DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein moving, in a second manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target includes moving the feederhouse while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target” which does not further limit the subject matter recited in independent claim 8. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 11 is rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tippery et al. US 20160302357 A1 (“Tippery”) in view of Kahn et al. US 20160368336 A1 (“Kahn”).
For claim 1, Tippery discloses a system for automatically aligning an implement to an agricultural machine (See at least Abstract of Tippery – “… A system including … a combine harvester with a feeder house … a control system that can … automatically cause the feeder house to align with the target area… cause automated coupling of the feeder house with the detachable header in the area corresponding to the target area…”), the system comprising:
one or more processors (See at least [0018] of Tippery – “…the sensor 18… may image an outline of the feeder house front portion and a target area of the header 12, and provide the image signals to a controller of the combine 10 … wherein the controller responsively enables … autonomous alignment … between the feeder house opening and the target area to facilitate coupling…”);
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors (See at least [0032] of Tippery – “…the controller 66 comprises one or more processors or processing units… memory 82… nonvolatile memory elements …header hook-up assist software 88…”), the programming instructions instruct the one or more processors to:
move, in a first manner, a feederhouse of the agricultural machine (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…”);
detect alignment of a first sensor located on the feederhouse with a first target located on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”);
move, in a second manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine (See at least [0027] – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g. actuators… that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22…” and [0023] of Tippery – “… the lateral tilt assembly 22 of the feeder house 16…”); and
detect alignment of a second sensor on the feederhouse with a second target on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose detect alignment of a first laser; and
detect alignment of a second laser.
However, Kahn, in the same field of endeavor teaches detect alignment of a first laser (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”); and
detect alignment of a second laser (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Kahn teaches a system for cab-trailer that uses laser scanners mounted on a vehicle that detect a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another surface such as a trailer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of detecting an alignment of a first laser and detecting an alignment of a second laser as taught by Kahn, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another object’s surface as specified in at least [0033] of Kahn.
For claim 2, Tippery discloses wherein the programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to move, in the first manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine includes programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to move the feederhouse orthogonally (See at least [0027] – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…” and Fig. 4A of Tippery – the feeder house 16 may be raised or lowered in the vertical directions which are orthogonal to the top view plane defining the distance between the feeder house 16 and header 12).
For claim 3, Tippery discloses wherein the programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to move, in a second manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine includes programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to move the feederhouse while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “… Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12. For instance, as shown in FIGS. 4C and 4D, the controller may activate the cylinder 62 to raise or lower the feeder house 16 in an effort to align the feeder house opening with the target area of the header 12. Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”).
For claim 4, Tippery discloses wherein the programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to move the feederhouse while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target includes programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to rotate the feederhouse about a center of rotation defined by the aligned first laser and the first target (See at least [0017] – “…cylinder(s) (not shown in FIG. 1) may be actuated by the controller to cause a tilt assembly of the feeder house 16 to roll relative to an axis running longitudinally through the feeder house 16. Such movements of the feeder house 16 not only facilitate the alignment of the feeder house 16 with a target area of the header 12, but also enable the header 12 to more closely follow the contours of the ground during operations…”, [0027] – “Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12… Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”, and Claim 21 of Tippery – “… the lateral tilt assembly is moveable about a pivot axis, and wherein the control system is configured to cause pivoting movement of the lateral tilt assembly around the pivot axis when aligning the feeder house with the target area…”).
For claim 6, Tippery discloses further comprising programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to sense a distance between the feederhouse and the implement (See at least [0019] of Tippery – “… cameras that provide output signals of that are processed by a controller of the combine 10 … targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths… enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
For claim 7, Tippery discloses further comprising programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to advance the agricultural machine at least a portion of the distance towards the implement when the first laser is aligned with the first target and the second laser is aligned with the second target (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “… Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may activate the sensors of the combine 10, such as sensor 18, as well as take command (e.g., release the operator's control) of various controls of the combine 10, such as navigational control … The capture of the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12… Upon coupling between the header 12 and the feeder house 16 of the combine 10, feedback of the mechanical coupling may be received by the controller of the combine 10…”).
For claim 8, Tippery discloses a computer-implemented method performed by one or more processors for automatically aligning a feederhouse of an agricultural harvester with an agricultural head (See at least [0018] of Tippery – “…the sensor 18… may image an outline of the feeder house front portion and a target area of the header 12, and provide the image signals to a controller of the combine 10 … wherein the controller responsively enables … autonomous alignment … between the feeder house opening and the target area to facilitate coupling…”), the method comprising:
moving, in a first manner, a feederhouse of the agricultural machine (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…”);
detecting alignment of a first sensor located on the feederhouse with a first target located on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”);
moving, in a second manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “… Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12. For instance, as shown in FIGS. 4C and 4D, the controller may activate the cylinder 62 to raise or lower the feeder house 16 in an effort to align the feeder house opening with the target area of the header 12. Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”); and
detecting alignment of a second sensor on the feederhouse with a second target on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose detecting alignment of a first laser; and
detecting alignment of a second laser.
However, Kahn, in the same field of endeavor teaches detecting alignment of a first laser (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”); and
detecting alignment of a second laser (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Kahn teaches a system for cab-trailer that uses laser scanners mounted on a vehicle that detect a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another surface such as a trailer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of detecting an alignment of a first laser and detecting an alignment of a second laser as taught by Kahn, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another object’s surface as specified in at least [0033] of Kahn.
For claim 9, Tippery discloses wherein moving, in the first manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine includes moving the feederhouse orthogonally (See at least [0027] – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…” and Fig. 4A of Tippery – the feeder house 16 may be raised or lowered in the vertical directions which are orthogonal to the top view plane defining the distance between the feeder house 16 and header 12).
For claim 10, Tippery discloses wherein moving, in a second manner, the feederhouse of the agricultural machine while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target includes moving the feederhouse while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “… Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12. For instance, as shown in FIGS. 4C and 4D, the controller may activate the cylinder 62 to raise or lower the feeder house 16 in an effort to align the feeder house opening with the target area of the header 12. Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”).
For claim 11, Tippery discloses wherein moving the feederhouse while maintaining alignment between the first laser and the first target includes rotating the feederhouse about a center of rotation defined by the aligned first laser and the first target (See at least [0017] – “…cylinder(s) (not shown in FIG. 1) may be actuated by the controller to cause a tilt assembly of the feeder house 16 to roll relative to an axis running longitudinally through the feeder house 16. Such movements of the feeder house 16 not only facilitate the alignment of the feeder house 16 with a target area of the header 12, but also enable the header 12 to more closely follow the contours of the ground during operations…”, [0027] – “Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12… Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”, and Claim 21 of Tippery – “… the lateral tilt assembly is moveable about a pivot axis, and wherein the control system is configured to cause pivoting movement of the lateral tilt assembly around the pivot axis when aligning the feeder house with the target area…”).
For claim 13, Tippery discloses further comprising sensing a distance between the feederhouse and the implement (See at least [0019] of Tippery – “… cameras that provide output signals of that are processed by a controller of the combine 10 … targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths… enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
For claim 14, Tippery discloses further comprising advancing the agricultural machine at least a portion of the distance towards the implement when the first laser is aligned with the first target and the second laser is aligned with the second target (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “… Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may activate the sensors of the combine 10, such as sensor 18, as well as take command (e.g., release the operator's control) of various controls of the combine 10, such as navigational control … The capture of the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12… Upon coupling between the header 12 and the feeder house 16 of the combine 10, feedback of the mechanical coupling may be received by the controller of the combine 10…”).
For claim 15, Tippery discloses further comprising detecting engagement between the feederhouse and the implement (See at least [0025] of Tippery – “… an engagement feedback sensor may be used to confirm to a controller of the combine 10 the successful mechanical coupling between the header 12 and the feeder house 16 …”).
For claim 16, Tippery discloses further comprising coupling the implement to the feederhouse (See at least [0025] of Tippery – “… an engagement feedback sensor may be used to confirm to a controller of the combine 10 the successful mechanical coupling between the header 12 and the feeder house 16 … Upon activation of the sensor of the receptacle 58 (e.g., based on force applied by the pins 56 depressing the sensors in the receptacles 58 during successful coupling), a feedback signal may be communicated wirelessly …to a controller of the combine 10, providing a confirmation of the coupling to the controller …”).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tippery in view of Kahn, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Missotten et al. US 20240302198 A1 (“Missotten”).
For claim 5, Tippery discloses programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to detect alignment of the first laser located on the feederhouse with the first target located on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose wherein the programming instructions includes programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to detect reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor.
However, Missotten, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the programming instructions includes programming instructions to instruct the one or more processors to detect reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor (See at least [0122] of Missotten – “… The first laser transceiver 322 comprises a laser emitter capable of emitting a first radiation signal towards a second wall … laser transceiver 322 further comprises a laser receiver capable of receiving/detecting the first radiation signal reflected back towards the first laser transceiver 322…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Missotten teaches a laser transceiver device that is capable of detecting a radiation signal reflected back to the laser transceiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of detecting reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor as taught by Missotten, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to measure a distance to an object’s surface as specified in at least [0122] of Missotten.
For claim 12, Tippery discloses detecting alignment of the first laser located on the feederhouse with the first target located on the implement (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose wherein detecting alignment includes detecting reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor.
However, Missotten, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein detecting alignment includes detecting reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor (See at least [0122] of Missotten – “… The first laser transceiver 322 comprises a laser emitter capable of emitting a first radiation signal towards a second wall … laser transceiver 322 further comprises a laser receiver capable of receiving/detecting the first radiation signal reflected back towards the first laser transceiver 322…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Missotten teaches a laser transceiver device that is capable of detecting a radiation signal reflected back to the laser transceiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of detecting reflected radiation of the first laser by a laser sensor as taught by Missotten, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to measure a distance to an object’s surface as specified in at least [0122] of Missotten.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tippery in view of Kahn and Missotten.
For claim 17, Tippery discloses a system for aligning an implement with a feederhouse of an agricultural machine (See at least Abstract of Tippery – “… A system including … a combine harvester with a feeder house … a control system that can … automatically cause the feeder house to align with the target area… cause automated coupling of the feeder house with the detachable header in the area corresponding to the target area…”), the system comprising:
a plurality of cameras mounted on the feederhouse of the agricultural machine (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… the sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”);
a plurality of camera sensors mounted on the feederhouse, each of the plurality of cameras in a relationship with one of the plurality of cameras (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…”);
an actuator connected to the feederhouse (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…”); and
a controller (See at least [0018] of Tippery – “… wherein the controller responsively enables … autonomous alignment … between the feeder house opening and the target area to facilitate coupling…”) configured to:
actuate the actuator to move the feederhouse in a first manner (See at least [0027] of Tippery – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…”); and
actuate the actuator to move the feederhouse in a second manner (See at least [0027] – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g. actuators… that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22…” and [0023] of Tippery – “… the lateral tilt assembly 22 of the feeder house 16…”).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose the system comprising:
a plurality of lasers;
a plurality of laser sensors, each of the plurality of lasers in a relationship with one of the plurality of lasers.
However, Kahn, in the same field of endeavor teaches the system comprising:
a plurality of lasers laser (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”);
a plurality of laser sensors, each of the plurality of lasers in a relationship with one of the plurality of lasers (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Kahn teaches a system for cab-trailer that uses laser scanners mounted on a vehicle that detect a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another surface such as a trailer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of a plurality of laser sensors, each of the plurality of lasers in a relationship with one of the plurality of lasers as taught by Kahn, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another object’s surface as specified in at least [0033] of Kahn.
Furthermore, Tippery also fails to specifically disclose detect radiation from a first laser of the plurality of lasers by one of a first laser sensor of the plurality of laser sensors corresponding to the first laser; and
detect radiation from a second laser of the plurality of lasers by a second laser sensor of the plurality of laser sensors that corresponds to the second laser.
However, Missotten, in the same field of endeavor teaches detect radiation from a first laser of the plurality of lasers by one of a first laser sensor of the plurality of laser sensors corresponding to the first laser (See at least [0121]-[0122] of Missotten – “… the first laser transceiver 322 (or any radiation sensors disclosed herein) may be positioned on a top edge of the first wall 336… The first laser transceiver 322 comprises a laser emitter capable of emitting a first radiation signal towards a second wall … laser transceiver 322 further comprises a laser receiver capable of receiving/detecting the first radiation signal reflected back towards the first laser transceiver 322…”); and
detect radiation from a second laser of the plurality of lasers by a second laser sensor of the plurality of laser sensors that corresponds to the second laser (See at least [0121]-[0122] of Missotten – “… the first laser transceiver 322 (or any radiation sensors disclosed herein) may be positioned on a top edge of the first wall 336… The first laser transceiver 322 comprises a laser emitter capable of emitting a first radiation signal towards a second wall … laser transceiver 322 further comprises a laser receiver capable of receiving/detecting the first radiation signal reflected back towards the first laser transceiver 322…” Examiner notes that detecting radiation from a second laser, as similarly taught above for a first laser using radiation sensors, is well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Missotten teaches a laser transceiver device that is capable of detecting a radiation signal reflected back to the laser transceiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of detecting reflected radiation of the lasers by laser sensors as taught by Missotten, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to measure a distance to an object’s surface as specified in at least [0122] of Missotten.
For claim 18, Tippery discloses wherein the controller being configured to actuate the actuator to move the feederhouse in a first manner includes the controller being configured to actuate the actuator to move the feederhouse in an orthogonal manner (See at least [0027] – “…the controller of the combine 10 may …take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators responsible for activating the cylinder(s) that raises and lowers, the feeder house 16…” and Fig. 4A of Tippery – the feeder house 16 may be raised or lowered in the vertical directions which are orthogonal to the top view plane defining the distance between the feeder house 16 and header 12).
For claim 19, Tippery discloses wherein the controller being configured to actuate the actuator to move the feederhouse in a second manner includes the controller being configured to actuate the actuator to rotate the feederhouse about a center of rotation defined by the aligned first laser (See at least [0017] – “…cylinder(s) (not shown in FIG. 1) may be actuated by the controller to cause a tilt assembly of the feeder house 16 to roll relative to an axis running longitudinally through the feeder house 16. Such movements of the feeder house 16 not only facilitate the alignment of the feeder house 16 with a target area of the header 12, but also enable the header 12 to more closely follow the contours of the ground during operations…”, [0027] – “Upon activation, the controller of the combine 10 may … take command … sub-system control (e.g., actuators … that control the cylinder(s) that control the lateral tilt assembly 22 … responsive to signals from the sensor 18, activates the necessary directional movement of the combine 10… the sequence of images includes the imaging of a target area of the header 12 and the feeder house 16 to determine coordinates of the same to enable alignment before coupling… As the controller of the combine 10 causes the combine 10 to close the distance to the header 12, the controller may also activate one or more sub-systems to align the height of the feeder house opening relative to the target area of the header 12… Another sub-system activated may be the lateral tilt assembly 22, such as if the terrain upon which the combine 10 rests and/or the terrain or trailer upon which the header 12 rests is uneven…”, and Claim 21 of Tippery – “… the lateral tilt assembly is moveable about a pivot axis, and wherein the control system is configured to cause pivoting movement of the lateral tilt assembly around the pivot axis when aligning the feeder house with the target area…”).
For claim 20, Tippery discloses wherein the plurality of sensors comprises four sensors, wherein each of the sensors is positioned adjacent to a corner of the feederhouse (See at least [0018]-[0019] of Tippery – “… the sensor 18 may be mounted on other locations on the combine 10 (e.g., on the feeder house 16… there may be a plurality of sensors 18 located on the combine 10… sensor 18 may be a non-stereoscopic camera (e.g., used alone or with one or more other cameras… targets and/or special features in and/or around the target area of the header 12 may be imaged by the cameras to identify spatial relationships, depths, etc., enabling the alignment and subsequent coupling between the feeder house 16 and the header 12 based on triangulation of coordinate points pertaining to the features of the target area and the feeder house 16…” Examiner notes that the plurality of sensors may be positioned on various locations on the feeder house which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are adjacent to a corner of the feeder house).
Tippery fails to specifically disclose the plurality of lasers.
However, Kahn, in the same field of endeavor teaches the plurality of lasers (See at least [0031]-[0033] of Kahn – “… Laser scanners can be mounted in a variety of locations. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the tractor unit 210 has a side-mounted scanner 140A mounted on each side of the cab … the example shown in FIG. 2… the cab-trailer angle B is detected based on information received from one or both of the side-mounted scanners 140A... cab-trailer angle continues to change as the truck proceeds in the backing maneuver to position 202C, where the tractor unit 210 and trailer 212 are in alignment…”). Thus, Tippery discloses a system for an agriculture vehicle that uses sensors on the feeder house of the vehicle to recognize target areas of an implement and guide the alignment and coupling between the feeder house and implement, while Kahn teaches a system for cab-trailer that uses laser scanners mounted on a vehicle that detect a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another surface such as a trailer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and computer-implemented method as disclosed in Tippery to include the feature of a plurality of lasers positioned adjacent to a corner of the feederhouse as taught by Kahn, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a relative angle and alignment between the vehicle and another object’s surface as specified in at least [0033] of Kahn.
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668