Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 21, 22, 33, 37, 41-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee, Foreign Patent Document, KR1020230067147.
as being unpatentable over Lee, Foreign Patent Document, KR1020230067147.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee discloses a lubricant distribution system (Paragraph [0009], lines 1-3) comprising: a reservoir configured to contain lubricant (Paragraph [0011], lines 1-2); and a pump (300, Fig. 4) having a pump housing (T, Fig. 6) and a pump outlet (311, 312, Fig. 4), the pump being configured to pump lubricant from the reservoir through the pump outlet (Paragraph [0026], lines 4-6); a mount (100, Fig. 4) having a mount inlet in fluid communication with the pump outlet (311, 312, Fig. 4) and a mount outlet in fluid communication with the mount inlet so that lubricant pumped by the pump flows out of the mount outlet (331a, 332a, Fig. 4), the mount including a check valve port (331, 332, Fig. 4), the mount being distinct and separately formed from the pump housing of the pump (100 is separate from T, Fig. 6); and a check valve removably coupled to the check valve port (331 and 332 are threaded (removably coupled), Fig. 4), the check valve being fluidly disposed between the mount inlet and the mount outlet (331 and 332 are disposed between mount inlet and outlet, 311, 312, and 331a, 332a, Fig. 4), the check valve being configured to open due to a sufficient pressure differential of lubricant across the check valve to permit lubricant to flow freely from the mount inlet to the mount outlet and being configured to close due to an insufficient pressure differential of lubricant across the check valve to prevent flow of lubricant from the mount outlet to the mount inlet (Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the mount is a single, unitary piece of material (100, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2, and wherein the mount (100, Fig. 4) is mounted directly to the pump (100 is mounted to 300, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the check valve is threadably coupled to the check valve port (331, 332 are threadably coupled to the ports, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the mount includes a vent valve port (361, 362, Fig. 4), and wherein the lubricant distribution system further comprises a vent valve removably coupled to the vent valve port (361, 362 removably coupled via threads, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, and further comprising a reservoir inlet for delivering lubricant to the reservoir (open end of G, Fig. 6), wherein the mount includes a mount return outlet in fluid communication with the reservoir inlet (350, Fig. 4), the mount return outlet in fluid communication with the mount outlet (Paragraph [0069]), wherein the vent valve is fluidly disposed between the mount outlet and the mount return outlet and is configured to selectively permit flow of lubricant toward the reservoir via the mount return outlet and the reservoir inlet to relieve lubricant pressure at the mount outlet (Paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the mount includes a vent valve port (port for valves 361, 362, Fig. 4) configured to interchangeably couple to an electrically operated vent valve and a hydraulically operated vent valve (threaded coupling allows for interchangeability, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the pump and the mount are supported by the reservoir (100 and P are supported by G, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 21, and wherein the pump and the mount are mounted to the reservoir (100 and P are mounted to the reservoir, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 33, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the mount inlet and the mount outlet are disposed at different elevations on the mount (311, 312 are at different elevations from 321, 322, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 37, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the mount (100, Fig. 4) abuts against the pump (P, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 41, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the reservoir has an interior configured to hold lubricant (G, 110, define interior, Fig. 6), the mount being disposed outside of the interior of the reservoir (100 disposed outside of interior of G and 110 where lubricant is held, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 42, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the reservoir has a lid (110, Fig. 6), the mount being disposed at an elevation above the lid (100 is above lid 110, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 43, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 42, and wherein the reservoir has an interior configured to hold lubricant (G and 110 define interior of reservoir configured to hold lubricant, Fig. 6), the lid configured to close the interior (lid 110 closes interior, Fig. 6), the mount being mounted to the lid (100 is mounted on lid 110, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 44, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 41, and wherein the reservoir has a lid (G has lid 110, Fig. 6), the pump being mounted to the lid (300, disposed on lid 110, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 45, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the pump has a pump refill inlet configured to refill the reservoir with lubricant (311 connected to 350 which refills reservoir with lubricant, Fig. 4; Paragraph [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 10, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Foreign Patent Document, KR1020230067147.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses limitations of claim 1, and the check valve (331, 332, Fig. 4). However, Lee does not disclose the check valve is a dual check valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a check valve comprised of a dual check valve, because a type of check valve is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, and the vent valve (361, 362, Fig. 4). However, Lee does not disclose the vent valve comprises an electrically operated vent valve or a hydraulically operated vent valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a vent valve that is electrically operated or hydraulically operated, because a type of vent valve is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, and wherein the mount includes a pressure relief valve port (port for valve 120, Fig. 3), and wherein the lubricant distribution system further comprises a pressure relief valve (120, Fig. 6), the pressure relief valve being in fluid communication with the mount outlet and configured to relieve lubricant pressure at the mount outlet when the lubricant pressure exceeds a threshold pressure (Paragraph[0086]).
However, Lee does not disclose the pressure relief valve is removably coupled to the pressure relief valve port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a valve removably coupled to the port, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to allow for easier maintenance of the pressure relief valve.
Regarding claim 34, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, and a vent valve (361, 362, Fig. 4) upstream of the mount outlet (Fig. 4). However, Lee does not disclose the vent valve is downstream of the check valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the vent valve to be downstream of the check valve, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to optimize venting of air trapped in the lubricant distribution system.
Regarding claim 35, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 10, and wherein the pressure relief valve (120, Fig. 1) is downstream of the check valve and upstream of the mount outlet (120 is downstream of 331, and upstream of outlet, Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Lee discloses the limitations of claim 10, and wherein the pressure relief valve is arranged to vent lubricant (Paragraph [0086]). However, Lee does not disclose the lubricant is vented to ambient environment surrounding the lubricant distribution system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the lubricant vented to ambient environment, because location of venting (internal or ambient environment relative to the system) is one of a number of finite, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-15, 25-32, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambrose, US20110072888 in view of Grach, US6286627.
Regarding independent claim 11, Ambrose et al. discloses a mount (4, Fig. 1), for a lubricant distribution system (2, Fig. 1; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; it is noted that hydraulic systems and lubrication systems are interchangeable and a person of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of recognizing that features of a hydraulic system are also features of a lubrication system; “the fluid 16 may be ejected outside of the fluid circuit by the externally connected hydraulic component 32. The fluid 16 not ejected outside of the fluid circuit may be returned” Paragraph [0020], lines 13-16) comprising: the mount (4, Fig. 1) comprising a mount body (4, Fig. 3) having a mount inlet (25, Fig. 5) arranged to receive lubricant (fluid 16, Fig. 1); a mount outlet (39, 45, Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the mount inlet and arranged to supply lubricant (fluid 16 flows through inlet 25 towards outlet 39, 45, Fig. 1); a one-way valve port (27, 18, Fig. 3) configured to removably couple (via spring pins 7, Fig. 5) a one-way valve to the mount (pins 7 attach valve 18 to mount 4), the one-way valve port (27, 18, Fig. 5) being fluidly disposed between the mount inlet (25, Fig. 5) and the mount outlet (39, Fig. 5; fluid flows from 25 through 18, to 39) a mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the mount outlet (39, Fig. 1) and a vent valve port (21, Fig. 3) configured to removably couple a vent valve (10, Fig. 3, removable by threads) to the mount body (2, 4, Fig. 3), the vent valve port being fluidly disposed between the mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) and the mount outlet (39, Fig. 1) the vent valve port (10, Fig. 1) being downstream of the one-way valve (18, Fig. 1; shows vent valve downstream, in direction of arrows from one-way valve 18) and upstream of the mount outlet (10 is upstream of 35. Fig. 1).
Ambrose does not disclose the mount body defining a flow path from the mount outlet to the mount return outlet that stays entirely within the mount body, the flow path being spaced apart from the one-way valve port.
Grach et al. teaches a lubricant distribution system wherein the mount body defining a flow path from the mount outlet to the mount return outlet that stays entirely within the mount body (flow path from 117 to 213 is within mount body, 217, Fig. 7), the flow path being spaced apart from the one-way valve port (flow path from 117 to 213 spaced apart from one-way valve port, See Annotated Figure 7 of Grach, below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mount of Ambrose to have the flow path within the mount body, and spaced apart from the one-way valve as taught by Grach in order to ensure extra lubricant can flow to the reservoir and be reused. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure any overpressure in the system is relieved into the reservoir and minimize extraneous tubing connecting elements of the distribution system.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount body (4, Fig. 3) is a single, unitary piece of material (one piece of material, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and vent valve port (21, 10, Fig. 3) configured to interchangeably couple ("the second valve assembly 10 may be attached to the manifold body 4" Paragraph [0050], lines 3-4; threads shown in Figure 3 at valve 10 indicates interchangeable coupling) to an electrically operated vent valve ("An electrohydraulic on/off valve" Paragraph [0050], line 8) and a hydraulically operated vent valve ("a mechanical check valve" Paragraph [0050], line 7; the mechanical check valve operates by hydraulic pressure and is a hydraulic valve).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, wherein the mount outlet is a first mount outlet (39, Fig. 1). Ambrose does not disclose the mount having a second mount outlet in fluid communication with the mount inlet and arranged to supply lubricant, the one-way valve port being fluidly disposed between the mount inlet and the second mount outlet, the mount return outlet being in fluid communication with the second mount outlet, the vent valve port being fluidly disposed between the mount return outlet and the second mount outlet, the vent valve port being upstream of the second mount outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a second mount outlet, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to add a second mount outlet to supply lubricant to additional locations/components.
Regarding claim 25, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount body (2, Fig. 5) has an exterior side (4, Fig. 5; “at least some of the plurality of cavities may be formed in an outer surface of the manifold body 4” Paragraph [0022], lines 3-5), the one-way valve port (port surrounding valve 27, Fig. 5) having a one-way valve port opening sized and shaped to permit the one-way valve to be inserted into and removed from the one-way valve port (valve 18, 27 can be inserted and removed from the port surrounding 18, 27, Fig. 5 via pins 7, Fig. 5), the vent valve port having a vent valve port opening sized and shaped to permit the vent valve to be inserted into and removed from the vent valve port ("the second valve assembly 10 may be attached to the manifold body 4" Paragraph [0050], lines 3-4; threads shown in Figure 3 at valve 10 indicates interchangeable coupling), the one-way valve port opening (opening surrounding valve 27, 18, Fig. 5) and the vent valve port opening (opening surrounding 10, Fig. 5) being on the exterior side (openings are on exterior 4 of mount 2, Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 26, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and the mount (2, Fig. 5) includes a pressure relief port (8, 29 Fig. 1, 5), configured to removably couple a pressure relief valve (8, Fig. 5) to the mount (threads on pressure relief valve 8, shown in Figure 5 to removably couple to mount 2).
Ambrose does not disclose the pressure relief valve being downstream of the one-way valve port and upstream of the mount outlet.
Grach teaches a lubricant distribution system wherein the pressure relief valve (81, Fig. 1, 7) being downstream of the one-way valve port (“one-way valve”; See annotated Figure 7 of Grach, below) and upstream of the mount outlet (117, Fig. 1, 7; See annotated Figure 7 of Grach, below).
Annotated Figure 7 of Grach
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the valve mount of Ambrose to add a pressure relief valve between the one-way valve and the mount outlet as taught by Grach in order to minimize over-pressure in the lines attached to the mount outlet. One would have been motivated to make this modification to limit over pressure in distribution device lines attached to the valve mount outlet.
Regarding claim 27, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and the mount inlet is a first mount inlet (25, Fig. 1), wherein the mount body (4, Fig. 1) includes a second mount inlet (19, Fig. 1) in uninterrupted fluid communication with the mount return outlet (via 17, 82, to 39, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount body (4, Fig. 3) has a mount supply passage downstream of and configured to carry lubricant away from the one-way valve port (34, Fig. 1, 3), the mount outlet (39, Fig. 1) and the mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) being downstream of the mount supply passage (35, 39, downstream of 18, Fig. 1), the vent valve port being fluidly disposed between the mount return outlet and the mount supply passage (vent valve 10 port, 21, fluidly disposed between 39 and 34, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 29, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 28, and wherein the mount body (4, Fig. 3) defines a flow path between the mount supply passage (34, Fig. 1) and the mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) that stays entirely within the mount body (passage 34 is within mount body 4, Fig. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 30, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) is in fluid communication with the mount outlet (39, Fig. 1) through the vent valve port (21, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 31, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the vent valve port (21, Fig. 1) and the mount outlet (39, Fig. 1) are in uninterrupted fluid communication with one another (82, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 32, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the vent valve port (21, 10, Fig. 1) and the mount return outlet (35, Fig. 1) are in uninterrupted fluid communication with one another (35 to 32 to 17 to valve 110, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 38, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount body includes a supply passage extending between and fluidly connecting the one-way valve port and the mount outlet (39 connects 18 and 45, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 39, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the mount body includes a vent passage fluidly between the mount outlet and the mount return outlet (10, 17 is fluidly between 35 and 45, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 40, modified Ambrose teaches the limitations of claim 39, and wherein the vent passage is downstream of the one-way valve port and upstream of the vent valve port (17 is downstream of 18 and upstream of 10, Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument on pages 8-9 of Remarks filed 6/5/2026 regarding the amendments to claim 1, it is noted that applicant relies on the pump housing being element 300 of Lee, however, Examiner relies on element T, in Figure 6 of Lee as the pump housing which is distinct and separately formed, and houses the pump. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection set forth above, and Examiner relies on Grach to teach the amended features of claim 11. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654