DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and anisotropic textile in the reply filed on 01/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no significant search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because there is a significant search or examination burden since each group/species require a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 7-9 and 17-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US 2020/0188098, Jun. 18, 2020) (hereinafter Alkhatib) in view of Winner et al. (US 2019/0231511, Aug. 1, 2019) (hereinafter Winner).
Alkhatib discloses wherein polymer-containing fabric materials (i.e., claimed solvent-sensitive substrate) that may be used for construction of medical devices (¶ [0007]. The polymeric fabric materials include uncoated and coated fabrics. The fabric materials include polyurethanes, polyesters, or combinations thereof (¶ [0008]). The term “fabric” refers to a polymer-fiber containing material having yarns (i.e., fibers) (¶ [0100]). The fabric may be formed from various weaving techniques. “Weft” refers to fibers that extend along the width of the fabric, while “warp” refers to fibers that extend along the length of the fabric (¶ [0112]). The polymeric fabric may be coated with at least one polymer layer to form a coated fabric. “Coated” means that the fabric has a polymer applied to at least a portion of it after the fabric has been formed. In some embodiments, the polymer coating may provide improved or altered properties to the fabric relative to the uncoated fabric. These altered properties may include adjusting the porosity of the fabric (¶ [0010]). The polymers which may be used for the coating include all of those previously identified for use for the fabric. In addition, in some embodiments, the polymer coating can be bioabsorbable, biodegradable, and/or bioerodible (¶ [0011]). The fabric may be engineered to have certain mechanical properties. Other fabric properties that may be sought include a specific anisotropy (¶ [0106]). Different portions of the surface could be coated with different thicknesses and/or different number of layers of polymer. This can be done to provide a coated fabric with areas of greater or lesser porosity (¶ [0127]). The coating could include an active pharmaceutical ingredient. The coating may include anti-oxidants (¶ [0116]). Very thin polymer layers may be applied to simply fill the open pores in the fabric (i.e., meeting an integrated interphase boundary in which the coating infiltrates the solvent-sensitive substrate) (¶ [0119]). The coated fabric may also include intermediate materials or layers intended to improve adhesion between the polymer layers and the fabric layers (i.e., meeting a non-integrated interface boundary in which the coating is free of intermixing with or infiltration into the solvent-sensitive substrate) (¶ [0122]). The porosity of the fabric may allow cells to flow through a prosthetic heart valve (¶ [0103]). A pre-prepared film may be laminated to one or more surfaces of the fabric (¶ [0014]).
Alkhatib differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the coating comprises poly(glycerol sebacate) urethanes (i.e., a polyester copolymer of a polyol and a polyacid).
However, Winner discloses textiles for endovascular and other medical applications (abstract). The textile includes a resorbable coating (¶ [0022]). Suitable coating materials include poly(glycerol sebacate urethane) (¶ [0031]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Alkhatib discloses wherein the polymer coating may comprise polyurethanes and is bioabsorbable and biodegradable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated poly(glycerol sebacate urethane) as a polymer coating since it is a known and effective polymer coating material as it is a polyurethane and is resorbable as taught by Winner.
2. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US 2020/0188098, Jun. 18, 2020) (hereinafter Alkhatib) in view of Winner et al. (US 2019/0231511, Aug. 1, 2019) (hereinafter Winner), and further in view of De Bont et al. (US 2022/0023501, Jan. 27, 2022) (hereinafter De Bont).
The teachings of Alkhatib and Winner are discussed above. Alkhatib and Winner do not teach the warp yarn having an elastic modulus of 0.2 MPa to 50 MPa; and weft yarn having an elastic modulus of 50 MPa to 500 MPa, wherein the elastic modulus of the warp yarn is at least 50% higher than the elastic modulus of the weft yarn.
However, De Bont discloses a medical implant component comprising a composite biotextile (abstract). In an embodiment, the warp strangs consist of UHMWPE and the weft strands consist of another polymer like a polyester such as PET, alternatively weft strands consist of UHMWPE and warp strand of PET. Such fabrics may show anisotropic properties, like different strength and/or elongation in warp vs weft direction (¶ [0059]).
Alkhatib discloses wherein the fabric may have a specific anisotropy. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at a fabric with the warp yarn and weft yarn having the claimed elastic modulus based on the specific anisotropy desired since different elongation in weft and warp directions causes anisotropic properties as taught by De Bont. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
3. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US 2020/0188098, Jun. 18, 2020) (hereinafter Alkhatib) in view of Winner et al. (US 2019/0231511, Aug. 1, 2019) (hereinafter Winner), and further in view of Quincy, III et al. (US 2007/0141929, Jun., 21, 2007) (hereinafter Quincy, III).
The teachings of Alkhatib and Winner are discussed above. Alkhatib and Winner do not teach wherein the coating is a conformal coating maintaining porosity of the anisotropic textile.
However, Quincy, III discloses a substrate that contains an exothermic coating (abstract). To maintain porosity of the substrate, it may sometimes be desired to apply the exothermic coating so as to cover less than 100% and in some embodiments from about 10% to about 80% of the areas of one or more surfaces of the substrate. For instance, in one particular embodiment, the exothermic coating is applied to the substrate in a preselected pattern (¶ [0037]).
Alkhatib discloses wherein the porosity of the fabric allows cells to flow through a prosthetic heart valve. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the coating such that porosity of the fabric is maintained motivated by the desire to allow cells to flow through. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since applying a coating in a preselected pattern allows maintaining of porosity as taught by Quincy, III.
4. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US 2020/0188098, Jun. 18, 2020) (hereinafter Alkhatib) in view of Winner et al. (US 2019/0231511, Aug. 1, 2019) (hereinafter Winner), and further in view of Kresslein et al. (US 2018/0161185, Jun. 14, 2018) (hereinafter Kresslein).
The teachings of Alkhatib and Winner are discussed above. Alkhatib and Winner do not teach wherein an electro-spun mesh is disposed on the fabric.
However, Kresslein discloses medical devices having a lattice framework. The lattice framework may comprise a plurality of interconnected polymeric electrospun fiber members (abstract). The medical device may include a polymeric electrospun mesh contacting at least two of the interconnected members and having a pore size. In certain embodiments, the polymeric electrospun mesh may extend over one or both ends of the medical device. Such a medical device may be used, for example, as an occlusion device or for the treatment of an aneurysm (¶ [0011]).
Alkhatib discloses wherein the fabric may be coated with at least one polymer layer and wherein a pre-prepared film may be laminated to one or more surfaces of the fabric. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have coated the fabric of Alkhatib with electrospun mesh since it is a known and effective pre-prepared film for medical devices and it has the additional property of causing a medical device to be useful as an occlusion device or for the treatment of an aneurysm as taught by Kresslein.
5. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US 2020/0188098, Jun. 18, 2020) (hereinafter Alkhatib) in view of Winner et al. (US 2019/0231511, Aug. 1, 2019) (hereinafter Winner), and further in view of Wagner et al. (US 2014/0135898, May 15, 2014) (hereinafter Wagner).
The teachings of Alkhatib and Winner are discussed above. Alkhatib and Winner do not teach wherein the coating is formed with hexamethylene diisocyanate.
However, Wagner discloses implantable medical devices including a polymeric layer and a non-porous silicon coating (abstract). In certain embodiments, an additional non-silicone may be applied to the graft (¶ [0060]). The additional coating may comprise one or more polyurethanes. The polyurethanes each comprise a soft segment and a hard segment. The hard segment is comprised of a diisocyanate, such as hexamethylene diisocyanate (¶ [0061]).
As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated poly(glycerol sebacate urethane) as a polymeric coating of Alkhatib. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the poly(glycerol sebacate urethane) with hexamethylene diisocyanate since the prior art does not teach how to form this compound and hexamethylene diisocyanate is a known and effective compound to form polyurethanes as taught by Wagner.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 and 10-16 are rejected.
Claims 7-9 and 17-21 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614