DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 2/25/2026 and 12/20/2023 have been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Applicants have not claimed benefit of priority. The instant filing date of 9/20/2023 will be used for the purposes of search and consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims recite an extra “is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1: Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition
Claims 1-11 are drawn to a method, so a process.
Claims 12-24 are drawn to a devices, so a machine.
Step 2A Prong One: Identification of an Abstract Idea
The claim(s) recite(s):
1. A process of evaluating fluorescence intensity values over time, as in claims and 12.
This step can be performed by the human mind and is therefore an abstract idea.
2. Subtracting noise from recorded fluorescence, as in claims 2 and 13.
This is step is drawn to math and is therefore an abstract idea.
3. Wherein the method determines standard deviation, maximum and minimum intensity and divides the standard deviation by the maximum and minimum intensity, as in claims, as in claims 3-5 and 14-16.
This step is drawn to math and is therefore an abstract idea.
4. approximating photobleaching intensity curves through solving a system of differential equations describing the kinetic model of photobleaching to determine NADH concentration, excitation and strength of NADH reducing enzyme, as in claims 6 and 17.
This step is drawn to math because solving a system of differential equations describing a kinetic model is mathematics performed on collected data. The step is therefore an abstract idea.
5. classifying photobleaching intensity curves using a neural network and recovering for each curve a unique set of variables, including NADH concentration, excitatory power, and strength of enzyme, as in claims 7 and 18.
This step reads on the abstract idea of classifying photobleaching intensity curves which can be performed by the human mind or with math. The use of a neural network reads on matrix mathematics or the implementation of a computer because the neural network is recited at a high degree of generality. See USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Example 47, Claim 2.
6. extracting the NADH fluorescence at a wavelength of 460 nm before clearing the digital fluorescence waveform from noise.
Extracting signal data and subtracting noise is drawn to mathematics and is therefore an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Consideration of Practical Application
The claimed process results in the evaluation of fluorescence from NADH emission. The process results in information per se and does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not meet any of the following criteria:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than
a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2B: Consideration of Additional Elements and Significantly More
The claimed method also recites "additional elements" that are not limitations drawn to an abstract idea. The recited additional elements are drawn to:
1. excitation of NADH fluorescence comprising UV-LED and recording NADH fluorescence, as in claims 1 and 12.
2. exposing tissue to 365 nm wavelength radiation, recording radiation at 460 nm, wherein the radiation is sufficient to obtain photobleaching, as in claims 8-10, 19-20 and 22.
3. UV-LED configured for NADH excitation between 1-50 mJ/mm2, as in claims 12 and 23.
4. UV-LED, a lens, optical filter and camera configured to record NADH fluorescence at at least 50 frames per second and 512 x 512 pixels, as in claims 12 and 24.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because UV-LED photon laser technology for NADH excitation and photomultiplier tubes, detector and photon counting modules for fluorescence detection of 460 nm emitted light is well known, routine and conventional. Cameras, including video cameras for recording fluorescence images with at least 50 frames per second and 512 pixels are also well known.
Other elements of the method include a unit with a computer (claim 12) as part of a device for processing fluorescence intensity which is a recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea recited in the instantly presented claims into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-2nd paragraph
Claims 3, 6, 10 11, 14, 17, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the standard deviation of the intensity of the excited fluorescence.” There is lack of antecedent basis for “the excited fluorescence” and therefore it is unclear what “the standard deviation of the intensity of the excited fluorescence” is referring to. Claim 14 recites the same limitation.
Claim 6 recites “the kinetic model of photobleaching.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 6 depends is not directed to establishing a kinetic model of photobleaching and therefore it is not clear what “the kinetic model of photobleaching” is referring to. Claim 17 recites the same limitation.
Claim 6 recites “the strength of the NADH reducing enzyme.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The process of claim 1 is not directed to or recite the use of an NADH reducing enzyme. Therefore it is not clear that “the strength” of the enzyme is referring to. Claims 7, 17 and 18 recite the same limitation lacking antecedent basis.
Claim 10 recites “the excitation radiation that reaches the surface of object under study.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claimed process in claim 1 does not recite any surface or object under study. It is therefore unclear what “the ratio of time and specific power of the excitation radiation” is referring to. Claim 22 recites a similar limitation.
Claim 11 recites “the dynamics of the emergence and progression of ischemic damage areas.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claimed process in claim 1 does not recite a process of tracking progression of ischemic damage areas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Butte et al. (US 2022/0276167; IDS filed 2/25/2025).
Butte et al. teach (par. 0244) measuring NADH redox state in a tissue sample as compared to another tissue sample which may be healthy or injured; cellular metabolism may be characterized (par. 0245) (i.e. excitation of NADH); Butte et al. teach a lens system (par. 0013) (i.e. a lens), as in claim 1, step (a) and claim 12.
Butte et al. teach (par. 0259) continuous monitoring of NADH in a time-resolved spectroscopy system (i.e. recording NADH fluorescence), as in claim 1, step (b) and claim 12.
Butte et al. teach (par. 0259 and Figure 18) time-resolved spectroscopy and system for continuous monitoring of NADH by assessing fluctuations in fluorescence emission from NADH and NAD+ (i.e. evaluating fluorescence intensity values over a duration of time), as in claim 1, step (c) and claim 12.
Butte et al. teach evaluating standard deviation of the spectra band decay (par. 0274 and 0279)(i.e. determining standard deviation of the excited fluorescence), as in claims 3 and 14.
Butte et al. teach various lasers and an LED (par. 0016), light pulse that may be about 360 nm (par. 0046) and a laser pulse that may be between 300 nm to 1100 nm (par. 0062), as in claims 8 and 19.
Butte et al. teach NADH fluorescing at 460 nm (par. 0259) and recorded spectral bands of 450 nm to 480 nm (par. 213), as in claims 9 and 21
Butte et al. teach using iterations of sample excitation and data collection (par. 0221) in order to monitor cellular metabolism (par. 0245), as in claim 11.
Butte et al. teach a demultiplexer with wavelength splitting filter (par. 0212) and is configured to split optical signal into spectral bands of about 450 or 450 to 480 nm (par. 0213)(i.e. optical filter with a bandpass comprising wavelength of 460 nm), as in claim 20.
Butte et al. teach assessment of tissue after injury by determining NADH redox state (par. 0244) and characterizing NADH redox state to determine cell viability in ischemic conditions (par. 0245); Butte et al. teach imaging a brain sample by NADH assessment of an ischemic environment (Figure 18A and par. 0259), as in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Butte et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 20-22 above, and further in view of Patwardhan et al. (US 2014/0364745; IDS filed 2/25/2025)
Patwardhan et al. teach spectral tissue imaging including capturing dark-light images in order to estimate the dark noise of the detector and subtract that noise from fluorescence images, as in claim 2 and 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Butte et al. with the teachings of Patwardhan et al. for subtracting noise from fluorescent images. The combination of known elements in Butte et and Patwardhan et al. would yield a predictable result of preprocessing images to increase the signal to noise in the results, for the purpose of studying NADH excitation in tissue.
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Butte et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 20-22 above, and further in view of Kay et al. (US 2019/0183395; IDS filed 2/25/2025).
Kay et al. teach (Abstract) an illumination system for in vivo real time measurement of NADH recovery kinetics with specific pulse sequence to non-destructively photobleach NADH; optimum energy delivery of 23.8 mJ of UV light for measuring photobleaching is taught (par. 0006), which suggests enough time and power of excitation to obtain a photobleaching curve, as in claim 10.
Kay et al. teach photobleaching energy between 0 mJ/mm2 to 4.5 mJ/ mm2 (par. 0025), as in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Butte et al. with the teachings of Kay et al. for photobleaching NADH with the energy levels taught by Kay et al. The combination of known elements in Butte et and Kay et al. would yield a predictable result because both Butte et al. and Kay et al. are concerned with NADH excitation to study tissue condition. Implementing the method of Kay et al. would allow for the study of fluorescence over time, as taught by Butte et al.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Butte et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 20-22 above, and further in view of Kateb et al. (US 2014/0288433; IDS filed 2/25/2025).
Kateb et al. teach evaluating fluorescence changes in NADH (par. 0054-0055) and teach a UV camera with a resolution of 1500 x 2000 pixels (par. 0055), a CCD with 1024 x 1024 pixels at frame rates of 1-30 frames or 1-10 frames per second (par. 0062), as in claim 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Butte et al. with the teachings of Kateb et al. for implementing a pixel resolution and frame rate such that data is captured with enough clarity (i.e. pixels) and quantity to perform NADH fluorescence analysis of tissue. The combination of Butte et al. and Kateb et al. would yield a predictable result because both teach light excitation and emission detection from NADH.
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635