DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The four (4) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/20/2023; 10/04/2023; 11/21/2023; and 06/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 311 (Fig. 3); 1302 (Fig. 12).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1416” has been used to designate both “GRAIN LOSS LIMIT” and “GRAIN CLEANLINESS (OR MOG/FOREIGN MATERIAL) LIMIT” (Fig. 13). It appears that “GRAIN LOSS LIMIT” should have been enumerated as reference character “1415” therein and the Examiner suggests Applicant may wish to amend Fig. 13 to recite “GRAIN LOSS LIMIT 1416”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears block 1302 may have inadvertently been recited in the Specification as block 1304 (Para. [00151]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0293507 to Burns et al. (hereinafter Burns).
Regarding claim 1, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) comprising:
one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]) configured to detect a grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]), and generate sensor data indicative of the detected grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
a display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]);
one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093])
memory (Paras. [0029], [0039], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]-[0096], [0101]); and
computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), stored in the memory (Paras. [0029], [0039], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]-[0096], [0101]), and executable by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), configuring the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) an interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprising:
a limit interface display element (lines 250, 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a limit of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); and
a characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a graph (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) indicative of values of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (see Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 2, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig.; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) is one of grain loss (Figs. 5-6, 9), grain brokenness (Figs. 5-6, 8, 11), or grain cleanliness (e.g., MOG) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 3, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) comprises
a first grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., one of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061])),
wherein the limit interface display element (lines 250, 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) is a first limit display element (line 250) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a first limit of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]),
wherein the characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240 or 242 (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) is a first characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240 or 242) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a first graph (strip chart(s) 238, 240 or 242) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of values of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (See Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11),
wherein the one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]) are configured to detect a second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and generate sensor data indicative of the second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and
wherein the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), further configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), further comprising:
a second limit interface display element (lines 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a second limit of the second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); and
a second characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a second graph (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of values of the second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (See Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 4, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 3 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]) are configured to detect a third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., third of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and generate sensor data indicative of the third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., third of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and wherein the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), further configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), further comprising:
a third limit interface display element (see, e.g., Figs. 5, 8-9, 11) indicative of a third limit (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]) of the third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., third of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); and
a third characteristic value interface display element (see, e.g., Figs. 5, 8-9, 11) comprising a third graph (see, e.g., Figs. 5, 8-9, 11) indicative of values of the third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., third of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (see, e.g., Figs. 5, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 5, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the limit interface display element (lines 250, 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprises a line (lines 250, 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) incorporated into the graph (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]), wherein the graph (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprises an X axis comprising a time scale (see Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) and a Y axis comprises a value scale (see Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) corresponding to the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]), wherein the line is positioned at a location along the Y axis (see Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 6, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the graph further comprises a first graph display element (see Fig. 6) comprising a first graph display element line (e.g., line/curve of strip chart 238) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) and a first graph display element area (e.g., area below the line/curve of strip chart 238) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) that indicates a first proportion of the grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., grain loss) attributable to a first subsystem (e.g., separator 146) (Fig. 2; Para. [0022]) of the mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) and a second graph display element comprising a second graph display element line (e.g., line/curve of strip chart 240) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) and a second graph display element area (e.g., area below the line/curve of strip chart 240) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) that indicates a second proportion of the grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., grain loss) attributable to a second subsystem (e.g., cleaning shoe 146) (Fig. 2; Para. [0022]) of the mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]), wherein the first graph display element and the second graph display element are stacked (e.g., overlaid) (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), further configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) further comprising:
a limit adjuster interface display element (e.g., calibration user input mechanism) (Para. [0034]) that is interactable to provide for adjustment of the limit (Paras. [0033]-[0036]) of the grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), further configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) further comprising:
a productivity display portion (productivity display section 230) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) comprising a productivity interface display element (e.g., yield graph display 236) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) indicative of a value of a productivity characteristic (e.g., yield) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Burns discloses a computer implemented method (Fig. 4) comprising:
obtaining sensor data, from one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]), indicative of a grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) detected by the one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]);
generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on a display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), an interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprising:
a limit interface display element (lines 250, 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a limit of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); and
a characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a graph (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) indicative of values of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (see Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 13, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method wherein obtaining sensor data, from one or more sensors, indicative of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) comprises
obtaining sensor data, from one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]), indicative of a first grain processing quality characteristic (a first one of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and a second grain processing quality characteristic (a second one of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
wherein generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprises generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on a display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprising:
a first limit interface display element (line 250) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a first limit of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
a first characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a graph (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) indicative of values of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11);
a second limit interface display element (lines 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a second limit of the second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); and
a second characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a second graph (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of values of the second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 14, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method wherein obtaining sensor data from one or more sensors indicative of the grain processing quality characteristic comprises obtaining sensor data, from one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]), indicative of a first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196, such as quantity of broken grain) (Figs. 4, 6; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]), a second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196, such as quantity of foreign material) (Figs. 4, 6; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]), and a third grain processing quality characteristic (third of quality metrics 196, such as quantity of un-threshed product in the tailings) (Figs. 4, 6; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]):
wherein generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprises generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprising:
a first limit interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of a first limit of the first grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of broken grain) (Fig. 8; Para. [0043]);
a first characteristic value interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) comprising a graph (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of values of the first grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of MOG Light) (Fig. 8; Para. [0060]) over time (See Fig. 8); and
a second limit interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of a second limit of the second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of MOG Light) (Fig. 8; Para. [0060]);
a second characteristic value interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) comprising a second graph (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of values of the second grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of MOG Light) (Fig. 8; Para. [0060]) over time (See Fig. 8);
a third limit interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of a third limit of the third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of MOG Heavy) (Fig. 8; Para. [0060]); and
a third characteristic value interface display element (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) comprising a third graph (see Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns infra) indicative of values of the third grain processing quality characteristic (e.g., quantity of MOG Heavy) (Fig. 8; Para. [0060]) over time (See Fig. 8).
[AltContent: textbox (First Characteristic
Value Display Element(s))]
[AltContent: textbox (Fourth Limit Interface
Display Element(s))][AltContent: textbox (Third Limit Interface
Display Element(s))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fourth Characteristic
Value Display Element(s))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third Characteristic
Value Display Element(s))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Characteristic
Value Display Element(s))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Limit Interface
Display Element(s))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Limit Interface
Display Element(s))]
Annotated Fig. 8 of Burns.
Regarding claim 16, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method wherein the graph (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) comprises an X axis comprising a time scale (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) and a Y axis comprising a value scale (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) corresponding to the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]); wherein the limit interface display element (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) comprises a line (See Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) incorporated into the graph (See Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) and disposed at a position along the Y axis (See Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11).
Regarding claim 17, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 16 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method wherein generating, on the display screen, the interface comprises generating, on the display screen, the interface further comprising a limit adjust interface display element that is interactable to adjust the limit of the grain processing quality characteristic, the computer implemented method further comprising:
receiving interaction with the limit adjuster interface display element to adjust the limit of the grain processing quality characteristic;
generating, on the display screen, an updated interface comprising:
an updated characteristic value interface display element comprising the graph comprising the X axis and
an updated Y axis comprising a rescaled value scale corresponding to the grain processing quality characteristic based on adjustment of the limit of the grain processing quality characteristic, the line incorporated into the graph and disposed at the position along the updated Y axis.
Regarding claim 18, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method wherein generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface comprises generating (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]), on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]), the interface further comprising:
a productivity display portion (productivity display section 230) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) comprising a productivity interface display element (e.g., yield graph display 236) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) comprising a productivity graph (See Fig. 6) that indicates the values of one or more productivity characteristics (e.g., yield) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) over time (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a method and further comprising:
generating a control signal (Fig. 4; Para. [0050]) to control a controllable subsystem (Para. [0050]) of the agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) based on the limit of the grain processing quality characteristic (one or more quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0050], [0059]-[0061]) and a value of the grain processing quality characteristic (Para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Burns discloses an agricultural harvesting system comprising:
one or more sensors (on-board sensors 124) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0028], [0033]) configured to detect a first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and a second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and generate sensor data indicative of the detected first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) and the detected second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
a display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]);
one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093])
memory (Paras. [0029], [0039], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]-[0096], [0101]); and
computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), stored in the memory (Paras. [0029], [0039], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]-[0096], [0101]), and executable by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) an interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) comprising:
a first limit interface display element (line 250) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a first limit of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
a second limit interface display element (lines 258) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of a second limit of the second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]);
a first characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a graph (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11) indicative of values of the first grain processing quality characteristic (first of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11); and
a second characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprising a second graph (strip chart(s) 252, 254 or 256) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) indicative of values of the second grain processing quality characteristic (second of quality metrics 196) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0033], [0042]-[0043], [0059]-[0061]) over time (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11); and
display the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) on the display screen (one or more of user interface displays 106, display device 118, display 174, display 228) (Abstract; Figs. 1-11; Paras. [0003], [0005], [0018], [0020]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0038], [0041], [0044]-[0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0359919 to Blank et al. (hereinafter Blank) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 09/20/2023).
Regarding claim 7, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]) comprises a first characteristic value interface display element (strip chart(s) 238, 240, 242, 252, 254, 256, 318 and/or 320) (Figs. 5-6, 8-9, 11; Paras. [0042]-[0043]). However, Burns does not disclose an agricultural harvester wherein the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) further comprising:
a second characteristic value interface display element, separate from the first characteristic value interface display element and indicative of a current value of the grain processing quality characteristic.
Nevertheless, Blank teaches an agricultural harvester (agricultural machine/combine 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0034]-[0047]) wherein the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to:
generate the interface (See Fig. 13) further comprising:
a second characteristic value interface display element (instant metric display section 430) (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]), separate from the first characteristic value interface display element (trend display element 428) (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]) and indicative of a current value of the grain processing quality characteristic (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester with a display screen displaying strip charts disclosed in Burns with the displaying current values of the grain processing quality characteristic, as taught in Blank with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an easy-to-read display of the current value of the quality characteristic so the operator would not have to guess/estimate the current value displayed in the strip chart. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester with a display screen displaying strip charts disclosed in Burns with the displaying current values of the grain processing quality characteristic, as taught in Blank with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Burns discloses the computer implemented method of claim 12 (see above). However, Burns does not expressly disclose a method wherein generating, on the display screen, the interface comprises generating, on the display screen, the interface further comprising:
a fourth characteristic value interface display element next to the first characteristic value interface display element, the fourth characteristic value interface display element indicative of a current value of the first characteristic;
a fifth characteristic value interface display next to the second characteristic value interface display element, the fifth characteristic value interface display element indicative of a current value of the second characteristic; and
a sixth characteristic value interface display element next to the third characteristic value interface display element, the sixth characteristic value interface display element indicative of a current value of the third characteristic.
Nevertheless, Blank teaches a method wherein generating, on the display screen, the interface comprises generating, on the display screen, the interface further comprising a characteristic value interface display element (instant metric display section 430) (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]), the characteristic value interface display element (instant metric display section 430) (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]) indicative of a current value of the first characteristic (Fig. 13; Para. [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester with a display screen displaying strip charts disclosed in Burns with the displaying current values of the grain processing quality characteristic, as taught in Blank with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an easy-to-read display of the current value of the quality characteristic so the operator would not have to guess/estimate the current value displayed in the strip chart. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester with a display screen displaying strip charts disclosed in Burns with the displaying current values of the grain processing quality characteristic, as taught in Blank with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Furthermore, while Burns in view of Blank does not disclose three separate current values each associated with a different quality characteristic, it would have been obvious to include as many metric displays taught in Blank as desired and associated with any quality measures desired, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of European Pat. Pub. No. EP 4 183 443 A1 to Schmeling et al. (hereinafter Schmeling).
Regarding claim 9, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 8 (see above). However, Burns does not expressly disclose that the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to:
upon interaction with the limit adjuster interface display element, generate a limit adjuster interface comprising an interactable adjustment interface display element that is interactable to adjust the limit of the grain processing quality characteristic.
Nevertheless, Schmeling teaches that the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the one or more processors to:
upon interaction with the limit adjuster interface display element, generate a limit adjuster interface (Figs. 6L, 6M; Para. [0140]) comprising an interactable adjustment interface display element (reaction-threshold widget(s) 609A, 690B) that is interactable to adjust the limit (recovery threshold(s) depicted in signal graph 686) (Figs. 6L, 6M; Para. [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester disclosed in Burns with the interactable adjustment interface display elements taught in Schmeling with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate adjustment of thresholds to a user-desired level. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester disclosed in Burns with the interactable adjustment interface display elements taught in Schmeling with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0084855 to Tirman.
Regarding claim 11, Burns discloses the mobile agricultural harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Burns discloses a mobile agricultural harvester (mobile machine 102) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0017]-[0023], [0030]-[0037], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0071]-[0077], [0084]) wherein the computer executable instructions (Paras. [0090], [0094], [0098]), when executed by the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]), further configure the one or more processors (processor(s) 114, 17) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0020], [0079], [0086], [0090], [0093]) to:
generate (step 192) (Fig. 4; Para. [0033]) the interface (Abstract; Figs. 2-12; Paras. [0042]-[0048]) further comprising:
a productivity display portion (productivity display section 230) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) comprising a productivity interface display element (e.g., strip charts 238, 240, 242) (Fig. 6; Para. [0042]) comprising a productivity graph (see Fig. 6) indicative of values of a first productivity characteristic (e.g., separator loss) over time (see Fig. 6) and indicative of values of a second productivity characteristic (e.g., shoe loss) over time (see Fig. 6);
wherein the productivity graph (see Fig. 6) comprises an X axis comprising a time scale (see Fig. 6), a first Y axis comprising a first value scale (see Fig. 6) corresponding to the first productivity characteristic (e.g., separator loss), a first line (e.g., line of strip chart 238) (see Fig. 6) indicative of values of the first productivity characteristic (e.g., separator loss) across the time scale, and a second line (e.g., line of strip chart 240) (see Fig. 6) indicative of values of the second productivity characteristic (e.g., shoe loss) over the time scale.
However, Burns does not expressly disclose a second Y axis comprising a second value scale corresponding to the second productivity characteristic. Nevertheless, it is exceptionally well-known in the art of displaying data on graphs to have two lines with different ranges that utilize a y-axis scale on a left side of the graph and a different y-axis scale on a right side of the graph to allow graphing two characteristics on the same graph. Tirman teaches a graph having a first Y axis comprising a first value scale (Fig. 17; Para. [0104]) and a second Y axis comprising a second value scale (Fig. 17; Para. [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester disclosed in Burns with the first and second Y axes taught in Tirman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow graphs of characteristics with dissimilar values to be presented on a single graph to provide greater data density on a single graph. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the agricultural harvester disclosed in Burns with the first and second Y axes taught in Tirman with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671