DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed 6/30/2025, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 19-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are moot in light of the new ground of rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Rahill-Marier et al (US 2022/0236965, hereafter Rahill), in view of Alfaras et al (US 2024/0281419), and further in view of Lowson (US 2008/0104039).
As to claim 1, Rahill discloses a system associated with data pipeline orchestration, comprising:
a data pipeline data store containing, for each of a plurality of data pipelines, a series of data pipeline steps associated with a data pipeline use case (figure 1, “Products, Applications, Use Cases Data Store”; [0168], “FIG. 7H shows another tab 760 of the user interface 742 in which that various applications 762 associated with the selected use case are listed, and by which the user may select to deploy one or more of the applications (which applications would then be populated with data as defined by the connected data sources and which applications would operate according to the configuration of functions and actions provided by the user). The user can deploy by saving the generated use case workflow/application”; [0138], “The system can include a catalog of use cases and/or applications that allow the user to traverse the system platform (of numerous workflows, data sources, data analyses, software tools and functions, dashboards, interactive software and user interfaces, and/or the like), to rapidly achieve specific outcomes and deliver user-facing workflows”. Here, the workflow/applications indicates a series of data pipeline steps),
wherein the series of data pipeline steps include: automatically downloading raw data from an internal enterprise data source; extract, automatically performing transform, load tasks; and automatically storing information in a cloud-based data warehouse (it is to be noted that since the claim does not limit the relationship between the recited raw data, data that the ETL tasks performs on, and data involved in the performed data cleanup, and the information stored in a cloud-based warehouse, Examiner assumes any relationship between the downloaded raw data, the tasks, and the information. See figure 1, “Products, Applications, Use Cases Data Store”; [0168], “FIG. 7H shows another tab 760 of the user interface 742 in which that various applications 762 associated with the selected use case are listed, and by which the user may select to deploy one or more of the applications (which applications would then be populated with data as defined by the connected data sources and which applications would operate according to the configuration of functions and actions provided by the user. The user can deploy by saving the generated use case workflow/application”; Figure 10A, step 1014, “Generate interactive graphic user interfaces for populated applications”; [0177], “at block 1014, the system can generate various interactive graphical user interfaces for the populated use cases/applications (e.g., as shown in FIG. 9B)”; [0174], “deployed application 912 for supply chain management is shown in FIG. 9B”; see Fig. 9B, wherein automatically downloading raw data from an internal enterprise data source is implied in order to gather the original supply chain data to be displayed (see [0068], “The physical system data store 106 may store and provide to the network 110, and/or to the system server 104, various data items/objects that may be related to logical computations, measuring devices, physical subsystems, technical subsystems, logical subsystems, physical systems, technical systems, and logical systems. For example, such data items may include a statistic related to a product or item that is the subject of a supply chain”), and wherein automatically performing extract transform, load the display tasks is also implied by Fig. 9B. See [0068], “the physical system data store 106 may additionally or alternatively include data or information derivable from or based on physical objects or events”; [0050], “cloud storage”), automatically performing data cleanup ([0114], “For example, old dataset items may be deleted from the system to conserve data storage space”); and
a data pipeline orchestration server, coupled to the data pipeline data store, including:
a computer processor, and
a computer memory storage device, coupled to the computer processor, that contains instructions that when executed by the computer processor enable the data pipeline orchestration server to:
(i) receive, from a data engineering operator, a selection of a data pipeline use case in the data pipeline data store figure 10C, “Receive input selecting a group of use cases, a use case, and/or an application” wherein the user that selects a use case to continue the configuration of the use case and/or applications as stated in step 1036 can be considered a data engineering operator; see also figure 6A, “Engineering Change Note”; [0127], “development branch”);
(ii) receive first configuration information for the selected data pipeline use case (abstract, “receiving a first user input indicating an association between a first data source and a first data object type; based on the compatibilities and the indicated association, automatically populating each of the one or more applications that is compatible with the first data object type with data from the first data source, wherein populating includes generating interactive graphical user interfaces”; see figure 11, “Optionally further analyze based on user inputs…Determine compatibilities between data object types and user cases… Determine suggestions of applications that are compatible with data sources and/or data object types”; [0162], “in response to a user selecting to configure a use case and/or application (e.g., by selection of a use case and/or application…, the use can connect or associate data sources with various data object types”; [0164], “the user has selected a particular data source 722 to connect or associate with the data object type of the use case”).
(iii) receive second configuration information, different than the first configuration information, for the selected data pipeline use case ([0164], “the user has selected a particular data source 722 to connect or associate with the data object type of the use case… the user may…optionally review and/or modify connections or associations among particular properties of the data object types and data sources”),
(iv) store representations of both the first configuration information and the second configuration information in connection with the selected data pipeline use case ([0164], “the user has selected a particular data source 722 to connect or associate with the data object type of the use case… the user may…optionally review and/or modify connections or associations among particular properties of the data object types and data sources… upon connection of a data source to a data object type of a use case, data objects from the data source may be automatically populated in applications of the use case such that a user may then interact with the applications”, indicating that representations of both the first configuration information and the second/modified configuration information are stored), and
(v) arrange for execution of the selected pipeline in accordance with one of the first configuration information and the second configuration information ([0164], “the user has selected a particular data source 722 to connect or associate with the data object type of the use case… the user may…optionally review and/or modify connections or associations among particular properties of the data object types and data sources… upon connection of a data source to a data object type of a use case, data objects from the data source may be automatically populated in applications of the use case such that a user may then interact with the applications”).
wherein a data pipeline use case associated with one data engineering team of an enterprise is shared with another data engineering team of the enterprise via a platform and cloud-based service for software development and version control ([0171], “Deploying” a use case and/or application can cause the system to make that use case/application available to other users of the system (e.g., as pre-defined and/or based on input from the user initiating the deploying). In various implementations, when “deploying” a use case and/or application, the user may select to effectively “save” a copy of the now configured and hooked up use case and/or application. The use case and/or application can then optionally be further modified and/or shared with other users.)”, wherein a user can be considered a solo developer/engineering team, and wherein sharing with other users a version and then a further modified version is a type of version control using the platform and cloud-based service, see [0257], “cloud computing environment”. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific type of version control, nor does the claim require that said another data engineering team share back with said one data engineering team).
Rahill does not expressly disclose that the data pipelines are Cross Industry Standard Processor for Data Mining (“CRISP_DM”), or that the extract, transform, load tasks are Extract, Transform, Load (“ETL”) tasks, or that the first and second configuration information defining configuration parameters for all of: downloading the raw data from the internal enterprise data source, performing ETL tasks, performing data cleanup, storing information in the cloud-based data warehouse.
Alfaras discloses Extract, Transform, Load (“ETL”) tasks, and configuration information defines configuration parameters for all of: downloading raw data from an internal enterprise data source, performing ETL tasks, performing data cleanup, storing information in a cloud-based data warehouse ([0048], “Data pipelines typically involve several stages, including data extraction, transformation, loading (ETL), or ingestion (ELT), depending on the specific requirements of the use case and the technologies involved. In the extraction stage, data is retrieved from the source systems using various methods, such as batch processing, change data capture (CDC), or real-time streaming. Once extracted, the data may undergo transformations to clean, enrich, or standardize it, ensuring consistency and quality before it is loaded into the target system.”; [0049], “The loading or ingestion stage may involve delivering the transformed data to its destination, where it can be stored, processed, and analyzed. This stage often may involve considerations such as data partitioning, schema evolution, and data governance to ensure that the data is structured and organized appropriately for downstream consumption. Depending on the requirements of the use case, data pipelines may support batch processing, streaming processing, or a combination of both to accommodate different latency and throughput requirements”; [0141], “WhereScape simplifies the creation of ETL (Extract, Transform, Load) workflows by automating the generation of SQL code for data loading tasks. It also provides capabilities for metadata management, version control, and scheduling, enabling organizations to streamline their data pipeline workflows. By integrating Python scripts with WhereScape, organizations can leverage the strengths of both technologies to build robust, scalable, and automated data pipelines. Python handles data transformation and integration tasks, while WhereScape orchestrates the loading of data into target destinations, such as data warehouses, data marts, or analytical databases.”; [0188], “Once the data pipeline design is complete, WhereScape RED generates the necessary code, scripts, and configurations to implement the pipeline automatically. This includes generating SQL code for data extraction, transformation, and loading (ETL) processes, as well as orchestrating workflow tasks, scheduling jobs, and managing dependencies. WhereScape RED abstracts away the complexities of coding and scripting, allowing users to focus on business logic and requirements rather than technical implementation details.” Here, the generated code includes configuration parameters for all the workflow tasks, wherein the workflow tasks include ETL tasks and other tasks such as downloading/obtaining data, cleanup, storing, as disclosed above in [0048]-[0049]).
Before the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Rahill and Alfaras. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to automate the workflow tasks (Alfaras, [0188]).
Lowson discloses a concept of data pipelines being Cross Industry Standard Processor for Data Mining (“CRISP_DM”) ([0029], “deploy open standards, such as an XML-enabled relational database management system (RDBMS) to store the cleansed data, an online analytical processing (OLAP) database and OLAP engine to enable multidimensional data analysis, and data transformation software to extract, transform, and load data between systems”; [0108], “industry standard methodologies for data mining and data analysis (such as CRISP-DM, the Cross Industry Standard Process model for Data Mining”).
Before the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Rahill-Alfaras and Lowson. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to utilize industry standard methodologies (Lowson, [0108]).
As to claim 2, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the series of data pipeline steps further comprises all of: data cleanup; data processing; deployment of a structure; and data uploading (Rahill, [0167], last 4 lines, “the end user to have the option to take in the deployed workflows/application… end user can cancel an order…”, wherein cancelling an order is a type of data cleanup and also data processing. See Fig. 9B, each display component/structure indicates deployment of a structure, and the displayed data are uploaded).
As to claim 3, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first configuration information includes information associated with all of: (i) credentials, (ii) data sources, and (iii) configuration of further calculations (Rahill, abstract, “receiving a first user input indicating an association between a first data source and a first data object type; based on the compatibilities and the indicated association, automatically populating each of the one or more applications that is compatible with the first data object type with data from the first data source, wherein populating includes generating interactive graphical user interfaces”; see figure 11, “Optionally further analyze based on user inputs…Determine compatibilities between data object types and user cases… Determine suggestions of applications that are compatible with data sources and/or data object types”; [0162], “in response to a user selecting to configure a use case and/or application (e.g., by selection of a use case and/or application…, the use can connect or associate data sources with various data object types”; [0164], “the user has selected a particular data source 722 to connect or associate with the data object type of the use case”. Here, the data sources and.or data object types reads on claimed data sources”, and determining compatibilities to determine suggestions of applications reads on the claimed configuration of further calculations. See (0136] “The system can include various permissioning functionalities. For example, the system can implement access control lists and/or other permissioning functionality that can enable highly granular permissioning of data assets (e.g., files, data items, datasets, portions of datasets, transformations, and/or the like). The permissioning may include, for example, specific permissions for read/write/modify, and/or the like, which may be applicable to specific users, groups of users, roles, and/or the like”; and [0171], “Permissioning can also be applied to the deployed use case and/or application such that only users with the right permission can access the use case and/or application, and/or certain data within the use case and/or application”, wherein said permissioning based on a specific user indicates credential for the specific user such as a user name/identifier).
As to claim 6, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data pipeline use case is deployed to all of: (i) a development system (Bahill, [0127], “development branch”), (ii) a test system (Bahill, Fig. 6C, “Root Cause Analysis… rapid hypothesis testing and flexible analysis tolling…”), and (iii) a production system (Bahill, figure 7E, “Supply Chain… PLANT…”; Fig. 7H, “Supply chain control tower”, “Production control tower”).
As to claim 7, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson discloses the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the selected pipeline is further performed in accordance with data pipeline scheduler information (Rahill, [0127], “Build branches provide isolation of re-computation of graph data across different users and across different execution schedules of a data pipeline.”).
7. Claims 8-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al (US 20160246838 ).
As to claim 8, see similar rejection to claim 1. For “Python code”, see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., [0141], “WhereScape simplifies the creation of ETL (Extract, Transform, Load) workflows by automating the generation of SQL code for data loading tasks. It also provides capabilities for metadata management, version control, and scheduling, enabling organizations to streamline their data pipeline workflows. By integrating Python scripts with WhereScape, organizations can leverage the strengths of both technologies to build robust, scalable, and automated data pipelines. Python handles data transformation and integration tasks, while WhereScape orchestrates the loading of data into target destinations, such as data warehouses, data marts, or analytical databases.”
However, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson does not expressly disclose “Jenkins” data. Li discloses “Jenkins” data ([0047]).
Before the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson and Li. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to utilize CL/CI tolols (Li, [0047]).
As to claim 9, see citation in rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 10, see citation in rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 13, see citation in rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 14, see citation in rejection to claim 7.
8. Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuan (US 2018/0307692).
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 1. However, Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson does not expressly disclose Open data (OData). Yuan discloses a concept for configuration to use Odata version 2 or OData version 4 ([0081]-[0082]).
Before the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Rahill-Alfaras-Lowson and Yuan. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to utilize known open data protocols (Yuan, [0081]-[0082]).
As to claim 16, see citation in rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 17, see citation in rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 19, see citation in rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 20, see citation in rejection to claim 7.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA FAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458