Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s election of claims 1-15 in response to the restriction requirement dated November 13, 2025 without traverse. The examiner also acknowledges and withdrawal of claims 16-24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/21/2026, 02/22/2024, 09/21/2023, and 09/20/2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the applicant's priority to the US application 18188087. However, this application is a continuation in part or “CIP” of the earlier application mentioned above, thus claims may have additional matter that do not share the priority date of the application above. Since both independent claims (1 and 9) have electrical components that do not have support in the US application 18188087, all of the examined claims (1-15) in this application will be interpreted to have the effective filing date of 09/20/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patera (US20140131265A1), in view of Froelicher (US20160075566A1). For clarity of the record, the examiner would like to note, that Froelicher qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2), as it is a “U.S. Patent Document” with an effectively filing date before the effective filing date of pertinent claims (claims regarding the electrical components) of the instant application, as those claims (mentioned above in the priority section) do not have support from the original application that this CIP application, claims priority to. See MPEP 2154.01.
In regards to claim 1, Patera teaches a water cartridge for a refrigerator comprising: a housing having a first end and a second end, {Figure 9 references (154 & 156) when combined as one showing a first cartridge housing with a first end (154) and a second end (180)} wherein the first end includes a first coupler {Figure 9 component/housing/threads surrounding inlet (28)} wherein the first coupler is configured to be releasably connected to a refrigerator cartridge head assembly of a refrigerator; {Paragraph 38, "fluid treatment assembly 10 is … configured to be removably engaged and disengaged with a domestic refrigerator appliance … typically twisted about its central longitudinal axis by hand into engagement and out of engagement"} and wherein the second end includes a cartridge head assembly {Figure 9 reference (156)} and wherein the cartridge head assembly is configured to receive a second coupler {Figure 9 reference (178) and paragraph 69, "protrusions 178 on the second end 180 … configured to matingly engage four recesses on the first connector end 184 of the first variable cartridge 158"} and to be in electrical communication [NOT TAUGHT BY PATERA} with a second water cartridge. {Figure 9 references (158, 160, & 162) Referring to the second water cartridge}
In regards to claim 9, Patera teaches a water cartridge comprising: a first end and a second end. {Figure 9 references (154 & 156) when combined as one showing a first cartridge housing with a first end (154) and a second end (180)}
In regards to claim 10, Patera teaches the water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the first end includes a first coupler configured to engage a cartridge head assembly of an appliance and/or a cartridge head assembly of another water cartridge {Paragraph 38, "fluid treatment assembly 10 is … configured to be removably engaged and disengaged with a domestic refrigerator appliance … typically twisted about its central longitudinal axis by hand into engagement and out of engagement"} and the second end includes a cartridge head assembly configured to engage another water cartridge. {Figure 9 reference (178) and paragraph 69, "protrusions 178 on the second end 180 … configured to matingly engage four recesses on the first connector end 184 of the first variable cartridge 158"}
Patera does not teach:
Claim 1: The water cartridge comprises a first electrical connector, a first configuration configured to not be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly and a second configuration configured to be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly and the first electrical connector configured to be in electrical communication with a refrigerator, and a second electrical connector in electrical communication with the first electrical connector; and wherein the cartridge head assembly is to be in electrical communication with the second water cartridge. [TAUGHT BY PATERA]
Claim 2: The water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the cartridge head assembly includes a first configuration and a second configuration, when in the first configuration an inlet passage of the cartridge head assembly is closed and when in the second configuration the inlet passage of the cartridge head assembly is open and configured to be in fluid communication with a second water cartridge and the second electrical connector is in electrical communication with a second water cartridge.
Claim 3: The water cartridge of claim 1 further comprising one or more electronic devices.
Claim 6: The water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected by a signal transmitter.
Claim 7: The water cartridge of claim 6 further comprising one or more electronic devices.
Claim 8: The water cartridge of claim 1 wherein when in the first configuration the first electrical connector is configured to not be in electrical communication with a refrigerator.
Claim 9: The water cartridge wherein the first end includes one or more first electrical connectors and the second end includes one or more second electrical connectors, and wherein the one or more first electrical connectors are in electrical communication with the one or more second electrical connectors.
Claim 11: The water cartridge of claim 9 further comprising one or more electronic devices.
Claim 14: The water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors is connected by a signal transmitter.
Claim 15: The water cartridge of claim 14 further comprising one or more electronic devices.
However, Froelicher teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11, and 14-15 that Patera does not teach.
In regards to claim 1, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge comprises a first electrical connector, {Reference (256) electrical contact} a first configuration configured to not be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly and a second configuration configured to be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly {Figures 11-12 manifold 202 includes a rotatable cylinder 298 that is in fluid communication with inlet 206 and outlet 208"} and the first electrical connector configured to be in electrical communication with a refrigerator, {Paragraph 57, "housing 226 of cartridge 224 includes a plurality of electrical contacts 256 … configured for providing electrical communication with one or more … other electrical components as previously described." and paragraph 45, "the present invention provides for electrically connecting to such components through filter manifold 202" Now that while paragraph 45 is from a separate embodiment of Froelicher, paragraph 57 points towards earlier embodiment descriptions, and how it is capable of those same connections, in this case connection to manifold 202, which is part of the refrigerator connection to the cartridge } and a second electrical connector in electrical communication with the first electrical connector; {Reference (258) electrical contact and paragraph 8, "The electrical components can be used to provide … communication with one or more electrical components incorporated into the filter cartridge"} and wherein the cartridge head assembly is to be in electrical communication with the second water cartridge. {Paragraph 8, "The electrical components can be used to provide … communication with one or more electrical components incorporated into the filter cartridge"} [Second water cartridge TAUGHT BY PATERA]
In regards to claim 2, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the cartridge head assembly includes a first configuration and a second configuration, {Paragraph 59, "First position FP … and second position SP"} when in the first configuration an inlet passage of the cartridge head assembly is closed {Figures 11-12 manifold 202 includes a rotatable cylinder 298 that is in fluid communication with inlet 206 and outlet 208"} and when in the second configuration the inlet passage of the cartridge head assembly is open and configured to be in fluid communication with a second water cartridge {Figures 11-12 manifold 202 includes a rotatable cylinder 298 that is in fluid communication with inlet 206 and outlet 208"} and the second electrical connector is in electrical communication with a second water cartridge. {Paragraph 8, "The electrical components can be used to provide … communication with one or more electrical components incorporated into the filter cartridge"}
In regards to claim 3, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 further comprising one or more electronic devices. {Paragraph 8, "one or more electrical components"}
In regards to claim 6, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected by a signal transmitter. {Paragraph 57, "communication with one or more … RFIDs"}
In regards to claim 7, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 6 further comprising one or more electronic devices. {Paragraph 57, "communication with one or more sensors, RFIDs, and/or other electrical components"}
In regards to claim 8, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 wherein when in the first configuration the first electrical connector is configured to not be in electrical communication with a refrigerator. {Paragraph 9, "wire form contacts are moveable between a first position when the filter cartridge is in the uninstalled position and a second position when the filter cartridge is in the installed position. In the second position the wire form contacts are in contact with the electrical contacts on the housing of the filter cartridge"}
In regards to claim 9, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge wherein the first end includes one or more first electrical connectors and the second end includes one or more second electrical connectors, {Paragraph 9, "A plurality of electrical contacts are positioned on the housing of the filter cartridge"} and wherein the one or more first electrical connectors are in electrical communication with the one or more second electrical connectors. {Paragraph 8, "The electrical components can be used to provide … communication with one or more electrical components incorporated into the filter cartridge"}
In regards to claim 11, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 9 further comprising one or more electronic devices. {Paragraph 8, "one or more electrical components"}
In regards to claim 14, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors is connected by a signal transmitter. {Paragraph 57, "communication with one or more … RFIDs"}
In regards to claim 15, Froelicher teaches the water cartridge of claim 14 further comprising one or more electronic devices. {Paragraph 57, "communication with one or more sensors, RFIDs, and/or other electrical components"}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrical components, and multiple configurations of Froelicher to the structure and invention of Patera because these inventions both have the same function of treating water that is to be consumed through outputs of a refrigerator, or other kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine Froelicher to Patera because including electrical components such as temperature and pressure gauges, usage, and other information over the lifespan of a filter are useful for the functionality of the device. {Froelicher, paragraph 4}
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patera (US20140131265A1) and Froelicher (US20160075566A1), in view of Gasior (US20240425386A1).
The combination of Patera and Froelicher teach all of the limitations of claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 14-15; as mentioned in a prior 103 rejection.
They do not teach:
Claim 4: The water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected in series.
Claim 5: The water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected in parallel.
Claim 12: The water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors are connected in series.
Claim 13: The water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors are connected in parallel.
However, Gasior teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 that the combination of Patera and Froelicher does not teach.
In regards to claim 4, Gasior teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected in series. {Paragraph 44, "a first electrical harness 136 includes various electrical paths (connected in series…) and is configured to electrically couple the first electrical contact … to an electronics compartment"}
In regards to claim 5, Gasior teaches the water cartridge of claim 1 wherein the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector is connected in parallel. {Paragraph 44, "a first electrical harness 136 includes various electrical paths (connected in … parallel) and is configured to electrically couple the first electrical contact … to an electronics compartment"}
In regards to claim 12, Gasior teaches the water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors are connected in series. {Paragraph 44, "a first electrical harness 136 includes various electrical paths (connected in series…) and is configured to electrically couple the first electrical contact … to an electronics compartment"}
In regards to claim 13, Gasior teaches the water cartridge of claim 9 wherein the one or more first electrical connectors and the one or more second electrical connectors are connected in parallel. {Paragraph 44, "a first electrical harness 136 includes various electrical paths (connected in … parallel) and is configured to electrically couple the first electrical contact … to an electronics compartment"}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention Gasior to the combined invention of Patera and Froelicher because Gasior has the same function of the combined invention of Patera and Froelicher of filtering water for use in a refrigerator or other appliance by means of a cartridge located inside the refrigerator. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine Gasior to Patera and Froelicher because the physical wiring connection layout of Gasior’s invention decreases the costs compared to wireless connections, which can make this embodiment more desirable over other forms of connection on the market. {Paragraphs 5 and 31}
Conclusion
/CONNOR J ROTONDI/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779