DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on January 28, 2026 for the application filed September 20, 2023. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant brings all the limitations of Claim 9 into Claim 1 and fails to cancel Claim 9. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: memory circuitry to store a protocol stack including a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity and a medium access control (MAC) entity; and processor circuitry connected to the memory circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is to (Paragraph [0295]: The terminal 1000 includes but is not limited to at least some components of a radio frequency unit 1001, a network module 1002, an audio output unit 1003, an input unit 1004, a sensor 1005, a display unit 1006, a user input unit 1007, an interface unit 1008, a memory 1009, and a processor 1010. Paragraph [0053]: Service data generated by the application layer (APP) of the UE is categorized into different service data flows based on their quality of service (QoS) requirements. Paragraph [0054]: The service data is passed to the AS layer in the form of data packets, and further mapped by the AS layer to one radio bearer. One radio bearer includes one PDCP entity (PDCP protocol layer processing entity), one RLC entity (PDCP protocol layer processing entity), and corresponding logical channels (at the MAC protocol layer).);
operate the PDCP entity to perform a PDCP discard operation to discard, upon expiration of a discard timer, at least one protocol data unit (PDU) set stored in a transmission buffer (Paragraph [0065]: The transmit end starts a new timer for each SDU from an upper layer and discards the SDU upon expiration of the timer, so as to prevent congestion of the transmit buffer. Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU);
Chen does not explicitly teach to operate the MAC entity to trigger generation and transmission of a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold.
However, Wang teaches to operate the MAC entity to trigger generation and transmission of a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation (Paragraph [0043]: According to a fourth aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a communication apparatus. The apparatus includes: Paragraph [0044]: a processing unit, configured to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0098]: For the PDCP entity at the transmit end, after receiving a data unit from an upper layer, the PDCP entity starts a discard timer corresponding to the data unit. When a discard timer for a data unit expires, the PDCP entity discards the data unit (including a PDCP SDU and a corresponding PDCP PDU). Paragraph [0175]: In an example, the entity at the transmit end may determine to discard one or more data units. For example, a PDCP entity at the transmit end may determine, based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity, to discard one or more data units. Paragraph [0253]: In this embodiment of this application, the UE triggers the BSR when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set. Paragraph [0260]: Optionally, the BSR may be transmitted by using a BSR MAC CE format, for example, a short BSR MAC CE, in the protocol 38.321, or may be transmitted by using a new MAC CE format.)
when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold (Paragraph [0043]: According to a fourth aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a communication apparatus. The apparatus includes: Paragraph [0044]: a processing unit, configured to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0098]: For the PDCP entity at the transmit end, after receiving a data unit from an upper layer, the PDCP entity starts a discard timer corresponding to the data unit. When a discard timer for a data unit expires, the PDCP entity discards the data unit (including a PDCP SDU and a corresponding PDCP PDU). Paragraph [0175]: In an example, the entity at the transmit end may determine to discard one or more data units. For example, a PDCP entity at the transmit end may determine, based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity, to discard one or more data units. Paragraph [0252]: 601: The UE triggers a BSR when a data unit set is discarded, where the BSR includes a buffered data volume of a logical channel queue after the data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0253]: In this embodiment of this application, the UE triggers the BSR when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: Paragraph [0254]: a PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set; an RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set; the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the PDCP entity is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and the RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the RLC entity is greater than or equal to the first threshold. Paragraph [0260]: Optionally, the BSR may be transmitted by using a BSR MAC CE format, for example, a short BSR MAC CE, in the protocol 38.321, or may be transmitted by using a new MAC CE format.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the MAC entity to trigger generation and transmission of a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold, as taught by Wang in the system of Chen, so that the base station can allocate an appropriate quantity of uplink transmission resources based on a latest buffer status, and resources can be properly arranged, avoiding a resource waste (Wang: Paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0098], [0175], [0253], [0260], [0265]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly teach to consider, as a PDCP data volume, PDCP service data units (SDUs) or PDCP data PDUs for which the PDCP discard operation is performed.
However, Wang teaches to consider, as a PDCP data volume, PDCP service data units (SDUs) or PDCP data PDUs for which the PDCP discard operation is performed (Paragraph [0256]: For example, a data volume at the transmitting PDCP entity may include at least one of the following data volumes: a PDCP SDU for which a PDCP data PDU has not been constructed, a PDCP data PDU that has not been delivered to a lower layer. Paragraph [0265]: In this embodiment of this application, when the data unit set is discarded, the UE reports the latest buffered data volume to the base station.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider, as a PDCP data volume, PDCP service data units (SDUs) or PDCP data PDUs for which the PDCP discard operation is performed, as taught by Wang in the system of Chen, so that the base station can allocate an appropriate quantity of uplink transmission resources based on a latest buffer status, and resources can be properly arranged, avoiding a resource waste (Wang: Paragraphs [0256], [0265]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is to operate the MAC entity to (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly teach to trigger the generation and transmission of the BSR when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold.
However, Wang teaches to trigger the generation and transmission of the BSR when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold (Paragraph [0043]: According to a fourth aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a communication apparatus. The apparatus includes: Paragraph [0044]: a processing unit, configured to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0098]: For the PDCP entity at the transmit end, after receiving a data unit from an upper layer, the PDCP entity starts a discard timer corresponding to the data unit. When a discard timer for a data unit expires, the PDCP entity discards the data unit (including a PDCP SDU and a corresponding PDCP PDU). Paragraph [0175]: In an example, the entity at the transmit end may determine to discard one or more data units. For example, a PDCP entity at the transmit end may determine, based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity, to discard one or more data units. Paragraph [0252]: 601: The UE triggers a BSR when a data unit set is discarded, where the BSR includes a buffered data volume of a logical channel queue after the data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0253]: In this embodiment of this application, the UE triggers the BSR when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: Paragraph [0254]: a PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set; an RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set; the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the PDCP entity is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and the RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the RLC entity is greater than or equal to the first threshold. Paragraph [0260]: Optionally, the BSR may be transmitted by using a BSR MAC CE format, for example, a short BSR MAC CE, in the protocol 38.321, or may be transmitted by using a new MAC CE format.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to trigger the generation and transmission of the BSR when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold, as taught by Wang in the system of Chen, so that the base station can allocate an appropriate quantity of uplink transmission resources based on a latest buffer status, and resources can be properly arranged, avoiding a resource waste (Wang: Paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0098], [0175], [0253], [0260], [0265]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (NTCRM) comprising instructions for operating a medium access control (MAC) entity of a network protocol stack, wherein execution of the instructions by one or more processors is to cause a user equipment (UE) to: (Paragraph [0295]: The terminal 1000 includes but is not limited to at least some components of a radio frequency unit 1001, a network module 1002, an audio output unit 1003, an input unit 1004, a sensor 1005, a display unit 1006, a user input unit 1007, an interface unit 1008, a memory 1009, and a processor 1010. Paragraph [0053]: Service data generated by the application layer (APP) of the UE is categorized into different service data flows based on their quality of service (QoS) requirements. Paragraph [0054]: The service data is passed to the AS layer in the form of data packets, and further mapped by the AS layer to one radio bearer. One radio bearer includes one PDCP entity (PDCP protocol layer processing entity), one RLC entity (PDCP protocol layer processing entity), and corresponding logical channels (at the MAC protocol layer). Claim 18: A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor of a terminal to perform:);
detect that a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) discard operation has been performed to discard at least one protocol data unit (PDU) set stored in a transmission buffer (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly teach to generate a MAC control element (CE) to include a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold; and cause transmission of the MAC CE to a radio access network (RAN) node.
However, Wang teaches to generate a MAC control element (CE) to include a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold; and cause transmission of the MAC CE to a radio access network (RAN) node (Paragraph [0043]: According to a fourth aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a communication apparatus. The apparatus includes: Paragraph [0044]: a processing unit, configured to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0098]: For the PDCP entity at the transmit end, after receiving a data unit from an upper layer, the PDCP entity starts a discard timer corresponding to the data unit. When a discard timer for a data unit expires, the PDCP entity discards the data unit (including a PDCP SDU and a corresponding PDCP PDU). Paragraph [0175]: In an example, the entity at the transmit end may determine to discard one or more data units. For example, a PDCP entity at the transmit end may determine, based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity, to discard one or more data units. Paragraph [0252]: 601: The UE triggers a BSR when a data unit set is discarded, where the BSR includes a buffered data volume of a logical channel queue after the data unit set is discarded. Paragraph [0253]: In this embodiment of this application, the UE triggers the BSR when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: Paragraph [0254]: a PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set; an RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set; the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the PDCP entity is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and the RLC entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the RLC entity is greater than or equal to the first threshold. Paragraph [0260]: Optionally, the BSR may be transmitted by using a BSR MAC CE format, for example, a short BSR MAC CE, in the protocol 38.321, or may be transmitted by using a new MAC CE format. Paragraph [0262]: The UE sends the BSR to the base station. Correspondingly, the base station receives the BSR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a MAC control element (CE) to include a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold; and cause transmission of the MAC CE to a radio access network (RAN) node, as taught by Wang in the system of Chen, so that the base station can allocate an appropriate quantity of uplink transmission resources based on a latest buffer status, and resources can be properly arranged, avoiding a resource waste (Wang: Paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0098], [0175], [0253], [0260], [0265]).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (US2025/0133030A1) hereinafter Chen2.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the discard timer comprises a set of discard timer instances, wherein each discard timer instance in the set of discard timer instances corresponds to respective PDUs in the at least one PDU set.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein the discard timer comprises a set of discard timer instances, wherein each discard timer instance in the set of discard timer instances corresponds to respective PDUs in the at least one PDU set (Paragraph [0026]: the terminal maintains different PDCP discard timer lengths for multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group. Paragraph [0061]: In the method, a terminal determines a PDCP SDU group at a PDCP layer, where the terminal maintains different PDCP discard timer lengths for multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the discard timer comprises a set of discard timer instances, wherein each discard timer instance in the set of discard timer instances corresponds to respective PDUs in the at least one PDU set, as taught by Chen2 in the combined system of Chen and Wang, so that when arrival times of multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are different, the terminal can maintain a longer PDCP discard timer length for a PDCP SDU that arrives at the PDCP layer earlier and maintain a shorter PDCP discard timer length for a PDCP SDU that arrive sat the PDCP layer later, so that timeout time points of the PDCP discard timers of multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are as close as possible, that is, the IP packets transmitted by multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group have similar transmission characteristics (Chen2: Paragraphs [0061], [0099]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Chen2 teaches the apparatus of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Chen further teaches wherein, when all PDUs in the at least one PDU set arrive simultaneously at the transmission buffer, the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: when a discard timer per set timer is configured by higher layers, disregard the expiration of the discard timer instances corresponding to any of PDU in the at least one PDU set, and discard an entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer per set timer (Paragraph [0065]: The transmit end starts a new timer for each SDU from an upper layer and discards the SDU upon expiration of the timer, so as to prevent congestion of the transmit buffer. The specific duration of this timer is configured by the upper layer RRC. Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU. For a signaling radio bearer (SRB), when the upper layer requests to discard a PDCP SDU, the PDCP entity needs to discard all stored PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs. Paragraph [0072]: The discard timer is used to control the discarding of a data packet or a group. Specifically, when the discard timer corresponding to a data packet or a group expires, the data packet or group is discarded. Paragraph [0077]: In some embodiments, the first indication information is configured (or defined) by a network-side device and/or indicated (or defined) by a first protocol layer, where the first protocol layer includes at least one of the following: an application layer, an IP (internet protocol) layer, an RRC layer. Paragraph [0085]: some or all of the data packets associated with the data packet corresponding to the timer need to be discarded simultaneously.)
and when the discard timer per set timer is not configured by higher layers, discard an entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of the discard timer (Paragraph [0065]: Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU);
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Chen2 teaches the apparatus of claim 3 (see rejection for claim 3);
Chen further teaches wherein: the value of the discard timer per set timer is configured by higher layers when the PSDB is not available for the at least one PDU (Paragraph [0065]: The transmit end starts a new timer for each SDU from an upper layer and discards the SDU upon expiration of the timer, so as to prevent congestion of the transmit buffer. The specific duration of this timer is configured by the upper layer RRC. Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU. For a signaling radio bearer (SRB), when the upper layer requests to discard a PDCP SDU, the PDCP entity needs to discard all stored PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs. Paragraph [0072]: The discard timer is used to control the discarding of a data packet or a group. Specifically, when the discard timer corresponding to a data packet or a group expires, the data packet or group is discarded. Paragraph [0077]: In some embodiments, the first indication information is configured (or defined) by a network-side device and/or indicated (or defined) by a first protocol layer, where the first protocol layer includes at least one of the following: an application layer, an IP (internet protocol) layer, an RRC layer.)
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach a value of the discard timer per set timer is based on a PDU set delay budget (PSDB) when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU.
However, Chen2 teaches that a value of the discard timer per set timer is based on a PDU set delay budget (PSDB) when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU (Paragraph [0087]: At present, a network device configures one PDCP discard timer for a PDCP entity based on a packet delay budget (PDB) of a data radio bear (DRB) corresponding to the PDCP entity. When each PDCP SDU arrives at the PDCP layer, the PDCP discard timer is started for this PDCP SDU, and if this PDCP SDU is not delivered to the next protocol layer when the PDCP discard timer times out, this PDCP SDU is discarded.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that a value of the discard timer per set timer is based on a PDU set delay budget (PSDB) when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU, as taught by Chen2 in the combined system of Chen and Wang, in order to improve the air interface resource efficiency while ensuring the packet delay budget (Chen2: Paragraphs [0087], [0118]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Chen2 teaches the apparatus of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Chen further teaches wherein, when PDUs in the at least one PDU set arrive sequentially at the transmission buffer and when a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) is enabled, the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: discard an entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer instance of at least one PDU in the at least one PDU set (Paragraph [0055]: For each PDCP SDU arrived, the PDCP entity generates a PDCP PDU (protocol data unit), and sets a PDCP sequence number (SN) for indicating the transmission sequence of PDCP SDUs and their corresponding PDCP PDUs in the PDCP entity. Paragraph [0074]: In some embodiments, the discarding, by the terminal, at least some of data units associated with the first data unit includes: Paragraph [0075]: discarding, by the terminal based on first indication information, at least some of the data units associated with the first data unit, where the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal to discard at least some of the data units associated with the first data unit in a case of discarding the first data unit. Paragraph [0078]: In a specific example, the first data unit is a first data packet, and in a case of discarding the first data packet, the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: Paragraph [0079]: a group (or a data packet set) to which the first data packet belongs, or some, rest, or all of the data packets in the group need to be discarded simultaneously).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Chen2 teaches the apparatus of claim 5 wherein the processor circuitry is to: (see rejection for claim 5);
Chen further teaches when a PSDB associated with the at least one PDU is available, disregard the discard timer, and discard the entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer per set timer (Paragraph [0030]: Such control information and special data with control functions include some service control data generated by an XR application encoder of the UE and control data information contained in a service transmission protocol. Paragraph [0038]: In addition, the XR service has a high requirement for delay, and the packet delay budge (PDB) of the air interface is required to be around 10 ms. Paragraph [0065]: Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU);
The combination of Chen and Wang dos not explicitly teach when the PSDB associated with the at least one PDU is not available, discard the entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer instance of a last arriving PDU of the at least one PDU set into the transmission buffer.
However, Chen2 teaches when the PSDB associated with the at least one PDU is not available, discard the entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer instance of a last arriving PDU of the at least one PDU set into the transmission buffer (Paragraph [0123]: In this embodiment, for multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group, the lengths of the PDCP discard timers of the remaining PDCP SDUs except the first PDCP SDU are adjusted to the difference between the arrival times of the PDCP SDUs and the arrival time of the first PDCP SDU. Therefore, based on the one PDCP discard timer pre-configured by the network device, even if the time starting points of the PDCP discard timers of the respective PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are different, the timeout time points of the PDCP discard timers of the respective PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are consistent by adjusting the lengths of the PDCP discard timers. Paragraph [0128]: For example, the network device pre-configures a group of PDCP discard timers corresponding to the PDCP entity for the terminal: PDCP discard timer 1, PDCP discard timer 2 and PDCP discard timer 3, where the length of PDCP discard timer 1, the length of PDCP discard timer 2 and the length of PDCP discard timer 3 decrease in turn. Taking FIG. 4 as an example, the terminal can determine PDCP discard timer 1 to be the PDCP discard timer of PDCP SDU1, PDCP discard timer 2 to be the PDCP discard timer of PDCP SDU2, and PDCP discard timer 3 to be the PDCP discard timer of PDCP SDU3, so that the timeout times of the PDCP discard timers of the PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are similar.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the PSDB associated with the at least one PDU is not available, discard the entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of a discard timer instance of a last arriving PDU of the at least one PDU set into the transmission buffer, as taught by Chen2 in the combined system of Chen and Wang, so that the timeout times of the PDCP discard timers of the PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group are similar (Chen2: Paragraphs [0123], [0128]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Chen2 teaches the apparatus of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Chen further teaches wherein, when a PSIHI is enabled, the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: discard an entirety of the at least one PDU upon expiration of any discard timer instance of the set of discard timer instances (Paragraph [0055]: For each PDCP SDU arrived, the PDCP entity generates a PDCP PDU (protocol data unit), and sets a PDCP sequence number (SN) for indicating the transmission sequence of PDCP SDUs and their corresponding PDCP PDUs in the PDCP entity. Paragraph [0074]: In some embodiments, the discarding, by the terminal, at least some of data units associated with the first data unit includes: Paragraph [0075]: discarding, by the terminal based on first indication information, at least some of the data units associated with the first data unit, where the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal to discard at least some of the data units associated with the first data unit in a case of discarding the first data unit. Paragraph [0078]: In a specific example, the first data unit is a first data packet, and in a case of discarding the first data packet, the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: Paragraph [0079]: a group (or a data packet set) to which the first data packet belongs, or some, rest, or all of the data packets in the group need to be discarded simultaneously).
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein: each discard timer instance is set to a value of a PSDB when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU set; and each discard timer instance is set to a value of a corresponding packet delay budget (PDB) when the PSDB is not available for the at least one PDU set
However, Chen2 teaches wherein: each discard timer instance is set to a value of a PSDB when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU set; and each discard timer instance is set to a value of a corresponding packet delay budget (PDB) when the PSDB is not available for the at least one PDU set (Paragraph [0026]: the terminal maintains different PDCP discard timer lengths for multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group. Paragraph [0061]: In the method, a terminal determines a PDCP SDU group at a PDCP layer, where the terminal maintains different PDCP discard timer lengths for multiple PDCP SDUs in the PDCP SDU group. Paragraph [0087]: At present, a network device configures one PDCP discard timer for a PDCP entity based on a packet delay budget (PDB) of a data radio bear (DRB) corresponding to the PDCP entity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each discard timer instance is set to a value of a PSDB when the PSDB is available for the at least one PDU set; and each discard timer instance is set to a value of a corresponding packet delay budget (PDB) when the PSDB is not available for the at least one PDU set, as taught by Chen2 in the combined system of Chen and Wang, in order to improve the air interface resource efficiency while ensuring the packet delay budget (Chen2: Paragraphs [0087], [0118]).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1), and further in view of Rossbach et al. (WO2024060304A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: trigger performance of the PDCP discard operation based on a network congestion indication (Paragraph [0065]: The transmit end starts a new timer for each SDU from an upper layer and discards the SDU upon expiration of the timer, so as to prevent congestion of the transmit buffer. Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach a network congestion indication.
However, Rossbach teaches a network congestion indication (Paragraph [0048]: The indication layer 304 may be a MAC layer that provides an indication of the congestion event. The upper layer(s) 308 and lower layer(s) 312 may be defined with respect to the indication layer 304. Paragraph [0051]: While embodiments describe the indication layer 304 providing CE indications in MAC packets transmitted in the uplink or downlink, it may be noted that the indication layer 304 may also inform upper layer(s) 308 or lower layer(s) 312 of the congestion. For example, if the indication layer 304 detects the congestion, or receives an indication of such from lower layer(s) 312, it may generate/send the CE packets and may also provide the upper layer(s) 308 with a congestion indication. For another example, if the indication layer 304 detects the congestion, or receives an indication of such from upper layer(s) 308, it may generate/send the CE packets and may also provide the lower layer(s) 312 with a congestion indication.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a network congestion indication, as taught by Rossbach in the combined system of Chen and Wang, since extended reality (XR) services require low latency and high throughput, the congestion indication may be used to reduce latency and ensure the desired experience for users of XR services (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0042], [0048], [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the network congestion indication is an implicit indication based on expiration of a congestion timer and/or a congestion indication threshold based on an amount of data stored in the transmission buffer.
However, Rossbach teaches wherein the network congestion indication is an implicit indication based on a congestion indication threshold based on an amount of data stored in the transmission buffer (Paragraph [0052]: Some embodiments may include a buffer status report (BSR) based CE inference. A CE indication may be based on UE's (or IAB-MT's) reported buffer status in a BSR. This may be used in the uplink direction. The UE/ IAB-MT reporting a buffer status that is higher than a first configured threshold (for example, threshold1) may be interpreted as an indication that the traffic is experiencing congestion. Thus, a certain buffer status level may be associated with congestion.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the network congestion indication is an implicit indication based on a congestion indication threshold based on an amount of data stored in the transmission buffer, as taught by Rossbach in the combined system of Chen and Wang, since extended reality (XR) services require low latency and high throughput, the congestion indication based on the amount of data stored in the buffer may be used to reduce latency and ensure the desired experience for users of XR services (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0042], [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the network congestion indication is an explicit indication obtained from a radio access network (RAN) node, wherein the explicit network congestion is included in a MAC CE or headers of one or more downlink packets.
However, Rossbach teaches wherein the network congestion indication is an explicit indication obtained from a radio access network (RAN) node, wherein the explicit network congestion is included in a MAC CE or headers of one or more downlink packets (Paragraph [0045]: Embodiments describe how a MAC layer can support an early CE indication mechanism to enable very fast indication at a lowest level of L2. Embodiments include methods for signaling CE codepoint for a MAC entity and MAC subheader and control element formats. Paragraph [0048]: The indication layer 304 may be a MAC layer that provides an indication of the congestion event. The upper layer(s) 308 and lower layer(s) 312 may be defined with respect to the indication layer 304. Paragraph [0051]: While embodiments describe the indication layer 304 providing CE indications in MAC packets transmitted in the uplink or downlink, it may be noted that the indication layer 304 may also inform upper layer(s) 308 or lower layer(s) 312 of the congestion. For example, if the indication layer 304 detects the congestion, or receives an indication of such from lower layer(s) 312, it may generate/send the CE packets and may also provide the upper layer(s) 308 with a congestion indication. For another example, if the indication layer 304 detects the congestion, or receives an indication of such from upper layer(s) 308, it may generate/send the CE packets and may also provide the lower layer(s) 312 with a congestion indication. Paragraph [0054]: Upon detecting the congestion event at the receiver, the BS 108 may provide a congestion indication for the respective LCG, LCH or QoS flow to upper layers. The congestion indication may correspond to a CE-set indication to indicate congestion is present, or a CE-clear indication to indicate congestion is not present. The base station 108 may additionally/alternatively add a CE indication (or a flow control indication, which is already present in RAN3 interfaces) to a packet that is to be transmitted to the next node. Paragraph [0058]: In some embodiments, a reserved bit in a MAC subheader may be used to indicate a congestion condition at the UE or IAB-MT side associated with a buffer status in BSR MAC control element (CtrlEI). With this option no additional CE bit may be needed in the BSR. FIGs. 4 and 5 illustrate examples of setting the reserved bit in a MAC subheader.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the network congestion indication is an explicit indication obtained from a radio access network (RAN) node, wherein the explicit network congestion is included in a MAC CE or headers of one or more downlink packets, as taught by Rossbach in the combined system of Chen and Wang, since extended reality (XR) services require low latency and high throughput, the congestion indication based on the amount of data stored in the buffer may be used to reduce latency and ensure the desired experience for users of XR services (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0042], [0045], [0048], [0051], [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12);
Chen further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to operate the PDCP entity to: discard, SDUs or PDUs belonging to the at least one PDU set (Paragraph [0065]: The transmit end starts a new timer for each SDU from an upper layer and discards the SDU upon expiration of the timer, so as to prevent congestion of the transmit buffer. Specifically, when a PDCP SDU is received from the upper layer, a PDCP entity on the transmit end starts a discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with this PDCP SDU expires ….the PDCP entity on the transmit end needs to discard this PDCP SDU and the corresponding PDCP data PDU);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach based on receipt of the explicit indication, for a configured network congestion time; and resume normal operation after expiration of the configured network congestion time.
However, Rossbach teaches based on receipt of the explicit indication, for a configured network congestion time; and resume normal operation after expiration of the configured network congestion time (Paragraph [0054]: Upon detecting the congestion event at the receiver, the BS 108 may provide a congestion indication for the respective LCG, LCH or QoS flow to upper layers. The congestion indication may correspond to a CE-set indication to indicate congestion is present, or a CE-clear indication to indicate congestion is not present. The base station 108 may additionally/alternatively add a CE indication (or a flow control indication, which is already present in RAN3 interfaces) to a packet that is to be transmitted to the next node. Paragraph [0058]: In some embodiments, a reserved bit in a MAC subheader may be used to indicate a congestion condition at the UE or IAB-MT side associated with a buffer status in BSR MAC control element (CtrlEI). With this option no additional CE bit may be needed in the BSR. FIGs. 4 and 5 illustrate examples of setting the reserved bit in a MAC subheader. Paragraph [0065]: The CE indication for BSR may be provided by the reserved bits in the MAC subheader. When used for the CE indication, the reserved bits may be referred to as CE bits. If the CE bit is set in a MAC subheader preceding a BSR, then that BSR contains a congestion indication for the LCG/LCH/QoS flow. The CE bit may need to be set for every BSR for as long as the congestion condition persists.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that based on receipt of the explicit indication, for a configured network congestion time; resume normal operation after expiration of the configured network congestion time, as taught by Rossbach in the combined system of Chen and Wang, since extended reality (XR) services require low latency and high throughput, the congestion indication indicating that congestion is present or not present, may be used to ensure the desired experience for users of XR services (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0042], [0054], [0058], [0065]).
Claims 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1), and further in view of Phuyal et al. (WO2018031143A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches the NTCRM of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC CE includes a set of logical channel group (LCG) fields and a set of buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a buffer size field of the set of buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE; and each buffer size field in the set of buffer size fields identifies a total amount of data available according to a data volume calculation procedure.
However, Phuyal teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a set of logical channel group (LCG) fields and a set of buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a buffer size field of the set of buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE; and each buffer size field in the set of buffer size fields identifies a total amount of data available according to a data volume calculation procedure (Paragraph [0002]: The Buffer Status Report (BSR), included in the MAC, provides information to the serving BS about the amount of data available in the uplink (UL) buffers of the UE for transmission to the BS. Paragraph [0018]: The MAC can support up to eleven logical channels, including three Signal Radio Bearers (SRBs) and eight Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), per UE. The eleven logical channels can be grouped into four logical channel groups (LCGs) according to the priority. The MAC CE can be identified by a logical channel index in a header of the MAC. The conventional MAC CE can include two types of BSRs, short BSRs and long BSRs. FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate short and long BSRs for PUSCH communications, respectively. The short BSR includes an LCG ID field 210 and a buffer size field 220, as illustrated in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0027]: In another aspect, the size of the priority class bitmap field can include a plurality (G) of bits to report the one or more buffer size fields corresponding to the one or more of the plurality (G) of LCG IDs. Again, each buffer size field can be a plurality (R) of bits. The BSR therefore can include an LCG ID bitmap field split into a noncontiguous field. Each presence bit (P) is followed by a buffer size field if set to a first state, and is not followed by a buffer size field if set to a second state. For example, when a given presence bit (P) is set to Ί,' a buffer size field for the corresponding LCG ID follows. If the presence bit (P) is set to 'Ο. ' the buffer size field of the corresponding LCG ID is not included.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MAC CE includes a set of logical channel group (LCG) fields and a set of buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a buffer size field of the set of buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE; and each buffer size field in the set of buffer size fields identifies a total amount of data available according to a data volume calculation procedure, as taught by Phuyal in the combined system of Chen and Wang, in order to efficiently manage the allocation and use of resources, and uplink resources can be allocated when a particular UE has something to transmit (Phuyal: Paragraphs [0002], [0018], [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal teaches the NTCRM of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC CE includes a set of criticality fields, wherein each criticality field in the set of criticality fields indicates presence of critical data for a corresponding LCG, wherein an individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 1 indicates that logical channels in its corresponding LCG carry critical data and the individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 0 indicates that the logical channels in its corresponding LCG do not carry critical data.
However, Phuyal teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a set of criticality fields, wherein each criticality field in the set of criticality fields indicates presence of critical data for a corresponding LCG, wherein an individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 1 indicates that logical channels in its corresponding LCG carry critical data and the individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 0 indicates that the logical channels in its corresponding LCG do not carry critical data (Paragraph [0011]: In one aspect, a Buffer Status Report (BSR) is encoded to include a priority class bitmap field, and the buffer sizes for the one or more of the plurality of priority classes in one or more corresponding buffer size fields. In one aspect, the priority class bitmap field comprises a plurality (N) of contiguous bits, wherein each bit of the priority class bitmap field corresponding to a respective one of the plurality (N) of priority classes. Each bit of the priority class bitmap field set to a first state indicates that the buffer size field for the corresponding one of the one or more of the plurality of priority classes is included in the BSR. Each bit of the priority class bitmap field set to a second state indicates that the buffer size field for the corresponding one of the one or more of the plurality of priority classes is not included in the BSR. Paragraph [0018]: The MAC can support up to eleven logical channels, including three Signal Radio Bearers (SRBs) and eight Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), per UE. The eleven logical channels can be grouped into four logical channel groups (LCGs) according to the priority. The MAC CE can be identified by a logical channel index in a header of the MAC. The conventional MAC CE can include two types of BSRs, short BSRs and long BSRs. FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate short and long BSRs for PUSCH communications, respectively. The short BSR includes an LCG ID field 210 and a buffer size field 220, as illustrated in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0025]: In one aspect, the priority class bitmap field 705-735 of the BSR can include a plurality (N) of bits, wherein each bit of the priority class bitmap field corresponding to a respective one of the plurality (N) of priority classes. Each bit of the priority class bitmap field set to a first state 705, 720, 725, 735 indicates that the buffer size field 740 for the corresponding one of the one or more of the plurality of priority classes follows the given bit of the priority class bitmap field 740-755. On the other hand, each bit of the priority class bitmap field set to a second state 710, 715, 730 indicates that the buffer size field for the corresponding one of the one or more of the plurality of priority classes does not follow the given bit of the priority class bitmap field. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the 0th bit of the priority class bitmap field 705 may be set to Ί ' indicating that the buffer size field 740 for the 0th priority class follows the 0th bit of the priority class bitmap field 705. The 1st bit of the priority class bitmap field 710 may be set to '0' indicating that the buffer size field of the 1st priority class does not follow.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MAC CE includes a set of criticality fields, wherein each criticality field in the set of criticality fields indicates presence of critical data for a corresponding LCG, wherein an individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 1 indicates that logical channels in its corresponding LCG carry critical data and the individual criticality field in the set of criticality fields being set to 0 indicates that the logical channels in its corresponding LCG do not carry critical data, as taught by Phuyal in the combined system of Chen and Wang, so that the fields indicating priority indicates critical data (Phuyal: Paragraphs [0011], [0018], [0025]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1), and further in view of Phuyal et al. (WO2018031143A1), and Sun et al. (WO2024071750A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches The NTCRM of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC CE includes a set of LCG fields and a set of delta buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a delta buffer size field of the set of delta buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding delta buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding delta buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE; and each delta buffer size field in the set of delta buffer size fields identifies, according to a data volume calculation procedure, a difference between a current amount of data available and a previous amount of data available reported in a previously sent BSR.
However, Phuyal teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a set of LCG fields and a set of buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a buffer size field of the set of buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE (Paragraph [0002]: The Buffer Status Report (BSR), included in the MAC, provides information to the serving BS about the amount of data available in the uplink (UL) buffers of the UE for transmission to the BS. Paragraph [0018]: The MAC can support up to eleven logical channels, including three Signal Radio Bearers (SRBs) and eight Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), per UE. The eleven logical channels can be grouped into four logical channel groups (LCGs) according to the priority. The MAC CE can be identified by a logical channel index in a header of the MAC. The conventional MAC CE can include two types of BSRs, short BSRs and long BSRs. FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate short and long BSRs for PUSCH communications, respectively. The short BSR includes an LCG ID field 210 and a buffer size field 220, as illustrated in FIG. 2A. Paragraph [0027]: In another aspect, the size of the priority class bitmap field can include a plurality (G) of bits to report the one or more buffer size fields corresponding to the one or more of the plurality (G) of LCG IDs. Again, each buffer size field can be a plurality (R) of bits. The BSR therefore can include an LCG ID bitmap field split into a noncontiguous field. Each presence bit (P) is followed by a buffer size field if set to a first state, and is not followed by a buffer size field if set to a second state. For example, when a given presence bit (P) is set to Ί,' a buffer size field for the corresponding LCG ID follows. If the presence bit (P) is set to 'Ο. ' the buffer size field of the corresponding LCG ID is not included.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MAC CE includes a set of LCG fields and a set of buffer size fields, and wherein: each LCG field in the set of LCG fields is associated with an LCG and corresponds to a buffer size field of the set of buffer size fields, wherein an individual LCG field in the set of LCG fields being set to 1 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is reported in the MAC CE and the individual LCG field being set to 0 indicates that its corresponding buffer size field for its associated LCG is not reported in the MAC CE, as taught by Phuyal in the combined system of Chen and Wang, in order to efficiently manage the allocation and use of resources, and uplink resources can be allocated when a particular UE has something to transmit (Phuyal: Paragraphs [0002], [0018], [0027]).
The combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal does not explicitly teach delta buffer size field, and each delta buffer size field in the set of delta buffer size fields identifies, according to a data volume calculation procedure, a difference between a current amount of data available and a previous amount of data available reported in a previously sent BSR.
However, Sun teaches delta buffer size field, and each delta buffer size field in the set of delta buffer size fields identifies, according to a data volume calculation procedure, a difference between a current amount of data available and a previous amount of data available reported in a previously sent BSR (Abstract: The present disclosure relates to a method for a user equipment in a wireless communication system and an apparatus performing same, the method comprising the steps of: receiving, from a base station, control information for reporting delta buffer size information; acquiring the delta buffer size information on the basis of the control information; and transmitting, to the base station, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) including the delta buffer size information, wherein the delta buffer size information is determined on the basis of the buffer size of a logical channel group (LCG) and the reference buffer size. Page 11, Paragraph 10: The delta buffer size determination unit 840 may be notified of the uplink buffer size 831 of a specific LCG determined by the buffer size determination unit 830. The delta buffer size determination unit 840 may determine the delta buffer size 841 of the LCG by comparing the uplink buffer size 831 of the LCG with the reference buffer size 810 of the LCG.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide delta buffer size field, and each delta buffer size field in the set of delta buffer size fields identifies, according to a data volume calculation procedure, a difference between a current amount of data available and a previous amount of data available reported in a previously sent BSR, as taught by Sun in the combined system of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal, so that a method for improving communication between a terminal and a base station can be provided, and a method for reporting a BSR for a terminal and a method for obtaining a BSR for a base station can be provided (Sun: Abstract, Page 6 (Paragraphs 7, 8)).
Claims 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1), and further in view of Phuyal et al. (WO2018031143A1), and Xu et al. (WO2023245582A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal teaches the NTCRM of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Chen and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC CE includes a set of data value fields, wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates a delay budget for a corresponding LCG.
However, Phuyal teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a set of data value fields, wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates for a corresponding LCG (Paragraph [0018]: The MAC can support up to eleven logical channels, including three Signal Radio Bearers (SRBs) and eight Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), per UE. The eleven logical channels can be grouped into four logical channel groups (LCGs) according to the priority. The MAC CE can be identified by a logical channel index in a header of the MAC. The conventional MAC CE can include two types of BSRs, short BSRs and long BSRs. FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate short and long BSRs for PUSCH communications, respectively. The short BSR includes an LCG ID field 210 and a buffer size field 220, as illustrated in FIG. 2A.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MAC CE includes a set of data value fields, wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates for a corresponding LCG, as taught by Phuyal in the combined system of Chen and Wang, in order to efficiently manage the allocation and use of resources indicated by the MAC CE (Phuyal: Paragraph [0018]).
The combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal does not explicitly teach wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates a delay budget for a corresponding LCG.
However, Xu teaches wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates a delay budget for a corresponding LCG (Paragraph [0133]: In particular, the MAC sub-PDU includes a MAC subheader and a MAC CE including following fields: (1) DB (delay budget): this field indicates the remaining delay budget corresponding to a PDU set (with the lowest delay budget) for an LCH (with or without data available for transmission) after the MAC PDU has been built. The LCH may be with the highest logical channel priority in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The PDU set may be with the lowest delay budget in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The LCH may be with or without data available for transmission after the MAC PDU has been built.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein individual data value fields in the set of data value fields indicates a delay budget for a corresponding LCG, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal, so that the delay budget associated with a PDU set can provide delay information, which is a key feature to improve user experience in XR services (Xu: Paragraphs [0002], [0133]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chen, Wang, Phuyal, and Xu teaches the NTCRM of claim 18 (see rejection for claim 18);
The combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal does not explicitly teach wherein each of the individual data value fields carry a delay index that corresponds to a delay budget value for the corresponding LCG.
However, Xu teaches wherein each of the individual data value fields carry a delay index that corresponds to a delay budget value for the corresponding LCG (Paragraph [0006]: In some embodiments, the delay information includes delay information corresponding to one PDU set within the one or more PDU sets with a highest priority logical channel allowed to report the delay information in an LCG or in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. Paragraph [0133]: In particular, the MAC sub-PDU includes a MAC subheader and a MAC CE including following fields: (1) DB (delay budget): this field indicates the remaining delay budget corresponding to a PDU set (with the lowest delay budget) for an LCH (with or without data available for transmission) after the MAC PDU has been built. The LCH may be with the highest logical channel priority in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The PDU set may be with the lowest delay budget in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The LCH may be with or without data available for transmission after the MAC PDU has been built. For example, the DB may be: a) Code index, e.g., 1 represents 2ms, 2 represents 2.5ms, 3 represents 3ms;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each of the individual data value fields carry a delay index that corresponds to a delay budget value for the corresponding LCG, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal, so that the index corresponding to the delay budget value can provide the delay time information (Xu: Paragraphs [0133]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal teaches the NTCRM of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC CE includes a set of bitmap fields, each bitmap field in the set of bitmap fields corresponds to a PDU set, each bit in each bitmap field corresponds to a PDU in its corresponding PDU set, and each bit in each bitmap field indicates whether its corresponding PDU has been discarded or not.
However, Xu teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a set of bitmap fields, each bitmap field in the set of bitmap fields corresponds to a PDU set, each bit in each bitmap field corresponds to a PDU in its corresponding PDU set, and each bit in each bitmap field indicates whether its corresponding PDU has been discarded or not (Paragraph [0017]: In some embodiments, the configuration includes at least one of: information for enabling a transmission of the report; a trigger threshold associated with the trigger condition; a cancel threshold associated with a cancel condition; the PDU set delay budget; a length of the PDU set delay budget timer; a length of a PDU set discard timer; a length of a SDU discard timer; a length of a periodic timer associated with the report; a length of a retransmission timer associated with the report. Paragraph [0067]: regarding a service data unit (SDU) discard operation, when the discard timer expires for a PDCP SDU, or the successful delivery of a PDCP SDU is confirmed by a PDCP status report, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU along with the corresponding PDCP Data PDU. If the corresponding PDCP Data PDU has already been submitted to lower layers, the discard is indicated to lower layers. For signaling radio bearers (SRBs), when upper layers request a PDCP SDU discard, the PDCP entity shall discard all stored PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs. Paragraph [0079]: In some embodiments, the delay information includes delay information associated with a first arrival PDU or a last arrival PDU of one PDU set within the one or more PDU sets in an LCH or in an LCG or in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. Paragraph [0133]: In particular, the MAC sub-PDU includes a MAC subheader and a MAC CE including following fields: (1) DB (delay budget): this field indicates the remaining delay budget corresponding to a PDU set (with the lowest delay budget) for an LCH (with or without data available for transmission) after the MAC PDU has been built. The LCH may be with the highest logical channel priority in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The PDU set may be with the lowest delay budget in a MAC entity of the UE or in the UE. The LCH may be with or without data available for transmission after the MAC PDU has been built. Paragraph [0163]: The discard timer corresponding to a PDU set or a SDU corresponding to a PDU within a PDU set expires, i.e., delay = a length of the discard timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MAC CE includes a set of bitmap fields, each bitmap field in the set of bitmap fields corresponds to a PDU set, each bit in each bitmap field corresponds to a PDU in its corresponding PDU set, and each bit in each bitmap field indicates whether its corresponding PDU has been discarded or not, as taught by Xu in the combined system of Chen, Wang, and Phuyal, so that the information indicating that the PDU is discarded based on the expiry of the discard timer can provide the delay information which is a key feature to improve user experience in XR services (Xu: Paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0067], [0079], [0133], [0163]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026 with respect to Claims 1, 8, 9, and 14 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US2024/0244483A1) in view of Wang et al. (US2025/0184816A1); claims 2-7 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Wang, and further in view of Chen et al. (US2025/0133030A1) hereinafter Chen2; claims 10-13 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Wang, and further in view of Rossbach et al. (WO2024/060304A1); claims 15 and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Wang, and further in view of Phuyal et al. (WO2018/031143A1); claim 16 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Wang, and further in view of Phuyal and Sun et al. (WO2024/071750A1); claims 18, 19, and 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Wang, and further in view of Phuyal and Xu et al. (WO2023/245582A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the combination of Chen and Wang does not teach or suggest "operate the MAC entity to trigger generation and transmission of a buffer status report (BSR) based on the PDCP discard operation when a discard BSR timer expires and a total amount of discarded PDCP data volume and discarded radio link control (RLC) data volume pending for transmission is equal to or larger than a discard volume threshold," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Chen teaches that a PDCP entity at the transmit end may determine, based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity, to discard one or more data units. Chen further teaches the UE triggers the BSR when the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the PDCP entity is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and a change value of a buffered data volume of a logical channel or a logical channel group corresponding to the RLC entity is greater than or equal to the first threshold. Thus, Chen teaches that the UE triggers the BSR when the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, which is based on a discard timer maintained by the PDCP entity. This implies that the BSR is triggered based on a timer such as the discard timer, which is functionally equivalent to a timer that triggers the BSR. Further, the UE triggers the BSR when the PDCP entity of the UE discards the data unit set, and a change value of a buffered data volume corresponding to the PDCP entity is greater than or equal to a first threshold. Thus, the combination of Chen and Wang teaches amended independent claim 1, and also amended independent 14 which recites similar limitations.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-20 are also taught by the combinations of the cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461