DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 09/20/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 1/22/2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in further view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan).
Claim 1. A method comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system (i.e., base station) including at least one processor (see Fig. 2, #240 processing unit of BS) deployed in a cellular network, at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e. poor uplink channel conditions) associated with an uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone), wherein the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) includes at least one cellular radio (see Fig. 2, #252, #230, TX Processor & antenna) for communication with the cellular network;
(Gilda: see para[0047] base station enables TTI bundling for UE/Drone when it detects that the UE/Drone is experiencing poor channel conditions preventing the UE from transmitting uplink data.)
transmitting, by the processing system, at least one instruction (i.e., an indication) to implement a transmission time interval bundling between the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) and a serving cell (i.e., base station)
(Gilda; See para[0052] and Fig. 6, #605, Base Station sending to UE/Drone an indication to enable TTI bundling)
for command and control traffic (i.e., UE/Drone uplink data) of the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone)
(Gilda: see para[0045] UE/Drone transmit uplink data to base station using TTI bunding it has received from base station)
Gilda does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, by the processing system, (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
However, in a similar field, Chan teaches:
identifying, by the processing system, (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) can determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength as being less than a threshold)
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) assigns uplink transmission mode for U3/M2M device, after it determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength is being less than a threshold)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is excluded from the transmission time interval bundling.
(Chan: para[0040] UL scheduling sent to M2M device, includes instructs to enable or disable the TTI bunding, and the bundling intervals. See para[0047] if signal strength is above a threshold, no TTI bundling is done. It is understood that certain data messaging, such as payload traffic messaging, can be excluded from TTI bundling as a result of signaling strength for such messaging not being lower than a threshold.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 4. The method of claim 2, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request technique is applied to the data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle. (Chan: See para[0032] M2M client device retransmits the same packet (i.e., data payload) to base station using TTI bundling but without waiting for a HARQ indicator. It is understood that TTI bundling is associated with a HARQ process)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction is to implement the transmission time interval bundling between the uncrewed aerial vehicle and the serving cell for an uplink portion of the command-and-control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle.
(Chan: para[0048]-[0049], para[0054]-[0055], and Fig. 4, #450, if the uplink signal strength is below a threshold, the base station first sets the TTI bunding for UE/M2M transmissions, and sends it to UE/M2M device via “UL scheduling grant” #450 to apply for its transmissions (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the UAV ) towards the base station. The M2M device applies the UL scheduling grant and transmits “event data” (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle) to base station.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction is to implement the transmission time interval bundling with a first number of transmission time interval repetitions.
(Chan: See para[0032] base station may select TTI bundling multiples of 2, 3, or 4, such as 4-TTI bundling ( i.e., 2-TTI repetitions, 3-TTI repetitions, 4-TTI repetitions)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: identifying, by the processing system, that at least a second uplink channel quality measure is below at least a second threshold quality level; and transmitting, by the processing system, at least a second instruction to increase to a second number of transmission time interval repetitions for the transmission time interval bundling.
(Chan: para[0048]-[0049], para[0054]-[0055], and Fig. 4, #450, if the uplink signal strength is below a threshold (i.e., a second threshold), the base station first sets the TTI bunding for UE/M2M transmissions, and sends it to UE/M2M device via “UL scheduling grant” #450 to apply for its transmissions (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the UAV ) towards the base station. The M2M device applies the UL scheduling grant and transmits “event data” (i.e., command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle) to base station.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 12. The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, by the processing system, that at least a third uplink channel quality measure exceeds the at least the first threshold quality level; and transmitting, by the processing system, at least a third instruction to cease the transmission time interval bundling between the uncrewed aerial vehicle and the serving cell for the command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle.
(Chan: para[0048]-[0049], para[0054]-[0055], and Fig. 4, #450, if the uplink signal strength is below a threshold (i.e., a third threshold), the base station first sets the TTI bunding for UE/M2M transmissions, and sends it to UE/M2M device via “UL scheduling grant” #450 to apply for its transmissions (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the UAV ) towards the base station. The M2M device applies the UL scheduling grant and transmits “event data” (i.e., command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle) to base station.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 14. The method of claim 1, wherein the processing system (i.e., base station) is a processing system of the serving cell. (Chan: See Fig. 1, base station is the serving cell for UE/M2M client devices)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 16. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system (i.e., base station) including at least one processor (see Fig. 2, #240 processing unit of BS) deployed in a cellular network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e. poor uplink channel conditions) associated with an uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone), wherein the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) includes at least one cellular radio (see Fig. 2, #252, #230, TX Processor & antenna) for communication with the cellular network;
(Gilda: see para[0047] base station enables TTI bundling for UE/Drone when it detects that the UE/Drone is experiencing poor channel conditions preventing the UE from transmitting uplink data.)
transmitting at least one instruction (i.e., an indication) to implement a transmission time interval bundling between the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) and a serving cell (i.e., base station)
(Gilda; See para[0052] and Fig. 6, #605, Base Station sending to UE/Drone and indication to enable TTI bundling)
for command and control traffic (i.e., UE/Drone uplink data) of the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone)
(Gilda: see para[0045] UE/Drone transmit uplink data to base station using TTI bunding it has received from base station)
Gilda does not explicitly disclose:
identifying (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
However, in a similar field, Chan teaches:
identifying (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) can determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength as being less than a threshold)
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) assigns uplink transmission mode for U3/M2M device, after it determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength is being less than a threshold)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 17. An apparatus comprising:
a processing system (i.e., base station) including at least one processor; (see Fig. 2, #240 processing unit of BS) and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system (i.e., base station) when deployed in a cellular network, cause the processing system (i.e., base station) to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e. poor uplink channel conditions) associated with an uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone), wherein the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) includes at least one cellular radio (see Fig. 2, #252, #230, TX Processor & antenna) for communication with the cellular network;
(Gilda: see para[0047] base station enables TTI bundling for UE/Drone when it detects that the UE/Drone is experiencing poor channel conditions preventing the UE from transmitting uplink data.)
transmitting at least one instruction (i.e., an indication) to implement a transmission time interval bundling between the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone) and a serving cell (i.e., base station)
(Gilda; See para[0052] and Fig. 6, #605, Base Station sending to UE/Drone an indication to enable TTI bundling)
for command and control traffic (i.e., UE/Drone uplink data) of the uncrewed aerial vehicle (i.e., UE/Drone)
(Gilda: see para[0045] UE/Drone transmit uplink data to base station using TTI bunding it has received from base station)
Gilda does not explicitly disclose:
identifying (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
However, in a similar field, Chan teaches:
identifying (i.e., base station determines) that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below at least a first threshold quality level; and
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) can determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength as being less than a threshold)
in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure (i.e., poor uplink channel condition) is below the at least the first threshold quality level.
(Chan: See para[0048] when uplink signal strength is less than a threshold, it means poor RF signal conditions. See also para[0046], Fig. 3, #310, and Fig. 5, #520, the base station (i.e., the processing system) assigns uplink transmission mode for U3/M2M device, after it determine UE/M2M device’s uplink signal strength is being less than a threshold)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein a data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is excluded from the transmission time interval bundling.
(Chan: para[0040] UL scheduling sent to M2M device, includes instructs to enable or disable the TTI bunding, and the bundling intervals. See para[0047] if signal strength is above a threshold, no TTI bundling is done. It is understood that certain data messaging, such as payload traffic messaging, can be excluded from TTI bundling as a result of signaling strength for such messaging not being lower than a threshold.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claim 19. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the transmission time interval bundling is applied only to the command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle in response to the identifying that the at least one uplink channel quality measure is below the at least the first threshold quality level, to obtain at least a second uplink channel quality measure having at least one improvement with respect to the at least one uplink channel quality measure.
(Chan: para[0048]-[0049], para[0054]-[0055], and Fig. 4, #450, if the uplink signal strength is below a threshold, the base station first sets the TTI bunding for UE/M2M transmissions, and sends it to UE/M2M device via “UL scheduling grant” #450 to apply for its transmissions (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the UAV ) towards the base station. The M2M device applies the UL scheduling grant and transmits “event data” (i.e., uplink portion of the command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle) to base station. See para[0030] to improve signal strength, transmit power of M2M device can be adjusted by base station by sending a TPC command to UE/M2M device. It is understood that this process can be repeated for improvements.)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “poor RF signal conditions” as taught by Chan, with the teaching of Gilda, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can detect, by receiving an indication from UE/M2M client device, if the UE/M2M client device is suffering from uplink transmissions that are below a threshold value. (Chan: See para[0048])
Claims 5, 7, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in further view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan) and in further view of US 20190212724 A1 to Phuyal et al., (hereinafter Phuyal).
Claim 5. Gilda in view of Chan teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the command-and-control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a first quality of service class, and wherein data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a second quality of service class.
However, in a similar field, Phuyal teaches:
wherein the command-and-control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a first quality of service class, and wherein data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a second quality of service class.
(Phuyal: see para[0104] for drone related services may have an assigned QIC. For example, “command and control signaling” may have a QoS assigned. It is understood that other signaling, such as payload traffic signaling, like session connectivity request message (see para[0030]), may have a QoS assigned as well)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Phuyal teaches UE configured as a drone wherein drone related services have an assigned QoS and wherein such drone can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “UE configured as drone” as taught by Phuyal, with the teaching of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE configured as a drone that can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining an identification of the uncrewed aerial vehicle and an indicator of an uncrewed aerial vehicle user equipment type. (Phuyal: see para[0104]-[0105] UE using UE capability signaling, can indicate that is “a drone capable” UE by signaling a different subscriber identifier (ID). It can further send other signaling indicating that is changing from a non-aerial state to an aerial state of a drone)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Phuyal teaches UE configured as a drone wherein drone related services have an assigned QoS and wherein such drone can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “UE configured as drone” as taught by Phuyal, with the teaching of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE configured as a drone that can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
Claim 8. The method of claim 7, wherein the transmitting of the at least one instruction is further based upon the indicator of the uncrewed aerial vehicle user equipment type.
(Phuyal: see para[0104]-[0105] UE using UE capability signaling, can indicate that is “a drone capable” UE by signaling a different subscriber identifier (ID). It can further send other signaling indicating that is changing from a non-aerial state to an aerial state of a drone)
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Phuyal teaches UE configured as a drone wherein drone related services have an assigned QoS and wherein such drone can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “UE configured as drone” as taught by Phuyal, with the teaching of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE configured as a drone that can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
Claim 20. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the command and control traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a first quality of service class, and wherein a data payload traffic of the uncrewed aerial vehicle is assigned to a second quality of service class.
(Phuyal: see para[0104] for drone related services may have an assigned QIC. For example, “command and control signaling” may have a QoS assigned. It is understood that payload traffic may have a QoS assigned as well))
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Phuyal teaches UE configured as a drone wherein drone related services have an assigned QoS and wherein such drone can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included “UE configured as drone” as taught by Phuyal, with the teaching of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE configured as a drone that can transmit messages to a base station, having QoS assigned to such messages. (Phuyal: see Abstract & para[0104])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan) and in further view of US 20190373173 A1 to Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang).
Claim 3. Gilda in view of Chan teaches the method of claim 2, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the data payload traffic comprises image data captured by the uncrewed aerial vehicle.
However, in a similar field, Wang, in para[0130] teaches data collected by the payload includes images that are conveyed to UAV which in turn transmits data payloads, e.g., images, to one or more remote controllers of the UAV. See para[0088] the payload may be a physical imaging device or a camera. (Wang: See para[0130] and para[0088])
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Wang teaches data collected by the payload of a UAV includes images that UAV transmits such data payloads, e.g., images, to one or more remote controllers of the UAV. See para[0088] the payload may be a physical imaging device or a camera of the UAV. (Wang: See para[0130] and para[0088])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included data payload as taught by Wang, with the teachings of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UVA capable of taking images by its camera payload, and transmitting those data payload images to remote controllers. (Wang: See para[0130] and para[0088])
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan) and in further view of US 20230370892 A1 to Ramaswamy et. al., (hereinafter Ramaswamy)
Claim 6. Gilda in view of Chan teaches the method of claim 5, however, they do not explicitly disclose TTI bunding can be done for an identified or specific QoS as understood by:
wherein the at least one instruction identifies that the transmission time interval bundling is to be applied only to the first quality of service class for the uncrewed aerial vehicle.
However, in a similar field, Ramaswamy, in para[0008] teaches that the TTI bundling can be done based on QoS class identifier or QCI (Ramaswamy: See para[0008])
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Ramswamy teaches that the TTI bundling can be done based on QoS class identifier or QCI (Ramaswamy: See para[0008])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included TTI bundling, as taught by Ramaswamy, with the teachings of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from enhancements of being able to perform TTI bundling based on QoS class identifier that can be assigned. (Ramaswamy: See para[0008])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan) and in further view of US 20240090016 A1 to Maarari et. al. (hereinafter Maamari)
Claim 13. Gilda in view of Chan teaches the method of claim 1, and wherein the uplink signal strength is lower than a threshold, however, they do not teach of uplink SINR is lower than a threshold, as understood by:
wherein the at least one uplink channel quality measure comprises at least one of: an uplink signal to noise ratio; an uplink retransmission measure; or an uplink delay measure.
However, in a similar field, Maamari, in para[0104] teaches that a network node can determine if uplink SINR is less than a threshold or not. (Maamari: See para[0104])
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Maamari teaches a network node as being able to determine if uplink SINR is less than a threshold or not. (Maamari: See para[0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included a network node that can determine if uplink SINR determination, as taught by Maamari, with the teachings of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from havin a network node that can determine if uplink SINR is less than a threshold amount, instead of uplink signal strength being less than a threshold amount. (Maamari: see para[0104])
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190394769 A1 to Gilda et al., (hereinafter Gilda) and in view of US 20120057476 A1 to Chan et al., (hereinafter Chan) and in further view of US 20210352527 A1, to Sridharan et al., (hereinafter Sridharan)
Claim 15. Gilda in view of Chan teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose TTI bundling is slot aggregation, as understood alternatively by:
wherein the transmission time interval bundling comprises a slot aggregation.
However, in a similar field, Sridharan, in para[0050] similar to TTI bundling, slot aggregation may included scheduling a transmission over one or more aggregated slots associated with HARQ process. (Sridharan: see para[0050])
Gilda teaches a UE that can be a Drone (UAV) (see para[0030]) wherein UE/Drone may receive an indication to enable TTI bunding from a base station once base station determines UE/Drone is suffering from poor channel conditions. (Gilda: see para[0047])
Chan teaches TTI bundling methods, wherein UE/M2M poor RF signal condition” is indicative of RF signals being below a threshold value. (Chan: see para[0048])
Sridharan teaches slot aggregation is similar to TTI bundling by scheduling a transmission over one or more aggregated slots associated with HARQ process. (Sridharan: see para[0050])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time of effective filing, to have included slot aggregation, as taught by Sridharan, with the teachings of Gilda in view of Chan, in order to benefit from another similar process to TTI bundling, namely slot aggregations, that schedules a transmission over one or more aggregated slots associated with HARQ process. (Maamari: see para[0104])
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477