Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the in response to that remaining unorchestrated to-be-orchestrates tasks cannot be orchestrated” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 is interpreted as depending on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craciunas (US 2016/0246646) and further in view of Nollet (US 8,020,163).
Regarding claim 1, Craciunas teaches: A task scheduling processing method, wherein the task scheduling processing method comprises:
obtaining to-be-orchestrated task information (¶ 48, “The task set is first transformed to a periodic asynchronous task model (p1), preferably an EDF (“Earliest Deadline first”) task model (p1)”) and target resource information (¶ 4, “said tasks are executed on nodes and/or on the at least one starcoupler according to a static task schedule”), wherein the to-be-orchestrated task information comprises periodic task description information corresponding to at least one to-be-orchestrated task (¶ 59, “A TT-task TTi is defined by a tuple (C.sub.i.sup.TT, T.sub.i.sup.TT), where C.sub.i.sup.TT is the worst-case computation time (WCET) and T.sub.i.sup.TT is the period”), and the target resource information comprises available processing resource information (¶ 104, “The network topology of the industrial application consists of 4 pairs of TTE-switches (in total 8 switches) and up to 80 TTEthernet end-systems (nodes)”);
determining a first quantity of (¶ 5, “a) transforming a defined task set to a periodic asynchronous task model (p1), yielding a first quantity of task sets”);
determining an orchestration period based on the to-be-orchestrated task information (¶ 53, “Time-triggered messages (TT-messages) are scheduled periodically at each network device (i.e. switches and end-systems) and transmitted within predefined periodic transmission-windows”);
determining, based on the orchestration period, time slices respectively corresponding to the first quantity of (¶ 56, “we define the schedule based on time slots, where a time slot consists of one or more contiguous macroticks. TT-tasks have a fixed activation time and a dead-line, and are scheduled offline with fixed guaranteed time slots”);
generating a task scheduling table based on the to-be-orchestrated task information and the time slices respectively corresponding to all the (¶ 57, “The schedule for a task set in TT-RTS is specified through a static offline-computed schedule table consisting of a set of time slots, which are either assigned a TT-Task or marked for the execution of BE-Tasks”), wherein the task scheduling table comprises (¶ 50, “This task set—if exists—is then sent to an offline EDF simulator (p5) which generates the optimal schedule based on the EDF algorithm (Section IV-E). The output is then processed into a static schedule table that can be used at run-time by our time-triggered run-time system (Section III-B)”); and
scheduling all the to-be-orchestrated tasks based on the task scheduling table (claim 1, “said tasks are executed on nodes and/or on the at least one starcoupler according to a static task schedule”).
Craciunas does not teach; however, Nollet discloses: the set of tasks are executed as threads (“Dynamic task relocation requires preemption of the task and the transfer of its state information (e.g. contents of its internal registers and memories) to the OS. This state information is then used to initialize the relocated task on a different computation resource (another HW tile or a software thread on the ISP) to smoothly continue the application.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the set of tasks are executed as threads, as taught by Nollet, in the same way to determining a first quantity of tasks, as taught by Craciunas. Both inventions are in the field of real-time task scheduling, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “ensure that granted computing power matches communication needs, in order to provide the required quality of service,” as indicated by Nollet (col. 10:58-60).
Regarding claim 2, Nollet teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the generating a task scheduling table based on the to-be-orchestrated task information and the time slices respectively corresponding to all the threads comprises:
determining, based on the to-be-orchestrated task information and the time slices respectively corresponding to all the threads, the threads respectively corresponding to all the to-be-orchestrated tasks and the corresponding execution time information in the time slice for the thread by using a backtracking algorithm, to generate the task scheduling table (col. 20:43-48, “The backtracking algorithm starts by undoing N (start by N equals one) previous task resource allocations. Then, the PEs are sorted, but instead of choosing the best PE for a certain task, the second best PE is selected. If this does not solve the assignment issue for the current task, backtracking is repeated with N+1”).
Regarding claim 6, Craciunas teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining an orchestration period based on the to-be-orchestrated task information comprises: taking a preset multiple of a least common multiple for the task periods respectively corresponding to all the to-be-orchestrated tasks as the orchestration period (¶ 57, “Since such tables are potentially infinite we incorporate the concept of schedule cycle, which represents the shortest time interval after which the sequence of time slots repeats (i.e. hyperperiod)”).
Regarding claim 7, Craciunas teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the orchestration period, time slices respectively corresponding to the first quantity of threads comprises: for each thread, determining that the time slice corresponding to the thread has the same duration as the orchestration period (¶ 57, “Since such tables are potentially infinite we incorporate the concept of schedule cycle, which represents the shortest time interval after which the sequence of time slots repeats (i.e. hyperperiod)”).
Regarding claim 8, Nollet teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the target resource information comprises a first quantity of available processing resource information; and the determining a first quantity of threads based on the target resource information comprises: determining the first quantity of threads based on the first quantity of processing resource information, wherein the processing resource information is in one-to-one correspondence to the threads (col. 19:63-67, “tasks that can only be mapped on one specific PE should be mapped before all other tasks. This way, the heuristic avoids a mapping failure, that would occur if this specific PE would be occupied by another task”).
Claims 9, 10, and 14-18 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1, 2, and 6-8. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11-13, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No reference or combination of references were uncovered that teaches “performing the step of for any idle time point in the time slice corresponding to any thread, determining, based on the priority sequence, a first to-be-orchestrated task that takes the idle time point as a starting time point, until all the to-be-orchestrated tasks are orchestrated, to obtain the task scheduling table,” as recited in dependent claim 3 and commensurately recited in dependent claims 11 and 19. Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, and 20 depend on claims 3, 11, or 19; therefore, they are objected to as allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ailamaki (US 10,545,789) discloses “dynamic adjustment of concurrency levels and task granularity are disclosed for improved execution of highly concurrent analytical and transactional systems” (abstract), which relates to the recited “scheduling all the to-be-orchestrated tasks” (claim 1).
Piel (US 2017/0212787) discloses “within a time slice, time-limited resources, particularly a computing time, are allotted to the threads by a preemptive first scheduler on the basis of a priority of the threads” (abstract), which relates to the recited “scheduling all the to-be-orchestrated tasks” (claim 1).
/JACOB D DASCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198