DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's arguments filed on May 27, 2026. Claim(s) 1-22 are pending and examined herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has filed a Terminal Disclaimer over copending Application No. 18/470,622, therefore the outstanding nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is hereby withdrawn.
In view of applicant’s amendments, the 102 (a)(1) rejection of claims 1-20 as being anticipated by Encarnacion (US PG PUB 2019/0261632) of record (IDS 12/28/23, reference #72) is hereby withdrawn.
Any rejection from the previous Office action not set forth on record below is hereby withdrawn.
The new rejection is made in the Final Office action below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miu (CA 3121871).
Miu teaches sanitizing or disinfecting composition, wherein the sanitizing or disinfecting composition comprises: (a) from 0.05% to less than 0.5% by weight of a hypochlorite; (b) at least one nonionic or zwitterionic surfactant;(c) at least one anionic surfactant selected from the group consisting of:sulfates, sulfonates and any mixtures or combinations thereof;(d) wherein the composition has a pH from 8.5 to 11.8; and (e) wherein the sanitizing or disinfecting composition exhibits at least a 3-log reduction in a C. diff population within 10 minutes (claim 18). Said compositions are devoid of sodium or potassium hydroxide, as required by claims 21-22.
Miu teaches Zwitterionic surfactants may be employed.Many such zwitterionic surfactants contain nitrogen. Examples of such include amine oxides, sarcosinates, taurates and betaines. Examples include C8-C18 alkyldimethyl amine oxides (e.g., octyldimethylamine oxide, lauryldimethylamine oxide (also known as lauramine oxide), and cetyldimethylamine oxide), C4-C16 dialkylmethylamine oxides (e.g. didecylmethyl-amine oxide), C8-C18 alkyl morpholine oxide (e.g. laurylmorpholine oxide), tetra-alkyl diamine dioxides (e.g. tetramethyl hexanane diamine dioxide, lauryl trimethyl propane diamine dioxide), C8-C18 alkyl betaines (e.g. decylbetaine and cetylbetaine), C8-C18 acyl sarcosinates (e.g. sodium lauroylsarcosinate), C8-C18 acyl C1-C6 alkyl taurates (e.g. sodium cocoylmethyltaurate), C8-C 1 8 alkyl iminodiprop ionates (e.g. sodium lauryliminodipropionate), and combinations thereof. Lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (Ammonyx LO) myristyl dimethyl amine oxide (Ammonyx MO), decylamine oxide (Ammonyx DO) are examples of suitable zwitterionic surfactants, available from Stepan Co. [0060].
Miu teaches an anionic surfactant may be included as surfactant aid. An example of such a suitable surfactant aid is an aromatic sulfonate, such as sodium xylene sulfonate ("SXS") or sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) [0066].
Miu teaches pH values for the present compositions may be about 7 to 12.5 [0084].
Miu teaches surfactant concentrations may typically be far lower than many other bleach formulations, e.g., given the low level of other active ingredients in the formulation. For example, total surfactant concentration may range from 0.001% by weight to 1% by weight, from 0.01% to 0.5% by weight, from 0.01% by weight to 0.1% by weight. The ratio of surfactant to hypohalite or other free available halide oxidant may be from 1:1 to 100:1, from 3:1 to 50:1, from 5:1 to 20:1 or from 5:1 to 15:1 [0071].
Examiner notes that the limitations regarding surface tension are considered properties inherent in the disclosed active agent. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutual exclusive properties." Any properties exhibited by or benefits from are not given any patentable weight over the prior art provided the composition is inherent. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the disclosed properties are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. The burden is shifted to the applicant to show that the prior art product does not inherently possess the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
Miu does not specifically exemplify a composition wherein the first surfactant and second surfactant have at least a 2-carbon unit difference in length as required by the instant claims. More specifically, it is not exemplified wherein the first surfactant is sodium lauryl sulfate or sodium myristyl sulfate and the second surfactant is myristamine oxide or cocobetaine, as required by claims 10, 11, 16, and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have known of the disinfecting compositions as taught by Miu to arrive at the instant invention. Miu teaches a variety of anionic and zwitterionic surfactants that are embraced by the instant invention.
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad generic ranges taught by the reference but such "picking and choosing" within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corninq Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989). Where, as here, the reference does not provide any motivation to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found. That being said, however, it must be remembered that "[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious". KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S, Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). "[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious", the relevant question is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." (Ida). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S, Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that "[a] person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive compositions "yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement". Additionally, varying the concentration of the surfactants of the composition would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent secondary considerations (i.e., unexpected results). Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." MPEP 2114.04.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-22 are not allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622