DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/20/23, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakama et al. (US 20220019033 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose a ferrule, comprising a ferrule body (11) including an optical transmission member holding part (22), the optical transmission member holding part (22) being configured to hold a plurality of optical transmission members (1) ([0027]); and an optical transmissive member (12) including an optical surface (36) disposed opposite to front end surfaces of the plurality of optical transmission members (fibers 1) held by the optical transmission member holding part (22, figure 1B), the optical transmissive member (12) being configured to transmit light emitted from the plurality of optical transmission members (1) or light that enters the plurality of optical transmission members (1) (the lens parts 33 are arranged so as to correspond to the end faces of the plurality of optical fibers 1 to be inserted into the plurality of fiber holes 22. An optical signal enters or is emitted from each of the end faces of the optical fibers 1 via each lens part 33. The lens part 33 is formed so as to function as a collimating lens. An optical signal increased in diameter by the lens part 33 enters or is emitted, and hence the optical signal is propagated as collimated light ([0034]), wherein the ferrule body (11) includes a first fitting part (25A) and a first coupling hole (guide hole 21A, 21B), the first coupling hole (21A, 21B) being configured to receive a coupling member (guide pin 13A, 13B), and wherein the optical transmissive member (12) includes a second fitting part (40A) configured to be fitted with the first fitting part (25A, figure 2B), and a second coupling hole (32A, 32B) through which the coupling member (guide pin 13A, 13B) received by the first coupling hole (21A, 21B) is provided (figure 3B).
With respect to claim 2, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule,
wherein the coupling member is a guide pin (13A, 13B).
With respect to claim 3, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein the first coupling hole includes at least two first coupling holes (21A, 21B), wherein the second coupling hole includes at least two second coupling holes (32A, 32B), and wherein the at least two second coupling holes (32A, 32B) are disposed on both sides with the optical surface (36) sandwiched between the at least two second coupling holes (see figure 2A).
With respect to claim 4, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein the optical transmission member holding part (22) is a plurality of through holes (fiber holes 22, figure 1B and [0024]).
With respect to claim 5, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein when surfaces facing each other of the ferrule body (11) and the optical transmissive member (12) are a first surface and a second surface (figure 1A, 1B), respectively when the first fitting part (25A) and the second fitting part (40A) are fitted with each other (figure 2B), a plurality of optical control surfaces (20, 36) configured to collimate light emitted from the plurality of optical transmission members (1) or light that enters the plurality of optical transmission members (1) is provided in the second surface ([0032], [0034]).
With respect to claim 6, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein a plurality of optical control surfaces (20, 36) configured to collimate light emitted from the plurality of optical transmission members (1) or light that enters the plurality of optical transmission members (1) is provided in a third surface (34) disposed on a side opposite to a surface that faces the ferrule body (11) in the optical transmissive member (12) when the optical transmissive member (12) is disposed at the ferrule body (11) (figures 1A, 1B).
With respect to claim 7, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein the first fitting part (25A) and the first coupling hole (21A) are coaxial (figure 1B), and wherein the second fitting part (40A) and the second coupling hole (32A) are coaxial (figure 2A).
With respect to claim 11, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein when surfaces facing each other of the ferrule body (11) and the optical transmissive member (12) are a first surface (20) and a second surface (36), respectively when the first fitting part (25A) and the second fitting part (40A) are fitted with each other, the second surface (36) includes a first optical surface (33) that is at least one recess (34) disposed at a position opposite to the front end surfaces of the plurality of optical transmission members (1) (figure 1B).
With respect to claim 12, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule
wherein the ferrule body (11) and the optical transmissive member (12) are fixed to each other with an adhesive ([0035] and [0060]).
With respect to claim 13, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the ferrule, wherein the recess is filled with an adhesive ([0032]).
With respect to claim 14, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B-4A) disclose the ferrule, wherein the first coupling hole (21A) is a through hole (figure 4A).
With respect to claim 15, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) an optical connector ([0025]), comprising: the ferrule (10); and a plurality of optical transmission members (1) ([0027]).
With respect to claim 16, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the optical connector, further comprising a coupling member (guide pin 13A, 13B).
With respect to claim 17, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B and 3B) disclose the optical connector, wherein when a surface in the ferrule body (11) that faces the optical transmissive member (12) is a first surface (a surface having element 22, figure 1B) when the first fitting part (25A) and the second fitting part (40A) are fitted with each other (figure 2B), a region around a given optical transmission member (1) in the first surface and a front end surface of the given optical transmission member (1) are connected to each other with no step (figure 2B).
With respect to claim 18, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B, 3B and 4A) disclose the optical connector, wherein the first coupling hole includes two first coupling holes (21A, 21B), wherein the second coupling hole includes two second coupling holes (32A, 32B), and wherein the optical connector further comprises one coupling member (figure 4A).
With respect to claim 19, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B, 3B and 4A) disclose a female optical connector module, comprising the optical connector (10).
With respect to claim 20, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2B, 3B and 4A) disclose a male optical connector module, comprising the optical connector (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
9. Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nakama et al. (as cited above).
With respect to claim 8, Nakama et al. (figures 1B, 2A) disclose the ferrule, wherein an opening of the first coupling hole (21A) has a circular shape (figure 1B), and wherein the second coupling hole (32A) has a cylindrical shape (figures 1B, 2A).
Nakama et al. do not explicitly disclose the second coupling hole has a diameter greater than a diameter of the opening.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakama et al. to form the second coupling hole having a diameter greater than a diameter of the opening as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
With respect to claim 10, Nakama et al. (figures 1A-2A) disclose the ferrule, wherein when an extending direction of the plurality of optical transmission members (1) is a first direction, a direction in which the plurality of optical transmission members (1) is disposed is a second direction (figures 1A-2A), a direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction is a third direction, and surfaces facing each other of the ferrule body (11) and the optical transmissive member (12) when the first fitting part (25A) and the second fitting part (40A) are fitted with each other are a first surface (20) and a second surface (36), respectively.
Nakama et al. do not explicitly disclose the first surface and the second surface are tilted with respect to the third direction.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakama et al. to form the first surface and the second surface are tilted with respect to the third direction as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nakama et al. (as cited above) in view of Wada et al. (US 20180335573 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Nakama et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the first fitting part is a recess and the second fitting part is a protrusion.
However, Wada et al. (figure 6A) teach the first fitting part is a recess (MD1b) and the second fitting part is a protrusion (MD2b) (figure 6A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakama et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Wada) for the purpose of providing optical connectors coupled by abutment to transmit an optical signal between the optical cables ([0031]).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morimoto et al. (US 7040814 B2) disclose an optical module having a ferrule. Asada et al. (US 20220050250 A1) disclose a connector system.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874