DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-9,13-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ameur et al. (“Style-based film grain analysis and synthesis”, IDS).
With respect to claim 1, Ameur et al. teach a grain analysis system configured for analyzing a first video frame (reference video with grain) and outputting respective first film grain information for film grain that is included in the first video frame or configured for analyzing a second video frame and outputting second film grain information (Fig. 1,style encoder S extracts style vector sref from reference video/image; 3.1 System overview and 3.2 Reference-based film grain style); and
at least one of:
a grain removal system configured for removing the film grain from the first video frame using the first film grain information to generate a third video frame corresponding to the first video frame with film grain removed, wherein the grain analysis system is separate from the grain removal system (optional); or
a grain synthesis system configured for synthesizing film grain for the third video frame using the first film grain information or the second film grain information, wherein the grain analysis system is separate from the grain synthesis system (Fig. 1, synthesis network G uses style vectors to blend it to the clean grain-free image Xsrc; 3.4 Film grain synthesis and generation).
With respect to claim 2, Ameur et al. teach that the grain analysis system provides the first film grain information to either the grain removal system or the grain synthesis system and the second film grain information to the grain synthesis system (Fig. 1 From style encoder S to synthesis network G).
With respect to claim 7, Ameur et al. teach an encoder configured to: encode the third video frame to generate an encoded third video frame (encoding), and encode the first film grain information to generate encoded first film grain information (style encoder S), and a decoder configured to decode the encoded third video frame to generate a decoded third video frame, and to decode the encoded first film grain information to generate decoded first film grain information (decoding), wherein the system includes the grain synthesis system, and the grain synthesis system synthesizes the film grain for the decoded third video frame using the decoded first film grain information (Synthesis network G) (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 9, Ameur et al. teach that the system includes the grain synthesis system, and the grain synthesis system injects noise into the third video frame in multiple stages to synthesize the film grain (2.2 Film grain generation. The synthesis starts with random noise which ensures high spatiotemporal variations. The algorithm produces synthetic grain which matches the template very well while the random noise basis inherently provides realistic spatial and temporal variations.)
With respect to claim 13, Ameur et al. teach that the system includes the grain synthesis system, and the grain synthesis system synthesizes the film grain for the third video frame (decoded video without grain) using the second film grain information (latent style)(Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 14, Ameur et al. teach that the second video frame includes film grain that includes characteristics for the film grain (reference video with grain) that is inserted into the third video frame (decoded video without grain) (Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 17, Ameur et al. teach that a combination of two or more of the grain analysis system, the grain removal system, or the grain synthesis system are jointly trained together (Fig. 1, The two forward passes used for training the four modules of our solution).
With respect to claim 18, Ameur et al. different combinations of two or more of the grain analysis system, the grain removal system, or the grain synthesis system are jointly trained together, and different inputs and known outputs are used to train the different combinations (Fig. 1, reference guided forward or latent guided forward).
Claim 19 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 20 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ameur et al. (“Style-based film grain analysis and synthesis”, IDS) in view of Khsib (US 11,930,222).
With respect to claim 3, Ameur et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 3 respectively depend.
Ameur et al. do not teach expressly that the system includes the grain removal system, the grain analysis system outputs the first film grain information to the grain removal system, and the grain removal system removes the film grain from the first video frame using the first film grain information to output the third video frame.
Khsib teaches the system includes the grain removal system, the grain analysis system outputs the first film grain information to the grain removal system, and the grain removal system removes the film grain from the first video frame using the first film grain information to output the third video frame (Fig. 1,film grain from film grain description estimator to video encoder; col. 7 line 58 – col. 8 line 5, filter operations may have different settings that are configured by the encoder settings 124 to reduce or remove the film grain in the input video).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to remove film grain in the method of Ameur et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to have cleaner video image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Khsib with Ameur et al. r to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Khsib teaches that the first film grain information is edited after being output by the grain analysis system and before being used by the grain removal system to remove the film grain. (Fig. 1, col. 7 lines 48-50, the video encoder 120 may extrapolate characteristics of the film grain in the input video 102 from the film grain description 116).
With respect to claim 8, Khsib teaches the system includes the grain removal system and the grain synthesis system, the grain analysis system and the grain removal system are located on a server, and the grain synthesis system is located on a receiver. (col. 15 line 60 – col. 16 line 15, Fig. 7 , ref. 700 can be host computer or server).
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 5, 6, 10-12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable of rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667