DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, et. al. (US2019067667A1), in view of Acoff, et. al., The effect of rolling direction on the weld structure and hardness of gamma-TiAl sheet material, Materials Science and Engineering: A, Volumes 329–331, 2002, Pages 763-767, ISSN 0921-5093, and Song, et. al. (US2011151323A1).
Jang teaches secondary battery (secondary battery 100) comprising: an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 110) comprising a first electrode plate (first electrode plate 111) having a first substrate tab (first sub-tab 157) extending in one direction (see Fig. 4B, showing an L shape being formed by the first substrate tab), a second electrode plate (second electrode plate 1112) having a second substrate tab (second sub-tab 167) and a second extending in another direction (“[0038] the subtab 167 interposed between the other side of the electrode assembly 110”; because of the L shape, “another direction” includes the base portion of the “L” extending in the opposite direction but within the same plane, see Fig. 6C) , and a separator (separator 113) interposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (see [0041]); a case accommodating the electrode assembly (case 120); and a cap assembly (cap assembly 170) sealing the case and comprising a pair of current collector plates (the current collectors 150, 160 recited above), each of the current collector plates being electrically connected to one of the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab (“[0053] [i]n addition, the first sub-tab 157 may be connected to the first current collector 150, and the first uncoated portion 114 of the electrode assembly 110 may be then electrically connected to the first sub-tab 157”), wherein the current collector plates are laser-welded to the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab, respectively (“[0097] As shown in FIG. 6B , in the act of connecting the sub-tabs to the cap assembly (S2), first region 158 of the first sub-tab 157 may be connected to the first current collector 150 by laser welding, electrical resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, without limitation, and the second region 159 may be configured to extend a predetermined (or set) length from the first region 158 to the side of the first current collector 150. Likewise, the first region 168 of the second sub-tab 167 may be connected to the second current collector 160 by laser welding.”). Jang at [0037 – 44, 53, 97], Fig. 4A-B, 6C.
Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 6C of Jang, notably showing the substrate tab 157 is bent to be in surface contact with the upper flat portion of the current collector 150.
However, while Jang teaches laser welding, Jang is silent as to the laser welding direction being parallel to a metal processing direction, or the laser welding direction generally. Jang teaches the current collector may be composed of aluminum and/or an aluminum alloy. Id. at [0046].
In terms of “a metal processing direction,” this is described within the specification as “[0010]The metal processing direction may be an orientation of surface components of the current collector plate which is formed through rolling.”
Acoff teaches a welded gamma-TiAl sheet material, wherein the alloy comprises a grain boundary, wherein where welding was performed, a) the microhardness of the fusion zone was harder than the base metal, but preliminary results showed that specimens welded transverse to the rolling direction had cracks normal to the rolling direction, and this cracking was more significant than cracks formed when welding parallel to the rolling direction. Acoff at Abstract, 763, 765.
Acoff is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor, specifically welding, as the claimed invention, and is further reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (laser welding two components together optimally, which would implicate cracking as an important consideration). MPEP 2141.01 (a).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery of Jang, such that the laser welding carried out between the plates and the substrate tabs comprises laser welding wherein a laser welding direction is parallel to a metal processing direction of the corresponding current collector plate, because Acoff teaches a benefit to a reduction to crack formation when welding parallel to the rolling direction, i.e. the metal processing direction.
Jang teaches “[0085] For example, the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 may be connected to the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 through the ductile/flexible first and second sub-tabs 157 and 167 , respectively. The ductile first and second sub-tabs 157 and 167 may also be referred to as electrode connectors,” indicating Jang teaches each of the current collector plates “being respectively electrically connected to one of the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab.” However, modified Jang is silent as to the current collector plates “being bent such that a central portion thereof in a length direction protrudes away from the electrode assembly.”
Song teaches a secondary battery, in which a negative electrode plate 22a, comprising a negative electrode collector 221a which is “[0068] divided,” such that the plate 22a bends at a central non-coating portion 223a, second fold line 225 a, such that the current collector and the negative electrode plate protrude away from the electrode assembly (i.e., the stack itself, given that in this embodiment the negative electrode sits atop the current collector) at a central portion in a length direction. Song at [0067 – 70], Fig. 8. Song notes “[0067] Although only the modified example of the negative electrode plate 22 a is illustrated in FIG. 8, it will be readily appreciated by one skilled in that art that the same is applicable to the positive electrode plate 21 . In another embodiment of the present invention, same reference numerals will be assigned to similar or same components as the above-mentioned embodiment of the present invention, and the detailed explanation thereof is omitted.” This indicates that this applies to two or more current collector plates. Id. This configuration has two beneficial effects: first, it permits inspection that the alignment of the plates can be verified without a position sensor due to the ability to examine the folded lines (see [0007, 67]), and because “[0069] After the stacking is completed, the negative electrode plate 22 a can also be unfolded by a tension applied in the direction ‘U’ shown in FIG. 5, providing benefits to disassembly.” Id. at [0069].
Fig. 8 of Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, such that each of the current collector plates of modified Jang are bent such that a central portion in a length direction protrudes away from the electrode assembly, while still being respectively electrically connected to one of the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab as in Song, because Song teaches a benefit to ensuring effective alignment and disassembly.
Claim 1 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Acoff.
Jang teaches the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are bent in one direction to be in surface contact with the respective collector plates. Jang at Fig. 4B (“[0074] In some embodiments, the first sub-tab 157 , for example, may be connected (e.g., welded) to the receiving part 155 [of the current collector 150]”).
Claim 2 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Acoff.
Modified Jang teaches wherein the metal processing direction is an orientation of surface components of the current collector plate which is formed through rolling as previously modified, as these “surface components” may comprise components of the metal / alloy surface, i.e. the grain structure / microstructure as discussed in Acoff.
Claim 4 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Jang.
Jang at Fig. 4A-B and 6C shows the stacking direction of the plate to be in the z direction, wherein the “[0125] stacked electrode assembly” presents the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator are stacked together. Jang at Fig. 4A-B, 6C, [0125]. Further, because the welding direction is in the plane of the collector and sub tab 150, 157 respectively, this is perpendicular to an arrangement direction (i.e. the z direction) of the stacked electrode assembly, reading upon “and wherein the laser welding direction in the electrode assembly is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate.”
Claim 5 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over Jang. Jang teaches the current collector 150 is planar, which reads upon a “plate shape.” Jang at [0053], Fig. 4A. However, Jang is silent as to the welding regions being divided in a length direction.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, wherein the current collector plate has a plate shape, and wherein welding regions of the current collector plate are separated and divided in a length direction, because changes in shape (i.e., the shape of the linear laser weld points) are obvious where the location of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Claim 6 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Jang.
Modified Jang teaches both surfaces of the current collector plate with respect to the protruding portion are bent toward the electrode assembly. Jang at [0087] (“[0087] In addition, the second sections 152 and 162 of the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 may be downwardly bent to then extend from ends of the first sections 151 and 161 along the laterally opposite sides in the height direction of the electrode assembly, and may be deflected to one edge of the laterally opposite sides along which they extend in the stacked direction of the electrode assembly 110 . . . the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 protruding/extending from the electrode assembly 110 may be converged approximately at the central portion of the electrode assembly 110 to then be easily bent, so that they can be easily welded to the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 . In some embodiments, lengths of the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 can be reduced through designs of the first and second current collectors 150 and 160.”); see also Song, wherein planar portions of the current collector 221 are closer to the electrode assembly than the bent portion shown in Fig. 8.
Claim 7 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Jang.
Jang the welding regions are both surfaces with respect to the protruding portion of the current collector plate. Jang at [0087] (“[0087] the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 protruding/extending from the electrode assembly 110 may be converged approximately at the central portion of the electrode assembly 110 to then be easily bent, so that they can be easily welded to the first and second current collectors 150 and 160.”).
Claim 7 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Jang.
Jang teaches the first and second portions 114 and 115 of the current collector protrude / extend from the electrode assembly, but is silent as to the length of this portion; Jang is silent as to these ends protruding further.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, such that both ends of the current collector plate protrude outwardly further than a welding region, because changes in shape (i.e., the shape of the linear laser weld points) are obvious where the location of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Claim 9 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song, and further in view of Guen, et. al. (KR20210055543A).
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Jang.
Jang is silent as to “the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are welded to back beads formed on rear surfaces of the respective collector plates by laser welding.” The Office notes that a back bead is by definition formed upon the reverse or back side of a welded portion.
Guen teaches a secondary battery having a can 140 and a cap assembly 150, and having an electrode assembly 110 with a first electrode plate 111 comprising a first electrode current collector. Guen at [0031 – 37]. When assembling the can 140, welding portions 146a-c, 144a-d, are formed, having a “bent portion 144d” which partially overlaps with a groove portion 160; further, “[0109] In addition, since the bent portion 144d extends inside the can, the welding depth is large. Therefore, when welding the third welding part 146c from the outside of the can, even if a back bead is formed inside the can, it is difficult to protrude beyond the length t3 of the bent part 144d, so the back bead generated during welding is improved.” In other words, applying a back bead to a bent portion or an area within a battery cell can, the limitations upon the length prevents protrusions while providing a strong joint.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, such that the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are welded to back beads formed on rear surfaces of the respective collector plates by laser welding, because Guen teaches the application of a back bead on an interior portion or a bent portion provides a benefit to a back bead’s performance, and the back bead as modified would be disposed on the interior side of the current collector and near the bent portion of the current collector and sub tabs 150, 157 respectively.
Claim 9 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff and Song, and further in view of Guen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725