DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1, 11, and 20 and dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the curved portion of the conveyor system recited in claims 10 and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilhelm (DE 19921165 C2).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wilhelm discloses a zone control system comprising: a roller comprising: a drive portion (9); and a driven portion (2) configured to be driven by the drive portion when the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; a spring (10) disposed between the drive portion and the driven portion, wherein the spring is configured to transition between an extended state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are separated by a gap and refrain from operably engaging, and a compressed state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; and an actuator (12) operably engaged with one or more of the roller and the spring, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the spring between the extended state and the compressed state.
Regarding independent claim 11, Wilhelm discloses a conveyor system comprising: a conveyor frame (1); one or more rollers disposed on or within the conveyor frame, wherein at least one of the rollers comprises: a drive portion (9); and a driven portion (2) configured to be driven by the drive portion when the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; a spring (10) disposed between the drive portion and the driven portion, wherein the spring is configured to transition between an extended state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are separated by a gap and refrain from operably engaging, and a compressed state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; and an actuator (12) operably engaged with one or more of the roller and the spring, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the spring between the extended state and the compressed state.
Regarding independent claim 20, Wilhelm discloses a method of using a zone control system, the method comprising: inflating, by an air supply inlet (19), an air bladder (18) coupled to an actuating bracket (12), such that the actuating bracket compresses a spring (10) separating a drive portion (9) of a roller from a driven portion (2) of the roller; engaging the drive portion and the driven portion such that the drive portion drives the driven portion of the roller (see description); and deflating, by the air supply inlet, the air bladder, such that the actuating bracket extends a spring separating the drive portion of the roller from the driven portion of the roller (see description).
Regarding the dependent claims 2-9, and 12-18, Wilhelm discloses a bladder (18) configured to transition between a filled state and an empty state, wherein the bladder is operably engaged with the actuator, wherein, when the bladder is in the filled state, the spring is compressed and the drive portion and driven portion are operably engaged, and, wherein, when the bladder is in the empty state, the spring is extended and the drive portion and the driven portion refrain from operably engaging. The bladder is an air bladder, and wherein the zone control system further comprises an air supply inlet (19) fluidly connected to the air bladder and configured to provide an air supply to the air bladder. Wilhelm further discloses a push knob (see Fig. 4 annotated below), wherein the push knob is operably engaged with the bladder and the actuator, and wherein the push knob is configured to transfer one or more actuating forces between the bladder and the actuator. Wilhelm further discloses a first friction plate (11) bonded to the drive portion and a second friction plate (see Fig. 4, annotated below) bonded to the driven portion, wherein the first and second friction plates are connected; one or more thrust washers (see Fig. 4 annotated below) operably engaged with the drive portion of the roller; and an axle (see Fig. 4, generally at 8), wherein the drive portion and the driven portion are aligned in parallel on or along the axle and configured to rotate on or along the axle.. The actuator comprises an actuating bracket (12). The zone control system is fixedly attached to a conveyor frame (1) of a conveyor system.
[AltContent: textbox (Thrust Washers)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Push Knob)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Friction Plate)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eubanks et al. (US 2006/0096842) in view of Wilhelm (DE 19921165 C2). Eubanks discloses a conveyor system comprising: a conveyor frame (2) and one or more rollers (10) disposed on a curved portion (see Fig. 1) of the conveyor frame and fixedly attached to the conveyor frame. Eubanks discloses all the limitations of the claims but it does not disclose that the one or more rollers is/are part of a zone control system wherein at least one of the rollers comprises a drive portion; and a driven portion configured to be driven by the drive portion when the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; a spring disposed between the drive portion and the driven portion, wherein the spring is configured to transition between an extended state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are separated by a gap and refrain from operably engaging, and a compressed state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; and an actuator operably engaged with one or more of the roller and the spring, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the spring between the extended state and the compressed state. However, Wilhelm discloses a similar system in which one or more rollers is/are part of a zone control system wherein at least one of the rollers comprises a drive portion (9); and a driven portion (2) configured to be driven by the drive portion when the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; a spring (10) disposed between the drive portion and the driven portion, wherein the spring is configured to transition between an extended state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are separated by a gap and refrain from operably engaging, and a compressed state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; and an actuator (12) operably engaged with one or more of the roller and the spring, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the spring between the extended state and the compressed state for the purpose of accumulating objects on the conveyor system. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Eubanks by having the one or more rollers is/are part of a zone control system wherein at least one of the rollers comprises a drive portion; and a driven portion configured to be driven by the drive portion when the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; a spring disposed between the drive portion and the driven portion, wherein the spring is configured to transition between an extended state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are separated by a gap and refrain from operably engaging, and a compressed state, such that the drive portion and the driven portion are operably engaged; and an actuator operably engaged with one or more of the roller and the spring, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate the spring between the extended state and the compressed state, as disclosed by Wilhelm, for the purpose of accumulating objects on the conveyor system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ehlert et al. (US 2003/0192775) discloses a conveyor having zone control. Covell (US 3,327,837) discloses a roller having an air bladder to control rotation.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653