Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Lee (KR 20040095123) in further view of Winton (US 2022/0329963).
Regarding claim 1, Kanagaraj teaches A device configured to reproduce a soundfield based on audio data within a vehicle, the device comprising: and processing circuitry coupled to the memory (Kanagaraj figure 1, microprocessor 20), and configured to: obtain, from an occupant monitoring system (Kanagaraj figure 1, rear occupant monitoring camera 16, front occupant monitoring camera 12, microphones 14), a state of an occupant residing within a first zone of cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0016, “Rear seat passengers 32 may be monitored by rear occupant monitoring camera 16 and rear seat microphone 28. Rear seat passengers 32 may hear rear occupant loudspeakers 24 primarily”); modify, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, playback of the audio data within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle to obtain modified playback data for the audio data that reduces a volume of the playback of the audio data in the first zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “Based upon the images received from cameras 12, 16, infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”) while maintaining the volume of the playback of the audio data in a second zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0018, “If only a rear seat occupant 32 is falling asleep, then volume may be turned down on either all speakers 22, 24, or only on rear speakers 24”); and reproduce, based on the modified playback data, the soundfield (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”. See also ¶0018, which teaches selectively adjusting the volume or specific loudspeakers), however does not explicitly teach the device comprising a memory configured to store the audio data, wherein to modify the playback of the audio data, the processing circuitry is configured to generate a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone.
Lee teaches the device comprising a memory configured to store the audio data ( Lee ¶35 discloses a vehicle audio set 100 comprising a storage unit 12 that can store music files downloaded through the communication unit 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Lee to improve the known device of Kanagaraj to achieve the predictable result of access to audio data when wireless capabilities are limited.
Winton teaches wherein to modify the playback of the audio data, the processing circuitry is configured to generate a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone (Winton ¶0036, “The low frequency signals are provided to the sound zone algorithm 278 (and processed by the controller 132) to actively cancel the audio signals (e.g., play back the signals with a flipped or inverted phase) in the rear zone (or third zone seating area 114). Therefore, occupants in the third zone seating area 114 (or rear zone occupants) are hearing their selected media and the addition of cancellation signals (or mixed cancellation signals) for the front zone (or first zone seating area 110) low frequency signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Winton to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Lee to achieve the predictable result of improved sound quality in specific zones (Winton ¶0036).
Regarding claim 2, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to obtain the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, is configured to obtain a state of a rear occupant residing within a rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj figure 1, rear occupant monitoring camera 16).
Regarding claim 3, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teaches wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle includes a sleeping state of the occupant residing within a rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “changing sleep states or awake states of the vehicle’s occupants”).
Regarding claim 5, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teaches when configured to modify the playback of the audio data, is configured to perform, responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “Based upon the images received from cameras 12, 16, infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”), active noise cancellation with respect to the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle that includes modifying the audio data prior to playback within the rear passenger zone to limit the soundfield from being reproduced in the rear passenger zone by generating the counter wave to be 180 degrees out of phase with the audio data reproduced by the second loudspeaker (Winton ¶0036, “The low frequency signals are provided to the sound zone algorithm 278 (and processed by the controller 132) to actively cancel the audio signals (e.g., play back the signals with a flipped or inverted phase) in the rear zone (or third zone seating area 114). Therefore, occupants in the third zone seating area 114 (or rear zone occupants) are hearing their selected media and the addition of cancellation signals (or mixed cancellation signals) for the front zone (or first zone seating area 110) low frequency signals”).
Regarding claim 6, Kanagaraj in view of Lee teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to modify the playback of the audio data, is configured to replace, responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping, portions of the audio data with soothing audio data to facilitate the sleeping state of the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0005, “in response to detecting that non-driver occupants are falling asleep, to change the audio source into soothing sound/music in order to lull children to sleep”).
Regarding claim 13, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teaches wherein the processing circuitry is coupled to the first loudspeaker ad the second loudspeaker (Kanagaraj figure 1, speakers 22 and 24), wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to reproduce the soundfield, is configured to output the modified playback data to the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker, and wherein the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker are configured to reproduce, based on the modified playback data and the audio data, the soundfield (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”).
Regarding claim 14, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teaches wherein the device comprises a vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj figure 1, infotainment system 18).
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Lee (KR 20040095123) in further view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Kim (US 2020/0400784).
Regarding claim 4, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton teach wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to modify the playback of the audio data, is configured to decrease the volume, responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping, audio playback in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0018), however does not explicitly teach mute the audio playback.
Kim teaches mute the audio playback (Kim ¶0054, “The speaker control device 400 may be configured to enter all speakers installed within the vehicle 10 in a silent mode to change all the speakers into a mute state”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Kim to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of a more controlled sound environment.
Regarding claim 8, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton in further view of Kim teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to adjust, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a heating, air conditioning, and ventilation setting for the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kim figure 8).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Lee (KR 20040095123) in further view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Saban (US 2010/0302022).
Regarding claim 7, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alert, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle that the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is a child.
Saban teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alert, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle that the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is a child (Saban ¶0070, “the alert system 26 may emit signals to the interior of the vehicle including dedicated vehicle warning lights such as for indicating the presence of a child, a smoking forbidding signal in the presence of a child, operation of the interior lights of the vehicle, audible alerts, such as chimes, buzzes, vocally recorded messages, screen readable messages, screen displayed images, warning labels and messages, operation of the audio system, and prevention of removal of the ignition key. Other alert signals such as tactile signals and vibration emitting signals are also practical”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Saban to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of increased awareness of children and their safety in the car.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Lee (KR 20040095123) in further view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Lan (US 2018/0065504).
Regarding claim 9, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain an operational state of the vehicle; and perform, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the operational state of the vehicle, a safety action to facilitate safety with respect to the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle.
Lan teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain an operational state of the vehicle; and perform, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the operational state of the vehicle, a safety action to facilitate safety with respect to the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Lan figure 7 and ¶0041-0043, see also sensors of figures 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Lan to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of increased awareness and safety of a child in the car.
Regarding claim 10, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to perform the safety action, initiates, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the state of the occupant indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a phone call to one or more of an owner of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle, a preferred contact for the vehicle, and emergency services (Lan ¶0045, “The audible or textual message may also be sent via an application on the user's phone or other device. Alternately or in conjunction with the pre-recorded audible message and/or preset text alert, controller 101 may transmit a picture or video captured using an in-cabin camera 123, where the picture or video is of the inside of the passenger cabin in general, and preferably of the detected child or pet in particular” and “eCall”).
Regarding claim 11, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to perform the safety action, initiates, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the state of the occupant indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a text message to one or more of an owner of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle, a preferred contact for the vehicle, and emergency services (Lan ¶0045, “The audible or textual message may also be sent via an application on the user's phone or other device. Alternately or in conjunction with the pre-recorded audible message and/or preset text alert, controller 101 may transmit a picture or video captured using an in-cabin camera 123, where the picture or video is of the inside of the passenger cabin in general, and preferably of the detected child or pet in particular”).
Regarding claim 12, Kanagaraj in view of Lee in further view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein the processing circuitry, when configured to perform the safety action, initiates, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the state of the occupant indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a safety alarm to alert people nearby of the occupant within the vehicle (Lan ¶0045, “Examples of alarms that may be used by controller 101 to alert a nearby person of the unattended child or pet include both externally audible alarms 117 (e.g., car horn, on-board siren) and externally visible alarms 119 (e.g., internal and/or external car lights)”).
Claim(s) 15-17, 19-20, and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Winton (US 2022/0329963).
Regarding claim 15, Kanagaraj teaches A method of reproducing a soundfield based on audio data within a vehicle (Kanagaraj figure 1, speakers 22 and 24), the method comprising: obtaining, from an occupant monitoring system (Kanagaraj figure 1, rear occupant monitoring camera 16, front occupant monitoring camera 12, microphones 14), a state of an occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0016, “Rear seat passengers 32 may be monitored by rear occupant monitoring camera 16 and rear seat microphone 28. Rear seat passengers 32 may hear rear occupant loudspeakers 24 primarily”); modifying, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, playback of the audio data within at least a portion of the cabin of the vehicle to obtain modified playback data for the audio data that reduces a volume of the playback of the audio data in the first zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “Based upon the images received from cameras 12, 16, infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”) while maintaining the volume of the playback of the audio data in a second zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0018, “If only a rear seat occupant 32 is falling asleep, then volume may be turned down on either all speakers 22, 24, or only on rear speakers 24”) and reproducing, based on the modified playback data, the soundfield (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”. See also ¶0018, which teaches selectively adjusting the volume or specific loudspeakers), however does not explicitly teach wherein modifying the playback of the audio data comprises generating a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone; and reproducing, based on the modified playback data, the soundfield.
Winton teaches wherein modifying the playback of the audio data comprises generating a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone; and reproducing, based on the modified playback data, the soundfield (Winton ¶0036, “The low frequency signals are provided to the sound zone algorithm 278 (and processed by the controller 132) to actively cancel the audio signals (e.g., play back the signals with a flipped or inverted phase) in the rear zone (or third zone seating area 114). Therefore, occupants in the third zone seating area 114 (or rear zone occupants) are hearing their selected media and the addition of cancellation signals (or mixed cancellation signals) for the front zone (or first zone seating area 110) low frequency signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Winton to improve the known device of Kanagaraj to achieve the predictable result of improved sound quality in specific zones (Winton ¶0036).
Regarding claim 16, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein obtaining the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle comprises obtaining a state of a rear occupant residing within a rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj figure 1, rear occupant monitoring camera 16).
Regarding claim 17, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle includes a sleeping state of the occupant residing within a rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “changing sleep states or awake states of the vehicle’s occupants”).
Regarding claim 19, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein modifying the playback of the audio data comprises performing, responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “Based upon the images received from cameras 12, 16, infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”), active noise cancellation with respect to the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle that includes modifying the audio data prior to playback within the rear passenger zone to limit the soundfield from being reproduced in the rear passenger zone by generating the counter wave to be 180 degrees out of phase with the audio data reproduced by the second loudspeaker (Winton ¶0036, “The low frequency signals are provided to the sound zone algorithm 278 (and processed by the controller 132) to actively cancel the audio signals (e.g., play back the signals with a flipped or inverted phase) in the rear zone (or third zone seating area 114). Therefore, occupants in the third zone seating area 114 (or rear zone occupants) are hearing their selected media and the addition of cancellation signals (or mixed cancellation signals) for the front zone (or first zone seating area 110) low frequency signals”).
Regarding claim 20, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein modifying the playback of the audio data comprises replacing, responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping, portions of the audio data with soothing audio data to facilitate the sleeping state of the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0005, “in response to detecting that non-driver occupants are falling asleep, to change the audio source into soothing sound/music in order to lull children to sleep”).
Regarding claim 27, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein reproducing the soundfield comprises outputting the modified playback data to the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker (Kanagaraj figure 1, speakers 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 28, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein obtaining comprises obtaining, by a vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj figure 1, infotainment system 18), modifying comprises modifying, by the vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj figure 1, infotainment system 18 contains microprocessor 20), and reproducing comprises reproducing, by the vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj figure 1 and ¶0015, “an infotainment system 18 having a microprocessor 20, front occupant loudspeakers 22, and rear occupant loudspeakers 24”).
Regarding claim 29, Kanagaraj teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj figure 1, infotainment system 18) to: obtain, from an occupant monitoring system (Kanagaraj figure 1, rear occupant monitoring camera 16, front occupant monitoring camera 12, microphones 14), a state of an occupant residing within a cabin of a vehicle including the vehicle head unit (Kanagaraj ¶0016, “Rear seat passengers 32 may be monitored by rear occupant monitoring camera 16 and rear seat microphone 28. Rear seat passengers 32 may hear rear occupant loudspeakers 24 primarily”); modify, based on the state of the occupant residing within a first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, playback of audio data representative of a soundfield within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle to obtain modified playback data for the audio data that reduces a volume of the playback of the audio data in the first zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “Based upon the images received from cameras 12, 16, infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”) while maintaining the volume of the playback of the audio data in a second zone of the cabin (Kanagaraj ¶0018, “If only a rear seat occupant 32 is falling asleep, then volume may be turned down on either all speakers 22, 24, or only on rear speakers 24”); and reproducing, based on the modified playback data and the audio data, the soundfield (Kanagaraj ¶0017, “infotainment system 18 may reduce or increase the volume of the sound emitted by loudspeakers 22, 24 due to the images indicating that one or more passengers 32, 34 are falling asleep or waking up”. See also ¶0018, which teaches selectively adjusting the volume or specific loudspeakers), however does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed, to cause the one or more processors to modify the playback of the audio data comprise instruction that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to generate a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone.
Winton teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, to cause the one or more processors to modify the playback of the audio data comprise instruction that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to generate a counter wave output by a first loudspeaker associated with the first zone, the counter wave configured to cancel soundwaves of the audio data reproduced by a second loudspeaker associated with the second zone (Winton ¶0036, “The low frequency signals are provided to the sound zone algorithm 278 (and processed by the controller 132) to actively cancel the audio signals (e.g., play back the signals with a flipped or inverted phase) in the rear zone (or third zone seating area 114). Therefore, occupants in the third zone seating area 114 (or rear zone occupants) are hearing their selected media and the addition of cancellation signals (or mixed cancellation signals) for the front zone (or first zone seating area 110) low frequency signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Winton to improve the known device of Kanagaraj to achieve the predictable result of improved sound quality in specific zones (Winton ¶0036).
Claim(s) 18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Kim (US 2020/0400784).
Regarding claim 18, Kanagaraj in view of Winton teaches wherein modifying the playback of the audio data comprises decreasing the volume level (Kanagaraj ¶0018), responsive to the sleeping state indicating that the occupant residing within the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is sleeping, audio playback in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kanagaraj ¶0018), however does not explicitly teach muting the audio.
Kim teaches muting the audio playback (Kim ¶0054, “The speaker control device 400 may be configured to enter all speakers installed within the vehicle 10 in a silent mode to change all the speakers into a mute state”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Kim to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of a more controlled sound environment.
Regarding claim 22, Kanagaraj in view of Kim teaches adjusting, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a heating, air conditioning, and ventilation setting for the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Kim figure 8).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Saban (US 2010/0302022).
Regarding claim 21, Kanagaraj in view of Winton does not explicitly teach alerting, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle that the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is a child.
Saban teaches alerting, responsive to detecting the state of the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle that the occupant in the rear passenger zone of the cabin of the vehicle is a child (Saban ¶0070, “the alert system 26 may emit signals to the interior of the vehicle including dedicated vehicle warning lights such as for indicating the presence of a child, a smoking forbidding signal in the presence of a child, operation of the interior lights of the vehicle, audible alerts, such as chimes, buzzes, vocally recorded messages, screen readable messages, screen displayed images, warning labels and messages, operation of the audio system, and prevention of removal of the ignition key. Other alert signals such as tactile signals and vibration emitting signals are also practical”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Saban to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of increased awareness of children and their safety in the car.
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanagaraj (US 2018/0167044) in view of Winton (US 2022/0329963) in further view of Lan (US 2018/0065504).
Regarding claim 23, Kanagaraj in view of Winton does not explicitly teach obtaining an operational state of the vehicle; and performing, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the operational state of the vehicle, a safety action to facilitate safety with respect to the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle.
Lan teaches obtaining an operational state of the vehicle; and performing, based on the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the operational state of the vehicle, a safety action to facilitate safety with respect to the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Lan figure 7 and ¶0042-0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Lan to improve the known device of Kanagaraj in view of Winton to achieve the predictable result of increased awareness and safety of a child in the car.
Regarding claim 24, Kanagaraj in view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein performing the safety action comprises initiating, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the vehicle is locked without access to the heating, air conditioning, and ventilation and the state of the occupant indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a phone call to one or more of an owner of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle, a preferred contact for the vehicle, or emergency services (Lan ¶0045, “The audible or textual message may also be sent via an application on the user's phone or other device. Alternately or in conjunction with the pre-recorded audible message and/or preset text alert, controller 101 may transmit a picture or video captured using an in-cabin camera 123, where the picture or video is of the inside of the passenger cabin in general, and preferably of the detected child or pet in particular” and “eCall”).
Regarding claim 25, Kanagaraj in view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein performing the safety action comprises initiating, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle and the state of the occupant indicating that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation, a text message to one or more of an owner of the vehicle, an operator of the vehicle, a preferred contact for the vehicle, or emergency services (Lan ¶0045, “The audible or textual message may also be sent via an application on the user's phone or other device. Alternately or in conjunction with the pre-recorded audible message and/or preset text alert, controller 101 may transmit a picture or video captured using an in-cabin camera 123, where the picture or video is of the inside of the passenger cabin in general, and preferably of the detected child or pet in particular”).
Regarding claim 26, Kanagaraj in view of Winton in further view of Lan teaches wherein the operational state of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is locked without access to heating, air conditioning, and ventilation (Lan figure 7, and ¶0042 “status of the vehicle has changed to ‘off’ (step 707)”), wherein the state of the occupant residing within the vehicle indicates that the occupant is still residing within the vehicle (Lan figure 7, step 709), and wherein performing the safety action comprises initiating, responsive to the operational state of the vehicle indicating that the vehicle is locked without access to hearing, air conditioning, and ventilation and the state of the occupant indicating that the occupant is still residing within the first zone of the cabin of the vehicle, a safety alarm to alert people nearby of the occupant within the vehicle (Lan ¶0045, “Examples of alarms that may be used by controller 101 to alert a nearby person of the unattended child or pet include both externally audible alarms 117 (e.g., car horn, on-board siren) and externally visible alarms 119 (e.g., internal and/or external car lights)”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection in view of newly found prior art Winton.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693