DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 1 -2, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, et. al. ( US2019067667A1 ) , in view of Acoff , et. al., The effect of rolling direction on the weld structure and hardness of gamma- TiAl sheet material, Materials Science and Engineering: A, Volumes 329–331, 2002, Pages 763-767, ISSN 0921-5093. Jang teaches secondary battery (secondary battery 100) comprising: an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 110) comprising a first electrode plate (first electrode plate 111) having a first substrate tab (first sub-tab 157) extending in one direction (see Fig .4B, showing an L shape being formed by the first substrate tab) , a second electrode plate (second electrode plate 1112) having a second substrate tab (second sub-tab 167) and a second extending in another direction (“[0038] the subtab 167 interposed between the other side of the electrode assembly 110”; because of the L shape, “another direction” includes the base portion of the “L” extending in the opposite direction but within the same plane, see Fig. 6C) , and a separator (separator 113) interposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (see [0041]) ; a case accommodating the electrode assembly (case 120) ; and a cap assembly (cap assembly 170) sealing the case and comprising a pair of current collector plates (the current collectors 150, 160 recited above) , each of the current collector plates being electrically connected to one of the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab (“[0053] [i] n addition, the first sub-tab 157 may be connected to the first current collector 150, and the first uncoated portion 114 of the electrode assembly 110 may be then electrically connected to the first sub-tab 157 ”) , wherein the current collector plates are laser-welded to the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab, respectively (“[0097] As shown in FIG. 6B , in the act of connecting the sub-tabs to the cap assembly (S2), first region 158 of the first sub-tab 157 may be connected to the first current collector 150 by laser welding, electrical resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, without limitation, and the second region 159 may be configured to extend a predetermined (or set) length from the first region 158 to the side of the first current collector 150. Likewise, the first region 168 of the second sub-tab 167 may be connected to the second current collector 160 by laser welding .”) . Jang at [ 0037 – 44 , 53, 97 ], Fig. 4 A- B, 6C . Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 6C of Jang, notably showing the substrate tab 157 is bent to be in surface contact with the upper flat portion of the current collector 150. However, while Jang teaches laser welding, Jang is silent as to the laser welding direction being parallel to a metal processing direction, or the laser welding direction generally. Jang teaches the current collector may be composed of aluminum and/or an aluminum alloy. Id. at [0046]. In terms of “ a metal processing direction,” this is described within the specification as “ [0010] The metal processing direction may be an orientation of surface components of the current collector plate which is formed through rolling. ” Acoff teaches a welded gamma- TiAl sheet material, wherein the alloy comprises a grain boundary, wherein where welding was performed, a) the microhardness of the fusion zone was harder than the base metal, but preliminary results showed that specimens welded transverse to the rolling direction had cracks normal to the rolling direction, and this cracking was more significant than cracks formed when welding parallel to the rolling direction. Acoff at Abstract, 763, 765. Acoff is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor, specifically welding, as the claimed invention, and is further reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (laser welding two components together optimally, which would implicate cracking as an important consideration). MPEP 2141.01 (a). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery of Jang, such that the laser welding carried out between the plates and the substrate tabs comprises laser welding wherein a laser welding direction is parallel to a metal processing direction of the corresponding current collector plate , because Acoff teaches a benefit to a reduction to crack formation when welding parallel to the rolling direction, i.e. the metal processing direction. Claim 1 is obvious over Jang, in view o f Acoff . Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Acoff . Jang teaches the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are bent in one direction to be in surface contact with the respective collector plates. Jang at Fig. 4B (“[0074] In some embodiments, the first sub-tab 157 , for example, may be connected (e.g., welded) to the receiving part 155 [of the current collector 150]”). Claim 2 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Acoff . Modified Jang teaches wherein the metal processing direction is an orientation of surface components of the current collector plate which is formed through rolling as previously modified, as these “surface components” may comprise components of the metal / alloy surface, i.e. the grain structure / microstructure as discussed in Acoff . Claim 4 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Jang. Jang at Fig. 4A-B and 6C shows the stacking direction of the plate to be in the z direction, wherein the “[0125] stacked electrode assembly” presents the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator are stacked together . Jang at Fig. 4A-B, 6C, [0125]. Further, because the welding direction is in the plane of the collector and sub tab 150, 157 respectively, this is perpendicular to an arrangement direction (i.e. the z direction) of the stacked electrode assembly, reading upon “ and wherein the laser welding direction in the electrode assembly is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate. ” Claim 5 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1 . Claim 1 is obvious over Jang. Jang teaches the current collector 150 is planar, which reads upon a “plate shape.” Jang at [0053], Fig. 4A. However, Jang is silent as to the welding regions being divided in a length direction. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, wherein the current collector plate has a plate shape, and wherein welding regions of the current collector plate are separated and divided in a length direction , because changes in shape (i.e., the shape of the linear laser weld points) are obvious where the location of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). Claim 6 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Jang. Jang teaches a protruding portion of the current collector plate in the length direction is bent to protrude outwardly from the electrode assembly, and wherein both surfaces of the current collector plate with respect to the protruding portion are bent toward the electrode assembly. Jang at [0087] (“ [0087] In addition, the second sections 152 and 162 of the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 may be downwardly bent to then extend from ends of the first sections 151 and 161 along the laterally opposite sides in the height direction of the electrode assembly, and may be deflected to one edge of the laterally opposite sides along which they extend in the stacked direction of the electrode assembly 110 . . . the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 protruding/extending from the electrode assembly 110 may be converged approximately at the central portion of the electrode assembly 110 to then be easily bent, so that they can be easily welded to the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 . In some embodiments, lengths of the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 can be reduced through designs of the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 .”). Claim 7 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Jang. Jang the welding regions are both surfaces with respect to the protruding portion of the current collector plate. Jang at [0087] (“ [0087] the first and second uncoated portions 114 and 115 protruding/extending from the electrode assembly 110 may be converged approximately at the central portion of the electrode assembly 110 to then be easily bent, so that they can be easily welded to the first and second current collectors 150 and 160 .”). Claim 7 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Jang. Jang teaches the first and second portions 114 and 115 of the current collector protrude / extend from the electrode assembly, but is silent as to the length of this portion; Jang is silent as to these ends protruding further. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, such that both ends of the current collector plate protrude outwardly further than a welding region , because changes in shape (i.e., the shape of the linear laser weld points) are obvious where the location of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). Claim 9 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff . Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, in view of Acoff , and further in view of Guen , et. al. ( KR2021005554 3A). Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Jang. Jang is silent as to “ the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are welded to back beads formed on rear surfaces of the respective collector plates by laser welding. ” The Office notes that a back bead is by definition formed upon the reverse or back side of a welded portion . Guen teaches a secondary battery having a can 140 and a cap assembly 150, and having an electrode assembly 110 with a first electrode plate 111 comprising a first electrode current collector. Guen at [0031 – 37]. When assembling the can 140, welding portions 146a-c, 144a-d, are formed, having a “bent portion 144d” which partially overlaps with a groove portion 160; furth er , “[0109] In addition , since the bent portion 144d extends inside the can, the welding depth is large. Therefore, when welding the third welding part 146c from the outside of the can, even if a back bead is formed inside the can, it is difficult to protrude beyond the length t3 of the bent part 144d, so the back bead generated during welding is improved. ” In other words, applying a back bead to a bent portion or an area within a battery cell can, the limitations upon the length prevents protrusions while providing a strong joint. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Jang, such that the first substrate tab and the second substrate tab are welded to back beads formed on rear surfaces of the respective collector plates by laser welding , because Guen teaches the application of a back bead on an interior portion or a bent portion provides a benefit to a back bead’s performance, and the back bead as modified would be disposed on the interior side of the current collector and near the bent portion of the current collector and sub tabs 150, 157 respectively. Claim 9 is obvious over Jang, in view of Acoff , further in view of Guen . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KRISHNA RAJAN HAMMOND whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9997 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9:00 - 6:30 PM M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Nicole Buie-Hatcher can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-3879 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.R.H./ Examiner , Art Unit 1725 /NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725