DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 8, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 15-16 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2025/0220508 A1), hereinafter referred to as Xu, in view of Hong (US 2025/0234239 A1), and further in view of Yi (US 12,513,084 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Xu teaches A method comprising:
generating Access Traffic Steering, Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) rules specific to different frame types of a flow (the first path is a transmission path corresponding to a 3GPP access type, and the second path is a transmission path corresponding to a non-3GPP access type; the communication device is steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 1st frame to the first path, and steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 2nd frame to the second path, para. 0146; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2),
providing the ATSSS rules to a user plane function (UPF) so that the UPF detects Quality of Service (QoS) flows based on the different frame types of the flow (performing differentiated QoS processing based on a dependency relationship between the different PDU sets, para. 0112; the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183), and
transporting the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (the UPF network element determine a load sharing steering mode that is based on each PDU set or GOP; and further send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194).
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets, the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types;
However, Hong teaches wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets (the user plane function (UPF) carry the user plane traffic classification belonging to one QoS flow through the N3 user plane marking using the QFI, different user plane traffic classifications (e.g., sub-stream/data unit/sub-flow/frame) belonging to one QoS flow additionally classified using an identifier and a packet filter set, para. 0161; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) include one or more pieces of information included in the above-described packet filter set and information for indicating activation/deactivation and transmit the same to the UPF; UPF filter packets for each of PDU-Set/frame type in any application; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) configure corresponding packet filtering for the corresponding XR application (or QoS flow(s) of the corresponding application) during the PDU session establishment/modification procedure, para. 0184), the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types (the packet filter set support a packet filter based on combination of ADU-type and Fame-type: P-frame, I-frame, B-frame, para. 0168-0169) in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hong to the method of Xu in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184).
Xu in view of Hong does not explicitly teach
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type;
However, Yi teaches
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type (applying an ATSSS switching policy, including applying PDU sets, based on PDU set importance, across the one or more access networks, col. 36, lines 17-33; utilizing redundancy techniques for the various 3GPP/non-3GPP access means, and utilizing enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU set, col. 40, lines 13-28) in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Yi to the method of Xu in view of Hong in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28).
With respect to claim 2, Xu teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on the attribute PDU-SET type, creating separate QoS flows for different frame types based on generating ATSSS rules specific to each of the attribute PDU-SET type (the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183); and
providing the ATSSS rules to the UPF, wherein the UPF transports the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2).
With respect to claim 3, Xu teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the attribute PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the ATSSS rules specify transport of the I frames to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; determining that the data flow is transmitted by using an XR quality of service (QOS) flow; and determining, based on the XR QOS flow, the steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets, para. 0249; an I frame is steered to a path 1, para. 0118; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025), and the ATSSS rules specify transport of the B frames and the P frames to non-3GPP access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; a P frame is steered to a path 2, para. 0118; second GOP includes P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; sending a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025).
With respect to claim 4, Xu teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating the ATSSS rules based on one or more policies associated with an attribute PDU-SET type and dependencies between different attribute PDU-SET types (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195); and
pushing the ATSSS rules into a network at the UPF, wherein the ATSSS rules provide a PDU set type filter for dividing traffic into multiple transport types (based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element needs to identify PDUs of a same PDU set, or identify a plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, a plurality of PDU sets corresponding to one GOP, the PDUs of the same PDU set or the plurality of PDU sets having the dependency relationship are steered to a same path, and different PDU sets or different GOPs steered to different paths according to the configured steering mode, para. 0196).
With respect to claim 5, Xu teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the one or more policies are based on B frame and P frame dependencies on the I frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195).
With respect to claim 6, Xu teaches The method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
creating separate QoS flows corresponding to each attribute PDU-SET type and generating the ATSSS rules at a Session Management Function (SMF) (the network device is a session management function SMF network element, PARA. 0037; if the communication device is the terminal device; the network device sends indication information to a communication device, where the indication information indicates a steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets; send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path; and send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0056; an additional bit is added to extend the ATSSS information, to indicate the steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets (one PDU set or a plurality of PDU sets, for example, a GOP), para. 0168).
Further, Hong teaches
adding an attribute PDU-SET type to Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rules provided by a Policy Control Function (PCF), wherein the PCF sets the attribute PDU-SET type as a type of filter (the corresponding UPF instructions and QoS rule bound to the corresponding QoS flow/data unit/sub-flow/frame provided by the PCF from the PCC rule, para. 0186; the packet filter set should support a packet filter based on Fame-type: P-frame, I-frame, B-frame, para. 0168-0170; when the PCC rule is activated/deactivated by the PCF, the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) may include one or more pieces of information included in the above-described packet filter set and information for indicating activation/deactivation and transmit the same to the UPF/UE, para. 0184) in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF/UE as taught by Hong (para. 0184); and
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hong to the method of Xu in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF/UE as taught by Hong (para. 0184).
With respect to claim 7, Xu teaches The method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
sending, by an SMF to a user equipment (UE), the ATSSS rules to configure the UE to distribute traffic in accordance with the different access standards (the network device is a session management function SMF network element, PARA. 0037; if the communication device is the terminal device; the network device sends indication information to a communication device, where the indication information indicates a steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets; send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path; and send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0056; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0041).
With respect to claim 8, Xu teaches The method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
creating separate QoS flows for a first frame type of a flow and a second frame type of the flow (performing differentiated QoS processing based on a dependency relationship between the different PDU sets, para. 0112; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2); and
providing the separate QoS flows and the ATSSS rules to the UPF on N4 signaling so that the UPF detects QoS flows based on the first frame type and the second frame type (the network device sends a session modification message to the UPF network element, where the session modification message carries indication information that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets, para. 0176; the session modification message is specifically an N4 session modification request message, para. 0177; the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166).
With respect to claim 10, Xu teaches A computing apparatus comprising:
a processor (processor, para. 0127); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (the processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory, para. 0127), configure the apparatus to:
generate Access Traffic Steering, Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) rules specific to different frame types of a flow (the first path is a transmission path corresponding to a 3GPP access type, and the second path is a transmission path corresponding to a non-3GPP access type; the communication device is steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 1st frame to the first path, and steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 2nd frame to the second path, para. 0146; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2),
provide the ATSSS rules to a user plane function (UPF) so that the UPF detects Quality of Service (QoS) flows based on the different frame types of the flow (performing differentiated QoS processing based on a dependency relationship between the different PDU sets, para. 0112; the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183), and
transport the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (the UPF network element determine a load sharing steering mode that is based on each PDU set or GOP; and further send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194).
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets, the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types;
However, Hong teaches wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets (the user plane function (UPF) carry the user plane traffic classification belonging to one QoS flow through the N3 user plane marking using the QFI, different user plane traffic classifications (e.g., sub-stream/data unit/sub-flow/frame) belonging to one QoS flow additionally classified using an identifier and a packet filter set, para. 0161; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) include one or more pieces of information included in the above-described packet filter set and information for indicating activation/deactivation and transmit the same to the UPF; UPF filter packets for each of PDU-Set/frame type in any application; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) configure corresponding packet filtering for the corresponding XR application (or QoS flow(s) of the corresponding application) during the PDU session establishment/modification procedure, para. 0184), the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types (the packet filter set support a packet filter based on combination of ADU-type and Fame-type: P-frame, I-frame, B-frame, para. 0168-0169) in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hong to the apparatus of Xu in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184).
Xu in view of Hong does not explicitly teach
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type;
However, Yi teaches
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type (applying an ATSSS switching policy, including applying PDU sets, based on PDU set importance, across the one or more access networks, col. 36, lines 17-33; utilizing redundancy techniques for the various 3GPP/non-3GPP access means, and utilizing enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU set, col. 40, lines 13-28) in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Yi to the apparatus of Xu in view of Hong in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28).
With respect to claim 11, Xu teaches The computing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to:
based on the attribute PDU-SET type, create separate QoS flows for different frame types based on generating ATSSS rules specific to each of the attribute PDU-SET type (the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183); and
provide the ATSSS rules to the UPF, wherein the UPF transports the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2).
With respect to claim 12, Xu teaches The computing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the attribute PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the ATSSS rules specify transport of the I frames to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; determining that the data flow is transmitted by using an XR quality of service (QOS) flow; and determining, based on the XR QOS flow, the steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets, para. 0249; an I frame is steered to a path 1, para. 0118; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025), and the ATSSS rules specify transport of the B frames and the P frames to non-3GPP access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; a P frame is steered to a path 2, para. 0118; second GOP includes P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; sending a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025).
With respect to claim 13, Xu teaches The computing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to:
generate the ATSSS rules based on one or more policies associated with an attribute PDU-SET type and dependencies between different attribute PDU-SET type (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195); and
push the ATSSS rules into a network at the UPF, wherein the ATSSS rules provide a PDU set type filter for dividing traffic into multiple transport types (based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element needs to identify PDUs of a same PDU set, or identify a plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, a plurality of PDU sets corresponding to one GOP, the PDUs of the same PDU set or the plurality of PDU sets having the dependency relationship are steered to a same path, and different PDU sets or different GOPs steered to different paths according to the configured steering mode, para. 0196).
With respect to claim 14, Xu teaches The computing apparatus of claim 13, wherein the attribute PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the one or more policies are based on B frame and P frame dependencies on I frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195).
With respect to claim 15, Xu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (the memory or any other medium that can carry or store expected program code in an instruction form or a data structure form and that can be accessed by a computer, para. 0127), cause the computer to:
generate Access Traffic Steering, Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) rules specific to different frame types of a flow (the first path is a transmission path corresponding to a 3GPP access type, and the second path is a transmission path corresponding to a non-3GPP access type; the communication device is steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 1st frame to the first path, and steer all of a plurality of PDUs corresponding to different layers in a 2nd frame to the second path, para. 0146; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2),
provide the ATSSS rules to a user plane function (UPF) so that the UPF detects Quality of Service (QoS) flows based on the different frame types of the flow (performing differentiated QoS processing based on a dependency relationship between the different PDU sets, para. 0112; the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183), and
transport the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (the UPF network element determine a load sharing steering mode that is based on each PDU set or GOP; and further send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194).
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets, the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types;
However, Hong teaches wherein providing the ATSSS rules configures the UPF to classify packets of the flow into the QoS flows based on a frame-type identifier carried in the packets (the user plane function (UPF) carry the user plane traffic classification belonging to one QoS flow through the N3 user plane marking using the QFI, different user plane traffic classifications (e.g., sub-stream/data unit/sub-flow/frame) belonging to one QoS flow additionally classified using an identifier and a packet filter set, para. 0161; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) include one or more pieces of information included in the above-described packet filter set and information for indicating activation/deactivation and transmit the same to the UPF; UPF filter packets for each of PDU-Set/frame type in any application; the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) configure corresponding packet filtering for the corresponding XR application (or QoS flow(s) of the corresponding application) during the PDU session establishment/modification procedure, para. 0184), the frame-type identifier indicating the different frame types (the packet filter set support a packet filter based on combination of ADU-type and Fame-type: P-frame, I-frame, B-frame, para. 0168-0169) in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hong to the medium of Xu in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF as taught by Hong (para. 0184).
Xu in view of Hong does not explicitly teach
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type;
However, Yi teaches
wherein the ATSSS rules includes an enhanced traffic descriptor including an attribute PDU-SET type (applying an ATSSS switching policy, including applying PDU sets, based on PDU set importance, across the one or more access networks, col. 36, lines 17-33; utilizing redundancy techniques for the various 3GPP/non-3GPP access means, and utilizing enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU set, col. 40, lines 13-28) in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28);
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Yi to the medium of Xu in view of Hong in order to utilize enhanced ATSSS features to prioritize 3GPP access for high priority PDU sets and non-3GPP access for other, lower priority PDU sets as taught by Yi (col. 40, lines 13-28).
With respect to claim 16, Xu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further:
based on the attribute PDU-SET type, create separate QoS flows for different frame types based on generating ATSSS rules specific to each of the attribute PDU-SET type (the network device send indication information to the communication device, to indicate the communication device to determine to perform multi-access service data steering based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets (for example, each GOP), para. 0159; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183); and
provide the ATSSS rules to the UPF, wherein the UPF transports the different frame types of the flow on different access standards based on the ATSSS rules (wherein the communication device as the UPF network element, para. 0196; carrying a QoS rule of the data flow, description information of the QoS flow, and access traffic steering, switching, and splitting (ATSSS) information, para. 0166; the UPF network element preferentially chooses to steer a data flow of an XR service to the 3GPP access path based on each PDU set or GOP, para. 0183; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2).
With respect to claim 17, Xu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the attribute PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the ATSSS rules specify transport of the I frames to 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; determining that the data flow is transmitted by using an XR quality of service (QOS) flow; and determining, based on the XR QOS flow, the steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets, para. 0249; an I frame is steered to a path 1, para. 0118; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025), and the ATSSS rules specify transport of the B frames and the P frames to non-3GPP access (a PDU set corresponding to an I frame and a PDU set corresponding to a P frame are distributed to different paths, para. 0006; a P frame is steered to a path 2, para. 0118; second GOP includes P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; sending a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path, send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0194; the first path and the second path are different transmission paths corresponding to a 3GPP access type or a non-3GPP access type, para. 0025).
With respect to claim 18, Xu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further:
generate the ATSSS rules based on one or more policies associated with an attribute PDU-SET type and dependencies between different attribute PDU-SET type (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195); and
push the ATSSS rules into a network at the UPF, wherein the ATSSS rules provide a PDU set type filter for dividing traffic into multiple transport types (based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195; wherein the communication device as the UPF network element needs to identify PDUs of a same PDU set, or identify a plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, a plurality of PDU sets corresponding to one GOP, the PDUs of the same PDU set or the plurality of PDU sets having the dependency relationship are steered to a same path, and different PDU sets or different GOPs steered to different paths according to the configured steering mode, para. 0196).
With respect to claim 19, Xu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the PDU-SET type comprises I frames, B frames, and P frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2), and wherein the one or more policies are based on B frame and P frame dependencies on the I frames within the flow (the first group of protocol data unit sets and the second group of protocol data unit sets are respectively a first GOP and a second GOP; the first GOP includes a PDU set (1) corresponding to an I frame, a PDU set (2) corresponding to a P frame, and the like in the first GOP, and second GOP includes I frame, P frames and B frame, para. 0141; fig. 2; based on each PDU set or each plurality of PDU sets having a dependency relationship, access devices corresponding to different access networks determine, based on received PDU sets or GOPs, frame integrity or dependency relationships between different frames, para. 0195).
With respect to claim 20, Xu teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further:
create separate QoS flows corresponding to each attribute PDU-SET type and generating the ATSSS rules at a Session Management Function (SMF) (the network device is a session management function SMF network element, PARA. 0037; if the communication device is the terminal device; the network device sends indication information to a communication device, where the indication information indicates a steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets; send a first group of protocol data unit sets on a first path; and send a second group of protocol data unit sets on a second path, para. 0056; an additional bit is added to extend the ATSSS information, to indicate the steering mode that is based on each group of protocol data unit sets (one PDU set or a plurality of PDU sets, for example, a GOP), para. 0168).
Further, Hong teaches
add an attribute PDU-SET type to Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rules provided by a Policy Control Function (PCF), wherein the PCF sets the attribute PDU-SET type as a type of filter (the corresponding UPF instructions and QoS rule bound to the corresponding QoS flow/data unit/sub-flow/frame provided by the PCF from the PCC rule, para. 0186; the packet filter set should support a packet filter based on Fame-type: P-frame, I-frame, B-frame, para. 0168-0170; when the PCC rule is activated/deactivated by the PCF, the core network control plane entity (e.g., SMF/AMF) may include one or more pieces of information included in the above-described packet filter set and information for indicating activation/deactivation and transmit the same to the UPF/UE, para. 0184) in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF/UE as taught by Hong (para. 0184); and
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Hong to the medium of Xu in order to activate/deactivate/execute the rule based on the corresponding packet filter in the UPF/UE as taught by Hong (para. 0184).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2025/0220508 A1), hereinafter referred to as Xu, in view of Hong (US 2025/0234239 A1), further in view of Yi (US 12,513,084 B1), and furthermore in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 2025/0176056 A1), hereinafter referred to as Talebi Fard.
With respect to claim 9, Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi does not explicitly teach the method further comprising:
generating the ATSSS rules based on a guaranteed bit rate (GBR), wherein a first frame type with the GBR over a threshold is filtered for 3GPP access, and a second frame type with the GBR below the threshold is filtered for non-3GPP access; and
providing the ATSSS rules based on the GBR to the UPF for traffic distribution.
However, Talebi Fard teaches the method further comprising:
generating the ATSSS rules based on a guaranteed bit rate (GBR), wherein a first frame type with the GBR over a threshold is filtered for 3GPP access, and a second frame type with the GBR below the threshold is filtered for non-3GPP access (QoS flows associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR QoS flows) and others have bit rates that are not guaranteed (non-GBR QoS flows); the QoS flows have different priorities, QoS flow 816A have a higher priority than QoS flow 816B, which have a higher priority than QoS flow 816C, a particular QoS flow associated with a guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) and/or a maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), para. 0118; the URSP indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP), para. 0152; the condition or threshold indicate that if performance of a path is above/below a certain value or a within a range of values, a reporting performed, para. 0395); and
providing the ATSSS rules based on the GBR to the UPF for traffic distribution (the PCF indicate, to the SMF, policies for applying QoS requirements, monitoring traffic (e.g., for charging purposes), and/or steering traffic (e.g., by using one or more particular N6 interfaces), para. 0170; the URSP indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP), para. 0152) in order to allows more efficiently scheduling of QoS Flows as taught by Talebi Fard (para. 0202).
Therefore, based on Xu in view of Hong, further in view of Yi, and furthermore in view of Talebi Fard, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Talebi Fard to the method of Xu in view of Hong, and further in view of Yi in order to allows more efficiently scheduling of QoS Flows as taught by Talebi Fard (para. 0202).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
July 18, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447