DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the addition of claims 32-33.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of the Remarks, filed 12 February 2026, with respect to the claim objection of claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see pages 11-12 of the Remarks, filed 12 February 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 10-12 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 10-12 and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-6, 8-9 and 28-29 on pages 9-11 of the Remarks:
While the scope of claim 1 has narrowed with the addition of the crankshaft and first bearing causing a new rejection of claim 1, the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant that Conley, Lincoln, and Laughlin do not teach the new limitations.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Conley, Lincoln, and Laughlin teach the limitations seen in claim 1. Conley discloses the crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031]).
Lincoln teaches the crank assembly, as a whole, is insertable into (Step 43 on page 13) and removable (Steps 26-27 on page 9) from the housing through the opening without disassembly of the crank assembly (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing) which includes the crank shaft (5, Figure 12 on page 11) and first bearing (6, Figure 12 on page 11) with the motivation to provide simpler way to assembly and disassemble the pump for maintenance without the potential to lose parts or cause damage to parts. As seen in Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9 the crank assembly is inserted and removed as a whole to and from the housing.
Laughlin teaches the crank assembly (103, Figure 5) includes a crankshaft (205 and 209, Figure 5) and a first bearing (213, Figure 5) configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing (Paragraph [0031]) with the motivation to allow the other components to move within the pump when the motor is in operation (Paragraph [0031)).
A person having ordinary skill in the art could understand through the combination that the crank assembly of Conley includes the crankshaft and first bearing as seen in Laughlin where the crank assembly is insertable and removeable from the housing without disassembly as seen in Lincoln. The amendment is similar to claim
The response to claim 1 is also applied to the claims dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 contains the limitation “the shaft is simply supported” in line 2 of the claim. The specification submitted 20 September 2023 states in paragraph [0050] that the crankshaft is simply supported. In paragraph [0047], the shaft (also called the crank pin) is can have a press-fit connection or other type of connections with the drive and idler disks. The limitation does not appear to be supported or recited in the specification or previous claims. The Office recommends amending the claim to have support from the specification. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as the crankshaft is simply supported.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley (US 20220065396 A1) in view of Lincoln (FlowMaster II rotary driven hydraulic pump, series “A” published January 2014) in further view of Laughlin (US 20130156621 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Conley discloses a lubricant distribution system (1, 2, and 10, the pump, container, and lubricant distributor is the lubricant distributor system), comprising:
a reservoir (1, Figure 1, the container is the reservoir) configured to contain lubricant (Paragraph [0025]); and
a pump assembly (10, Figure 1, the lubricant pump is the pump assembly) configured to pump lubricant from the reservoir (Paragraph [0025], the pump removes lubricant from the reservoir), the pump assembly including:
a pump (16, Figure 1, the elongated pumping element is the pump) configured to pump lubricant (Paragraph [0027]);
a motor (63, Figure 3); and
a drive train (18, Figure 3, the pump actuator is the drive train) connecting the motor (63, Figure 3) to the pump such that operation of the motor operates the pump to pump lubricant from the reservoir (Paragraph [0031], the motor operates the pump), and the crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031]).
Conley does not disclose:
the drive train including a crank case having a housing and a crank assembly disposed in the housing,
the crank assembly arranged relative to the housing and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disassembly of the crank assembly,
the housing having an opening,
the crank assembly comprising a crankshaft and a first bearing configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing, and
the crankshaft and the first bearing being insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening.
Lincoln teaches a rotary driven hydraulic pump, comprising:
the drive train (Figure 5 on page 8, the drive train is the pump assembly on the top of the container without the motor (72) attached) including a crank case having a housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) and a crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11, the crank rod and eccentric are the crank assembly) disposed in the housing,
the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11) arranged relative to the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into (Step 43 on page 13) and removable (Steps 26-27 on page 9) from the housing through the opening without disassembly of the crank assembly (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing),
the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) having an opening (Figure 7 on page 9, the cover (35) is removed creating an opening in the housing),
the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11) comprising a crankshaft (5, Figure 12 on page 11, the eccentric is the crankshaft) and a first bearing (6, Figure 12 on page 11) configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9), and
the crankshaft and the first bearing being insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly including the crankshaft and housing are insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley to include the drive train including a crank case having a housing and a crank assembly disposed in the housing, the crank assembly arranged relative to the housing and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disassembly of the crank assembly, the housing having an opening the crank assembly comprising a crankshaft and a first bearing configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing, and the crankshaft and the first bearing being insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening as taught by Lincoln with the motivation to provide simpler way to assembly and disassemble the pump for maintenance without the potential to lose parts or cause damage to parts.
Conley and Lincoln do not explicitly teach:
the crank assembly comprising a crankshaft and a first bearing configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing.
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) comprising a crankshaft (205 and 209, Figure 5, the eccentric and follower is the crankshaft) and a first bearing (213, Figure 5, the ball bearing is the first bearing) configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing (Paragraph [0031], the crankshaft rotates relative to the housing (the walls of the head (2))).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Lincoln to include the crank assembly comprising a crankshaft and a first bearing configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing as taught by Laughlin with the motivation to allow the other components to move within the pump when the motor is in operation.
Regarding Claim 2:
Conley discloses:
The crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3).
Conley and Lincoln do not teach:
wherein the crank assembly comprises a piston and a connecting rod interconnecting the crankshaft and the piston.
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) comprises a piston (113, Figure 6, the head portion is the piston) and a connecting rod (215, Figure 6, the arm is the connecting rod) interconnecting the crankshaft (209, Figure 6) and the piston.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Lincoln to include the crank assembly comprises a piston and a connecting rod interconnecting the crankshaft and the piston as taught by Laughlin with the motivation to reciprocate the pump tube to dispense a metered volume equal to the pump stoke from the pump chamber.
Regarding Claim 3:
Conley discloses:
the crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3).
Conley does not disclose:
wherein the crank assembly is arranged relative to housing and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disconnection of the crankshaft, the piston, and the connecting rod.
Laughlin teaches:
the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) comprises a crankshaft (209, Figure 5, the follower is the crankshaft), a piston (113, Figure 6, the head portion is the piston), and a connecting rod (215, Figure 6, the arm is the connecting rod) interconnecting the crankshaft (209, Figure 6) and the piston.
Conley and Laughlin do not teach:
wherein the crank assembly is arranged relative to housing and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disconnection of the crankshaft, the piston, and the connecting rod.
Lincoln teaches:
wherein the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11) is arranged relative to housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disconnection (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Laughlin to include the crank assembly is arranged relative to housing and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening without disconnection as taught by Lincoln with the motivation to reduce the amount of time required to disassemble the pump to reduce the overall time for pump maintenance.
Regarding Claim 4:
Conley discloses:
wherein the motor (63, Figure 3) includes an output shaft (63a, Figure 3) configured to rotate about an axis of rotation to drive operation of the pump (Paragraph [0031] and See Annotated Figure 3 below).
Conley and Laughlin do not teach:
the opening being oriented relative to the axis of rotation such that the crank assembly is inserted into and removable from the housing through the opening along an axis that is non-parallel to the axis of rotation.
Lincoln teaches:
the opening (Steps 4-5 on page 9, the lid covers the opening) being oriented relative to the axis of rotation such that the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11) is inserted into and removable from the housing through the opening along an axis that is non-parallel to the axis of rotation (See Annotated Figure 7 on page 9 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley to include the opening being oriented relative to the axis of rotation such that the crank assembly is inserted into and removable from the housing through the opening along an axis that is non-parallel to the axis of rotation as taught by Lincoln with the motivation to have a more compact design by having the motor 90 degrees from the opening to reduce the overall height of the pump.
Conley, Figure 3
(Annotated by Examiner)
Lincoln, Figure 7 on page 9
(Annotated by Examiner)
Regarding Claim 5:
The above-discussed combination of Conley and Lincoln accounts for this subject matter where Lincoln teaches the opening is oriented relative to the axis of rotation such that the axis is generally perpendicular to the axis of rotation (See Annotated Figure 7 on page 9 above).
Regarding Claim 6:
Conley discloses:
The crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3) and the pump (16, Figure 3).
Conley and Lincoln do not teach:
wherein the pump includes a pump rod configured to be driven by the drive train to operate the pump, the pump rod being connected to the crank assembly via a slide connection.
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the pump (1, Figure 1) includes a pump rod (11, Figure 4) configured to be driven by the drive train (2 and 20, the head and motor are the drive train) to operate the pump, the pump rod (11, Figure 4) being connected to the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) via a slide connection (Paragraphs [0025] and [0031], the pump rod has an upper end (105) that is attached to the crank assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Lincoln to include the pump includes a pump rod configured to be driven by the drive train to operate the pump, the pump rod being connected to the crank assembly via a slide connection as taught by Laughlin with the motivation to seal the pump tube to prevent the lubricant from accessing the crank casing to prevent damage to the drive train.
Regarding Claim 8:
Conley discloses:
The pump (16, Figure 3).
Conley and Lincoln do not teach:
wherein the crank case includes a guide arranged to engage the pump to align the pump and the crank case relative to one another.
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the crank case (2, Figure 5, the head is the crank case) includes a guide (181, Figure 5) arranged to engage the pump (1, Figure 1) to align the pump and the crank case relative to one another (Paragraph [0030], the bronze bushing is the guide that permits the sliding of the pump tube (101)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Lincoln to include the crank case includes a guide arranged to engage the pump to align the pump and the crank case relative to one another as taught by Laughlin with the motivation to ensure the pump is in proper configuration to prevent potential leaks within the pump and the proper amount of fluid is dispensed.
Regarding Claim 9:
Conley discloses:
The drive train (18, Figure 3).
Conley and Laughlin do not teach:
wherein the drive train includes a lid configured to close the opening.
Lincoln teaches:
wherein the drive train (Figure 5 on page 8, the drive train is the pump assembly on the top of the container without the motor (72) attached) includes a lid (35, Figure 7 on page 9) configured to close the opening (Steps 4-5 on page 9, the lid covers the opening).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Laughlin to include the drive train includes a lid configured to close the opening as taught by Lincoln with the motivation to ensure no debris enter the drive train that could potentially cause the drive train to stop functioning.
Regarding Claim 28:
Conley discloses:
wherein the crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3) is engaged with the housing (Paragraphs [0028] and [0031], the housing contains and supports the crank assembly).
Conley and Laughlin do not expressly teach:
the housing.
Lincoln teaches:
the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Laughlin to include the housing as taught by Lincoln with the motivation to protect the components from potential damage caused by the environment.
Regarding Claim 29:
Conley discloses:
The crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3).
Conley and Lincoln do not teach:
wherein the crank assembly includes a motor connector connecting the motor to the crank assembly.
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) includes a motor connector (207, Figure 6, the motor connector is the rotary-to-reciprocating mechanism) connecting the motor (201, Figure 6) to the crank assembly (103, Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Conley and Lincoln to include the crank assembly includes a motor connector connecting the motor to the crank assembly as taught by Laughlin with the motivation to couple the piston to the motor to operate the pump.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 and 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are Conley (US 20220065396 A1) in view of Lincoln (FlowMaster II rotary driven hydraulic pump, series “A” published January 2014) in further view of Laughlin (US 20130156621 A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Conley discloses a lubricant distribution system (1, 2, and 10, the pump, container, and lubricant distributor is the lubricant distributor system), comprising:
a reservoir (1, Figure 1, the container is the reservoir) configured to contain lubricant (Paragraph [0025]); and
a pump assembly (10, Figure 1, the lubricant pump is the pump assembly) configured to pump lubricant from the reservoir (Paragraph [0025], the pump removes lubricant from the reservoir), the pump assembly including:
a pump (16, Figure 1, the elongated pumping element is the pump) configured to pump lubricant (Paragraph [0027]);
a motor (63, Figure 3); and
a drive train (18, Figure 3, the pump actuator is the drive train) connecting the motor (63, Figure 3) to the pump such that operation of the motor operates the pump to pump lubricant from the reservoir (Paragraph [0031], the motor operates the pump), and the crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031]).
Lincoln teaches a rotary driven hydraulic pump, comprising:
the drive train (Figure 5 on page 8, the drive train is the pump assembly on the top of the container without the motor (72) attached) including a crank case having a housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) and a crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11, the crank rod and eccentric are the crank assembly) disposed in the housing,
the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11) arranged relative to the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) and the opening such that the crank assembly is insertable into (Step 43 on page 13) and removable (Steps 26-27 on page 9) from the housing through the opening without disassembly of the crank assembly (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing), and
the housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) having an opening (Figure 7 on page 9, the cover (35) is removed creating an opening in the housing).
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the pump (1, Figure 1) includes a pump rod (11, Figure 4) configured to be driven by the drive train (2 and 20, the head and motor are the drive train) to operate the pump, the pump rod (11, Figure 4) being connected to the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) via a slide connection (Paragraphs [0025] and [0031], the pump rod has an upper end (105) that is attached to the crank assembly).
Laughlin teaches the slide connection seen in lines 15-16 between the crank assembly (103, Figure 5) and the pump rod (11, Figure 4). However, in view of the prior art of record the t-slot is not found in the slide connection. Additionally, the Laughlin reference would be further modified to include the t-slot. The limitation “a slide connection that comprises a t-slot” in view of all other limitations of claim 7 is considered allowable.
Claims 24-26 are considered allowable as the claims depend from claim 7.
Regarding Claim 21:
Conley, Lincoln and Laughlin teach the lubricant distribution system seen in claims 1 and 2. Lincoln further teaches a first disk (5, Figure 12 on page 11, the eccentric is the first disk). Laughlin also teaches a first disk (205, Figure 5, the eccentric is the first disk).
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claims 1-2 and 21 do not teach a second disk, a crank pin extending between the first and second disks, and the connecting rod mounted to the crank pin. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Lincoln and Laughlin references leading to potential hindsight.
Claim 22 is objected to as the claims depend from claim 21.
Regarding Claim 23:
Conley, Lincoln, and Laughlin teach the lubricant distribution system seen in claim 1.
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 23 do not teach a second bearing, the first and second bearings configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing, the first and second bearings being insertable into and removable from the housing through the opening. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Lincoln and Laughlin references leading to potential hindsight.
Regarding Claim 30:
Conley, Lincoln, and Laughlin teach the lubricant distribution system seen in claim 1. Laughlin teaches a first bearing (213, Figure 5, the ball bearing is the first bearing) being insertable and removeable from the housing through the opening (Paragraph [0029]).
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 30 do not teach the first bearing engaged with the housing. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Laughlin reference leading to potential hindsight.
Regarding Claim 31:
Conley, Lincoln, and Laughlin teach the lubricant distribution system seen in claim 1.
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 31 do not teach a second bearing as well as the first and second bearings each engaged with the housing. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Laughlin reference leading to potential hindsight.
The closest pieces of prior art are Lincoln (FlowMaster II rotary driven hydraulic pump, series “A” published January 2014) in view of Conley (US 20220065396 A1) in further view of Laughlin (US 20130156621 A1).
Regarding Claim 10:
Lincoln discloses a rotary driven hydraulic pump, comprising:
A crank case for operatively connecting a motor (72, Figure 5 on page 8) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (Figure 5 on page 8, the crank case is the portion of the pump above the container where the lubricant distribution system is the pump and the container), the crank case comprising:
a housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) having an access opening (Figure 7 on page 9, the top part of the housing has an opening when the cover (35) is removed);
wherein the access opening is sized, shaped, and arranged relative to the crank assembly such that the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11, the crank rod and eccentric are the crank assembly) is removable from the housing through the access opening in a fully assembled configuration (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing); and
the access opening having a width parallel to the axis of rotation (Figure 7 on page 9, the opening has a width parallel to the axis of rotation).
Conley teaches connecting a motor (63, Figure 3) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (1, 2, and 10, the pump, container, and lubricant distributor is the lubricant distributor system), comprising:
a crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) disposed in the housing (44, Figure 3), the crank assembly configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031], the rotational motion of the motor is converted to linear motion).
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) having a shaft (217, Figure 5, the pin connection is the shaft).
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claim 10 do not teach the crank assembly having a shaft configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the shaft having a length parallel to the axis of rotation, and the length of the shaft being less than the width of the access opening. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Lincoln and Laughlin references leading to potential hindsight.
Claims 11-12 and 32-33 are considered allowable as the claims depend from claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13:
Lincoln discloses a rotary driven hydraulic pump, comprising:
A crank case for operatively connecting a motor (72, Figure 5 on page 8) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (Figure 5 on page 8, the crank case is the portion of the pump above the container where the lubricant distribution system is the pump and the container), the crank case comprising:
a housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) having an access opening (Figure 7 on page 9, the top part of the housing has an opening when the cover (35) is removed);
wherein the access opening is sized, shaped, and arranged relative to the crank assembly such that the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11, the crank rod and eccentric are the crank assembly) is removable from the housing through the access opening in a fully assembled configuration (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing); and
a first disk (5, Figure 12 on page 11, the eccentric is the first disk).
Conley teaches connecting a motor (63, Figure 3) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (1, 2, and 10, the pump, container, and lubricant distributor is the lubricant distributor system), comprising:
a crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) disposed in the housing (44, Figure 3), the crank assembly configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031], the rotational motion of the motor is converted to linear motion).
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) comprises a crankshaft (209, Figure 5, the follower is the crankshaft), a piston (113, Figure 6, the head portion is the piston), and a connecting rod (215, Figure 6, the arm is the connecting rod) interconnecting the crankshaft (209, Figure 6) and the piston; and
a first disk (205, Figure 5, the eccentric is the first disk).
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claim 13 do not teach a second disk, a crank pin extending between the first and second disks, and the connecting rod mounted to the crank pin. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Lincoln and Laughlin references leading to potential hindsight.
Claims 14-18 are considered allowable as the claims depend from claim 13.
Regarding Claim 20:
Lincoln discloses a rotary driven hydraulic pump, comprising:
A crank case for operatively connecting a motor (72, Figure 5 on page 8) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (Figure 5 on page 8, the crank case is the portion of the pump above the container where the lubricant distribution system is the pump and the container), the crank case comprising:
a housing (37, Figure 6 on page 9) having an access opening (Figure 7 on page 9, the top part of the housing has an opening when the cover (35) is removed);
wherein the access opening is sized, shaped, and arranged relative to the crank assembly such that the crank assembly (7 and 5, Figure 12 on page 11, the crank rod and eccentric are the crank assembly) is removable from the housing through the access opening in a fully assembled configuration (Step 43 on page 13 and Steps 26-27 on page 9, the crank assembly is insertable into the housing and removeable from the housing); and
a first disk (5, Figure 12 on page 11, the eccentric is the first disk).
Conley teaches connecting a motor (63, Figure 3) to a pump of a lubricant distribution system (1, 2, and 10, the pump, container, and lubricant distributor is the lubricant distributor system), comprising:
a crank assembly (65 and 64, Figure 3, the rotational-to-linear mechanism and scotch yoke are the crank assembly) disposed in the housing (44, Figure 3), the crank assembly configured to convert rotational motion from the motor into motion for the pump (Paragraph [0031], the rotational motion of the motor is converted to linear motion).
Laughlin teaches a lance pump with a ram, comprising:
wherein the crank assembly (103, Figure 5, the motor-driven mechanism is the crank assembly) comprises a crankshaft (209, Figure 5, the follower is the crankshaft), a piston (113, Figure 6, the head portion is the piston) and a first bearing (213, Figure 5, the ball bearing is the first bearing), the first bearing configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing (Paragraph [0031]), the first bearing (213, Figure 5) being insertable and removeable from the housing through the access opening (Paragraph [0029]).
However, the prior art of record in view of all other limitations of claim 20 do not teach a second bearing, the first and second bearings configured to permit the crankshaft to rotate relative to the housing, the first and second bearings being insertable into and removable from the housing through the access opening. If references were to be found, it would further modify the Lincoln and Laughlin references leading to potential hindsight.
Claim 27 is considered allowable to as the claim depends from claim 20.
However, a full determination of allowability will be made once all rejections are overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conley (US 9239044 B2) teaches a lance pump comprising a reservoir, a pump assembly, a first disk, a first bearing, a motor, a pump, a crank shaft, a piston, and a connecting rod.
Okpokowuruk (US 20240141880 A1) teaches a battery-operated reciprocating pump for lubricants comprising a motor, a reservoir, and a pump.
Kotyk (US 7513393 B2) teaches a container system comprising a reservoir, a motor, a pump, and lubricant.
Conley 2 (US 9239044 B2) teaches a lance pump comprising a reservoir, a motor, a bearing, a pump, and housing.
DiCarlo (US 6102676 A) teaches a pump comprising a reservoir, a motor, a bearing, a pump, and housing.
Pisoni (US 12372202 B2) teaches a lubricant distribution system comprising a reservoir, a pump assembly, a crank case, a crank assembly, a connecting rod and a bearing.
DiCarlo 2 (US 6872161 B2) teaches a modular gear system comprising a motor, a pump, and housing.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753