DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application CN202310328574.0 filed on 01/16/2026. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application CN202310328574.0 and an English translation of the non-English language foreign application CN202310328574.0 accompanied with a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 05/11/2026, in which claims 1 and 5 were amended, claims 6-9, 12-14, and 20 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN115843199A), hereafter (US Pub. 20240284704) is used as English translation, in view of Ren et al. (US Pub. 20230142687).
Regarding claims 1-2, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2 a display panel, comprising:
a substrate [100];
a driving circuit layer [200] formed on a side of the substrate [100];
a light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] formed on a side of the driving circuit layer [200] away from the substrate [100], wherein the light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] comprises a plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340] and a plurality of display sub-pixels [310, 330 and 340]; and
a light shielding layer [360] comprising a plurality of light shielding components, wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components comprises a light transmitting area and a light shielding area located on at least one side of the light transmitting area, and wherein an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340] on the light shielding layer [360] is at least partially located in a corresponding one of the plurality of light shielding components.
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the driving circuit layer comprises photosensitive devices,
wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area;
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the light shielding layer at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area.
Ren et al. discloses in Fig. 2
wherein the driving circuit layer [5-8] comprises photosensitive devices [3],
wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [3] is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by the light emitting layer and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area;
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [3] on the light shielding layer [1201] at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area.
Wang et al. discloses light emitted by the light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] comprises light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340]. Thus, incorporating the photosensitive devices as taught by Ren et al. into the device of Wang et al. would result to “a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area.”
Besides, the limitation “capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area” directs to manner of operation and intended use of the photosensitive devices. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114 (II). In addition, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the combination of Ren et al. and Wang et al. discloses all the structural limitations of the claim. Thus, it meets the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ren et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the driving circuit layer comprises photosensitive devices, wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area; wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the light shielding layer at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of enabling a texture recognition function of a display product [paragraph [0002] of Ren et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1
wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components [360] comprises two light shielding areas located on two sides of the light transmitting area in a row direction, respectively.
Regarding claims 15-16, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 11 a display device, comprising a display panel [10] and a mainboard [20], wherein the mainboard [20] is connected to the display panel [10], wherein the display panel [10] comprises:
a substrate [100];
a driving circuit layer [200] formed on a side of the substrate [100];
a light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] formed on a side of the driving circuit layer [200] away from the substrate [100], wherein the light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] comprises a plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340] and a plurality of display sub-pixels [310, 330 and 340]; and
a light shielding layer [360] comprising a plurality of light shielding components, wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components comprises a light transmitting area and a light shielding area located on at least one side of the light transmitting area, and wherein an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340] on the light shielding layer [360] is at least partially located in a corresponding one of the plurality of light shielding components.
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the driving circuit layer comprises photosensitive devices,
wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area;
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the light shielding layer at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area.
Ren et al. discloses in Fig. 2
wherein the driving circuit layer [5-8] comprises photosensitive devices [3],
wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [3] is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by the light emitting layer and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area;
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [3] on the light shielding layer [1201] at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area.
Wang et al. discloses light emitted by the light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] comprises light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340]. Thus, incorporating the photosensitive devices as taught by Ren et al. into the device of Wang et al. would result to “a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area.”
Besides, the limitation “capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area” directs to manner of operation and intended use of the photosensitive devices. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114 (II). In addition, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the combination of Ren et al. and Wang et al. discloses all the structural limitations of the claim. Thus, it meets the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ren et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the driving circuit layer comprises photosensitive devices, wherein a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area; wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the light shielding layer at least partially overlaps with the light transmitting area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of enabling a texture recognition function of a display product [paragraph [0002] of Ren et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 4, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN115843199A), hereafter (US Pub. 20240284704) is used as English translation, in view of Ren et al. (US Pub. 20230142687) as applied to claim 3 and claim 17 above and further in view of Shin et al. (US Pub. 20210118962).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Wang et al. and Ren et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components comprises four light shielding areas, wherein two of the four light shielding areas are located on the two sides of the light transmitting area in the row direction, respectively, and another two of the four light shielding areas are located on two sides of the light transmitting area in a column direction, respectively.
Shin et al. discloses in Fig. 2B, paragraph [0061]
wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components [150A] comprises four light shielding areas, wherein two of the four light shielding areas are located on the two sides of the light transmitting area [OA] in the row direction, respectively, and another two of the four light shielding areas are located on two sides of the light transmitting area [OA] in a column direction, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shin et al. into the method of Wang et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein each of the plurality of light shielding components comprises four light shielding areas, wherein two of the four light shielding areas are located on the two sides of the light transmitting area in the row direction, respectively, and another two of the four light shielding areas are located on two sides of the light transmitting area in a column direction, respectively. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. and Ren et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative configuration of the light shielding layer [paragraph [0061] of Shin et al.].
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN115843199A), hereafter (US Pub. 20240284704) is used as English translation, in view of Ren et al. (US Pub. 20230142687) and Shin et al. (US Pub. 20210118962) as applied to claim 4 and claim 18 above and further in view of Yao et al. (US Pub. 20230100284).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1
wherein each of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels comprises a first hollow area and edge areas, an orthographic projection of the first hollow area on the light shielding layer [360] is located in the light transmitting area, and wherein an orthographic projection of each of the edge areas on the light shielding layer [360] is located in a corresponding one of the light shielding areas.
Wang et al. fails disclose
wherein the edge areas are arranged around the first hollow area.
Yao et al. discloses in Fig. 16, Fig. 19
wherein the edge areas [22/223] are arranged around the first hollow area.
Shin et al. discloses in Fig. 2B, the light shielding areas comprise four light shielding areas.
Yao et al. also discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 3 the light shielding areas [3] comprise four light shielding areas located on the four sides of the light transmitting area [4].
Thus, the combination of Shin et al., Yao et al. and Wang et al. result to “wherein an orthographic projection of each of the edge areas on the light shielding layer is located in a corresponding one of the light shielding areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yao et al. into the method of Shin et al., and Wang et al. to include wherein the edge areas are arranged around the first hollow area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shin et al., and Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of proving suitable alternative structure of a light-emitting element that increases the viewable angle range in all directions and is beneficial to improving the uniformity of the brightness of the display panel at various viewing angles [paragraph [0030], [0019], [0116], [0124] of Yao et al.]
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN115843199A), hereafter (US Pub. 20240284704) is used as English translation, in view of Ren et al. (US Pub. 20230142687) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gao et al. (US Pub. 20220376215).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0027]-[0028], [0049]-[0050]
a first anode layer [311 and 390], a pixel definition layer [320] and a cathode layer [340];
wherein the first anode layer [311 and 390] comprises a plurality of first anodes [311] and a plurality of second anodes [390], wherein the pixel definition layer [320] comprises first via holes [321], the plurality of display sub-pixels are at least partially located in the first via holes [321] and are connected to the plurality of first anodes [311] in a one-to-one correspondence manner; and
wherein each of the plurality of second anodes [390] comprises a second hollow area.
Wang et al. fails to disclose in Fig. 1
wherein the driving circuit layer, the first anode layer, the pixel definition layer, the light emitting layer, the cathode layer, and the light shielding layer are sequentially formed;
wherein the pixel definition layer comprises second via holes;
wherein the plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels are at least partially located in the second via holes and are connected to the plurality of second anodes in a one-to- one correspondence manner.
However, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 9, paragraph [0065]-[0070]
wherein the driving circuit layer [200], the first anode layer [311 and 391], the pixel definition layer [320], the light emitting layer [331 and 336], the cathode layer [340], and the light shielding layer [3611, 3612, 3613] are sequentially formed;
wherein the pixel definition layer [320] comprises second via holes;
wherein the plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels are at least partially located in the second via holes and are connected to the plurality of second anodes [391] in a one-to- one correspondence manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fig. 9 of Wang et al. into the method of Fig. 1 of Wang et al. to include wherein the driving circuit layer, the first anode layer, the pixel definition layer, the light emitting layer, the cathode layer, and the light shielding layer are sequentially formed; wherein the pixel definition layer comprises second via holes; wherein the plurality of anti-peeping sub-pixels are at least partially located in the second via holes and are connected to the plurality of second anodes in a one-to- one correspondence manner. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fig. 1 of Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative of anti-peeping sub-pixel having the second anodes and the first anodes arranged on the same layer to simplify the manufacturing process of the display panel and reducing the manufacturing cost of the display panel [paragraph [0069] of Wang et al.].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the plurality of second anodes at least comprises a reflective layer,
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the first anode layer is located in the second hollow area.
Gao et al. discloses in Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B, paragraph [0054], [0057]
wherein each of the plurality of second anodes [12] at least comprises a reflective layer [silver, aluminum are reflective material],
wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [19] on the first anode layer [12] is located in the second hollow area [120].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Gao et al. into the method of Wang et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein each of the plurality of second anodes at least comprises a reflective layer, wherein an orthographic projection of a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices on the first anode layer is located in the second hollow area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. and Ren et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material and structure of second anodes to improve the accuracy of the fingerprint recognition and to prevent the first anode layer from affecting the light transmittance of the OLEDs while allowing the photosensitive fingerprint sensors to receive the light reflected back from the first side of the OLED display panel with a relatively small loss [paragraph [0054], [0057] of Gao et al].
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0028], [0059]-[0061]
an encapsulating layer [350] and a color resistor layer [370], wherein the encapsulating layer [350] is formed on a side of the cathode layer [340] away from the substrate [100], wherein the light shielding layer [360] is formed on a side of the encapsulating layer [350] away from the substrate [100], and wherein the color resistor layer [370] is formed on a side of the encapsulating layer [350] away from the substrate [100];
wherein the color resistor layer [370] comprises a plurality of color resistors, and orthographic projections of the plurality of display sub-pixels on the color resistor layer [370] are located in the plurality of color resistors [370] in a one-to-one correspondence manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As stated in the rejection above, Ren et al. discloses in Fig. 2 a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices [3] is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by the light emitting layer and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area. Wang et al. discloses light emitted by the light emitting layer [310, 330, 340, 336, 390] comprises light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels [390, 336 and 340]. Thus, incorporating the photosensitive devices as taught by Ren et al. into the device of Wang et al. would result to “a corresponding one of the photosensitive devices is capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area.”
Besides, the limitation “capable of receiving at least part of light emitted by corresponding anti-peeping sub-pixels of the plurality of anti- peeping sub-pixels and reflected by a fingerprint through the light transmitting area” directs to manner of operation and intended use of the photosensitive devices. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114 (II). In addition, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the combination of Ren et al. and Wang et al. discloses all the structural limitations of the claim. Thus, it meets the claim.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893