DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 20 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements submitted on 20 February 2025, 11 May 2026, and 20 May 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. (US 2009/0088735 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abboud teaches a cryoablation apparatus (the cryoablation console 100 is coupled to a medical device 1 (e.g., catheter) to provide a cryoablation procedure [abstract, 0046, 0068-0069, FIG. 12]) comprising:
a Dewar configured to retain a volume of cryogen (the cryoablation console 100 may include a first coolant reservoir 108 and a second coolant reservoir 110 [0068-0069]);
a cryogen flow path fluidly coupled to the Dewar to supply the cryogen to a medical device (the cryoablation console 100 comprises a supply lumen 104 and an exhaust lumen 106 that are fluidly coupled to the coolant reservoirs 108 and 110 [0069]. Furthermore, the cryoablation console 100 may be coupled to the medical device 1 (e.g., catheter) through the umbilical connector 102, which places the supply lumen 104 and the exhaust lumen 106 of the console 100 in fluid communication with the medical device 1 (e.g., catheter) [0068-0069]);
a first pressure sensor and a second pressure sensor positioned at a first portion of the cryogen flow path and at a second portion of the cryogen flow path (one or more sensors may be disposed along the supply lumen 104 of the console 100 for detecting pressure [0073]. For example, a pressure sensor 124 may be disposed at a particular portion (e.g., first portion) of the supply lumen 104 for detecting pressure [0073]. Furthermore, one or more additional sensors (e.g., pressure sensors) may be disposed at a particular portion (e.g., second portion) of the supply lumen 104 [0073]), respectively;
a first valve and a second valve each positioned along the cryogen flow path (as stated previously above, the pressure sensor 124 and the one or more additional sensor (e.g., pressure sensors) may be disposed at particular portions of the supply lumen 104 [0073]. Specifically, one or more valves (e.g., valve 132 and additional valves) are respectively coupled to the pressure sensor 124 and the additional sensors (e.g., pressure sensors) within the supply lumen 104 [0073-0074]), each configured to operate in an open position to allow the flow of cryogen and in a closed position to prevent the flow cryogen (the one or more valves (e.g., valve 132 and additional valves) are manipulated in response to the pressure sensor signals obtained from the pressure sensor 124 and the additional sensors (e.g., pressure sensors) within the supply lumen 104 [0073-0074]. Specifically, the valves are manipulated (e.g., opened or closed) to control the fluid flow through portions of the supply lumen 104 [0073-0074]); and
a diagnostics control operatively coupled to the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor, the first valve, and the second valve (the console 100 comprises one or more controllers may be coupled to the sensors (the pressure sensor 124 and the additional pressure sensors), and in turn, coupled to the one or more valves (e.g., valve 132 and additional valves) such that the valves may be controllably manipulated in response to the information obtained by the sensors [0071, 0073-0074], the diagnostics control configured to:
determine whether a blockage or leak exists in the first portion and the second portion of the cryogen flow path (the console 100 comprises one or more controllers that may determine if a leak or blockage has occurred within portions of the supply lumen 104 based on the detected signals of the sensors (e.g., pressure sensor 124 and the additional pressure sensors) [abstract, 0071, 0073-0074, 0077]. For example, the controllers of the console 100 may utilize the pressure signals to detect a failure, such as a blockage (e.g., blood or bodily fluid) within particular portions (e.g., first portion and/or second portion) along the supply lumen 104 of the console 100 [0070-0071, 0073-0074, 0077]. Alternatively, the controllers of the console 100 may utilize the pressure signals to detect a leak within particular portions along the supply lumen 104 or exhaust lumen 106 of the console 100 [abstract, 0073-0074, 0077]).
The Examiner previously referred to an embodiment which illustrated the cryogen flow path being configured to supply the cryogen to a medical device, such as a catheter (the cryoablation console 100 may be coupled to the medical device 1 (e.g., catheter) through the umbilical connector 102, which places the supply lumen 104 and the exhaust lumen 106 of the console 100 in fluid communication with the medical device 1 (e.g., catheter) [0068-0069]). Specifically, this embodiment does not illustrate or recite the cryogen flow path being coupled to a cryoprobe. However, Abboud teaches an alternate embodiment that illustrates the cryogen flow path supplying fluid to a medical device, such as a cryoprobe or a catheter ([0039, 0068-0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the respective embodiments to arrive at overall device similar to the one claimed. The Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of the embodiments would result in the cryogen flow path being configured to supply the cryogen to a cryoprobe ([0039, 0068-0069]). This modification is beneficial, as the cryoprobe will provide a structure that can be easily passed through blood vessels and/or heart valves ([0039, 0068-0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Abboud teaches wherein the first portion and the second portion are positioned along a supply line of the cryogen flow path (one or more sensors may be disposed along the supply lumen 104 of the console 100 for detecting pressure [0073]. For example, a pressure sensor 124 may be disposed at a particular portion (e.g., first portion) of the supply lumen 104 for detecting pressure [0073]. Furthermore, one or more additional sensors (e.g., pressure sensors) may be disposed at a particular portion (e.g., second portion) of the supply lumen 104 [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Abboud teaches a return line fluidly coupled to the cryoprobe and to the supply line (the exhaust lumen 106 is in fluid communication with the medical device 1 (e.g., probe or catheter) and the supply lumen 104 [0039, 0069-0071, 0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Abboud teaches the cryoablation apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a first connector valve is disposed at upstream position and is configured to fluidly connect the supply line to the return line (the console 119 comprises a connector valve 119 that may be in fluid communication with the supply lumen 104 at a position upstream of the umbilical connector 102, while being fluid communication with the exhaust lumen 106 (e.g., return line) downstream from the umbilical connector 102 [0071]).
Abboud does not explicitly teach wherein the connecting valve is disposed at a position upstream of the first valve. However, Abboud teaches that each of the one or more valves may be used in various configurations ([0071]). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits as Abboud teaches the use of the first connecting valve (valve 119 [0071]) and the first valve (valve 132 [0074]), configuring the connecting valve to be positioned upstream of the first valve would be a matter of rearranging the known elements without producing a new and unexpected result, with such matters having been held by the Courts as being obvious to the skilled artisan (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 6, Abboud teaches the cryoablation apparatus of claim 5. Abboud does not explicitly teach a second connector valve fluidly connecting the supply line to the return line at a position downstream of the first valve and upstream of the second valve.
The Examiner respectfully submits Abboud teaches the use of the first connecting valve connecting the supply line to the return line (connector valve 119 [0071]). Furthermore, Abboud teaches that the embodiment may implement one or more valves in various configurations ([0071]). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits as Abboud teaches the use of a first connecting valve (valve 119 [0071]), configuring a second connector valve that connects the supply line to the return line at position downstream of the first valve and upstream of the second valve would be a matter of duplicating and rearranging the known elements without producing a new and unexpected result, with such matter having been held by the Courts as being obvious to the skilled artisan (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 7, Abboud teaches wherein the return line is fluidly coupled to a vent allowing pressure in the return to be vented from the cryogen flow path (one or more valves (e.g., pressure relief valves) may be arranged to allow the pressure in the supply lumen 104 and/or exhaust lumen 106 to be vented into the atmosphere [0071]. Specifically, this helps equalize the pressure across the supply lumen 104 and the exhaust lumen 106 [0070-0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Abboud teaches wherein the diagnostics control is configured to operate the first valve in the open position and the second valve in the closed position to determine whether a blockage or leak exists in the first portion before the diagnostics control operates the first valve in the open position and the second valve in the open position to determine whether a blockage or leak exists in the second portion (the one or more valves are positioned along the portions (e.g., first portion and second portion) of the supply lumen 104 to control the flow of the fluid based on the pressure signals from the one or more sensors [0070-0071, 0073-0074]. Specifically, the pressure signals may indicate that a blockage (e.g., blood or bodily fluid) has occurred within one or more portions (e.g., first portion) along the supply lumen 104 of the console 100 [0070-0071]. In response, one or more valves on the second portion of the supply lumen 104 may be selectively actuated (e.g., closed) to terminate or stop the fluid from flowing from the first portion of the supply lumen 104 to the second portion of the supply lumen 104 [0071]. Once the blockage is resolved, the one or more valves on the second portion of the supply lumen may be selectively opened to allow the fluid to flow from the first portion of supply lumen 104 to the second portion of the supply lumen 104 [0071]. The Examiner further submits that it is inherent that the valves on the first and second portions of the supply lumen 104 would have to be opened to allow the fluid to flow from the first portion of supply lumen 104 through the second portion of the supply lumen 104 [0070-0071]. During this process, the sensors can monitor the pressure in the second portion of the supply lumen 104 to determine if there is any blockage (e.g., blood or bodily fluid) [0070-0071]).
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Schiff et al. (US 2005/0065584 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Abboud suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the cryogen flow path is positioned downstream of the first portion (the Examiner respectfully submits that it is inherent that the second portion (e.g., distal portion) of the supply line 104 is arranged distally or downstream from the first portion (e.g., proximal portion) of the supply line 104 [0069, FIG. 12]).
Abboud does not explicitly teach the diagnostics control is configured to determine whether a blockage or leak exists in the first portion before the second portion.
The prior art by Schiff is analogous to Abboud, as they both teach devices that are configured to circulate a cooling fluid ([abstract, 0039])
Schiff teaches wherein the diagnostics control is configured to determine whether a blockage or leak exists in the first portion before the second portion (the fluid circulation path 104 comprises a first portion (e.g., section A), a second portion (e.g., section B), and a third portion (e.g., section C) [0058, 0060]. Specifically, the controller may utilize the measurements from the pressure sensors 422, 424, and 426 to detect a leak or obstruction in either the first portion (e.g., section A), the second portion (e.g., section B), or the third portion (e.g., section C) of the fluid circulation path 104 [0058, 0060]. In this case, the controller to utilize the measurements from the pressure sensors 422, 424, and 426 to determine whether a leak or blockage exists in the first portion (e.g., section A) before the second portion (e.g., section B) of the fluid circulation path 104 [0058, 0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Abboud’s diagnostic control to determine if a blockage or leak exist in the first portion before the second portion, as taught by Schiff. The advantage of such modification will allow for will allow for determining if the leak or blockage is isolated to a specific section (e.g., first portion) of the cryogen flow path (see paragraphs [0058, 0060] by Schiff).
7. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Hareland (US 2021/0169545 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Abboud suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 1. Abboud does not explicitly teach wherein the diagnostics control determines whether a blockage or leak exists by comparing a pressure to a target pressure range and comparing a time to reach maximum pressure to target time range.
The prior art by Hareland is analogous to Abboud, as they both teach a cryoablation device ([0002]).
Hareland teaches wherein the diagnostics control determines whether a blockage or leak exists by comparing a pressure to a target pressure range and comparing a time to reach maximum pressure to target time range (the control unit 14 may determine if there is a leak anywhere within the components (e.g., fluid injection tube, vacuum pathway, and/or balloon 18) of the cryoablation treatment device 12 based on the pressure measurements [0050, 0054]. Specifically, the leak is determined by comparing the measured pressure to a predetermined threshold 68 [0054]. Furthermore, the leak may be may also be determined by comparing the changes in pressure over time to a predetermined threshold 68 [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Abboud’s diagnostic control to determine whether a blockage or leak exist by comparing a pressure to a target pressure range and comparing a time to reach maximum pressure to target time range, as taught by Hareland. The advantage of such modification will improve accuracy for detecting a leak by comparing the measurements (e.g., pressure and time) to a threshold (see paragraph [0054] by Hareland).
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Helwa et al. (US 2022/0265175 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Abboud suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 1. Abboud does not explicitly teach wherein the diagnostics control determines whether a blockage or leak exists using a trained machine learning model.
The prior art by Helwa is analogous to as they both teach the detection of a leakage within a fluid delivery device ([0114]).
Helwa teaches wherein the diagnostics control determines whether a leak exists using a trained machine learning model (the machine learning algorithm may determine whether a leak exist within the fluid delivery device (e.g., catheter or inline device) based on the data from the sensors [0114, 0312, 0316]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Abboud’s diagnostic control to determine whether a leak exist using a trained machine learning model, as taught by Helwa. The advantage of such modification will provide a machine learning algorithm that can detect a leak and/or predict a future occurrence of a leak based on the data received from the sensors (see paragraph [0312] by Helwa).
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Baust et al. (US 2012/0059364 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Abboud suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 1. Abboud does not explicitly teach wherein the cryogen is Nitrogen.
The prior art by Baust is analogous to Abboud, as they both teach a cryogenic system ([abstract]).
Baust teaches wherein the cryogen is Nitrogen ([abstract, 0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Abboud’s cryoablation apparatus to utilize nitrogen, as taught by Baust. This modification is beneficial, as nitrogen may improve the cryogenic treatment at the tissue site (see the [abstract] and paragraph [0020] by Baust).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Duong et al. (US 2014/0039476 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Abboud suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the diagnostics control is further configured to cause a purge of the cryogen flow path to be performed when it determines a blockage exists.
The prior art by Duong is analogous to Abboud, as they both teach a cryogenic device ([abstract]).
Duong teaches the diagnostics control is further configured to cause a purge of the cryogen flow path to be performed when it determines a blockage exists (the fluid pathways of the catheter 102 may be clogged or blocked which causes a rise in pressure [0051, 0056]. In response, the pressure relief valve 182 automatically purges excessive pressure from the system [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Duong’s diagnostic control to cause a purge of the cryogen flow path to be performed when it determines a blockage exists, as taught by Duong. The advantage of such modification will allow for purging excessive pressure from the fluid pathways to alleviate the blockage (see paragraphs [0051, 0056] by Duong).
11. Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. in view of Duong et al., further in view of Baust et al.
Regarding claim 13, Abboud in view of Duong suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 12. Abboud and Duong do not explicitly teach a housing configuring to retain a second volume of liquid cryogen, a heater positioned in the housing and configured to heat the liquid cryogen to convert the liquid cryogen to cryogen gas; and
a flow conduit comprising a conduit heater, the flow conduit fluidly connected to the housing and configured to fluidly connect the housing to the cryogen flow.
However, Baust teaches a housing configuring to retain a second volume of liquid cryogen (the internal housing or pressurization chamber 40 is disposed within the dewar 6 [0058, 0073, FIG. 1]. Specifically, the pressurization chamber 40 retains a volume of cryogen that is heated to a desired pressure [0058]), a heater positioned in the housing and configured to heat the liquid cryogen to convert the liquid cryogen to cryogen gas (the immersion heater 44 is housed in the open chamber 42 of the pressurization chamber 40 to heat the cryogen (e.g., liquid nitrogen) to a desired pressure [0058, FIG. 1]. Specifically, the cryogen is heated to a pressure that allows the cryogen (e.g., liquid nitrogen) to be converted to a supercritical cryogen (e.g., gas) [0058-0059]); and
a flow conduit comprising a conduit heater, the flow conduit fluidly connected to the housing (the housing or pressurization chamber 40 may be fluidly connected to a second pressurization chamber 40 that is in the form of a conduit or cylinder [0058, 0073, 0080]. Specifically, the second pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., cylinder or conduit) also includes a respective immersion heater 144 that is configured to heat the cryogen to a desired pressure [0058-0059, 0073-0074, 0080]) and configured to fluidly connect the housing to the cryogen flow (the first pressurization chamber 40 (e.g. housing) and the second pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., cylinder or conduit) are connected in series to deliver the fluid to the supply line and into the cryoinstrument (e.g., cryoprobe) [0036, 0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the cryoablation apparatus suggested by Abboud in view of Duong to comprise housing having a heater to convert the liquid cryogen to a gas and a flow conduit that interconnects the housing and the cryogen flow, as taught by Baust. The advantage of such modification will allow the housing (e.g., pressurization chamber) to convert the cryogen (e.g., liquid nitrogen) to a supercritical cryogen (e.g., gas) that is delivered along the fluid supply line and into the the cryoinstrument (e.g., cryoprobe) (see paragraphs [0036, 0058-0059, 0073, 0082] by Baust).
Regarding claim 14, Abboud in view of Duong and Baust suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 13. Baust teaches a connector configured to fluidly connect the housing to the Dewar the (the internal cavity or reservoir 15 of the dewar 6 includes a submersible pump connector 1 which delivers the fluid to the internal housing or pressurization chamber 40 [0058, FIG. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the housing suggested by Abboud in view of Baust to connect with the Dewar via a connector, as further taught by Baust. This modification is beneficial, as the connector (e.g., pump connector) will provide will provide the cryogen from the internal cavity of dewar to the internal housing or chamber for pressurization (see paragraph [0058] by Baust).
Regarding claim 15, Abboud in view of Duong and Baust suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 13. Baust teaches wherein the housing is positioned inside the Dewar (the internal housing or pressurization chamber 40 is disposed within the internal cavity 15 of the dewar 6 [0058, FIG. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the housing suggested by Abboud in view of Baust to be disposed within the Dewar, as taught by Baust. This modification is beneficial, as the connector (e.g., pump connector) will provide will provide the cryogen from the internal cavity of dewar to the internal housing or chamber for pressurization (see paragraph [0058] by Baust).
Regarding claim 16, Abboud in view of Duong and Baust suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 13. Baust teaches wherein the flow conduit is positioned at a top of the housing to dispense cryogen gas from the housing to the cryogen flow path (the first pressurization chamber 40 (e.g. housing) and the second pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., cylinder or conduit) are connected in series to deliver the cryogen (e.g., gas) to the supply line and into the cryoinstrument (e.g., cryoprobe) [0036, 0058-0059, 0073, 0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the flow conduit suggested by Abboud in view of Duong and Baust to be positioned at a top of the housing to dispense cryogen gas from the housing to the cryogen flow path, as further taught by Baust. The advantage of such modification will allow the housing (e.g., pressurization chamber) to convert the cryogen (e.g., liquid nitrogen) to a supercritical cryogen (e.g., gas) that is delivered through the flow conduit (e.g., pressurization cylinder or conduit) to the fluid supply line and into the cryoinstrument (e.g., cryoprobe) (see paragraphs [0036, 0058-0059, 0073, 0082] by Baust).
Regarding claim 17, Abboud in view of Duong and Baust suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 13. Baust teaches a gas control coupled to the heater and the conduit heater, the gas control configured to: activate the heater to achieve a predetermined pressure in the housing; and activate the conduit heater to achieve a predetermined temperature of cryogen gas (the computer-controlled valves (e.g., gas control) may be coupled to the first pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., housing) and the second pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., cylinder or conduit) within the dewar 6 [0058-0059, 0072-0073]. Specifically, the computer-controlled valves (e.g., gas control) may control the respective heaters (e.g., immersion heaters 44) within the pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., housing) and the second pressurization chamber 40 (e.g., cylinder or conduit) to control the pressure and temperature of the cryogen (e.g., gas) [0058-0059, 0072-0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the cryoablation apparatus suggested by Abboud in view of Duong and Baust to include a gas control coupled to the heater and the conduit heater, as further taught by Baust. The advantage of such modification will help maintain the cryogen in the desired state (e.g., gas) by controlling the pressure and the temperature (see paragraphs [0058-0059, 0072-0074] by Baust).
Regarding claim 18, Abboud in view of Duong and Baust suggests the cryoablation apparatus of claim 17. Baust teaches wherein the gas control is further configured to dispense the cryogen gas to the cryogen flow path to perform the purge of the cryogen flow path (the computer-controlled valves (e.g., gas control) may control the valves of cryogenic system to deliver a warm nitrogen gas through the fluid line during the purging process [0058, 0072, 0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the gas control suggested by Abboud in view of Duong and Baust to dispense the cryogen gas to the cryogen flow path to perform the purge of the cryogen flow path, as further taught by Baust. The advantage of such modification will provide maintenance to the cryoablation apparatus by flushing fluid lines with a warm nitrogen gas (see paragraphs [0058, 0072, 0091] by Baust).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BRENDON SOLOMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3792