DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Line 4 of claim 4 discloses “a head plate coupled to the head pack” and line 9 of claim 4 also discloses “a head plate coupled to the head pack”. It is unclear if the head plates are different head plates coupled to the head pack or the same. For purpose of examination the Examiner has interpreted the head plates as being the same head plate coupled to the head pack. Examiner suggests amending line 9 to read as “the head plate coupled to the head pack”.
Line 3 of claim 4 discloses “a head pack having ink jet heads” and line 7 of claim 4 discloses “a head pack having an ink jet head”. It is unclear to the Examiner if the head packs are the same or different head packs. Please amend and/or advise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mauck et al (U.S. Pub. 2016/0136953)
Regarding claim 1, a connection unit for an ink jet head assembly, which comprises: a first board (2) disposed on an upper face of a head pack (1000) having an ink jet head (205; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040) therein
A second board (202; Figure 3c) disposed on a bottom face of a head plate (115; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040) coupled to the head pack (1000), the second board facing the first board (Figure 3c)
Wherein the first board and the second board are connected to each other in a board-to-board manner when the head pack is combined with the head plate (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0043; elements 5 and 201 will be connected via ribbon cable 6)
Regarding claims 2, 5, 14, wherein the first board includes a first connector (5) and the second board includes a second connector (202) (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0043)
Regarding claim 4, an ink jet assembly for providing a chemical liquid onto a substrate (Abstract)
A head pack (element 1200 which includes 1000; Figures 2, 12a, 12b) having ink jet heads mounted therein (Figures 12a, 12b; Paragraph 0069; print head unit 1200 with a plurality of print heads)
A head plate (115; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040) coupled to the head pack (Figures 2, 3, 12)
A connection unit configured to provide an electrical connection between the head pack and the head plate (elements 5 and 201 will be connected via ribbon cable 6 to the electrical interface board 2), the connection unit comprising:
A first board (2) disposed on an upper face of a head pack (element 1200 which includes 1000; Figures 2, 12a, 12b) having an ink jet head (205; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040)
A second board (202) disposed on a bottom face of a head plate (115; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040) coupled to the head pack, the second board facing the first board (Figure 3c)
Wherein the first board and the second board are connected to each other in a board-to-board manner when the head pack is combined with the head plate (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0043; elements 5 and 201 will be connected via ribbon cable 6)
Regarding claim 8, wherein the head pack is combined with the head plate such that a bottom face of the head plate substantially faces an upper face of the head pack (Figures 2, 3, 12)
Regarding claim 9, wherein the head pack (element 1200 which includes 1000; Figures 2, 12a, 12b) includes at least two ink jet heads (Figures 12a, 12b; Paragraph 0069; print head unit 1200 with a plurality of print heads) and a first plate (114) on which the at least two ink jet heads are mounted (Figures 3c; 12), the head plate includes a second plate (116) facing the first plate, the first board is disposed over the first plate, and the second board is disposed on a bottom face of the second plate (116 is attached to 115; Figure 3c; Paragraphs 0040-0041)
Regarding claims 12, 17, a disconnecting part configured to help a decoupling between the head pack and the head plate (Figure 15; Paragraph 0078; interface assembly 500 can be readily disconnected)
Regarding claim 13, a method of assembling an ink jet head assembly, which comprises: placing a head pack (element 1200 which includes 1000; Figures 2, 12a, 12b) including ink jet heads (Figures 12a, 12b; Paragraph 0069; print head unit 1200 with a plurality of print heads) to face a head plate (115; Figure 3c; Paragraph 0040)
Combining a first board (2) with a second board (202) in a board-to-board manner such that the head pack is coupled to the head plate (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0043; elements 5 and 201 will be connected via ribbon cable 6)
The first board is disposed on an upper face of the head pack and the second board is disposed on a bottom face of the head plate (Figure 3)
Regarding claim 16, combining of the first board with the second board comprised enhancing a coupling between the head pack and the head plate using a connecting part (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0043; elements 5 and 201 will be connected via ribbon cable 6)
Regarding claim 18, wherein a providing of an electrical signal (electrical interface board 2 provides electrical signals) to the head pack and the head plate is stopped and a chemical liquid supply line is separated from the ink jet heads when the head pack is disconnected from the head plate (Paragraphs 0035-0036, 0043-0044; element 2 provides electrical connection and signals; therefore, when it is disconnected/separated the electrical signal and liquid supply will be stopped)
Regarding claim 19, the disconnection of the head pack from the head plate comprises using a disconnecting member (127) configured to help a decoupling between the head pack and the head plate (Figure 2; Paragraphs 048, 0058, 0078)
Regarding claim 20, wherein a chemical liquid supply line is connected to the ink jet heads and an electrical signal is provided to the head pack and the head plate when the head pack is coupled to the head plate (Paragraphs 0035-0036, 0039, 0043-0044, 0047; Figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauck et al (U.S. Pub. 2016/0136953) in view of Choi (U.S. Pat. 6,059,396)
Regarding claims 3, 6, 15, Choi discloses it is known in the art for connectors to include a substantial male connector and a substantial female connector (Figure 7; Column 5, Lines 36-46)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Choi into the device of Mauck, for the purpose of forming a secure connection
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauck et al (U.S. Pub. 2016/0136953) in view of Woo et al (U.S. Pub. 2023/0211618)
Regarding claims 10, 11, Woo discloses a connecting part configured to help a coupling between the head pack and the head plate and the connecting part is configured to combine the head pack with the head plate utilizing an air suction mechanism (air lock) (Abstract; Paragraph 0041)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Woo into the device of Mauck, for the purpose of fastening the connecting portions of the ink jet head assembly
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 November 4, 2025