DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the electrode plate assembly" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there is a plurality of electrode assemblies, and it is unclear which electrode plate assembly is being referred to.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the electrode plate assembly" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 1, which recites “each electrode assembly comprises an electrode plate assembly,” thus there is a plurality of electrode plate assemblies and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first slot" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 1, which recites “a plurality of first slots,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first cap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 1, which recites “a plurality of first caps,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first slot" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 1, which recites “a plurality of first slots,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first electrode tab" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 6 recites two first electrode tabs in (b), and it is unclear which first electrode tab is being referred to.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the electrode plate assembly" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there is a plurality of electrode plate assemblies, and it is unclear which electrode plate assembly is being referred to.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the electrode plate assembly" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 10, which recites “each electrode assembly comprises an electrode plate assembly,” thus there is a plurality of electrode plate assemblies.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first slot" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 10, which recites “a plurality of first slots,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first cap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 10, which recites “a plurality of first caps,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first slot" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as it depends on claim 10, which recites “a plurality of first slots,” and it is unclear which is being referred to.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first electrode tab" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 15 recites two first electrode tabs in (b), and it is unclear which first electrode tab is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 , 4-6, 8-11, 13-15, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (US 2020/0127350 A1), in view of Fuhr et al. (US 2016/0172643 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a battery pack (Par. 0002), comprising a housing (case 100), a circuit board (circuit board 180), and a plurality of electrode assemblies (Par. 0022, “a plurality of battery cells”; battery cells 10); wherein, the housing comprises a first surface (first cover 100a) and a second surface (second cover 100b) opposite to each other (Modified Fig. 1), and the first surface is provided with a plurality of first slots (Par. 0051, Modified Fig. 1; the inside of the first cover has slots that hold one end of each battery; these slots are not defined, but they meet the claim because they are formed in the first surface and hold individual battery cells); the battery pack further comprises a plurality of first caps (Modified Fig. 1; the first cover 100a has a plurality of interconnected caps which cover the battery openings), and the plurality of first caps respectively cover the plurality of first slots to form a plurality of accommodation spaces (Modified Fig. 1; covers 100a and 100b each hold one end of the battery in its own accommodated space, separated by a barrier wall 150); and each electrode assembly comprises an electrode plate assembly (Par. 0169; each battery cell 10 and 12 has positive and negative electrodes), a first electrode tab (first lead 120a provides an electrical connection between the battery and circuit board), and a second electrode tab (second lead 120b provides an electrical connection between the battery and circuit board); the electrode plate assembly is accommodated in one of the accommodation spaces; the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab extend out of the one of the accommodation spaces (Par. 0011, Fig 2B); and at least one first electrode tab and at least one second electrode tab in the plurality of electrode assemblies are electrically connected to the circuit board (Par. 0008). Lee fails to teach each accommodation space being mutually separated from each other, as each battery compartment is not sealed on all sides.
However, Fuhr teaches a battery pack (Figs. 15-16), comprising a housing and a plurality of electrode assemblies, wherein the housing comprises a first surface (cover 830) and a second surface (manifold 860), wherein the first surface is provided with a plurality of first slots (compartments 829; Fig. 15); the battery pack further comprises a plurality of first caps (recesses 833 correspond to the tops of the compartments), which respectively cover the plurality of first slots to form a plurality of mutually separated accommodation spaces (Par. 0080, 0090; each compartment is completely surrounded/ enclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by mutually separating each accommodation space, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to seal the electrolyte within each compartment, as stated in Fuhr (Par. 0090).
Modified Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein each first slot comprises two connection portions (the first and second covers 100a and 100b contain first and second tab plates 110a and 110b, which provide electrical connections from the batteries), and the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are respectively accommodated in the two connection portions and extend out of the accommodation space from the connection portions (Par. 0011; the first and second leads 120a and 120b are connected to and extend from the first and second tab plates 110a and 110b, which serve as connection portions). Lee fails to teach a main body in which the electrode plate assembly is accommodated in, as each assembly is placed in the housing with an open interior.
However, Fuhr teaches a main body (partitions 828; used to separate and seal each cell) in which an electrode plate assembly (cell element 824) is accommodated (Par. 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by separating each electrode assembly inside the housing with a main body, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to separate individual assemblies and provide a separate passage for cooling elements, as stated in Fuhr (Par. 0088, 0094).
Regarding claim 4, Lee fails to teach a second slot which is not in communication with the first slots, and a cooling medium in the second slot. Lee rather teaches a cooling fluid accommodated in the first slot with the batteries (Par. 0069).
However, Fuhr teaches a battery pack (Figs. 15-16), provided with a first surface (cover 830) and a second surface (manifold 860), wherein the first surface is provided with a first slot (compartment 829) and the second surface is provided with a second slot (openings 850A-B), the second slot is not in communication with the first slot (Fig. 15, the second slots are the spaces in between the first slots and the housing 826 and are closed off from the first slots), and a cooling medium is accommodated in the second slot (Par. 0095; a cooling fluid is present in the manifold and openings 850 A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system taught by Lee by incorporating a cooling fluid in separate slots which don’t communicate with the first slots containing the batteries, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to utilize the empty space between cells, allowing for maximum efficiency (Par. 0097).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the battery pack further comprises a second cap (housing cover 201), the second cap covers the housing (Par. 0086; Fig. 4), and the circuit board is positioned between the second cap and the housing (Fig. 2B, Par. 0056, circuit board is placed on the first tab plate 110a above the housing; Fig. 4, the housing cover 201 is placed above the housing).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the battery pack has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) the first electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the second electrode tab of another said electrode assembly so as to form a series electrode assembly group (Par. 0064; the battery tab plates may be connected in a series); or (b) the first electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the first electrode tab of another said electrode assembly, and the second electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the second electrode tab of another said electrode assembly so as to form a parallel electrode assembly group (Par. 0178; the batteries may alternatively be connected in parallel in another embodiment).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 6, wherein a length by which the first electrode tab extends out of the accommodation space is greater than a length by which the second electrode tab extends out of the accommodation space (Par. 0014), and at least one first electrode tab is connected with the circuit board (Par. 0055; the circuit board 180 is connected to the first lead 120). Lee fails to teach the first electrode tab being connected to the circuit board by welding. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. As the connection is unpatentable over Lee, the claim is therefore unpatentable even though the connection of Lee was made by a different process (See MPEP 2113(I)).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the circuit board is fixed to the first surface (Par. 0063; the circuit board 180 is placed on the inside of the first cover 100a).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches an electrical apparatus (Par. 0003-0004; the battery pack is meant for use in electric/hybrid vehicles), comprising a battery pack (Par. 0002), which comprises a housing (case 100), a circuit board (circuit board 180), and a plurality of electrode assemblies (Par. 0022, “a plurality of battery cells”; battery cells 10); wherein, the housing comprises a first surface (first cover 100a) and a second surface (second cover 100b) opposite to each other (Modified Fig. 1), and the first surface is provided with a plurality of first slots (Par. 0051, Modified Fig. 1; the inside of the first cover has slots that hold one end of each battery; these slots are not defined, but they meet the claim because they are formed in the first surface and hold individual battery cells); the battery pack further comprises a plurality of first caps (Modified Fig. 1; the first cover 100a has a plurality of interconnected caps which cover the battery openings), and the plurality of first caps respectively cover the plurality of first slots to form a plurality of accommodation spaces (Modified Fig. 1; covers 100a and 100b each hold one end of the battery in its own accommodated space, separated by a barrier wall 150); and each electrode assembly comprises an electrode plate assembly (Par. 0169; each battery cell 10 and 12 has positive and negative electrodes), a first electrode tab (first lead 120a provides an electrical connection between the battery and circuit board), and a second electrode tab (second lead 120b provides an electrical connection between the battery and circuit board); the electrode plate assembly is accommodated in one of the accommodation spaces; the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab extend out of the one of the accommodation spaces (Par. 0011, Fig 2B); and at least one first electrode tab and at least one second electrode tab in the plurality of electrode assemblies are electrically connected to the circuit board (Par. 0008). Lee fails to teach each accommodation space being mutually separated from each other, as each battery compartment is not sealed on all sides.
However, Fuhr teaches a battery pack (Figs. 15-16), comprising a housing and a plurality of electrode assemblies, wherein the housing comprises a first surface (cover 830) and a second surface (manifold 860), wherein the first surface is provided with a plurality of first slots (compartments 829; Fig. 15); the battery pack further comprises a plurality of first caps (recesses 833 correspond to the tops of the compartments), which respectively cover the plurality of first slots to form a plurality of mutually separated accommodation spaces (Par. 0080, 0090; each compartment is completely surrounded/ enclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by mutually separating each accommodation space, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to seal the electrolyte within each compartment, as stated in Fuhr (Par. 0090).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 10, wherein each first slot comprises two connection portions (the first and second covers 100a and 100b contain first and second tab plates 110a and 110b, which provide electrical connections from the batteries), and the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are respectively accommodated in the two connection portions and extend out of the accommodation space from the connection portions (Par. 0011; the first and second leads 120a and 120b are connected to and extend from the first and second tab plates 110a and 110b, which serve as connection portions). Lee fails to teach a main body in which the electrode plate assembly is accommodated in, as each assembly is placed in the housing with an open interior.
However, Fuhr teaches a main body (partitions 828; used to separate and seal each cell) in which an electrode plate assembly (cell element 824) is accommodated (Par. 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by separating each electrode assembly inside the housing with a main body, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to separate individual assemblies and provide a separate passage for cooling elements, as stated in Fuhr (Par. 0088, 0094).
Regarding claim 13, Lee fails to teach a second slot which is not in communication with the first slots, and a cooling medium in the second slot. Lee rather teaches a cooling fluid accommodated in the first slot with the batteries (Par. 0069).
However, Fuhr teaches a battery pack (Figs. 15-16), provided with a first surface (cover 830) and a second surface (manifold 860), wherein the first surface is provided with a first slot (compartment 829) and the second surface is provided with a second slot (openings 850A-B), the second slot is not in communication with the first slot (Fig. 15, the second slots are the spaces in between the first slots and the housing 826 and are closed off from the first slots), and a cooling medium is accommodated in the second slot (Par. 0095; a cooling fluid is present in the manifold and openings 850 A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system taught by Lee by incorporating a cooling fluid in separate slots which don’t communicate with the first slots containing the batteries, as taught by Fuhr. This would be done in order to utilize the empty space between cells, allowing for maximum efficiency (Par. 0097).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 10, wherein the battery pack further comprises a second cap (housing cover 201), the second cap covers the housing (Par. 0086; Fig. 4), and the circuit board is positioned between the second cap and the housing (Fig. 2B, Par. 0056, circuit board is placed on the first tab plate 110a above the housing; Fig. 4, the housing cover 201 is placed above the housing).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 10, wherein the battery pack has at least one of the following characteristics: (a) the first electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the second electrode tab of another said electrode assembly so as to form a series electrode assembly group (Par. 0064; the battery tab plates may be connected in a series); or (b) the first electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the first electrode tab of another said electrode assembly, and the second electrode tab of one said electrode assembly is electrically connected to the second electrode tab of another said electrode assembly so as to form a parallel electrode assembly group (Par. 0178; the batteries may alternatively be connected in parallel in another embodiment).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 15, wherein a length by which the first electrode tab extends out of the accommodation space is greater than a length by which the second electrode tab extends out of the accommodation space (Par. 0014), and at least one first electrode tab is connected with the circuit board (Par. 0055; the circuit board 180 is connected to the first lead 120). Lee fails to teach the first electrode tab being connected to the circuit board by welding. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. As the connection is unpatentable over Lee, the claim is therefore unpatentable even though the connection of Lee was made by a different process (See MPEP 2113(I)).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 10, wherein the circuit board is fixed to the first surface (Par. 0063; the circuit board 180 is placed on the inside of the first cover 100a).
Claims 3 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee and Fuhr, and further in view of Lampe-Onnerud et al. (US 2018/0097212 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the first cap covers an opening (Par. 0008; the first cover 100a covers the top portion of the battery cell, closing the opening), and a seal is disposed between the first cap and the opening (Par. 0118; sealing members S are placed on the inside of the first cover 100a). Lee fails to teach an opening on the first surface, as the caps of Lee are integrally formed with the first surface.
However, Lampe-Onnerud teaches a first surface (Par. 0064; support members 220a-h show depictions of how a first surface may be arranged) in which an opening is formed (Par. 0064, Fig. 2; cavities are formed in the support members, in which batteries may be placed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by incorporating a first surface which individually spaces each battery cell, as taught by Lampe-Onnerud. This would be done in order to prevent rapid thermal propagation between batteries and allow for impact absorption, as stated in Lampe-Onnerud (Par. 0058).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the electrical apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first cap covers an opening (Par. 0008; the first cover 100a covers the top portion of the battery cell, closing the opening), and a seal is disposed between the first cap and the opening (Par. 0118; sealing members S are placed on the inside of the first cover 100a). Lee fails to teach an opening on the first surface, as the caps of Lee are integrally formed with the first surface.
However, Lampe-Onnerud teaches a first surface (Par. 0064; support members 220a-h show depictions of how a first surface may be arranged) in which an opening is formed (Par. 0064, Fig. 2; cavities are formed in the support members, in which batteries may be placed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by incorporating a first surface which individually spaces each battery cell, as taught by Lampe-Onnerud. This would be done in order to prevent rapid thermal propagation between batteries and allow for impact absorption, as stated in Lampe-Onnerud (Par. 0058).
Claims 7 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee and Fuhr, and further in view of Cheon et al. (US 2017/0264107 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee fails to teach a conductive connection plate, comprising first and second connection portions which respectively connect to the first and/or second electrode tab and the circuit board.
However, Cheon teaches a battery pack (Abstract), comprising a conductive connection plate (connection tab 150), wherein the conductive connection plate comprises a first conductive portion (Par. 0013; first portion 151) and a second conductive portion (Par. 0048; connection portion 155), the first conductive portion is electrically connected to a first electrode tab and/or a second electrode tab (Par. 0013; the first portion 151 provides electrical connection between the battery cells), and the second conductive portion is electrically connected to a circuit board (Par. 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by incorporating a conductive connection plate comprising first and second portions connected to the electrode tabs and circuit board, respectively, as taught by Cheon. This would be done in order to allow for electrical connection between the battery cells and the circuit board, as stated in Cheon (Par. 0007).
Regarding claim 16, Lee fails to teach a conductive connection plate, comprising first and second connection portions which respectively connect to the first and/or second electrode tab and the circuit board.
However, Cheon teaches a battery pack (Abstract), comprising a conductive connection plate (connection tab 150), wherein the conductive connection plate comprises a first conductive portion (Par. 0013; first portion 151) and a second conductive portion (Par. 0048; connection portion 155), the first conductive portion is electrically connected to a first electrode tab and/or a second electrode tab (Par. 0013; the first portion 151 provides electrical connection between the battery cells), and the second conductive portion is electrically connected to a circuit board (Par. 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Lee by incorporating a conductive connection plate comprising first and second portions connected to the electrode tabs and circuit board, respectively, as taught by Cheon. This would be done in order to allow for electrical connection between the battery cells and the circuit board, as stated in Cheon (Par. 0007).
Conclusion
/CAMERON M BAIRD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728