DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species claims [3+4] in the reply filed on April 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 29, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (US 2019/0123337).
Hasegawa teaches a negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery as well as a lithium secondary battery (title) comprising an anode facing the cathode and an electrolyte.
Regarding the cathode active material of claims 1, 10, and 11, Hasegawa teaches the use of overlithiated lithium manganate of formula Li1.2Ni0.2Mn0.6O2 (par. 102).
Regarding the fluorine-based organic solvent of claims 1-4, Hasegawa teaches that the non-aqueous electrolytic solution (par. 53) may include aliphatic carboxylic acid esters (par. 54), such as 2,2-difluoroethyl acetate (par. 57). Regarding the content of the fluorine-based organic solvent of claims 1 and 9, Hasegawa teaches that the various types of organic solvents for use in the electrolytic solution, of which are taught to include both cyclic carbonates and aliphatic carboxylic acid esters inclusive o fluorine-based organic solvents and non-fluorine-based organic solvents, may be used alone or as a mixture of two or more thereof (par. 54). As such, and further regarding claim 8 (in addition to claims 1 and 9), one of ordinary skill would have been able to determine suitable amounts of the aliphatic carboxylic acid esters, such as 2,2-difluoroethyl acetate (par. 57) and cyclic carbonates, such as EC and FEC, in amounts ranging from 0-100%, accounting for instances where each component is not present (0%), solely present (100%), and present in combination with at least one additional component (greater than 0% and less than 100%). The overlapping ranges constitute prima facie obviousness.
Regarding the lithium salt of claims 1 and 7, Hasegawa teaches that examples of the supporting electrolyte for the electrolytic solution include lithium salts such as LiPF6 and LiBF4 (par. 61).
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732