DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (“Rough gold films as broadband absorbers for plasmonic enhancement of TiO2 photocurrent over 400–800 nm”).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses a plasmonic substrate (abstract and Figure 1a) comprising:
a base (Figures 1-2, Page 2, Results section, 1st paragraph, see FTO glass);
a metallic film on the base (Au film), wherein the metallic film has an RMS roughness measured by atomic force microscopy ranging from 10 to 200 nm (Au film has 15 nm RMS roughness, Page 4, 2nd paragraph); and
a semiconducting photocatalyst (TiO2 photocatalyst layer) on the metallic film (TiO2, abstract and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan additionally discloses that the base is selected from the group consisting of glass, quartz, silicon, doped silicon, and indium tin oxide (Figure 2, Page 2, Results section, 1st paragraph, see FTO glass).
Regarding claim 4, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan additionally discloses that the semiconducting photocatalyst is selected from the group consisting of TiO2, Cu2O, CuO, ZnO, VO2, Co3O4, ABX3 type perovskites, CdS, CdSe, ZnS and combinations thereof (TiO2, abstract and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan additionally discloses that the metallic film comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of silver, copper, gold and aluminum (gold (Au) film, abstract and Figure 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan additionally discloses that the metallic film has a thickness ranging from 10 to 500 nm (abstract, 100nm thick Au film).
Regarding claim 7, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan additionally discloses that the semiconducting photocatalyst has a thickness ranging from 1 to 500 nm (abstract and Figure 3a, 30nm thick TiO2 layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (“Rough gold films as broadband absorbers for plasmonic enhancement of TiO2 photocurrent over 400–800 nm”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kumar et al. (“Field Effects in Plasmonic Photocatalyst by Precise SiO2 Thickness Control Using Atomic Layer Deposition”).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Tan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tan does not disclose an inert spacer layer in between the metallic film and the semiconducting photocatalyst, wherein the inert spacer layer is silica.
Kumar discloses a plasmonic substrate (abstract and conclusion) comprising:
a base (Si substrate, Page 301, Experimental section, 1st paragraph);
a metallic film on the base (Ag nanoparticles, abstract, Page 301, Experimental section, 1st paragraph),
a semiconducting photocatalyst (TiO2 layer) on the metallic film (abstract, Page 302, column 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraph), and
a silica inert spacer layer (SiO2 layer) in between the metallic film (Ag nanoparticles) and the semiconducting photocatalyst (TiO2 layer) (abstract, Page 302, column 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a silica inert spacer layer in between the metallic film and the semiconducting photocatalyst in the device of Tan, as taught by Kumar, because the silica inert spacer layer facilitates enhanced photocatalysis in the device (Kumar, abstract and Conclusion section).
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728