Response to Arguments
The applicant’s newly submitted title “Battery and Method for Manufacturing Battery” is accepted and is sufficiently descriptive. Accordingly the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Additionally, the applicant’s amendment to claim 15, which clarifies that the first solder material is provided on the lead terminal, overcomes the issue of indefiniteness raised in the previous office action of record, and it is accordingly withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Here, the limitation which requires that the battery element, the first solder material, and portions of the lead terminal excluding mounting terminal portions are embedded in the insulating member is addressed by Watanabe in view of Yoon (US 2018/0342710 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2001/0012193 A1) in view of Yoon (US 2018/0342710 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of batteries (Paragraph 0001, “The invention relates to a non-aqueous electrolyte cell capable of being mounted on a surface and an electric double layer capacitor making use of electric double layer theory.”). Watanabe discloses a battery element which comprises a first electrode, and a second electrode (Paragraph 0007, “composed of active materials used as a cathode and an anode”) as well as a solid electrolyte layer (Paragraph 0034, “Also, sealing is made further simple when an inorganic solid electrolyte of Li2S/SiS2/Li4SiO4 is used.”). Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the battery includes an insulating member 102 (Paragraph 0023, “In the case where a sealing plate is used which is formed of an insulating body”), a lead terminal (Paragraph 0021, “Such wiring forms the joining terminal A103, the joining terminal B104”), and a first solder material 108 (Paragraph 0022, “It is better to provide a layer of nickel, gold and solder on the joining terminals A103, B104 for soldering with the board. It is preferable to provide a layer of nickel, gold and the like, which are favorably compatible with the bonding material 108, on the metallic layer 110 on the edge of the concave-shaped container 101.”).
Watanabe further discloses structure wherein the insulating member includes a resin (Paragraph 0023, “as well as disclosing that the insulating member comprises a resin (Paragraph 0023, “an insulating body such as heat resisting resins”).”)
Here, Watanabe discloses structure wherein the insulating member 102 encloses the battery element 105/106/107 (Paragraph 0040, “The cathode active-material 106, the separator 105 and the anode active-material 107”) and the first solder material 108 (Paragraph 0026, “The bonding material 108 includes brazing materials such as gold solder, silver solder or the like, and a solder material”), as shown in Watanabe’s figure 1.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the battery element, the first solder material, and portions of the lead terminal excluding mounting terminal portions are embedded in the insulating member Watanabe fails to disclose said structure. Therefore we look to Yoon, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of batteries (Abstract, “as well as disclosing that the insulating member comprises a resin (Paragraph 0023, “an insulating body such as heat resisting resins”).
Here, Yoon discloses a thermosetting insulating resin applied to a pouch-type electrode case which is then provided with an electrode assembly (Abstract, “in which a thermosetting insulating resin applied in advance to a pouch-type electrode case provided with an electrode assembly received therein”). Here Yoon discloses that this thermosetting insulating resin structure results in a prevention in collision between electrodes and fundamentally prevents generation of short circuits (Abstract, “and may thus prevent physical contact and collision between the electrodes and fundamentally prevent generation of a short circuit caused thereby.”).
Yoon further discloses that their resin is applied to an entirety of an inner surface of the exterior members of the pouch (Paragraph 0012, “In another preferred embodiment, the insulating resin may be applied to the entirety of the inner surface of the at least one exterior member”), as shown in their figure 1, where the insulating resin 220 surrounds and envelops the electrode body 100, which is embedded within the insulating resin. Further Yoon discloses that the application of the resin during the assembly process results in improved process workability and durability through preventing the generation of shorts during the manufacturing process (Paragraph 0041, “thus fills vacant spaces between the electrodes 110 and 120 at the edge, thereby preventing generation of a short at the edges of the electrode assembly 100 (indicated by broken line in FIG. 2) and fixing the positions of the electrodes 110 and 120 and thus improving process workability and cell durability.”).
Accordingly, where Yoon discloses that the insulating resin component inside the pouch prevents short circuiting, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the pouch and insulating resin of Yoon to surround the battery of Watanabe, where the battery of Watanabe may be surrounded by conductive metal plate 102 (Paragraph 0020, “A sealing plate 102 of nickel”) and leads 103 and 104 (Paragraph 0022, “It is better to provide a layer of nickel, gold and solder on the joining terminals A103, B104”). This would therefore result in structure where Yoon’s battery is surrounded by Yoon’s insulating resin and pouch, thereby resulting in structure where Yoon’s battery element, first solder material, and portions of the lead terminal excluding mounting terminal portions are embedded in the insulating resin, which is the insulating member, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim.
Additionally, for the purpose of maintaining battery functionality, where Yoon discloses that their pouch and insulating member have electrodes that protrude from their edges, so as to allow the battery to be used (Paragraph 0017, “so that the hardened insulating resin stably supports the electrodes protruding from the edges of the electrode assembly.”) it would further be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to include this feature as well, thereby allowing the electrode leads 103 and 104 to extend outside the pouch and insulating resin.
Additionally, Watanabe discloses that the lead terminal is electrically connected to the battery element (Paragraph 0009, “Also, a metallic layer is formed on an edge of the concave-shaped container to be electrically connected to a joining terminal B disposed on the outer bottom surface of the concave-shaped container. A cathode active-material, a separator, and an anode active-material, which are made to be sheet-shaped, are stackingly inserted in the concave-shaped container.”) and wherein the first solder material is positioned between the insulating member, which is the insulating resin of Yoon which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure 1 and the lead terminal, as shown in their figure 1, where the first solder material 108 is positioned between the insulating member and the lead terminal 104.
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe anticipates the invention to claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the first solder material is in the form of an island, as shown in their figure 1, where the first solder material 108 is applied to a defined region on a surface of metallic layer 110. This structure can be understood as being an island, being isolated to a specific section of the lead terminal 104 and metallic layer 110.
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the first solder material includes a solder film (Paragraph 0026, “The bonding material 108 includes brazing materials such as gold solder, silver solder or the like, and a solder material.”) provided on a surface of the lead terminal (Paragraph 0022, “It is preferable to provide a layer of nickel, gold and the like, which are favorably compatible with the bonding material 108, on the metallic layer 110 on the edge of the concave-shaped container 101. Methods of forming such layers include plating, a gas phase method such as vapor deposition and the like.”) where the disclosure of the use of gas phase vapor deposition results in the solder including a solder film.
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 3, Additionally, where Watanabe discloses that the solder film is a metal film (Paragraph 0022, “It is preferable to provide a layer of nickel, gold and the like, which are favorably compatible with the bonding material 108, on the metallic layer 110 on the edge of the concave-shaped container 101. Methods of forming such layers include plating, a gas phase method such as vapor deposition and the like.”), the solder film is therefore a metal film which is a plating layer on the surface of the terminal lead, thereby representing a plating film.
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the first solder material 108 closes at least a portion of gaps between the insulating member, which is the insulating resin of Yoon which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure 1 and the seal terminal 110, shown in Watanabe’s figure 1, where the first solder material takes up space, thereby closing the gap that would be present if the solder material were not.
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the lead terminal 104 has a bent portion inside the orthographic projection of the insulating member which is the insulating resin which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure, where the entirety of the battery of Watanabe is provided inside the insulating member, including the bend portion.
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 6. Additionally, the lead terminal 104 is connected to a principal surface of the first electrode 107, through the electrical connection between the lead terminal and the electrode 107 (Paragraph 0018, “A similar metallic layer 110 is provided on an edge of a top surface of the concave-shaped container 101 to extend on a left side surface of the concave-shaped container shown in FIG. 1 to be electrically connected to a joining terminal B104 on the outer bottom surface of the concave-shaped container.”), shown in figure 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where the bent portion, within the orthographic projection of the insulating member 102, includes a crank-shaped bent portion, the crank-shaped being bent so that the lead terminal is bent from the first electrode and is bent towards an outside of the insulating member, as shown in figure 1, where the lead terminal is bent from the principal connecting surface of the first electrode 102, down along a side surface of the battery element, being bent to extend towards a region outside the insulating member which is the insulating resin of Yoon which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure 1. As the insulating member fully surrounds the battery of Watanabe, any extension would therefore be in a direction toward an outside of the insulating member.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 6. Additionally, Watanabe includes structure wherein the first solder material 108 includes a solder material in contact with the bent portion, where the first solder is in electrical contact with the terminal lead 104 which includes the bent portion, as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure wherein the lead terminal 104 has an outside portion, the outside portion being positioned outside an outer periphery of the battery element in a plan view, shown in figure 1, where the lead terminal 104 has a portion below and outside the outer periphery of the battery element 105/106/107. Additionally, the first solder material 108 is present between the bottommost outside portion of the lead terminal 104 and the insulating member which is the insulating resin of Yoon which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally Yoon discloses that the insulating resin which is the insulating member, as discussed above, includes an epoxy resin (Paragraph 0016, “The insulating resin may include a thermosetting polymer. The thermosetting polymer may include at least one of epoxy resin”). Where Yoon makes obvious the structure of the insulating resin, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the components of the insulating resin taught by Yoon, based on a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses that the insulating layer 102 melts and bonds with the first solder material 108 to form a sealing material (Paragraph 0020, “A sealing plate 102 of nickel is placed on the bonding material, and is pressurized and heated to melt the bonding material 108 for sealing.”). Accordingly, the melted material of the solder material 108 which acts as a bonding material for sealing is a sealing material, being positioned between the insulating member which is the insulating resin of Yoon which surrounds the battery of Watanabe as shown in figure 1 and the lead terminal 104 as shown in Watanabe’s figure 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure which comprises a second solder material 110 (Paragraph 0018, “A similar metallic layer 110 is provided on an edge of a top surface of the concave-shaped container 101 to extend on a left side surface of the concave-shaped container shown in FIG. 1 to be electrically connected to a joining terminal B104 on the outer bottom surface of the concave-shaped container.”) which is coats at least a portion of a surface of an exposed portion of the lead terminal the exposed portion being exposed from the insulating member, as shown in figure 1. Here, the second solder material 110 is a solder material through its melting compatibility with the first solder material 108 (Paragraph 0026, “The bonding material 108 includes brazing materials such as gold solder, silver solder or the like, and a solder material. In selecting the bonding material 108, it should take account of a material of the metallic layer 110 on the edge of the concave-shaped container 101, compatibility of the bonding material with a material of portions,”) and is exposed from the insulating member through not being in direct contact with the insulating member, as shown in figure 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Watanabe discloses a method of manufacturing a battery element which comprises connecting a lead terminal (Paragraph 0021, “Such wiring forms the joining terminal A103, the joining terminal B104”) to a battery element where the battery element comprises a first electrode, and a second electrode (Paragraph 0007, “composed of active materials used as a cathode and an anode”) as well as a solid electrolyte layer (Paragraph 0034, “Also, sealing is made further simple when an inorganic solid electrolyte of Li2S/SiS2/Li4SiO4 is used.”).
Additionally, Watanabe discloses enclosing the battery element with an insulating member 102 (Paragraph 0023, “In the case where a sealing plate is used which is formed of an insulating body”), shown in their figure 1 where the outer bound of the battery element 105/106/107 is enclosed by the insulating member 102.
Additionally, Watanabe discloses heating the lead terminal 104, where a first solder material 108 is provided on the lead terminal (Paragraph 0022, “It is better to provide a layer of nickel, gold and solder on the joining terminals A103, B104 for soldering with the board. It is preferable to provide a layer of nickel, gold and the like, which are favorably compatible with the bonding material 108, on the metallic layer 110 on the edge of the concave-shaped container 101.”) where the process of soldering includes heating the lead terminal.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the battery element, the first solder material, and portions of the lead terminal excluding mounting terminal portions are embedded in the insulating member Watanabe fails to disclose said structure. Therefore we look to Yoon, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of batteries (Abstract, “as well as disclosing that the insulating member comprises a resin (Paragraph 0023, “an insulating body such as heat resisting resins”).
Here, Yoon discloses a thermosetting insulating resin applied to a pouch-type electrode case which is then provided with an electrode assembly (Abstract, “in which a thermosetting insulating resin applied in advance to a pouch-type electrode case provided with an electrode assembly received therein”). Here Yoon discloses that this thermosetting insulating resin structure results in a prevention in collision between electrodes and fundamentally prevents generation of short circuits (Abstract, “and may thus prevent physical contact and collision between the electrodes and fundamentally prevent generation of a short circuit caused thereby.”).
Yoon further discloses that their resin is applied to an entirety of an inner surface of the exterior members of the pouch (Paragraph 0012, “In another preferred embodiment, the insulating resin may be applied to the entirety of the inner surface of the at least one exterior member”), as shown in their figure 1, where the insulating resin 220 surrounds and envelops the electrode body 100, which is embedded within the insulating resin. Further Yoon discloses that the application of the resin during the assembly process results in improved process workability and durability through preventing the generation of shorts during the manufacturing process (Paragraph 0041, “thus fills vacant spaces between the electrodes 110 and 120 at the edge, thereby preventing generation of a short at the edges of the electrode assembly 100 (indicated by broken line in FIG. 2) and fixing the positions of the electrodes 110 and 120 and thus improving process workability and cell durability.”).
Accordingly, where Yoon discloses that the insulating resin component inside the pouch prevents short circuiting, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the pouch and insulating resin of Yoon to surround the battery of Watanabe, where the battery of Watanabe may be surrounded by conductive metal plate 102 (Paragraph 0020, “A sealing plate 102 of nickel”) and leads 103 and 104 (Paragraph 0022, “It is better to provide a layer of nickel, gold and solder on the joining terminals A103, B104”). This would therefore result in structure where Yoon’s battery is surrounded by Yoon’s insulating resin and pouch, thereby resulting in structure where Yoon’s battery element, first solder material, and portions of the lead terminal excluding mounting terminal portions are embedded in the insulating resin, which is the insulating member, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim. Additionally, for the purpose of maintaining battery functionality, where Yoon discloses that their pouch and insulating member have electrodes that protrude from their edges, so as to allow the battery to be used (Paragraph 0017, “so that the hardened insulating resin stably supports the electrodes protruding from the edges of the electrode assembly.”) it would further be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to include this feature as well, thereby allowing the electrode leads 103 and 104 to extend outside the pouch and insulating resin.
Additionally, the first solder material is enclosed with the insulating member, through being bounded by the insulating member which surrounds the entirety of the battery of Watanabe as well as being positioned between the lead terminal 104/110/108 and the insulating member, where the insulating member is again located fully surrounding all elements of the battery.
Additionally, Watanabe discloses structure where in heating the lead terminal, the lead terminal is heated at a temperature equal to or higher than a melting point of the first solder material (Paragraph 0020, “A sealing plate 102 of nickel is placed on the bonding material, and is pressurized and heated to melt the bonding material 108 for sealing.”), where the first solder material is heated to be melted for sealing, and is therefore heated to a temperature equal to or higher than its melting point.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20010012193 A1) in view of Yoon (US 2018/0342710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nanno (US 20070259271 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires a water repellant material which is in contact with the lead terminal, Watanabe fails to disclose said structure. Accordingly, we look to Nanno, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery electrode laminates (Abstract, “A laminate includes an active material layer and a solid electrolyte layer bonded to the active material layer by sintering.”). Here, Nanno discloses a battery, including its electrode leads, is immersed in a dispersion of a fluorocarbon resin water repellent material in order to make the surface of the battery water-repellent (Paragraph 0448, “A battery 20 was produced in the same manner as the battery 19, except that the battery 17 with the copper leads as the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal was immersed in a dispersion of a fluorocarbon resin water-repellent material in n-heptane in order to make the surface of the battery 17 water-repellent.”). Nanno further discloses that the rater-repellent material coating prevents the formation of a liquid film on the battery surface (Paragraph 0454, “Thus, the result of the battery 18 confirms that the use of a container with good gas tightness permits interception of humid air, and the result of the battery 20 confirms that applying a water repellent material to the battery (laminate) surface prevents the formation of a liquid film on the battery surface.”) and that handling of the battery can be improved and the effects of the humidity of the ambient air can be reduced (Paragraph 0455, “As described above, when the battery (laminate) is housed in a container with high gas tightness or when the battery (laminate) surface is treated with a water-repellent material, the handling of the battery is improved and the effects of the humidity of the ambient air can be reduced.”).
Additionally, Nanno discloses that humid ambient air can cause internal short circuits (Paragraph 0278, “As described above, by preventing the all solid lithium secondary battery from coming into contact with the ambient air, it becomes possible to eliminate effects of moisture contained in the ambient air, for example, an internal short-circuit caused by reaction between current collector metal and water.”). Based on these benefits, and the prevention of short circuits, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the water-repellant coating of Nanno to the surfaces of the battery of Watanabe, which includes the electrode leads, thereby making obvious a water repellent material which is in contact with the lead terminal.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20010012193 A1) in view of Yoon (US 2018/0342710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukai (US 20160071680 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Watanabe teaches the invention as discussed above in regards to Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires a fluxing material which is positioned between the insulating member and the first solder material, Watanabe fails to disclose said fluxing material. Therefore we look to Mukai, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery materials (Paragraph 0051, “Such a protective element 10 can be used by incorporation into a circuit within a battery pack 30”). Here, Watanabe discloses that the use of flux is to remove oxide films, facilitating effective bonding in melting connectors (Paragraph 0038, “In order to prevent oxidation of the meltable conductor 13 in the protective element 10, an oxide film removing agent 17 is provided on nearly the entire upper surface of the meltable conductor 13. A flux is preferably used as the oxide film removing agent.”; Paragraph 0040, “Flux activation is a state in which the flux exhibits functionality for removing oxide film from the meltable conductor 13 and activation temperature is a temperature at which the solid flux is melted by heat and exhibits functionality for removing oxide film from the meltable conductor 13. Then, when the flux is heated beyond a given activation temperature thereof, the oxide film removing functionality is deactivated.”). Here, where the insulating material applies heat to the first solder material of Watanabe, thereby melting and bonding the first solder material (Paragraph 0020, “A sealing plate 102 of nickel is placed on the bonding material, and is pressurized and heated to melt the bonding material 108 for sealing.”), it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of a fluxing material to remove any oxidation layer on the soldering material or other materials it is bonding to, thereby making obvious the limitation of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725