DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on July 17, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1, 9, and 15 are amended.
Claim 24 is cancelled.
Claims 1-23 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al (US 11057850 B1) in view of Choi et al (US 2022/0279582 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Berger teaches responding station (STA) for adaptive ranging, comprising [col 11, lines 35-45 for an NDP announcement (NDP-A) frame 204, the NDP-A frame 204 announces a ranging measurement exchange, with col 12, lines 15-30 for the indicator of the receive power of the NDP 208 to calculate a pathloss between the initiator and the responder and figure 2]:
a transceiver configured to receive, from an initiating STA [col 12, lines 15-30 for the indicator of the receive power of the NDP 208 to calculate a pathloss between the initiator and the responder and figure 2],
a signal comprising one or more of a frame or a data packet [col 14, lines 1-10 for NDP announcement frame 300 also includes one or more station information fields];
and a processing device configured to [col 11, lines 5-15 and col 11, lines 30-45 for using a wireless communication device];
identify, at the responding STA, one or more physical layer measurements based on the one or more of the frames or the data packet [col 12, lines 10-20 for an indicator of the receive power e.g., a received signal strength indicator];
and determine, at the responding STA, one or more ranging parameters for a ranging operation based on the one or more physical layer measurements and the ranging accuracy level, wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise at least one of: a null data packet transmission power, or a null data packet received signal strength indication (RSSI) target [col 12, lines 10-20 for using RSSI].
Berger fails to explicitly teach identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level [0045 for configuring PRS signal from an upper (application) layer with 0067 for changing threshold for accuracy]
comprising a ranging accuracy level wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level [0067-0068 for the initiator UEX may determine the frequency range of the PRS signals should be increased based on the indications of the accuracy of the ranging from participating UEs in ranging sessions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 9, Berger teaches an initiating station (STA) for adaptive ranging, comprising [col 11, lines 45-55 for using an initiator to select the transmit power for the NDP]:
a processing device configured to [col 11, lines 5-15]:
identify, at the initiating STA, one or more of a frame or a data packet based on one or more initial ranging parameters for a ranging operation [col 11, lines 45-55 for using an initiator to select the transmit power for the NDP];
compute, at the initiating STA, one or more physical layer measurements based on the one or more of the frames or the data packets [col 11, lines 50-65 for NDP-A frame 204 is transmitted within a PHY data unit];
and compute, at the initiating STA, one or more adjusted ranging parameters for the ranging operation based on the one or more physical layer measurements and the ranging accuracy level [col 12, lines 10-20 for the NDP 208 at the responder and records (e.g., the network interface device 122 records) an indicator of the receive power];
wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise at least one of: a null data packet transmission power, or a null data packet received signal strength indication (RSSI) target [col 12, lines 55-65 for the initiator and records (e.g., the network interface device 162 records) an indicator of the receive power (e.g., an RSSI)]
and a transceiver configured to [co 10, lines 10-20 for transceiver with col 12, lines 20-30 for using RSSI to indicate transmitted power]:
transmit, from the initiating STA to responding STA, the one or more of the frame sor the data packets based on the one or more adjusted ranging parameters [col 12, lines 10-20 for using RSSI].
Berger fails to explicitly teach identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level [0045 for configuring PRS signal from an upper (application) layer with 0067 for changing threshold for accuracy]
comprising a ranging accuracy level wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level [0067-0068 for the initiator UEX may determine the frequency range of the PRS signals should be increased based on the indications of the accuracy of the ranging from participating UEs in ranging sessions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 15, Berger teaches method for adaptive ranging, comprising [col 11, lines 35-45 for an NDP announcement (NDP-A) frame 204, the NDP-A frame 204 announces a ranging measurement exchange, with col 12, lines 15-30 for the indicator of the receive power of the NDP 208 to calculate a pathloss between the initiator and the responder and figure 2]:
receiving a ranging accuracy level from a first station (STA) in wireless communication with a second STA [col 12, lines 15-30 for the indicator of the receive power of the NDP 208 to calculate a pathloss between the initiator and the responder and figure 2];
receiving one or more physical layer measurements of the first STA [col 11, lines 50-65 for NDP-A frame 204 is transmitted within a PHY data unit];
and computing one or more ranging parameters for a ranging operation based on the ranging accuracy level and the one or more physical layer measurements [col 11, lines 50-60 for NDP-A frame 204 is transmitted within a PHY data unit (not shown). A predetermined time period after an end of transmitting the packet in which the NDP-A frame]
wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise at least one of: a null data packet transmission power, or a null data packet received signal strength indication (RSSI) target [col 12, lines 10-20 for using RSSI].
Berger fails to explicitly teach receiving a ranging accuracy level from an application layer, and wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches layer [0045 for configuring PRS signal from an upper (application) layer with 0067 for changing threshold for accuracy]
comprising a ranging accuracy level wherein the one or more ranging parameters comprise the null data packet transmission power or the null data packet RSSI target being computed based on the ranging accuracy level [0067-0068 for the initiator UEX may determine the frequency range of the PRS signals should be increased based on the indications of the accuracy of the ranging from participating UEs in ranging sessions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 2, 10, and 17, Berger fails to explicitly teach the processing device is further configured to: determine, at the responding STA, the one or more ranging parameters based on network resource usage.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches the processing device is further configured to: determine, at the responding STA, the one or more ranging parameters based on network resource usage [0059 for multiple contemporaneous ranging sessions competing for PRS resources, e.g., timing and frequencies].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 3, 11, and 18, Berger fails to explicitly teach the processing device is further configured to: compute adjusted ranging parameters using additional physical layer measurements received in one or more iterations using a feedback loop.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches the processing device is further configured to: compute adjusted ranging parameters using additional physical layer measurements received in one or more iterations using a feedback loop [0060-0063 for number (K) of ranging sessions over which the accuracy of the ranging is determined may be determined as a function of the speed of the initiator UEX].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 5, Berger teaches the ranging operation is one or more of: a one-to-one ranging operation, a one-to-many ranging operation, or a many- to-many ranging operation [col 21, lines 20-40 and figure 7 for trigger based ranging and non-trigger-based ranging with multiple users].
Regarding Claim 6, Berger teaches the ranging operation is one or more of trigger based or non-trigger based [col 21, lines 20-40 and figure 7 for trigger-based ranging and non-trigger-based ranging with multiple users].
Regarding Claim 7 and 13, Berger teaches the ranging parameters comprise one or more of: a number of bursts, a burst duration, a minimum change in fine time measurement (FTM), a priority level, a number of FTM frames per burst, a burst period, a format, a bandwidth, a number of repetitions, a number of spatial streams, a transmission power, a null data packet transmission power, an immediate feedback activity, a minimum measurement time, a maximum measurement time, or an availability window [col 21, lines 50-64 for the trigger frame 704 includes an uplink target RSSI field that normally is set to indicate a target receive power].
Regarding Claim 8 and 14, Berger teaches the one or more physical layer measurements comprise one or more of: channel state information (CSI) an RSSI, an error vector magnitude (EVM), a first path, a mean channel delay, a tap estimate, a delay estimate, a power delay profile (PDP), or a Doppler estimate [col 22, lines 15-25 for respective indicators e.g., RSSIs of the respective receive powers of the UL NDPs].
Regarding Claim 16, Berger fails to explicitly teach identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level.
Choi has a bandwidth of ranging signals used in ranging session in a distributed system are dynamically adjusted based on the accuracy of the ranging over multiple ranging sessions (abstract) and teaches identify, at the responding STA, one or more application layer requests comprising a ranging accuracy level [0045 for configuring PRS signal from an upper (application) layer with 0067 for changing threshold for accuracy].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the application layer calculations as taught by Choi for the purpose to determine when the PRS signals will be transmitted by the UE [Choi, 0045].
Regarding Claim 20, Berger teaches the one or more ranging parameters comprise one or more of: a number of bursts, a burst duration, a minimum change in fine time measurement (FTM), a priority level, a number of FTM frames per burst, a burst period, a format, a bandwidth, a number of repetitions, a number of spatial streams, a transmission power, an uplink (UL) RSSI target, an immediate feedback activity, a minimum measurement time, a maximum measurement time, or an availability window [col 21, lines 50-64 for the trigger frame 704 includes an uplink target RSSI field that normally is set to indicate a target receive power];
or the one or more physical layer measurements comprise one or more of: channel state information (CSI), an RSSI, an error vector magnitude (EVM), a first path, a mean channel delay, a tap estimate, a delay estimate, a power delay profile (PDP), or a Doppler estimate; or a combination thereof col 21, lines 50-64 for the trigger frame 704 includes an uplink target RSSI field that normally is set to indicate a target receive power].
Regarding Claim 21, Berger fails to explicitly teach a frame transmitted from the responding station to the initiating STA indicates at least one of: the null data packet transmission power, or the null data packet RSSI target [col 12, lines 55-65 for the initiator and records (e.g., the network interface device 162 records) an indicator of the receive power (e.g., an RSSI)].
Regarding Claim 22, Berger fails to explicitly teach the initiating STA causes transmission of a frame to the responding STA, the frame indicating at least one of: the null data packet transmission power, or the null data packet RSSI target [col 12, lines 55-65 for the initiator and records (e.g., the network interface device 162 records) an indicator of the receive power (e.g., an RSSI)].
Regarding Claim 23, Berger discloses a frame transmitted to the second STA indicates at least one of: the null data packet transmission power, or the null data packet RSSI target [col 12, lines 55-65 for the initiator and records (e.g., the network interface device 162 records) an indicator of the receive power (e.g., an RSSI)].
Claims 14, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al (US 11057850 B1) in view of Choi et al (US 2022/0279582 A1), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of Vamaraju (US 2017/0142608 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, 12, and 19, Berger teaches the processing device is further configured to: determine when a modification has occurred; update the one or more ranging parameters when the modification has occurred; and terminate the ranging operation when the modification has not occurred.
Vamaraju has devices for obtaining a range between devices based, at least in part, on an exchange of wireless messages (abstract) and teaches the processing device is further configured to: determine when a modification has occurred [0052 for the initiating STA may choose to continue receiving FTM messages in the remaining portion of the session or terminate the session];
update the one or more ranging parameters when the modification has occurred [0051 for updates to parameters];
and terminate the ranging operation when the modification has not occurred [0052 for terminating the session may allow the initiating STA to initiate sessions with other potential responding STAs].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Berger, further including the parameter update calculations as taught by Vamaraju for the purpose to appropriately transmit trigger FTM messages 406 in the remaining portion of the session [Vamaraju, 0052].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 11, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that the RSSI of the null data pace is not taught in any reference. The examiner thanks the applicant for the amendments, new reference Berger teaches using RSSI with transmitter power for determine the path loss between the transmitter and receiver [Berger, col 12, lines 10-30].
In applicant’s arguments page 11, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Choi does not teach the RSSI of the null data pace is not taught in any reference. The examiner respectfully disagrees, new reference Berger teaches using RSSI with transmitter power for determine the path loss between the transmitter and receiver [Berger, col 12, lines 10-30].
In applicant’s arguments page 11, fourth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Choi does not teach the RSSI of the null data pace is not taught in any reference. The examiner respectfully disagrees, new reference Berger teaches using RSSI with transmitter power for determine the path loss between the transmitter and receiver [Berger, col 12, lines 10-30].
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648