET of Wang with the system of Cirik as modified by Kwak by keeping the search space PDCCH candidates associated with the reference CORESET when on overlap occurs. The motive to combine is to continue to receive the important reference coreset to improve system operation.
Regarding claim 16, Cirik discloses the reference CORESET corresponds to the first or second CORESET: with a lower or higher CORESET index. (That is, Cirik discloses the system may have only two CORESETS, each with a different index the first and second CORESET. Therefore, since one of the CORESETS is the reference CORESET in the combination with Wang the reference CORESET will either be of a lower or higher CORESET index than the other CORESET, as these are the only possibilities.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
R1-2208373 (Author Unknown, Unified TCI framework extension for multi-TRP, Doc No. R1-2208373, pages 1-9, 30 September 20222) – disclosing CORESET groups and TCI codepoints making TCI state groups.
Shi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0116177) – disclosing TCI state groups
Liu, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0278787) – disclosing TCI and coreset groups
Mondal, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 20210168779) – disclosing TCI state groups
Zhou, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 20200314860) – disclosing TCI state groups
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466