DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023, 02/04/2025 and 04/30/2026.The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restriction requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US20220181177A1) in view of Matsumoto (US 20230339237 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses
An apparatus (see abstract) comprising:
a reflow oven (10, see fig.1); and
a first infrared (IR) sensor turret (62 b, see fig.3-5) suspended over a conveyor surface (surface of the conveyor 46, see fig.1-2) of the reflow oven (10, see fig.1-4).
Becker does not expressly disclose
wherein a directional movement of the first IR sensor turret matches a directional movement of the conveyor surface.
However, Matsumoto discloses a printer, comprising:
a directional movement of the first IR sensor turret (combo 26 and 28, see fig.8A-8B) matches a directional movement of the conveyor surface (surface of the conveyor unit 30, see fig.1A and 8a-8B,See para.0064: “the sensor 26 may be movable, for example, in the direction of conveyance of the medium M, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B” and para.0027: “0027: “The conveyor unit 30 is a unit to convey the medium M in the direction of conveyance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the first IR sensor turret of Becker to have the “directional movement of the first IR sensor turret matches a directional movement of the conveyor surface” as taught by Matsumoto. Doing so allows the IR sensor can continuously and precisely measure the temperature of the PCB as it moves through the oven. This ensures that the sensor is always positioned optimally relative to the circuit board assembly’s location, reducing measurement errors caused by misalignment or lag.
Regarding claim 2, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth.
Becker further discloses an IR sensor (temperature sensor embodying an IR camera 74, see para.0050) of the first IR sensor turret (62, see fig.3-5) directed towards a top surface of the conveyor surface (surface of the conveyor 46, see fig.1-2), except wherein the directional movement of the first IR sensor turret dictates a directional movement of the IR sensor of the first IR sensor turret.
However, Matsumoto further discloses the directional movement of the first IR sensor turret (combo 26 and 28, see fig.8A-8B) dictates a directional movement of the IR sensor (26, see fig.8A-8B) of the first IR sensor turret (combo 26 and 28, see fig.8A-8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the directional movement of the first IR sensor turret of Becker to dictate the directional movement of the IR sensor of the first IR sensor turret as taught by Matsumoto. This ensures that the sensor is always positioned optimally relative to the circuit board assembly’s location, reducing measurement errors caused by misalignment or lag.
Regarding claim 4, Becker further discloses a first heating element (26, see fig.2 and para.0045. See first heating element in annotated fig.2 below) positioned in a first temperature zone (30-36, see para.0045, 0047 and fig.2) of the reflow oven (10), wherein an operational range of the first IR sensor turret (62b) covers a first subarea ( area between the 6th and 7th zone (the soak zone and the spike zone, see para.0047 and fig.3. Para.0047 discloses: “a second IR camera assembly 62 b is positioned between the 6th and 7th zone (the soak zone and the spike zone”) of the reflow oven (10) beneath at least a portion of the first heat element on the conveyor surface (See para.0047: “the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed anywhere within the reflow soldering oven 10 to optimize the performance of the reflow soldering oven.”. Therefore, the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed beneath at least a portion of the first heat element 26 on the conveyor surface).
Annotated fig.2 of Becker
Regarding claim 5, Becker further discloses a second heating element (see second heating element in annotated fig.2 below) positioned in a second temperature zone (combo 20-24, see fig.2) of the reflow oven (10), wherein the second heating element (see second heating element in annotated fig.2 below) is adjacent to the first heating element (see first heating element in annotated fig.2 below), wherein the operational range of the first IR sensor turret (62b) covers a second subarea (20 and 22, see fig.2 and para.0045-0047) of the reflow oven beneath at least a portion of the second heat element on the conveyor surface (See para.0047: “the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed anywhere within the reflow soldering oven 10 to optimize the performance of the reflow soldering oven.”. Therefore, the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed beneath at least a portion of the second heat element 26 on the conveyor surface).
.
Annotated fig.2 of Becker
Regarding claim 6, Becker further discloses a second IR sensor turret (62 a, see fig.3) suspended over the conveyor surface (surface of 48) of the reflow oven (10), except wherein a directional movement of the second IR sensor turret matches the directional movement of the conveyor surface.
However, Matsumoto further discloses a directional movement of the second IR sensor turret (26 and 28, see fig.8A-8B) matches a directional movement of the conveyor surface (surface of the conveyor unit 30, see fig.1A and 8a-8B,See para.0064: “the sensor 26 may be movable, for example, in the direction of conveyance of the medium M, as illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B” and para.0027: “0027: “The conveyor unit 30 is a unit to convey the medium M in the direction of conveyance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the second IR sensor turret of Becker to have the “directional movement of the first IR sensor turret matches a directional movement of the conveyor surface” as taught by Matsumoto. Doing so allows the IR sensor can continuously and precisely measure the temperature of the PCB as it moves through the oven. This ensures that the sensor is always positioned optimally relative to the circuit board assembly’s location, reducing measurement errors caused by misalignment or lag.
Regarding claim 7, Becker further discloses an operational range of the second IR sensor turret (62a) covers a third subarea (18 and 20, see fig.2 and para.0045-0047) of the reflow oven (10) beneath at least another portion of the second heat element (26) on the conveyor surface (See para.0047: “the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed anywhere within the reflow soldering oven 10 to optimize the performance of the reflow soldering oven.”. Therefore, the IR camera assemblies 62 can be deployed beneath at least a portion of the second heat element 26 on the conveyor surface).
Regarding claim 8, Becker further discloses the second subarea (20 and 22) of the reflow oven (10) beneath at least the portion of the second heat element (see second heating element in annotated fig. 2 above) on the conveyor surface (48, see fig.1) at least partially overlaps with the third subarea (18 and 20 of the reflow oven 10) beneath at least the portion of the second heat element (see second heating element in annotated fig. 2 above) on the conveyor surface (48, see fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Becker further discloses the first IR sensor turret (62b) is suspended in a first gap between the first heating element and the second heating element (See first and second heating elements in annotated fig.2 above).
Regarding claim 13, Becker further discloses the first IR sensor turret (62b) is mechanically coupled to the first heating element (See first heating element in annotated fig.1 above. Because in the same system, the first IR sensor turret 62b is mechanically coupled to the first heating element 26).
Regarding claim 14, Becker further discloses the first IR sensor turret (62b) is mechanically coupled to the second heating element (See second heating element in annotated fig.1 above. Because in the same system, the first IR sensor turret 62b is mechanically coupled to the second heating element 26).
Regarding claim 15, Becker further discloses the first IR sensor turret (62b) is mechanically coupled to a top portion (66, see fig.3-5) within an interior surface of the reflow oven (10, see fig.3).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Yocius US 20220297958 A1
Regarding claim 3, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except an optical camera with laser of the first IR sensor turret directed towards the top surface of the conveyor surface.
Yocius discloses Methods and systems for manufacturing a foam board system, comprising:
an optical camera (213, see fig.4) with laser (205, see fig.4) of the first IR sensor turret (140,see fig.2-4) directed towards the top surface of the conveyor surface (120, see fig.1 and para.0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Becker invention to have the “optical camera with laser of the first IR sensor turret directed towards the top surface of the conveyor surface” as taught by Yocius. Doing so allows to receive a plurality of characteristic measurements to determine the integrity of a board effectively (See para.0089 of Yocius) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US6168064B1 discloses a plurality of infrared thermal scanners are located at critical points along the path which a substrate passes in a reflow oven so as to generate an actual solder paste time/temperature profile as a substrate passes through the zones of the reflow oven.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761