DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed on September 20, 2023 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 18, a LUMO range and HOMO range for the emitting layer (EML) is recited. The specification describes “in some embodiments” these ranges for the emitting layer (see par. 159 in corresponding USPGUB), but as the EML is formed of a combination of at least three materials (cohosts plus emitter), it is unclear where device embodiments were made with specifically combined materials having the recited properties in the composed layer. The specification does not describe forming a multi-component EML with the recited properties representative of the scope of the claim. The original specification does not appear to provide adequate support the applicant had possession of the claimed invention within the broad scope of an emitting layer as set forth in claim 18.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the HBL interface to the EBL interface”, but these layers are not features of claim 1. Accordingly, the phrase is considered indefinite with respect to the intended structure. Clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim 7 recites “the EBL interface to the HBL interface”, but these are not features of claim 1. Accordingly, the phrase is considered indefinite with respect to the intended structure. Clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 11-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinoshita et al. (US 2009/0026939 A1).
Kinoshita et al. discloses organic electroluminescent devices with a light emitting layer comprising a first host, second host and a light emitter all having a concentration gradient through the layer thickness (see Figure 2):
.
At least example devices no. 1 and 2 are disclosed (see par. 519-523 and further see all examples through par. 553) and comprise an ITO anode, hole injection layer, hole transport layer, the light emitting layer, electron transport layer, and electron injecting layer (see par. 501-523). The graded materials included in a light emitting layer meet the requirements of instant claims 1, 2, and 20.
With respect to claim 4, material ETH-1 reads upon “ET” host (see examples par. 519-523 and 524 top of page 44):
.
With respect to claim 5, material mCP meets the requirement of a “HT” host (see examples par. 519-523 and 524 bottom of page 43):
.
With respect to claim 14, the above shown mCP material has a carbazole group.
With respect to claim 8, the Kinoshita recited hole transporting layer meets the structure requirement of an “electron blocking layer” of instant claim 8 as hole transportation is synonymous with electron blocking (see par. 505-506, 516, 517, 520-523).
With respect to claim 11, the first electrode in the examples is made of indium tin oxide (ITO) (see par. 502, 520).
With respect to claim 12, the 10 nm “hole transporting layer” taught by Kinoshita et al. is considered to meet the structural requirement of the recited layer between the first electrode and emitting layer (see par. 505-506).
With respect to claim 13, the electron transporting layer of the examples is 40 nm thick (see par. 510, 520).
With respect to claim 19, example devices produce a “light” (see examples at par. 501-553).
Further regarding claim 20, the device layers are deposited (see examples within par. 501-553).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (US 2009/0026939 A1).
Kinoshita et al. is relied upon as set forth above.
With respect to claim 9, the Kinoshita et al. example devices do not specifically include both an electron transporting layer and a hole blocking “HBL” layer. The function of hole blocking is synonymous with electron transporting and adding a second electron transport layer would meet the required layered structure. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included two electron transporting layers, which would meet the requirement of the recited “ETL” and “HBL”, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to claim 10, the thickness of the ITO anode is not specifically mentioned in the example; however, the anode thickness is taught in the range of from 10 nm to 50 micrometers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have formed an anode at a thickness of 50 nm to 100 nm, because Kinoshita et al. teaches the thickness range as desirable. One would expect to achieve a functional anode of the recited range and within the disclosure of Kinoshita et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 3, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (US 2009/0026939 A1) in view of Hamze et al. (US 2021/0288271 A1).
Kinoshita et al. teaches a light emitting layer comprises a light emitting material that is a metal complex and also teaches a fluorescent material may be used (see 67). The metal ion of a metal complex may include at least copper (see par. 228). It is not seen where a specific metal complex the same as in instant claims 15 or 16 is described or where the emitting material is described by Kinoshita et al. as having delayed fluorescence per instant claim 3. In analogous art, Hamze et al. teaches TADF emitters of formula I (see Hamze abstract and par. 6). More specifically, the formula I material may be the following copper-containing compound, which is the same as a “TADF” instant claim 15 Formula A compound per a specific instant claim 16 compound:
(Hamze par. 58, page 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected a copper metal complex TADF emitter material as taught by Hamze et al. for a light emitting layer of a device according to Kinoshita et al., because one would expect a Hamze et al. formula I emitter to be useful as an emitting material as desired for an emitting layer of a device according to Kinoshita et al. One would expect to achieve a functional device using materials as taught by Kinoshita et al. and Hamze et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (US 2009/0026939 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0098716 A1).
Kinoshita et al. is relied upon as set forth above.
While Kinoshita et al. teaches host material that may be a triazine material (see par. 423), it is not seen where a material specifically the same as Formula I in claim 17 is described. In analogous art, Lee eta l. teaches using two host compounds in an emission layer where one of the materials is a triazine (Formula 2, abstract). Specifically, the triazine may be the following “ET1-6” (see Lee par. 33, page 7):
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected a host material as taught by Lee et al. for a device according to Kinoshita et al., because one would expect a Lee et al. formula 2 host material such as ET1-6 to be similarly useful as a host in a device according to Kinoshita et al. One would expect to achieve a functional device using materials as taught by Kinoshita et al. and Lee et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-KR 10-2006-01239455A discusses providing a dopant gradient. The reference is considered relevant to the field of the endeavor.
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786