ELECTION
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 07/29/26 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/29/26.
OBJECTIONS
4. The specification is objected to because of the following informality: the continuation information must be updated to indicate the issue of the parent ‘538 application as US 11,795,501.
5. Claim 21 is objected to because it refers to ‘Table 4’, and claims are usually not permitted to refer to tables and figures in the specification.
2173.05(s) Reference to Figures or Tables
Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993).
PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
9. Claims 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinter et al. (US 2004/0209299).
Regarding independent claim 17, Pinter discloses a kit comprising a ligase and a universal adaptor, and methods which also utilize a DNA polymerase. The adaptors comprise a 3’ modification to make the 3’ end non-extendible, and a priming sequence common to all adaptors. See Figs. 1 and 6, and paragraphs 0065-0082, 0101, 0121, 0126, 0204-0205, 0214, 0227-0229, and 0291-0292.
Pinter does not explicitly disclose a kit comprising the adaptor, ligase, and a DNA polymerase.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the kit of Pinter by adding a DNA polymerase because the methods disclosed by Pinter also utilize a DNA polymerase such as Taq, so this would have extended the utility of the kit by including another required reagent. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to make and use the claimed kit.
Regarding claim 18, Pinter also discloses the use of a 3’ exonuclease (see paragraph 0075), so it would have been obvious to include this in the kit.
Regarding claim 19, Pinter also discloses the use of a universal primer (see paragraph 0214), so it would have been obvious to include this in the kit.
Regarding claim 21, selection of particular priming sequences would have merely involved straightforward, logical scientific reasoning or routine optimization of known-important reaction parameters, which as well established in U.S. patent practice does not support unobviousness (M.P.E.P. 2144.05).
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinter et al. (US 2004/0209299) in view of Drmanac et al. (US 2009/0176234).
The teachings of Pinter are discussed above.
Pinter does not disclose the use of phosphate as a 3’ blocking moiety on an adaptor.
Drmanac discloses the use of phosphate as a 3’ blocking moiety on an adaptor. See paragraph 0184.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the kit of Pinter by using a 3’-blocked adaptor wherein the modification is a phosphate because Drmanac disclosed the use of such an adaptor. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to make and use the claimed kit.
CONCLUSION
11. No claims are free of the prior art.
09/23/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681