DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 4/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is not persuasive because applicant failed to provide any grounds or arguments in support of the traverse.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bechtel (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0297469).
Regarding Claim 1, Bechtel teaches a metal sheet screw position template (Fig. 2, 10), comprising:
a horizontal alignment hole (Fig. 2, 26) to indicate a proper horizontal screw position ([0032]: the proper positioning of the tool relative to the workpiece in the longitudinal direction…);
a vertical alignment hole (Fig. 5, 31a) to indicate a proper vertical screw position ([0003]: drilling one or more holes through the panels to accommodate the passage of threaded fasteners therethrough, and the like.) ([0028]: The housing 41 of the operation-performing device 40 is then moved through the opening 31a or the body until the housing 41 is located in a desired location relative to the bod of the tail portion 30.) (Fig. 2, a vertical direction aligns with a direction of the tail portion 30); and
a divot (Fig. 2, 35a) designed to receive a metal sheet rib (Fig. 2, 102) ([0031]).
Examiner notes that the claim language such as “designed to receive a metal rib” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Bechtel’ template is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)
Regarding Claim 3, Bechtel teaches the metal sheet screw position template of claim 1 further comprising a handle (Fig. 1, 30) for carrying said metal sheet screw position template (Fig. 1, the tail portion (30) have a hat cross-section that would be ideal for holding with a hand.).
Examiner notes that the claim language such as “for carrying said metal sheet screw position template” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Bechtel’ tail portion (30) is clearly capable of performing the intended use. (see MPEP 2114)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0297469) in view of Brewington (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0133902).
Regarding Claim 2, Bechtel teaches the metal sheet screw position template of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a magnet for firmly attaching a metal sheet to said metal sheet screw position template.
Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to make the corrugated panels commonly used in a structure such as roof and wall panels in building (Bechtel [0003]) using a metal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the corrugated panels of Bechtel with a metal since the metal is relatively light, inexpensive, strong, durable and weather resistant.
Brewington teaches a magnet (Fig. 1, 3) for firmly attaching a door jamb to said a drilling template (Fig. 1, 1) ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more magnets to the metal sheet screw position template in order to firmly attach the metal sheet screw position template of Bechtel to the corrugated panels made of metal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Taylor (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0127865) teaches divots (Fig. 2A, 50), however does not teach a horizontal alignment hole and a vertical alignment hole.
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 7/29/2026