DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species II, claims 6-7, in the reply filed on 12-9-2025 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 15-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10, 13 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,015. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application are broader and reads on scope of the above-mentioned patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gurevitz 20190132154.
As to claim 1, Gurevitz discloses a method for wireless communications in a wireless local area network (WLAN) performed by a first WLAN device (see par. 0020), comprising:
alternating, during a listen mode, one or more components of the first WLAN device between a power-off state of the listen mode and a power-on state of the listen mode of the first WLAN device in accordance with a duty cycle [step 902-906; the receiver may include switching the one or more RF components from the off-state to the on-state after an off-state period.] (see par. 0289-0292); and
receiving, during the power-on state of the listen mode, preamble information of a packet from a second WLAN device [step 910; repeating switching the one or more RF components between the on-state and the off-state, for example, until the frame preamble is detected by the preamble detector] (see par. 0293).
As to claim 2, Gurevitz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein alternating the one or more components between the power-off state of the listen mode and the power-on state of the listen mode includes: alternating, during the listen mode when the first WLAN device is monitoring a wireless channel for packets, the one or more components between the power-off state of the listen mode and the power-on state of the listen mode (see par. 0085, 0289-0293).
As to claim 8, Gurevitz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more components of the first WLAN device include at least one of: a radio frequency (RF) front end; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC); or a baseband processing unit (see par. 0055, 0086).
As to claim 14, Gurevitz discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring for a preamble of the packet while operating in the power-on state of the listen mode[,] using the preamble information in response to detecting the preamble information [controller 164 (FIG. 1) may be configured to trigger, cause, instruct and/or control receiver 116 (FIG. 1) to switch the one or more RF components 170 (FIG. 1) between the on-state and the off-state based on the detection criterion for preamble] (see par. 0085, 0289).
Regarding claims 15-16 and 20, they are the corresponding first wireless local area network device and non-transitory computer-readable medium claims of method claims 1-2. Therefore, claims 15-16 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above and fig. 1 for the processor, memory, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurevitz on view of Morelli 6236674.
As to claims 6-7, Gurevitz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein alternating the one or more components of the first WLAN device between the power-off state of the listen mode and the power-on state of the listen mode is performed (see par. 0289-0293). Gurevitz fails to disclose based at least in part on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) is greater than an RSSI threshold. In an analogous art, Morelli discloses wherein alternating the one or more components is performed when a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) is greater than a first RSSI threshold and less than a second RSSI threshold [below threshold level set by MAC and threshold level above greater than noise] (see col .12 lines 14-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide 'WLAN device between the power-off state of the listen mode and the power-on state of the listen mode is performed when an RSSI is greater than a first RSSI threshold and less than a second RSSI threshold' to effectively switch the mobile station between an active mode and a sleep mode in order to conserve power without substantially sacrificing data exchange rate, Morelli Col. 3, Il 35-40.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647