DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fung et al [2016/0001781] in view of Boykin et al [US 2018/0050800] and Bombini et al [US 20190302449]
Consider claim 1. An auxiliary safety device for a vehicle (the vehicle 100, 1900
includes a vehicle system 126 with external mounted cameras, radar, image, laser and
thermal sensors and illuminating lights located in various areas of the vehicle 100 such
as in the front and roof for alerting/warning the external/surrounding objects such as
animals, pedestrian, biker or other vehicles, see Figs. 1A, 2, 19, 135-140, para [0225-
0227, 0373, 0394, 0395, 0429, 0917, 0920]), comprising: a lighting assembly comprises
at least a plurality of lights arranged to illuminate a space ahead of the vehicle from the mounted location on the vehicle (the vehicle ahead/front visual devices 140, the response system 188, the collision warning system 218 and the turn signal control system 240 controls the turn signal indicator lamps and/or roof lights such as brightness levels, color, flash light, light pattern and/or audible based on emergency event to provide warnings to the objects, obstacle, pedestrians and/or other vehicles, see Figs. 1, 2, 44, 72, 115, para [0232, 0251, 0252, 0262, 0405, 0722, 0808, 0809]);
a video assembly comprises one or more video cameras monitoring at least part of the
environment outside the vehicle from the mounted location on the vehicle to detect one or more of humans, animals or objects ahead of the vehicle, wherein the video assembly comprises at least one thermal video camera which detects at least humans/animals ahead of the vehicle under poor visibility conditions (as cited above, wherein the vehicle system 126 includes the surveillance cameras 162 such as digital camera and the video camera with the thermal sensing device 166 could be located on roof or in any other portion of the vehicle to detect the thermal information about the vehicle environment, see Figs. 1A, 2, para [0256, 0388, 0474]); and
a controller which at least causes the plurality of lights to flash or strobe at a human, or
animal or obstacle detected by the video assembly (the controller ECU 106 controls
vehicle ahead/front visual devices 140, the response system 188, the collision warning
system 218 and the turn signal control system 240 controls the turn signal indicator
lamps and/or roof lights such as brightness levels, color, flash light, light pattern and/or
audible based on emergency event to provide warnings to the objects, obstacle,
pedestrians and/or other vehicles, see Figs. 1A, 1B, 2, 44, 72, 106-115, 138, 140, para
[0232, 0251, 0252, 0262, 0405, 0416, 0722, 0808, 0809]). But
Fung et al fails to disclose auxiliary safety device for a vehicle, configured to be separate from a vehicle lighting system, comprising: and a housing suitable to be mounted at a mounted location on board of the vehicle and a lighting assembly and video assembly which are at least partially accommodated in the housing. However,
Fung et al teaches that the motor vehicle 100 can include a response system 188, the collision warning system 218 and/or roof lights, and the turn signal control system 240 controls the turn signal indicator lamps, external cameras, radar, laser sensors, among other and/or roof lights such as brightness levels, color, flash light, light pattern and/or audible based on emergency event to provide warnings to the objects, obstacle, pedestrians and/or other vehicles, see Figs. 1A, 2, 44, 72, 115, para [0225, 0227, 0232, 0251, 0252, 0262, 0405, 0722, 0808, 0809]).
The motor vehicle 100 can include a lane monitoring system 228 can warn a driver
and/or work in conjunction with the lane keep assist system 226 to assist in maintaining
control of the vehicle to avoid potential collisions and/or dangerous situations. The lane
keep assist system 226 and/or the lane monitoring system 228 can include sensors
and/or optical devices such as digital camera and video cameras located in various areas of the vehicle 100 such as front, rear, sides, roof (see Figs. 1, 2, para [0256, 0388]).
Boykin et al suggests that the docking station for a UAV, wherein the docking station is
configured for mounting on a vehicle and is configured for permitting a UAV to dock at
the docking station. The vehicle can be an automobile (e.g., a police car), or other
terrestrial, or non-terrestrial (e.g., flying, water-going) vehicle. As seen in FIG. 22,
UAV 2202 is docked in docking station 2204, which is mounted on police vehicle 2206.
While docking station 2204 is shown as mounted on the roof of police vehicle 2206, at a
location where a siren or light bar (not shown) may be disposed, docking
station 2204 may be mounted at another location on the roof of the vehicle 2206 or
elsewhere (not on the roof) of the vehicle 2206. Docking station 2204 may but need not
be mounted on, physically connected to, or formed integrally with a siren, light bar,
luggage rack, or other element of vehicle 2206 (see Figs. 22, para [0123-0128]).
The UAV 2202 may also have a light device for issuing a visual alert (e.g., flash of light) or a light (e.g., flash of light) for the purpose of thwarting a suspect threatening or attacking an officer by obstructing the suspect's view, or for another purpose (see Figs. 26C, 26D, para [0147]). Instead of or in addition to the spherical camera, another type of camera that may be used is a zoom block type camera. In some embodiment, thermal cameras, infrared cameras, or other types of cameras may be employed. In some embodiments, cameras may be mounted on a (e.g., two-axis or three-axis) gimbal (see Figs. 30A, 30B, para [0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add or implement the stand-alone docket station including
flashing lights and thermal video camera mounted on the roof of a vehicle of Boykin et
al to the monitoring camera, sensor and roof lights mounted on a vehicle's roof of Fung
et al for easily mounting and/or removing the stand-alone dock to/from the vehicle's roof
and to providing a highest with clear observation, detecting and monitoring any animal,
object, pedestrian, people surrounding a vehicle, such removeable dock is well known
use in police vehicle and emergency vehicle.
Fung et al also fails to disclose a cleaning apparatus for cleaning and/or heating at least part of the light assembly and/or the video assembly, the cleaning apparatus comprising one or more inlets/outlets for connection to a liquid or air pressure tank provided in the vehicle or even inside the housing itself. However,
According to the combination of the lights and cameras mounted on the roof of a vehicle 100, 1900 between Fung et al and Boykin et al providing a highest with clear observation, detecting and monitoring any animal, object, pedestrian, people surrounding a vehicle as above.
Bombini et al suggests that the apparatus 100a-100n in the context of a vehicle 50 is shown. The apparatus 100a is shown implemented in a rear side area of the vehicle 50. The apparatus 100b is shown implemented on a top area of the vehicle 50, e.g., to clean a roof-mounted camera 72, see Figs. 1, 13-15, para [0023, 0052]).
[0035] Referring to FIGS. 2, 5, 12, a variety of speeds may be used to provide sufficient airflow to keep dust and/or debris from accumulating on the lens 116a. The speed of the airflow from the inlet or opening 120 is generally determined by the airflow capacity of the fan 150. Airflow in the range of around 20 m/s may be used. In some implementations the air speed may be modulated (e.g., increased or decreased).
[0036] Referring to FIG. 6, in an example, the blower outlet 112 may be implemented as a separate piece that may be secured to the camera mount rig 70 and/or the camera body 72. In another example (to be described in connection with FIGS. 10 and 11), the blower outlet 112 may be integrated into a housing of a camera assembly. The opening 112 is shown having a shape corresponding to a contour of the edge 118.
[0050] By pulling air from the filter 250, the fans 150a-150b may present a clean airflow 162a′″-162b′″ across the lenses 116a-116b. The clean airflow 162a′″-162b′″ may blow debris off the lenses 116a-116b without depositing new dirt and/or debris onto the lenses 116a-116b. The filter 250 may be replaceable. Replacing the filter 250 may ensure that the filter 250 is capable of providing the clean airflow 162a′″-162b′″.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the airflow to clean the camera’s lens of Bombini et al to the lights and video cameras of Fung et al and Boykin et al for providing greater clearing lenses a better output results. And wherein the driver cannot manually clean the lenses while driving. Consumers expect a maintenance free operation of cameras in such an environment (see Bombini et al, para [0003]).
In some embodiments, the apparatus 100 may be implemented to clean other types of sensors. For example, instead of cleaning the lenses 116, the apparatus 100 may clean other data acquisition devices. In one example, the apparatus 100 may clean debris from a LIDAR sensor. In another example, the apparatus 100 may clean debris from radar and/or infrared sensors. In still another example, the apparatus 100 may clean debris from headlights and/or vehicle flood lights. The types of sensors and/or objects that the apparatus 100 may be configured to clean may be varied according to the design criteria of a particular implementation (see Bombini et al, para [0062]).
Consider claim 2. The auxiliary safety device of claim 1, wherein the at least one
controller generates an alert indicative of the presence, ahead of the vehicle, of at least
one human or animal or object detected by the video assembly (as cited in respect to
claim 1 above, wherein the controller alerts to indicate a presence of one or more
objects such as animal, pedestrian and/or other vehicle, see Figs. 1A, 103-106, para
[0318, 0791, 0794]).
Consider claim 3. The auxiliary safety device of claim 1, wherein the at least one
controller activates a haptic feedback for the driver of the vehicle indicative of the
presence ahead of the vehicle of at least one human or animal or object detected by the
video assembly (the haptic indicator or haptic warning to a driver, see Figs. 66, para
[0715, 0746]).
Consider claim 4. The auxiliary safety device of claim 1, wherein the at least one
controller activates at least one speaker mounted onboard of the vehicle to emit sound
when the presence ahead of the vehicle of at least one human or animal or object has
been detected (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the audio device 144
could be speakers for alerting/warning, see Figs. 1A, 107, 108, 115, para [0233]).
Consider claim 5. The auxiliary safety device of claim 1, wherein the video assembly
further comprises a Dash cam which monitors at least part of the environment around
the vehicle (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, wherein the video cameras 162 could
be mounted to the interior dashboard of the vehicle 100, Figs. 32, 35, para [0539]).
Consider claim 6. The auxiliary safety device of claim 5, wherein the Dash cam
activates an alarm of the vehicle and/or outputs an alarm message when detecting an
individual touching or being in proximity of the vehicle (as cited in respect to claims 1
and 5 above, and including the touch screen and the proximity sensor 184 could be
used to detect the distance between any part of the driver and any portion of the vehicle
100 and/or the ultrasonic proximity sensor for sensing objects near the vehicle 100 and
then to provide an alert device 1910, see Figs. 1A, 4, 19, para [0222, 0232, 0389, 0395,
0428, 0429]).
Consider claim 11. The auxiliary safety device of claim 1, further comprising a
localization device which tracks at least the position of the safety auxiliary device (as
cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the LSF system 212, ACC system 216,
the response system 12900 and GPS 1912 to monitor and obtain the location of the
vehicle 100 or 1900 with the roof auxiliary cameras and other sensors to provide a
collision warning 218, and the relative position of a preceding vehicle detected by the
vehicle, see Figs. 1A, 2, 19, 129, 134, para [0248, 0250, 0251, 0402, 0404, 0405, 0430,
0858-0860, 0890]).
Consider claim 12. A vehicle comprising the auxiliary safety device of claim 1 (as cited
in respect to claim 1 above, wherein vehicle system 126 with external mounted
cameras, radar, image, laser and thermal sensors and illuminating lights located in
various areas of the vehicle 100 such as in the front and roof for alerting/warning the
external/surrounding objects such as animals, pedestrian, biker or other vehicles, see
Figs. 1A, 2, 19, 135- 140, para [0225-0227, 0373, 0394, 0395, 0429, 0917, 0920]).
Consider claim 13. The vehicle of claim 12, wherein the auxiliary safety device is
installed at a position higher than that of a steering wheel of the vehicle (the auxiliary
cameras and lightings are mounted on the roof of vehicle 100 is higher than the steering
wheel, see Figs. 91, 92, 97, 98. 1-3, 104, 109-122, 124, 136, 137]).
Consider claim 14. The vehicle of claim 12, wherein the auxiliary safety device is
installed on a roof of the vehicle (the vehicle 100 includes lights and sensors are
mounted in front, rear, side and roof, see Fig. 72, para [0410, 0722]).
Consider claim 15. The vehicle of claim 12, wherein the vehicle is a heavy duty vehicle
(the motor vehicle 100 is not limited to cars, vans, SUVs and trucks, see para [0207]).
Consider claim 16. The vehicle of claim 15, wherein the heavy duty vehicle is a truck
(the truck, see para [0207]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung et al
[2016/0001781] and Boykin et al [US 2018/0050800] and Bombini et al [US 2019/0302449] and further in view of Lu [CN 108454502]
Consider claim 7. Fung et al fails to disclose the lighting assembly comprises at least
one light sensor which turns off or causes the plurality of lights to be turned off when
detecting light of any vehicle upcoming from an opposite direction. However,
Fung et al teaches that the steering wheel 134 can be actuated and turned in a direction away from the target vehicle 12402. In another embodiment, a lane keep assist system 226 can be actuated to keep the motor vehicle 100 in the current lane. In another embodiment, the response system 188 can actuate an auto control status (e.g., vehicle mode selector system 238) and/or a braking system to safely stop the vehicle (see Fig. 120, para [0838]).
Lu suggests that the when the automobiles meet at night, the high beam light can be
automatically turned off or automatically converted to a low beam light. A light sensor is
arranged on the front window glass of the automobile. When the automobile runs at
night, if the brightness of the high beam light of the opposite automobile reaches the
light intensity set by the light sensor, the light sensor controls the high beam light of
the automobile to be automatically turned off (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to implement the automatically turn off the light when it detected
the light of opposite vehicle of Lu to the auto control response system of Fung et al and
Boykin et al and Bombini et al for further turning off the auxiliary docket light for minimizing or reducing of lighting flares and distractions to the opposite vehicle as to prevent of accident or collisions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung et al
[2016/0001781] and Boykin et al [US 2018/0050800] and Bombini et al [US 2019/0302449] and further in view of Kazuki [GB 2309774A]
Consider claim 8, Fung et al fails to disclose wherein the lighting assembly comprises
at least one sensor which causes the plurality of lights to be adjusted vertically up and
down or to be turned off when detecting that the vehicle is proceeding uphill along a
path having an inclination above a predetermined threshold. However,
Fung et al teaches that the vehicle ahead/front visual devices 140, the response
system 188, the collision warning system 218 and the turn signal control system 240
controls the turn signal indicator lamps and/or roof lights such as brightness levels,
color, flash light, light pattern and/or audible based on emergency event to provide
warnings to the objects, obstacle, pedestrians and/or other vehicles, see Figs. 1, 2, 44,
72, 115, para [0232, 0251, 0252, 0262, 0405, 0722, 0808, 0809]);
Kazuki suggests that the control device 4 detects and controls the illumination direction
of the lamp 6 to be corrected to a position which is set a little upwardly of a reference
position. After then, when the driver starts the vehicle while the illumination direction of
the lamp 6 remains at it is corrected upwardly and/or downwardly, and the vehicle
passes through the downhill slope having a small gradient or large gradient and then
runs into a flat road for improving the visibility thereof and guarantee the safety of the
running of the vehicle. Therefore, when the amount of variations with time of the detect
signal of the vehicle posture detect signal 2 is equal to or greater than a reference or
threshold value, it may judged that the gradient of the road has varied (see abstract,
Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, page 1, lines 25-32, page 2, lines 30-34, page 3, lines 1-33, page 4,
lines 1-13, page 5, lines 24-33, page 7, lines 29-34, page 8, lines 1-34, page 9, lines 1-
34, page 10, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to add or implement the control device to adjust and correct the
upwardly and/or downwardly of the lamp according to the gradient of the road of Kazuki
to the signal control system of Fung et al and Boykin et al and Bombini et al for providing safety and preventing of glare onto an oncoming vehicle and to minimize of collision of a driving vehicle.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung et al
[US 2016/0001781] and Boykin et al [US 2018/0050800] and Bombini et al [US 2019/0302449] and further in view of Frederickson et al [2024/001 1617]
Consider claim 9. Fung et al fails to disclose the plurality of lights comprises a plurality
of dimmable lights. However,
Fung et al teaches that the vehicle 100, 1900 includes a vehicle system 126 with external mounted cameras, radar, image, laser and thermal sensors and illuminating lights located in various areas of the vehicle 100 such as in the front and roof to alert the
extemal or surrounding objects such as animals, pedestrian, biker or other vehicles, see
Figs. 1A, 2, 19, 135-140, para [0225-0227, 0373, 0394, 0395, 0429, 0917, 0920]),
Frederickson et al suggests that the vehicle roof mounted auxiliary crossbar 300
includes cameras, other sensors and a plurality of light sources 314, 334 and a
controller for controlling to adjust the light sources including backlit panel with
individually controllable pixels such as impairs visibility or dimmable by the light
dimmers, see Figs. 3, 5, 7, para [(0048, 0048, 0059, 0076, 0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to substitute the auxiliary light with adjusting light and dimmable of
Frederickson et al to the auxiliary docket light on the roof vehicle of Fung et al and
Boykin et al and Bombini et al for lowering light illuminations and minimizing or reducing of lighting flares and distractions to the opposite vehicle as to prevent of accident or collisions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the RCE and amendment, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under Fung et al and Boykin et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bombini et al to make the rejection smoother according to the amended claim 1.
Conclusion
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
05/20/2026