DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I, Species C in the reply filed on 7/17/2025. The election was made final in the Office Action dated 7/29/2025. New/amended claims 8, 10-12, 26, and 34 are directed to species not elected by applicant. Therefore, these claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (a) one pocket on the front side and one pocket on the rear side (claims 1 and 29), (b) separating weights from the stacked weight assembly to tune the weight (claim 3), (c) a fastener for retaining the replaceable weights to one another and the specific list of fasteners (claim 4), and (d) a fastener engageable with the stabilizer weight for retaining the stabilizer weight relative to the receptacle and the specific list of fasteners (claim 24) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See the Section 112(a) rejection below for more discussion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-7, 24, 29-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, the disclosure fails to describe a front pocket/first receptacle supported on the front body side and a back pocket/second receptacle supported on the back body side. The disclosure describes more than one pocket (see Fig. 8, for example), but fails to disclose one pocket on a front body side and one pocket on a back body side.
Regarding claim 3, the disclosure fails to describe separating weights from the stacked weight assembly to tune the weight. The disclosure only lists that the weights can be stackable or tunable, and presents these as alternatives in the list (see para. 0052 of published application).
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure fails to describe a fastener for retaining the replaceable weights to one another or the specific list of fasteners.
Regarding claim 24, the disclosure fails to describe a fastener engageable with the stabilizer weight for retaining the stabilizer weight relative to the receptacle or the specific list of fasteners.
Claims 2, 5-7, 30-33 and 35 depend from the above claim(s) and are rejected for the above reason as they do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 29-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 29 and 31-32, it is not clear what is meant by “the receptacle” because there is a first receptacle and a second receptacle.
Regarding claims 30 and 32-33, “the first receptacle face” and “the second receptacle face” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 35 depends from the above claim(s) and is rejected for the above reason as it does not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 2006/0289575 to Chou in view of US Published Application 2006/0213944 to Dieter.
Regarding claim 21, Chou discloses a body stabilizer apparatus, comprising: a tether (40) configured for positioning on a top surface of a first shoulder; a receptacle (42) secured to the tether, the receptacle positioned below the first shoulder and adjacent to a lateral body side (Fig. 3); a stabilizer weight (contents of 42) removably attached to the receptacle; wherein the stabilizer weight comprises interchangeable weights or stackable weights (the contents of 42 are capable of being removed or stacked) to provide a configurable amount of weight; wherein the first shoulder is opposite a second shoulder from which an arm extends to hold an apparatus (Fig. 3 – the configuration is capable of use with an extending arm). To the extent the contents of the bag are in doubt, Dieter discloses using a bag to carry binoculars, knives, ammunition, scents and tools (para. 0003). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Chou’s bag to carry one or more of these items because it would allow for carrying the items in a hands-free manner. The weight of these items would fall within the range of 2 and 60 pounds, depending on which items are carried.
Regarding claim 25, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the stabilizer weight comprises a plurality of interchangeable weights, each interchangeable weight of the plurality having a different predetermined weight value (Chou/Dieter – the held objects are interchangeable and have a different weight value).
Regarding claim 27, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein the receptacle comprises a front pocket portion (near portion of 42 in Chou Fig. 3) positioned on a front body side and a back pocket portion (far portion of 42 in Chou Fig. 3) positioned on a back body side, the front pocket portion and the back pocket portion each holding a respective portion of the stabilizer weight and cooperatively applying a downward force on the top surface of the first shoulder (each portion would hold some of the contents and cooperate as claimed).
Regarding claim 28, the combination from claim 21 fails to disclose the claimed opening. However, Deiter discloses a receptacle (main backpack – Fig. 1) wherein an upper periphery of the receptacle defines a receptacle opening, the receptacle opening being closeable by a zipper (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have made a zippered opening in the combination because it would allow access to the receptacle while also securing items within the receptacle.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou and Deiter, further in view of US Patent 8,870,045 to Aguirre.
Regarding claim 22, the combination from claim 21 discloses wherein: the receptacle comprises a first receptacle (42 – Chou) and the stabilizer weight comprises a first stabilizer weight (contents of 42 – Chou/Dieter). The combination fails to disclose a second receptacle. However, Aguirre discloses attaching a second receptacle (190) to a first receptacle (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have attached a second receptacle to the bag in Chou because it would allow the user to carry additional items as desired. Further, carrying binoculars, knives, ammunition, scents and tools (Deiter para. 0003) in the second receptacle would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill because it would allow for carrying the items in a hands-free manner. The combination discloses a second receptacle (190 – Aguirre) secured to the tether below the first shoulder adjacent to the lateral body side (the tether is secured to the second receptacle through the bag (42 – Chou)) and including a second stabilizer weight (Deiter); the first stabilizer weight and the second stabilizer weight each comprise a plurality of replaceable weights removably insertable into and withdrawable from the first and second receptacle, a number of the plurality of replaceable weights being selectable to vary the configurable amount of weight (the contents of the receptacles are removably insertable to vary the weight as claimed and the contents would be selected by the user).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou, Deiter and Aguirre, further in view of icollector.com (NPL #1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination from claim 22 fails to disclose whether the weights are stacked. However, icollector discloses that it is known to stack ammunition (see photo). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have stacked the ammunition in the combination because it would make shipping more efficient and safer. In the combination, the bullets are the replaceable, stacked weights.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734