Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on September 24, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (US 2014109925).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher discloses a detachable wig headgear (Refer to Figures 1-9) comprising a rear end part (120,520), a front end part (110,510) being connected to the rear end part and a zipper (130,530) being provided between the rear end part and the front end part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima et al. (US 20160227863).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Fisher discloses the detachable wig headgear according to claim 1, wherein the front end part (110, 510) comprises a mesh surface (112, 512), and the mesh surface is connected to the rear end part (120, 520) by the zipper (130, 530) and the front end part (110, 510) further comprises a front mesh surface (114, 514) located between the mesh surface (112, 512) and the zipper (130, 530) (Refer to Figures 1A-2B, 5A-5C and 9). However, Fisher does not disclose that the mesh surface and front mesh surface are woven. Fisher explains that the various surfaces of the front and rear end parts are made of netted material which allows the scalp and hair to breathe there-under, where “many combinations, shapes, fabric types and weights of these portions are deemed to be within the scope of the present invention” (Refer to paragraphs 0099 and 0100). It is well-known and conventional in the art for such netted materials to be woven, as demonstrated by Nakajima et al. (Refer to paragraph 0002 “Such wig base is generally made of cloth in which a synthetic fiber is woven into a mesh”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wig headgear of Fisher such that the mesh surface, front mesh surface and rear mesh surface be woven as Nakajima et al. demonstrate it is well-known and conventional for such net/mesh materials in wigs to be woven.
The claimed phrase “hand-woven” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the weaving process is performed by hand rather than by a machine. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. The combination of Fisher and Nakajima et al. provide the woven structure, which is the same or similar whether performed by hand or by a machine; thus, there is no structural difference.
Regarding claim 4, Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima disclose the wig headgear of claim 3 above, Fisher further discloses the zipper passes through a joint (connection portion Refer to Figures 1A-9) of the front end part and the rear end part, and the front end part and the rear end part are detachably connected by the zipper (Refer to Figures 1A-9).
Regarding claim 5, Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima disclose the wig headgear of claim 4 above, Fisher further discloses two sides (132,134, 532,534) of the zipper are fastened to the front end part and the rear end part, respectively (Refer to Figures 1A-1C and 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 6, Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima disclose the wig headgear of claim 5 above, wherein the rear end part comprises a rear woven mesh surface (122,522, per rejection of claims 2 and 3, the rear mesh surface was also modified to be woven); the hand-woven mesh surface, the front woven mesh surface, and the rear woven mesh surface all adopt a soft mesh structure.
Regarding claim 7, Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima disclose the wig headgear of claim 6 above, wherein a bottom end of the hand-woven mesh surface extends out of two ends of the zipper. As best shown in Figures 1A-1C and 5A-5C, the woven mesh surface 112, 512 extends beyond the ends of the zipper.
Regarding claim 8, Fisher as evidenced by Nakajima disclose the wig headgear of claim 6 above, wherein the two ends of the zipper are aligned with a bottom edge of the rear woven mesh surface (Refer to Figures 5A-5C).
Conclusion
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799