DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9,14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 9768236).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches in figures 3-4 and the corresponding text, a display device comprising: a plurality of light-emitting elements (R (8), G (9), B (9)) having different sizes and assembled to constitute a single pixel (100), wherein at least two of the light-emitting elements (G, B) have respective through-holes (see figure 3, looking down and figure 4, wrapping around) therein that are disposed overlapping each other within the single pixel.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches at least two of the light-emitting elements (9) are ring shaped and have the respective through-holes penetrating each light-emitting elements.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches the plurality of light-emitting elements having the different sizes include a first light-emitting element (B), a second light-emitting element (G), and a third light-emitting element (R), wherein a size of the first light-emitting element is the largest and a size of the third light-emitting element is the smallest.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element emit light of different colors (red, green, blue).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches in the pixel, the first light-emitting element is disposed at an outermost portion and the third light-emitting element is disposed inwardly of the second light-emitting element.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches an inner surface of the first light-emitting element is disposed in contact with an outer surface of the second light-emitting element, wherein an inner surface of the second light-emitting element is in contact with an outer surface of the third light-emitting element. (see figure 4, parts 8 and 9 contact the inner part).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element have the same height (see situated at the same level (column 2, lines 54-56 and figure 5).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches a size of the single pixel is not greater than a width of an outermost light-emitting element among the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding independent claim 14, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches in figures 3-4 and the corresponding text, a pixel (100) comprising: a first subpixel B(9) having a hole extending therethrough, the first subpixel having a first light emitting element of a first color (blue); and a second subpixel G(9) positioned in the hole of the first subpixel, the second subpixel having a second light emitting element of a second color (green).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches a hole extending through the second subpixel; and a third subpixel R(8) positioned in the hole of the second subpixel, the third subpixel having a third light emitting element of a third color (red).
Regarding independent claim 16, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches in figure 6 and the corresponding text a method of making a pixel comprising: forming a first light emitting element having a first electrode, a second electrode and a light emitting layer positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode; forming a hole fully through the first electrode, the second electrode and the light emitting layer; forming a second light emitting element having a first electrode, a second electrode and a light emitting layer positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the second light emitting element being formed in the hole that extends fully though the first light emitting element.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches forming a hole fully through the first electrode, the second electrode and the light emitting layer of the second light emitting element; forming a third light emitting element having a first electrode, a second electrode and a light emitting layer positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the third light emitting element being formed in the hole that extends fully though the second light emitting element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 9768236), of record.
Regarding claim 5, Sun et al. (‘236) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the first light-emitting element emits red light, the second light-emitting element emits green light, and the third light-emitting element emits blue light.
The limitation appears to be obvious choices in design based upon the intended use (which color is to be dominant).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the display structure of Sun for the purpose of reducing the size of the pixel. The color order is an obvious choice in design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a reflective metal layer, a magnetic layer, and a bonding electrode layer are sequentially disposed on one surface of the first semiconductor layer not connected to the active layer, and the through-hole extends through the light-emitting element from the upper electrode to the bonding electrode layer, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a reflective metal layer, a magnetic layer, and a bonding electrode layer are sequentially disposed on one surface of the first semiconductor layer not connected to the active layer, and the through-hole extends through the light-emitting element from the upper electrode to the bonding electrode layer, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a reflective metal layer, a magnetic layer, and a bonding electrode layer are sequentially disposed on one surface of the first semiconductor layer not connected to the active layer, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a first working electrode and a second working electrode overlapping a lower portion of the second light-emitting element and located between the first assembly electrode and the second assembly electrode; and a third working electrode and a fourth working electrode overlapping a lower portion of the third light-emitting element and located between the first working electrode and the second working electrode, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a method comprised of, in part, a first and a second drive signal electrode thereon; electrically coupling each of the first electrodes of the first and second light emitting elements to the first and second drive signal electrodes; and forming first and second line electrodes overlying the pixel and electrically connected to the respective second electrodes of the first and second pixels, along with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0040888, US 11538850, US 20230051845, US 20260026138, US 20260013311, US 20010000005, US 20190165207, CN 118352374A, and JP 2011071012A all teach the state of the art for a small (micro) pixel display structure.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875