DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/471249 filed on 09/20/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claims 1, 4, 13, 16, 17, 18, 21, 22, 23 were amended. Claims 1-23 are pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments (see the Applicant's Remarks) with respect to the rejection(s) of
claims 1-23 have been fully considered and not persuasive. Examiner provide a new ground of rejections to address Applicant’s amendment/argument (See the updated claim rejections below.).
Allowable Subject Matters
Claims 2, 9-10, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3-4 are objected since they depend on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-17, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ying et al. (US 2019/0150122 A1)
As per claim 1, Ying discloses “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one transceiver, at least one memory comprising instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:” as [(fig. 1).] “receive, via the at least one transceiver, downlink transmissions;” [(par. 0022), a bundled HARQ-ACK information bit for a CBG index indicating whether the CBG(s) with the same index in any TBs or both TBs in the PDSCH are decoded successfully or no.] “generate an original acknowledgement (ACK) codebook based on whether each of the downlink transmissions is successfully decoded;” [(fig. 4), 4 ACK bits (1111) for 4 CBGs of TB 0. 4 ACK bits (1101) for 4 CBGs of TB 1.] “modify the original ACK codebook by transforming a plurality of bits of the original ACK codebook;” [(fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling of 4 Positive ACK bits for 4 CBGs of TB 0 by a logical “AND“ operation.] “generate an ACK payload comprising the modified original ACK codebook and information related to a quantity of one or more positive acknowledgements for the received downlink transmissions;” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.] “and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, for transmission, the ACK payload” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 5, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the payload comprises a first bit associated with the modified original ACK codebook and at least one second bit associated with the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 6, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 5,” as [see rejection of claim 5.] “in which the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements is based on the modified original ACK codebook indicating all positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling of Positive ACK bits of TB 0 by a logical “AND“ operation.]
As per claim 7, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 5,” as [see rejection of claim 5.] “in which the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements is generated in response the modified original ACK codebook indicating all positive acknowledgements, or in response to the modified original ACK codebook indicating at least one negative acknowledgement (NACK)” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs (1111) of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1. (fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 8, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to generate a codepoint comprising one or more bits that jointly indicate the modified original ACK codebook and the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 11, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to generate a bundled ACK bit comprising a logical AND operation on the plurality of bits of the original ACK codebook; and the ACK payload comprises joint encoding of the bundled ACK bit and the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs (1111) of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1. (fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 12, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to generate a bundled ACK bit comprising a logical AND operation on the plurality of bits of the original ACK codebook; and the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements is in response to the bundled ACK bit indicating all positive acknowledgements, or in response to the bundled ACK bit indicating at least one negative acknowledgement (NACK)” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1. (fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 13, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to generate a bundled ACK bit comprising a logical AND operation on the plurality of bits of the original ACK codebook; and the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements is in response to the bundled ACK bit indicating all positive acknowledgements, the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements being transmitted in a second part, in response to a first part indicating the bundled ACK bit corresponds to the all positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1. (fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 14 Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements comprises a quantity of bits bundled together, the quantity of bits including positive acknowledgements (ACKs) and negative acknowledgements (NACKs)” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit for successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 15, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform a logical AND operation on the plurality of bits of the original ACK codebook” [(fig. 4B), Generate a HARQ ACK feedback which contains 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 16, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE)” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
As per claim 17, Ying discloses “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one transceiver at least one memory comprising instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: as [(fig. 1.)] “transmit, for transmission, downlink transmissions;” [(par. 0022), a bundled HARQ-ACK information bit for a CBG index indicating whether the CBG(s) with the same index in any TBs or both TBs in the PDSCH are decoded successfully or no.] “and receiving, via the at least one transceiver, an acknowledgement (ACK) payload comprising a modified original ACK codebook and information related to a quantity of one or more positive acknowledgements associated with the transmitted downlink transmissions” [fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling for Positive ACK bits for 4 CBGs of TB 0 through a logical “AND“ operation. (fig. 4B), receiving a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating the UE successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 19, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 17,” as [see rejection of claim 17.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to reschedule the downlink transmissions in response to the quantity of one or more positive acknowledgements not matching an expected value” [fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling for Positive ACK bits for 4 CBGs of TB 0 through a logical “AND“ operation. (fig. 4B), receiving a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating the UE successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 20, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 17,” as [see rejection of claim 17.] “in which the payload comprises a first bit associated with the modified original ACK codebook and at least one second bit associated with the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling for Positive ACK bits for 4 CBGs of TB 0 through a logical “AND“ operation. (fig. 4B), receiving a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating the UE successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 21, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 17,” as [see rejection of claim 17.] “in which the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to received, via the at least one transceiver, a codepoint comprising one or more bits that jointly indicate the modified original ACK codebook and the information related to the quantity of positive acknowledgements” [(fig. 4B), CBG HARQ-ACK bundling for Positive ACK bits for 4 CBGs of TB 0 through a logical “AND“ operation. (fig. 4B), receiving a HARQ ACK feedback which contains the 1 bit (through a logical “AND“ operation) indicating the UE successfully received all 4 CBGs of the TB 0, and 4 bits (1101) for successfully received only 3 of 4 CBGs of the TB 1.]
As per claim 22, Ying discloses “The apparatus of claim 17,” as [see rejection of claim 17.] “further comprising: wherein the apparatus is configured as a network device” as [(fig. 1)]
As per claim 23, as [see rejection of claim 1.]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417